$160 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 23, 2015 Check-out: Aug 24, 2015

Hotel Le Crystal

5 stars
View map of 1100 de la Montagne, Montreal, QC H3G 0A1

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Le Crystal

Overall score

4.7 / 5
5.01.0
83 out of 83
Amenities:
4.6
Cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.6
Comfort:
4.8
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.4

98% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Le Crystal

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tiffany K.
Business
New York, NY
Jul 6, 2012

Nice location, huge bathroom, loved the coffee

Hubby and I stayed here for 3 nights over the 4th of July weekend because there was a pretty sweat flight + hotel package. It was listed as a "5 star hotel", but it was probably more of a 4 star hotel, though that's ok because we paid 4 star prices. We liked the kitchenette we had and the complimentary coffee and tea in the room (we used it every day!) The apples by the front desk were a nice treat, too. The Molton Brown toiletries were luxurious. My only complaint is that prior to arriving I e-mailed them asking about public transportation from the airport (their hotel website only lists car directions). They NEVER responded to that e-mail, which I thought was unprofessional. FYI: Take the 747 express bus there, it's the 3rd stop from the airport, and takes around 45 minutes.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Take the 747 express bus from the airport. It's covered under the 1 day, 3 day, or 5 day pass.

Review of Hotel Le Crystal

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ScotAlberta
Business
Edmonton
Jul 6, 2012

Overall Excellent Experience

Booked this hotel as a package with flight and accommodations. I was a little worried about cost and having never been to Montreal, about location, but in the end what a perfect choice and well worth the cost. We received a discount for booking as a package and that made it affordable. The room was magnificent (a one bedroom suite) and the location was in the heart of everything. We went to Montreal as treat for out anniversary and end of the school year (both teachers). The front office staff were friendly and helpful (everyone we met at the hotel and in the area were fully bilingual) and presented a number of options for sights and food. The Montreal jazz festival was five blocks down St. Catherine's - three metro stops in a three block radius, close to everything -mostly walked everywhere. Restaurants on the same street were excellent - tried out three and two others only blocks away and never had a bad meal. The spa and pool were beautiful with a full time lifeguard and all the amenities provided. Overall a great hotel and wonderful holiday.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Restorante Bis - across the street - very good Italian food

Review of Hotel Le Crystal

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
amtaylor
Business
Nolensville, TTN
Jun 23, 2012

Liked it immensely, did not love it.

The location is perfect. The suites are well appointed and clean. It is nice to have the use of a small refrigerator. A family of four would definitely be comfortable. There are nice extras, such as bathrobes and high end amenities. The value is very good. The workout room consists of two treadmills, two ellipticals and assorted other equipment. However, it's quite possible to enter the center and not find a treadmill available. More treadmills would be much appreciated in a hotel this size. I still believe the luxury brands are a cut above this hotel. This hotel just doesn't quite cut it on service. It really is the small things. The front desk clerk who is too busy talking to her friends to acknowledge you, the lifeguard who doesn't care when a treadmill is broken, water in the fitness center, but no cups, the valet who runs to the limo that pulls up despite the fact that you arrived a few minutes earlier, the bellman that almost knocks you over getting into the elevator before you can get off..... There simply wasn't the commitment to friendly, warm, service one finds in the high end brands. All told, it's a great place, but I might find another great place next time. The biggest draw is the "all suite" experience, but there are many all suite options.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Behind the hotel (less than 0.25 mi walk) are a ton of dining options. Outdoor casual dining, fine dining, all are within minutes of he hotel.

Review of Hotel Le Crystal

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sam Sammy
Business
New Jersey
Aug 26, 2012

Vacation

It was a very nice hotel. It is nice to have a rooftop jacuzzi. The spa was also nice, albeit a bit pricey. The concierge was good, but you need to push them a little bit, especially if you want to go to true-value places vs the high priced places/food/activities.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The food and clubs are within 3 blocks from the hotel.

Review of Hotel Le Crystal

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sorengard
Business
Vienna, VA
Jun 17, 2013

Very nice hotel in a great location!

The hotel was very clean, the staff friendly and helpful and the location perfect for walking around downtown.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Take the 747 Bus from the airport. It's cheap and drops you off a block from the hotel.

Review of Hotel Le Crystal

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
nido4
Business
Manchester, CT
Aug 7, 2009

Pretty darn good

The hotel is well-located, right near the Bell Center (where concerts & events are held) and a close walk to banks, ATMs, St. Catherine St. shopping and restaurants, and two Metro stations. The hotel is clean and very modern with luxury rooms. The bathrooms are updated as well. The staff speaks English and French and is very friendly and attentive and helpful. You need your room key to access your floor by elevator; no one can get to the floors unless they are staff or guests. The negatives: The parking is expensive and is valet; you cannot get your car on your own. It cost $26USD per night to park. The pool is lovely, rooftop with views; however, there is inadequate seating (only a few lounge chairs - not enough for many people) and the pool is constantly crowded, as is also the case with the hot tub. It was so crowded all the time that we could not even use the pool or hot tub, which really ruined part of our stay. But overall, it's a nice hotel with great service, free Internet in the lobby, and a very fancy restaurant (not good for a late-night drink unless you want to get dressed up). It is a hotel for the jet set, the stylish people - we enjoyed it but frankly would have felt more comfortable, as tourists, in a less fancy place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Across the street from the hotel entrance is the Ye Olde Orchard Irish Pub, where the drinks and brews are super, it's a casual, friendly environment, and all the food we had (three different nights) was fantastic!!!

Review of Hotel Le Crystal

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
NY,NY
Mar 21, 2010

Modern, Chic, Luxurious

AGREEABLE, AFORDABLE, RELAXING, BUT BREAKFAST COULD BE BETTER, AND WAS A BIT EXPENSIVE, OTHER THAN THAT WOULD GO BACK.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

LOVELY SHOPPING ON RUE DE LA MONTAIGNE

Review of Hotel Le Crystal

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Glendale, CA
May 29, 2009

Really Nice Hotel but no 5 star

Like I said in the title, the hotel is nice but no 5 star. Let me give you some examples. The staff is very friendly and helpful. The rooms are huge (all suites I believe) and new with the latest offerings such as nice faucets in the bathroom and plasma tv's. The rooms have some amenitities that really cater to a family with an infant or small child, such as some dishes, dishwash liquid, a microwave, and a fridge that allows you to put in some of your own items (instead the garden variety fridge that is full of the hotels own offerings on sensors that cannot be moved about without you getting charged.) Saying all this, however, there were some non 5 star characteristics about the hotel. The staff sometimes forgot to empty out one of the wastebaskets. They forgot to restock some of the things in the bathroom (such as bath salts) more than once. The room service menu is limited as far as dinner items are concerned. And the food was a little bland. I know these are minor details, but it adds up to the experience being a little less than perfect.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Le Crystal

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Greater Boston MA
Sep 5, 2009

Very Nice Hotel

Service was excellent from check-in to check out. Friendly and helpful staff. Beautiful room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Joe Beef for dinner

Review of Hotel Le Crystal

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York City
Jul 7, 2009

Gorgeous, great value, but 4-star, not 5

This is a gorgeous hotel for sure. It is not a five star though. We found mens underwear and a sock tucked behind a pillow on a chair in the living room, for example. The rooms are gorgeous, so is the view and location is great. Staff is friendly, but like any other country outside the US, service is just not the same. Rooms service was good, but again, not five star. Keep in mind, however, you are not paying five star rates, so it's still very worth it and a great value. The hotel has just been mis-ranked. Though maybe that is five-start in canandialand!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top