$135 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Nov 1, 2014 Check-out: Nov 3, 2014

Fairmont - The Queen Elizabeth

4 stars
900 Rene Levesque Boulevard West, Montreal, QC H3B 4A5
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
96 reviews
Venerable old lady, still very classy

Great welcome, for my wife I and our pointer, room upgrade to a room just below John and Yoko's... See full review

  • Travels with Mum
  • Sep 22, 2014
Very Nice Stay

We really enjoyed our stay. The location over the train and underground station was perfect for... See full review

  • bd81
  • Jul 25, 2014
Posh Montreal hotel above the train station, near major attractions
Situated above the train station near the Place des Arts, Dominion Square, Place Bonaventure and Bell Centre, the luxurious Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth is connected to the Underground City with 982 rooms, 91 of which are suites. Home to 50,000 square feet of meeting space, the hotel also features a spa, health club, indoor pool, steam room, lounge and the legendary Beaver Club restaurant. Other amenities at the pet-friendly Fairmont the Queen Elizabeth range from a steam room to a gift shop.
Highlights
  • Pet-friendly policy for dogs under 20 pounds (nominal fee applies)
  • Site of the famous Beaver Club, a gourmet restaurant
  • Spa and health club with pool, steam room and fitness equipment
Rooms
All of the 982 rooms and 91 suites have one king, one queen or two double beds with two-line telephones with voice mail, high-speed Internet access (fees may apply) and city views as well as alarm clock radios, coffee-makers, hair-dryers, and irons and ironing boards. A wide array of room categories exist within the hotel, from smaller economy rooms for budget-conscious travelers to luxurious one- and two-bedroom suites, some with separate living rooms, two televisions and full bathrooms, plus powder rooms. Fairmont the Queen Elizabeth also offers upper-level executive suites, some with kitchenettes and dining rooms.
Features
Poised near the illustrious sites, shopping, dining and nightlife of Montreal, the posh Fairmont the Queen Elizabeth caters to business and leisure travelers with a host of amenities, from luxury dining at the Beaver Club to a spa and health club, business center and meeting spaces. A widely varying room selection, 982 rooms and 91 suites, gives the property wide-reaching appeal, as does the presence of a pool, lounge, gift shop and prime address directly above the train station.
Transportation
  • Montreal-Pierre Elliott Trudeau International Airport (14 mi/22.5 km)
Attractions
  • Underground City (Connected to the hotel)
  • Cathedral of Marie-Reine-du-Monde (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • Bell Centre (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
Business
  • More than 50,000 square feet of flexible meeting space, including a 3,520-square-foot space for up to 300
  • Business center with high-speed Internet access, printing, faxing, scanning and courier services
Policies and fees
  • Valet parking (250 spaces) at the main entrance, Belmont or Cathcart Street, $29.00 per night, taxes excluded with a departure of 4pm

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

45.5005 -73.5685
Area served
City Center
Nearby airports
Montreal - Trudeau Intl Airport, (YUL), 19.20, KM, E;

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Fairmont - The Queen Elizabeth also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5

Fairmont - The Queen Elizabeth Rooms

Fairmont Gold King or Queen NS room
Fairmont Gold King or Queen NS room - polished with a rich earth tone decor. This lavish room includes exclusive access to Fairmont Gold lounge with private concierge, complimentary continental breakfast and snacks.
Fairmont Queen NS room
Fairmont Queen NS room - polished with a rich earth tone decor. This luxurious room with a fresh, modern flair is fully equipped with a marble finished bathroom and all of today`s best amenities.
Fairmont 2 double beds NS
Fairmont 2 double beds NS room - polished with a rich earth tone decor. This luxurious, non-smoking room with a fresh, modern flair is fully equipped with a marble finished bathroom and all of today`s best amenities.
Moderate Queen NS
Moderate Queen NS - contemporary flair. This bright, elegant room is fully equipped with a business desk, marble finished bathroom, extra seating, and all of today`s best amenities including a mini bar, coffee maker, etc.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Activities
Pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Game room
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Cathedral of Marie-Reine-du-Monde: 0 mi
  • Underground City: 0.1 mi
  • Centre Bell: 0.3 mi
  • Montreal Canadiens Hall of Fame: 0.3 mi
  • Bell Centre: 0.3 mi
  • St. Patrick's Basilica: 0.3 mi
  • Crescent Street: 0.4 mi
  • Montreal Museum of Fine Arts (Musee des Beaux-Arts): 0.5 mi
  • Place des Arts: 0.6 mi
  • Notre-Dame Basilica: 0.7 mi
  • Notre-Dame Basilica (Basilique Notre-Dame): 0.7 mi
  • Museum of Archaeology and History (Pointe-a-Calliere Museum): 0.7 mi
  • Quays of the Old Port of Montreal (Quais du Vieux-Port de Montreal): 0.8 mi
  • Rue St-Paul: 0.8 mi
  • Lachine Canal (Canal du Lachine): 0.8 mi
  • Cathedral of Marie-Reine-du-Monde: 0 mi
  • Underground City: 0.1 mi
  • Centre Bell: 0.3 mi
  • Montreal Canadiens Hall of Fame: 0.3 mi
  • Bell Centre: 0.3 mi
  • St. Patrick's Basilica: 0.3 mi
  • Crescent Street: 0.4 mi
  • Montreal Museum of Fine Arts (Musee des Beaux-Arts): 0.5 mi
  • Place des Arts: 0.6 mi
  • Notre-Dame Basilica: 0.7 mi
  • Notre-Dame Basilica (Basilique Notre-Dame): 0.7 mi
  • Museum of Archaeology and History (Pointe-a-Calliere Museum): 0.7 mi
  • Quays of the Old Port of Montreal (Quais du Vieux-Port de Montreal): 0.8 mi
  • Rue St-Paul: 0.8 mi
  • Lachine Canal (Canal du Lachine): 0.8 mi
  • Montreal Science Centre: 0.9 mi
  • Place Jacques-Cartier: 0.9 mi
  • Old Montreal (Vieux-Montreal): 1 mi
  • Mont (Mount) Royal: 1.1 mi
  • Rue Ste.-Catherine: 1.3 mi
  • Chateau Ramezay Museum: 1.3 mi
  • Port of Montreal, Iberville Cruise Terminal: 1.4 mi
  • Notre-Dame-de-Bonsecours Chapel (Chapelle Notre-Dame-de-Bonsecours): 1.9 mi
  • Ile Sainte-Helene: 2.2 mi
  • St. Joseph's Oratory of Mount Royal: 2.4 mi
  • Little Italy: 3.1 mi
  • Montreal Botanical Gardens (Jardin Botanique de Montreal): 4 mi
  • Biodome de Montreal: 4.2 mi
  • Montreal Insectarium: 4.4 mi

Dining

Le Montrealais Bistro Bar-Restaurant
Located on the lobby level of the hotel, Le Montrealais is a two-level restaurant including a bar section with windows overlooking Mary Queen of the World Cathedral and downtown Montreal. The menu offers tantalizing items featuring sunny Mediterranean cuisine, succulent grilled meats, fresh fish and luscious desserts in a lively bistro ambiance.
Les Voyageurs Bar
Comfort and relaxation guaranteed! The perfect place to unwind after a long day at work or play. Sit back with one of our famous martinis and enjoy the velvet touch of our pianist. When the time comes for an aperitif or a cocktail, our famous Voyageurs martinis are always the highlight of the hour! Unique and unequaled, the renowned Martinis have contributed greatly to the reputation of this elegant bar lounge since its opening. At lunch, Les Voyageurs offers one of the best business deals in town. The noontime menu features delicious international specialties that are sure to please those on the run.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (96)

Ratings and reviews for Fairmont - The Queen Elizabeth

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
42 out of 96
Amenities:
4.2
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.7
Value:
3.8

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Fairmont - The Queen Elizabeth

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
tedia
New Brunswick, NJ
Jun 30, 2009

Held to much money on my card!!!!!!!

Staff did not tell us that they were going to hold $500.00 on my card for hotel damages. They also charged us the rate for our stay, when it was already prepaid with Orbitz. They was no communication with us about any charges, at all. They were removed. The hotel is nice, but make sure that you are not being charge twice for your stay. Good location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Good location, close the everything.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Fairmont - The Queen Elizabeth

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Dreams about Dreams if they can together
Michigan
Jul 6, 2009

Montreal Queen Elisabeth

We didn´t enjoy the noise. We arrived and it was a very noisy non-bearing alarm. We asked hotel staff and they said they had no clue! We were not able to get to our room for two hours!!! We had to convince the concierge to get our lugguage and we come back!!! We came back after two hours and were able FINALLY to get to our room. Believe it or not, we had the same annoying experience at check-out!!! Hope they gonna get thir acts together!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Restaurant Macao on ST Denis Street (Quartier Latin) where your bring your own wine!!! Sublime (as they say in French): OUTSTANDING!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Fairmont - The Queen Elizabeth

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Red roof
New York, NY
Sep 14, 2009

Montreal

Location was good, staff friendly but the facilities are badly in need of an upgrade; both in the room and in the common areas.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Fairmont - The Queen Elizabeth

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
nyc nan
ny, ny
Aug 1, 2010

The good, bad and ugly room.

I assume renovated meant recent, not 10 or 20 years ago. Room and mattress did not come up to the Fairmont standard.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Fairmont - The Queen Elizabeth

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
A Giddy Up and Go Traveler
Alexandria, VA
Jan 4, 2011

"A Nice Place to Stay"

Fitness center was great and open 24 hours, which was even better. The hotels connection to the underground city in Montreal was perfect and meant a trip without coats to the Bell Centre for hockey and to the food area for breakfast. Paying $15 for Internet is just silly! Seriously, do they need to still charge that much or at all?

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Old Montreal

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Fairmont - The Queen Elizabeth

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Albs
Redondo Beach, CA
Sep 24, 2012

Nice hotel, great location, rooms need facelift

We enjoyed our stay at the Queen E, great location, but the rooms are very small, bathrooms very small, plumbing is ancient (complete with leaky faucets); it was not up to the standard of other Fairmont properties that we have stayed at. Given the size of the age and size of the room we would have expected a lower price, or could have paid the same and got a better room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The hotel is a short walk from anything you want: food, nightlife, tourist stuff ...

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Fairmont - The Queen Elizabeth

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Leonardo Dicaprio
Rhode Island
Jul 29, 2014

Quick Night Trip

We visited this hotel for an overnight trip to Montreal and faced some mixed reviews. PROS: *The location was great, an easy walk to both the downtown area, old Montreal and the waterfront. *The room was clean and offered a view of the water foundation across the street. The faucets and sink were outdated, but who cares about that, and there was a big, flatscreen television. *The concierge was very helpful for a couple of out of town visitors, and gave us a variety of very helpful and successful restaurant options. CONS *There was a problem with the check-in, as they gave us two double beds instead of the queen we booked. It took some time and persistence to get everything squared away. *The check-in is scheduled for 4 p.m., which is extremely late and frustrating. *The parking situation is a little expensive for just one night. *We were not allowed to take our drinks from the hotel bar up to our room. Overall, this hotel is good because of the location, but it might be wroth it to search around first for a better deal in the area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Fairmont - The Queen Elizabeth

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Dukeofargy
Rockwood, Ontario
Nov 8, 2012

okay price, SMALL room, questionable service.

We got a deal when we booked the hotel. At that, it is still somewhat pricey. This hotel prides itself on its high rating. It is very convenient to the railway station - almost right above it. The restaurants are good, albeit pricey. The rooms are small. We had a room with two double beds, which leaves little room to get around. I have to get off my chair for my wife to pass by to go to the window. The bathroom door has to be closed to use the toilet or one has the door dangerously close to one's privates. The tub is quite spaceous. The soap has a wonderfully mild rose fragrance. Room service is questionable. We left in the morning, around 10:00 a.m. and strolled around beautiful Montreal. Off to Ogilvy's and then off to Old Montreal which is within walking distance of the hotel. That is a bonus. We returned at 3:30 pm to discover that the room had not been cleaned. That was a shock. We phoned for room service and were told that we should have requested the room to be cleaned and that they only clean it if requested. After a "discussion" with housekeeping and also the house manager, to their credit, they arrived within minutes. The cleaning of the room took about an hour though. Talk about slow motion. We came up three times, only to discover that the cleaning staff was still in the room. Finally after an hour, the room was cleaned and we could come in to our room to relax. Would I come back? Possibly, mainly due to its excellent location. When checking in , be absolutely certain that you are in the right spot, or they will take the guy who is two feet away, but in the right spot. We were somewhat surprised after waiting 10 minutes, to find out that we were a few feet from the right spot, and they took the chap who arrived after we did I guess that was out fault, although I had not seen sigs indicating what the right spot might be. Room Tip: Always ASK for what you want. If you want non feather rooms, ask for it. If you want your room cleaned, you have to askfor it, or it won't get done. ... or so I was told by the receptionist. We stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Fairmont - The Queen Elizabeth

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
William819
New Orleans, LA
Jun 12, 2013

Montreal Trip

Initial room was very small, two double beds. Asked to be moved to room with queen bed as reserved. Had to up grade to junior suite, $100 a day extra. They were nice about it but we did have reservations that were made some time in advance.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

All bartenders were extremely nice and knowledgeable, very helpful in describing points of interest, restaurants, etc in the area, even wrote down street directions so we would not get lost.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Fairmont - The Queen Elizabeth

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Peter1943
Denville, NJ, USA
Nov 2, 2011

Orbitz went way out of their way...

We got snowed in at home and could not make it the first night of our two night stay. Called Orbitz and they got the hotel to reimburse us fully for that first night, even though the room was non-reimbursable. Thank you Orbitz. You'll get all our travel business from here on.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Hotel is located right on top of Montreal's Central RR Station. We arrived by Amtrak and left by ViaRail Canada. Just an elevator ride from the train to our room. What could be more convenient than that?

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top