$109 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Sep 25, 2015 Check-out: Sep 28, 2015

Hotel Espresso - Montreal Downtown

4 stars
View map of 1005 Guy Street, Montreal, QC H3H 2K4

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Espresso - Montreal Downtown

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
153 out of 153
Amenities:
3.3
Cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
3.7
Comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.7

73% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Espresso - Montreal Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
aaudette1
Couples
Rhode Island
Jul 9, 2012

downtown location

Conevniently located near many restaurants, bars, and shopping. The outdoor pool was large, however, the whole time we were there (4 days) there was a group of 4 unruly young boys who appeared to live in the hotel, were unsupervised at the pool, and no one made an effort to control them. At times, we and others left as they made the pool experience unpleasant. Breakfast was not included in our room, though we thought the parking fee ($20 per day) for in and out, was reasonable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Crescent street bars, especially Brewtopia, great brewpub!

Review of Hotel Espresso - Montreal Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
OM Matt
Friends
Westchester, NY
Jul 23, 2012

Good Deal

A good deal, clean, wifi, and desktop computer! Walking distance or bus or Subway to everywhere. In room Frig and Microwave ! In Hotel Parking Garage!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Friends

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Subway 5 min walk

Review of Hotel Espresso - Montreal Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
RockyJoe
Couples
New Jersey
Jul 27, 2012

Nice but housekeeping is sloppy

Very good price and good location (downtown near Crescent St. and near a Bixi station) and staff was pleasant. The only thing that ruined it was that the housekeeping staff looked like they tried but must have had dirty rags. Evey time we returned to the room after it had been cleaned there was hair all over the bathroom (vanity, sink, toilet and bathtub). Luckily we carry paper towels and disinfentants with us so we cleaned the bathroom again each day. The TV remote didn't work so apparently they don't test it each day when they clean the room. Also the PC in the room seemed to turn on by itself every day (or maybe housekeeping did it when we were out). I had to turn it off. Finally, although the wireless Internet signal was good I couldn't make any wi-fi calls through it (which I normally can do in hotels) so their routers may have been configured to prevent this type of traffic. All in all not bad but I wouldn't stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

When in Montreal, if you are physically able to, use the Bixi bike sharing system. There are stations all over town and it's much cheaper than taxi or Metro rides. It's also fun and helps you keep in shape during your vacation.

Review of Hotel Espresso - Montreal Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
DanJob
Friends
Moncton, New-Brunswick
Jul 30, 2012

Perfect for concert goers!

We rented this hotel to attend the Coldplay concert at the Bell Center. The location is fantastic! We avoided the dreaded concert parking and traffic. The room was clean and it was pretty spacious. We didn't have a chance to enjoy the pool or anything like that. However, it was so beautiful out that we didn't really want to spend time inside.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Friends

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Sainte-Catherine shopping, doesn't get any better!

Review of Hotel Espresso - Montreal Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
TDoggie
Toronto, ON
Aug 7, 2012

Economy Hotel

Simple clean room in convenient area. Hotel did have an odd smell and did not seem to enforce non-smoking.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Review of Hotel Espresso - Montreal Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
DaraO
Family
Toronto
Aug 20, 2012

Awesome staff!!

Our first night there, the our air conditioner had an issue but the staff fixed it quickly and we didn't have another issue at all. They were wonderful and patient with us as well as some other very rude customers. As far as I'm concerned, I would stay there again and again. Also, my friends who were staying in a different hotel attested that ours was much more comfortable, spacious and upgraded than theirs, and ours was a third of the price

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Hotel Espresso - Montreal Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
chnuspi
Single
Switzerland
Aug 28, 2012

not very special

housekeepng is not very flexible and leaves often stuff back in your bathroom, and it's not always clean, many hairs the tub or on the floor

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of Hotel Espresso - Montreal Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Opensourcerer
Family
Baltimore, Maryland
Aug 22, 2012

Definitely NOT a 4 star Hotel, MISLEADING!

What's the meaning of those four stars? The entrance stairs are worn-out granite, and dirty, Looks like a public hospital! Said my wife. Corridor carpets are terribly dirty. The ambiance is similar to that found in many roadside motels, no relationship with even three star suites in the US. The rooms are nothing special, they are clean but old, blinds are worn out and blocking material has peeled of in several places. Beds are comfortable and clean. Furniture is the kind you will find at the curbside, chairs are falling apart. Bathroom is clean and water hot, but that is all. Small refrigerator is provided. Be prepared to shell out 20 dollars for overnight parking. Espresso at the reception is good. Closest restaurants are 200 meters, nice ones at least 900. Metro supermarket is a good food option nearby.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Family

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

For good food go to Mount Royal, plenty of restaurants within budget. It is a 2.5 mile walk

Review of Hotel Espresso - Montreal Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Paul05141919
Couples
New York
Sep 24, 2012

What is going on with the hotel?

There must be some type Goverment subsidied housing, because day and night the lobby had Eskimo's hanging out. Also had what looked like a daycare outside the elevator on our floor as 6 small children were playing whil an older child watched. On checking you it looked like the hotel was printing out Meal voucher for one of the residents. If you don't have to spend a lot of time in any area other than your room you will be fine. Room was clean, bed was comfortable. OK for the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Irish Embasy was very good and inexpensive.

Review of Hotel Espresso - Montreal Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
EliVee
Single
Los Angeles, California
Nov 15, 2012

Practical and Good Location

My reservation had been received but not entered into their system but luckily this was not a problem and the very nice guy at the front desk put me in a room on the top floor that he said had just been remodeled. He offered me an espresso from the fancy machine they have at the desk, available at any time. The express bus from the airport stops right down the block from the hotel and it is easy to walk to many parts of the city from it. My only complaint is that I went to the hotel's restaurant, tired and hungry from my long flight, just to grab a light dinner before going to bed. There were only a few other people in the restaurant and it was very quiet. I was seated quickly but then sat for at least 20 minutes until suddenly the waitress comes running back over saying "I'm sorry I forgot all about you!" Thanks, glad I'm so memorable. I ordered the French onion soup and waited at least another half hour. Finally, starving and with nothing to show for nearly an hour in the restaurant, I walked out. Luckily the hotel also has a convenience store where I bought tuna and crackers! Also I was only there for a few days and I keep things clean so did not want anyone entering my room; but on the last day, they actually removed the Do Not Disturb sign and did some cleaning in the room, leaving a spray bottle on the sink. That annoyed me. For the value and location, I recommend this as a practical and comfortable place to stay. Nothing amazing, but it's just for sleeping after all.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Single

Back to menu Return to top