$105 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 7, 2015 Check-out: Sep 8, 2015

Hotel Le Cantlie Suites

4 stars
View map of 1110 Sherbrooke St West, Montreal, QC H3A 1G9

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Le Cantlie Suites

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
263 out of 263
Amenities:
3.6
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.2

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Le Cantlie Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bent014
Business
Lexington, KY
Aug 11, 2014

Almost perfect

This hotel was a great place to stay as long as you're okay with it being downtown, in a highrise building on a city block with other buildings of similar size, so it's not going to have amazing views. The rooms are not large, but that wasn't a problem for me. The rooms are updated, and there was enough room for a king bed, a desk, and a couch along with a kitchen area, closet, and a bathroom. It was comfortable, but not spacious, so if that is important to you, then you may be a little disappointed. I spent my time out and about, so coming back to a comfortable and updated space was enough for me. The wi-fi is slow, and they expect you to pay extra for it, so that's why I didn't give the hotel a perfect score. Even though the hotel has three elevators, the hotel was busy, and you had to wait every once in awhile for an elevator. Finally, they could use better coffee makers in the room. You're probably going to have to go out for good coffee. They do not have your normal hotel pay-per-view, but if you're going to Montreal to sit in your hotel room and watch pay-per-view, you probably should stay home. They use keys instead of cards for the door. But these are only minor issues. There were no significant problems. The rooms were clean and updated. The service was great. The location is excellent, and within a block are all the amenities you need for a visit to Montreal.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Le Cantlie Suites

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Prof Paine
Business
Tampa, Florida
Aug 10, 2014

A surprisingly wonderful experience

I was in Montreal at a time when hotel occupancies were high. Found this hotel and it had a room at a price that (for Montreal) was reasonable. Location was good for my purposes, so I took it. What a delightful place to stay! Elegant without being stuffy, old (in a good way) but with all the amenities and tech, charming and always pleasant and helpful staff, even a nice little restaurant for le petit dejeuner. I absolutely would stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Le Cantlie Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Alecop77
Friends
Boston MA
Jul 14, 2014

Good location, Good rooms, Good people

I have visited Montreal many times...I've stayed in higher end spots such as the W or Sofitel...and I've stayed at smaller "mom and pop" places. This hotel is located in a great spot - walkable to most of the must-see spots in downtown Montreal...add to that a comfortable room at the right price...its all good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Friends

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Cafe Universal...great breakfast just a few doors down.

Review of Hotel Le Cantlie Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Davis G
Friends
Vermont
Jun 30, 2014

Slow elevators

My one and only complaint is that the elevators are sooooooo small so it takes forever to get anywhere as they're usually packed when they get to your floor anyway, plan on waiting 10-15 minutes to get a free one. Otherwise this place is great all around.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Hotel Le Cantlie Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Patricka
Couples
USA
Jun 9, 2014

Perfect Location!

Best Location, renovated practical rooms with fridge, and confortable beds are the main positives. If you're looking to spend time in the hotel, I'd recommend another property.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Hotel Le Cantlie Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Nic4
Single
Montclair, NJ
Jun 7, 2014

Well located, comfortable hotel

I was at this hotel for 4 days and found it very convenient as a starting point to different parts of the city. It's walking distance to many shops and restaurants. The hotel has its own restaurant where I had breakfast a couple of times. The buffet looked good, but I only had a la carte items. The lobby area is pleasant and elegant. In general, service was good and the staff was helpful and courteous.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of Hotel Le Cantlie Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DBOM
Couples
Wilmette,IL
Jun 6, 2014

O'Malley's Graduation Visit

a few things were out of the ordinary. Hot water was not working well and a hair dryer was not working. All else was good. Will return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Hotel Le Cantlie Suites

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Sutook
Couples
Secaucus, NJ
Jun 1, 2014

Value and location

I think the other reviews I read prior to booking this hotel were pretty accurate. The hotel is older and a bit shabby inside but it was clean and comfortable. The location is fantastic and we walked everywhere. The hotel parking is not easy to find, you have to enter on Peel street and turn into an alley behind the hotel - I don't recall seeing any signs.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There is an Indian Restaurant around the corner from this hotel that gets completely packed during weekday lunch hours - The manager told us to come after 1:15pm and then you don't have to wait for a table.

Review of Hotel Le Cantlie Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sleepy OC Traveler
Friends
Montreal, Canada
May 27, 2014

Great time in Montreal

This was a great hotel! It was in the ideal location - literally in the middle of downtown. The only drawback was the television was not working - wanted to have it on while unwinding at the end of the night. I would definitely recommend this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Hotel Le Cantlie Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Hilkka
Family
Indiana
May 19, 2014

Visiting McGill

Great big room, really soft and comfortable beds, nice bar and restaurant, really close to McGill and many nice shops and restaurants and also the Metro. Valet parking is very expensive, though. Internet is not free, either.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

The art museum is really interesting.

Back to menu Return to top