$162 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 24, 2015 Check-out: May 25, 2015

Fairmont - The Queen Elizabeth

4 stars
View map of 900 Rene Levesque Boulevard West, Montreal, QC H3B 4A5

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Fairmont - The Queen Elizabeth

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
101 out of 101
Amenities:
4.2
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.7
Value:
4

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Fairmont - The Queen Elizabeth

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Albs
Business
Redondo Beach, CA
Sep 24, 2012

Nice hotel, great location, rooms need facelift

We enjoyed our stay at the Queen E, great location, but the rooms are very small, bathrooms very small, plumbing is ancient (complete with leaky faucets); it was not up to the standard of other Fairmont properties that we have stayed at. Given the size of the age and size of the room we would have expected a lower price, or could have paid the same and got a better room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The hotel is a short walk from anything you want: food, nightlife, tourist stuff ...

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Fairmont - The Queen Elizabeth

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Dukeofargy
Business
Rockwood, Ontario
Nov 8, 2012

okay price, SMALL room, questionable service.

We got a deal when we booked the hotel. At that, it is still somewhat pricey. This hotel prides itself on its high rating. It is very convenient to the railway station - almost right above it. The restaurants are good, albeit pricey. The rooms are small. We had a room with two double beds, which leaves little room to get around. I have to get off my chair for my wife to pass by to go to the window. The bathroom door has to be closed to use the toilet or one has the door dangerously close to one's privates. The tub is quite spaceous. The soap has a wonderfully mild rose fragrance. Room service is questionable. We left in the morning, around 10:00 a.m. and strolled around beautiful Montreal. Off to Ogilvy's and then off to Old Montreal which is within walking distance of the hotel. That is a bonus. We returned at 3:30 pm to discover that the room had not been cleaned. That was a shock. We phoned for room service and were told that we should have requested the room to be cleaned and that they only clean it if requested. After a "discussion" with housekeeping and also the house manager, to their credit, they arrived within minutes. The cleaning of the room took about an hour though. Talk about slow motion. We came up three times, only to discover that the cleaning staff was still in the room. Finally after an hour, the room was cleaned and we could come in to our room to relax. Would I come back? Possibly, mainly due to its excellent location. When checking in , be absolutely certain that you are in the right spot, or they will take the guy who is two feet away, but in the right spot. We were somewhat surprised after waiting 10 minutes, to find out that we were a few feet from the right spot, and they took the chap who arrived after we did I guess that was out fault, although I had not seen sigs indicating what the right spot might be. Room Tip: Always ASK for what you want. If you want non feather rooms, ask for it. If you want your room cleaned, you have to askfor it, or it won't get done. ... or so I was told by the receptionist. We stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Fairmont - The Queen Elizabeth

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
William819
Business
New Orleans, LA
Jun 12, 2013

Montreal Trip

Initial room was very small, two double beds. Asked to be moved to room with queen bed as reserved. Had to up grade to junior suite, $100 a day extra. They were nice about it but we did have reservations that were made some time in advance.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

All bartenders were extremely nice and knowledgeable, very helpful in describing points of interest, restaurants, etc in the area, even wrote down street directions so we would not get lost.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Fairmont - The Queen Elizabeth

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Moosecake
Business
Toronto, Ontario
Aug 22, 2011

A bit pricey, but it was nice

While I did enjoy my stay at this hotel, I felt the price was a bit steep for the un-renovated room I stayed in. The rooms are smaller than what I'm used to for something in this price range as well. You can't beat the location and Hotel service though.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Fairmont - The Queen Elizabeth

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
A Giddy Up and Go Traveler
Business
Alexandria, VA
Jan 4, 2011

"A Nice Place to Stay"

Fitness center was great and open 24 hours, which was even better. The hotels connection to the underground city in Montreal was perfect and meant a trip without coats to the Bell Centre for hockey and to the food area for breakfast. Paying $15 for Internet is just silly! Seriously, do they need to still charge that much or at all?

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Old Montreal

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Fairmont - The Queen Elizabeth

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
N.O.LA
Jul 26, 2009

Fair fair and more fair

They could care less if we were there or not..... WE felt like second class citizens using the source to procure the room.....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

check a guide book...

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Fairmont - The Queen Elizabeth

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
NH USA
Nov 3, 2009

Good

Elevator motor noise was anoying Resturant was excellent Staff was very good

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Fairmont - The Queen Elizabeth

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Leonardo Dicaprio
Business
Rhode Island
Jul 29, 2014

Quick Night Trip

We visited this hotel for an overnight trip to Montreal and faced some mixed reviews. PROS: *The location was great, an easy walk to both the downtown area, old Montreal and the waterfront. *The room was clean and offered a view of the water foundation across the street. The faucets and sink were outdated, but who cares about that, and there was a big, flatscreen television. *The concierge was very helpful for a couple of out of town visitors, and gave us a variety of very helpful and successful restaurant options. CONS *There was a problem with the check-in, as they gave us two double beds instead of the queen we booked. It took some time and persistence to get everything squared away. *The check-in is scheduled for 4 p.m., which is extremely late and frustrating. *The parking situation is a little expensive for just one night. *We were not allowed to take our drinks from the hotel bar up to our room. Overall, this hotel is good because of the location, but it might be wroth it to search around first for a better deal in the area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Fairmont - The Queen Elizabeth

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
MeMyseldAndI
Business
Montreal, Qc
Sep 29, 2014

GREAT LOCATION, SMALL ROOMS

We stayed for only one night for a special event taking place in the city. Hotel is perfectly located downtown, close to Metro station and pretty much everything... Everything at the Queen E is very expensive: no free wi-fi access, in-room service is very expensive, in-room mini-bar is extremely expensive (think $9 for a Evian bottle)... Make sure to reserve if you want to grab bfast at the restaurant (even if it is at 8am on a Sunday) Staff is very nice, hotel is clean, but the rooms are extremely tiny (think, you can't use the toilet if the door is not closed)... Make sure to ask for a room far from the elevators: they are quite noisy!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Fairmont - The Queen Elizabeth

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jekkles
Business
Pennsylvania
Jan 2, 2014

New Years Trip

Perfect location, very nice and helpful employees, very clean! Loved the underground city underneath the hotel! Will definetely stay there again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top