Hotel Lord Berri

3 stars
View map of 1199 Berri Street, Montreal, QC H2L 4C6

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Lord Berri

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
128 out of 128
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
3.8
Comfort:
3.6
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.8

79% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Lord Berri

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Mississippi
Jul 7, 2010

nice location

The hotel has a very good location,walking distance to most attractions. Staff is friendly and helpful; sometimes the reception desk is overwhelmed by the number of guests. There is a slight smell of old and damp; AC and ventilation help with that somewhat.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Lord Berri

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York, NY
Jul 6, 2010

Would recommend stay somewhere else

Not a very pleasant experience. The non-smoking room I stayed at smelled like smoke. There is no way air being circulated/exchanged. Upon check-in, I heard a couple complaining about exact the same thing but the management said no way to change room due to full house. The beds are not flat. The room has little light. I am unable to relax in this environment so needed to take Ambien to sleep. Overall, I regret that I didn't spend a little more to stay in a newer hotel. Not worth the saving.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Lord Berri

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Albany, NY
Jul 5, 2010

Good location, good value

Nice, modest hotel. Have seen better ones, have seen worse ones.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Lord Berri

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Pompano Beach, Florida
Jul 2, 2010

"Where the action is"

Was given a room that wasn't made-up (after 6pm) and had to change to similar room. Was forced to change rooms again following day to a room with one bed to make room for party needing two beds. Was given an upgraded room & free continental breakfast for trouble, but would not have unpacked first night had I known!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Buy Metro Pass and walk one block to Berri/UQAM metro station for fast, convenient access to entire city -- 3 day pass is only $14!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Lord Berri

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
MrOK
Business
New York, NY
Jun 23, 2010

great location

Room wasn't ready when I checked in, great location for business (very close to Rogers headquarters) and for pleasure (downtown)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Lord Berri

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
msp03
Business
minneapolis
Jun 16, 2010

Badly Needs Updating

We had limited choices since this was the F1 Grand Prix weekend, but $700+ for 3 nights for a standard 2 double beds room was about $400 too much. Hotel appears to have been partially updated, but not the floor we were on (3rd). There was a definite odor in the air stepping off the elevator, carpets had large stains, some towels/sheets had holes in them, room entry light and alarm clock did not work (and were not fixed even after we notified the front desk). Breakfast was not included and the attached bar/restaurant is average, at best (orange juice from re-constituted powder, for example). On the plus side, everyone was very frindly and helpful and location is terrific for Metro access (1 block away from Berri UQAM, where 3 lines interesect)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

in the Latin Quarter...a few blocks away from restaurants and nightclubs rue Denis

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Lord Berri

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mickelby
Business
New York, NY
May 31, 2010

Fair at best

The hotel was passable but had a lot of room for improvement. There were lots of cracks in walls and tears in wallpaper and such that made the place look a little bit rundown. Though we'd reserved the room one month ahead of time, we were placed right along the stairwell and could hear every footfall of anyone who chose to use it. Some of the lights in the room didn't work and though the staff immediately came and "fixed" the problem, as soon as they left we realized it was because the wall outlet was loose and wouldn't hold the light cord. Though staff were helpful a couple of times when they were directly asked a question, no one ever greeted us or even acknowledged us when we came or went. Also, there were no amenities at all (no pool/gym/continental breakfast). It's not really that cheap. Next time, I'd cough up the extra $100 for 3 nights and stay at some place a little bit nicer.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Montreal has great setup where you can rent bikes by the half hour at any one of the metro stations. Since the city is mostly flat, you can use a bike to get just about anywhere and can return the bike to any metro station. This is a great way to see more of the city than you can on foot or by riding around underground

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Lord Berri

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
parking nightmere
Business
Toronto
May 3, 2010

The good and Bad

I was very disappointed to find no parking available at the hotel or the lots close by. Had to drive for blocks to finally find a parking location. Then was lost and walked for 30min.s trying to find the hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Lord Berri

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Massachusetts
Apr 24, 2010

Good base in Montreal

Explored Montreal

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Lord Berri

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Luscious On The Run
Business
Plattsburgh, NY
Jan 18, 2010

Hotel Lord Berri

The close proximity to the metro stop made it easy for us to visit different parts of the city. The hotel was clean and comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Berri - UQAM metro stop is only on block from hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top