$130 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 24, 2015 Check-out: Apr 25, 2015

Fairmont - The Queen Elizabeth

4 stars
View map of 900 Rene Levesque Boulevard West, Montreal, QC H3B 4A5

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Fairmont - The Queen Elizabeth

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
97 out of 97
Amenities:
4.2
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.7
Value:
4

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Fairmont - The Queen Elizabeth

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
SHESAKICK
Business
CALIFORNIA
Aug 3, 2012

Central hotel in Montreal, Canada

The hotel was central to everything. The train station and a wonderful mall full of shops and bistros was just below. It as the perfect location. Everyone of the staff was very friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: In Hotel

Don't exchange your Canadian dollars at an exchange site. Use a store and buy something. You get more for your money!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Fairmont - The Queen Elizabeth

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Dukeofargy
Business
Rockwood, Ontario
Nov 8, 2012

okay price, SMALL room, questionable service.

We got a deal when we booked the hotel. At that, it is still somewhat pricey. This hotel prides itself on its high rating. It is very convenient to the railway station - almost right above it. The restaurants are good, albeit pricey. The rooms are small. We had a room with two double beds, which leaves little room to get around. I have to get off my chair for my wife to pass by to go to the window. The bathroom door has to be closed to use the toilet or one has the door dangerously close to one's privates. The tub is quite spaceous. The soap has a wonderfully mild rose fragrance. Room service is questionable. We left in the morning, around 10:00 a.m. and strolled around beautiful Montreal. Off to Ogilvy's and then off to Old Montreal which is within walking distance of the hotel. That is a bonus. We returned at 3:30 pm to discover that the room had not been cleaned. That was a shock. We phoned for room service and were told that we should have requested the room to be cleaned and that they only clean it if requested. After a "discussion" with housekeeping and also the house manager, to their credit, they arrived within minutes. The cleaning of the room took about an hour though. Talk about slow motion. We came up three times, only to discover that the cleaning staff was still in the room. Finally after an hour, the room was cleaned and we could come in to our room to relax. Would I come back? Possibly, mainly due to its excellent location. When checking in , be absolutely certain that you are in the right spot, or they will take the guy who is two feet away, but in the right spot. We were somewhat surprised after waiting 10 minutes, to find out that we were a few feet from the right spot, and they took the chap who arrived after we did I guess that was out fault, although I had not seen sigs indicating what the right spot might be. Room Tip: Always ASK for what you want. If you want non feather rooms, ask for it. If you want your room cleaned, you have to askfor it, or it won't get done. ... or so I was told by the receptionist. We stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Fairmont - The Queen Elizabeth

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Albs
Business
Redondo Beach, CA
Sep 24, 2012

Nice hotel, great location, rooms need facelift

We enjoyed our stay at the Queen E, great location, but the rooms are very small, bathrooms very small, plumbing is ancient (complete with leaky faucets); it was not up to the standard of other Fairmont properties that we have stayed at. Given the size of the age and size of the room we would have expected a lower price, or could have paid the same and got a better room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The hotel is a short walk from anything you want: food, nightlife, tourist stuff ...

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Fairmont - The Queen Elizabeth

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Gurn
Business
Tampa, Fl
Sep 13, 2012

Don't visit when staff is in labor dispute

Rooms were dirty. All service staff was involved in a labor dispute. All restaurants in hotel were closed during the full duration of our stay. Would not return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Fairmont - The Queen Elizabeth

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mellow2
Business
Boston
Aug 28, 2012

Didn't keep up

I am originally from Montreal and was visiting for a few days, all my favourite hotels were booked and I had to stay ay the Queen. Average. but the hotel needs some updating (the flat screen TV does not make up for the cramped bathroom with cracked porcelain. If you like shopping it is a great location and access to the underground is a must during cold winter months. Besides that, 16 bucks for a very average gin and tonic in a depressing hotel bar??? Really ?!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Sainte-Catherine Street

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Fairmont - The Queen Elizabeth

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Burtie
Business
Delaware
Aug 7, 2012

First time in Montreal

This hotel is in the perfect location to do your own walking tour of the city. We did take the Gray Line to Mount Royal park(fantastic view) and the Montreal Casino. The riverfront is lively and fun. The food was always tasty, and we appreciated the English menus. The people were so very friendly and we never looked at our map without some one asking us if we needed help. We recommend The fairmont Queen Elizabeth highly and the lovely City of Montreal!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Norte-Dame Basilica

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Fairmont - The Queen Elizabeth

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
SHESAKICK
Business
CALIFORNIA
Aug 3, 2012

Central hotel in Montreal, Canada

The hotel was central to everything. The train station and a wonderful mall full of shops and bistros was just below. It as the perfect location. Everyone of the staff was very friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: In Hotel

Don't exchange your Canadian dollars at an exchange site. Use a store and buy something. You get more for your money!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Fairmont - The Queen Elizabeth

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Island girl traveler
Business
New Jersey
Aug 1, 2012

Underground sensation

Great hotel, great location. Room we stayed in was too small for a hotel this size. The bonus was the elevator to the underground shopping world. Most amazing underground world I have ever seen.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Everything you need is underground. Any cuisine you can imagine.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Fairmont - The Queen Elizabeth

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
jaya tang
Business
edmonton, alberta
Jul 31, 2012

best holiday

very good hotel in term of location, staffs and cleanliness except I wish the hotel provide free WIFI in the lobby.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Fairmont - The Queen Elizabeth

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mochajeffrey
Business
ajax ontarioo
Jul 25, 2012

Comfort and service at it's best

Our first meeting with Kevin at the front desk set the tone for what became the most enjoyable time away from home. This visit was to celebrate our 21st wedding anniversary. Fairmont staff made us feel as though we had just gotten married again. We originally booked a single room with double beds as our son was also with us. We were able to upgrade to a suite for privacy. And what a suite - wow! My son also had his own separate bath which made us feel right at home. The room was well designed for comfort and The staff were very helpful and friendly. How could I Ever forget Isoz at the Conceirge desk. He booked us on the Montreal tour and we had quite a blast. Montreal was breath-taking and steeped in history. We left the best for last - dinner at the Montreal restaurant in the hotel. The salmon was great and I am still tasting those desserts. What a wonderful place and well located over the Central station and stops. I can't wait for my next Vacation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Fairmont - The Queen Elizabeth

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
SelfishMom
Business
Brooklyn, NY
Jul 24, 2012

Will definitely go back to the Fairmont Queen Elizabeth

We booked a regular room and were offered an upgrade to a gold level room at check-in for an additional charge per night, which we took. This included a bigger room with more amenities, breakfast and snacks each day in the gold level lounge (including unlimited bottles of water and soft drinks), private concierges just for the gold level floors, turn down service, bikes and helmets to use for 2 hours, and WiFi. One of the concierges, Francois-Pascal, spent about half an hour with us planning what we would see and do on our trip, and his input was invaluable. Our room was very comfortable and the bed was wonderful. The only complaints I had were small and would not stop me from staying in the hotel again (I'd have given it a 4.5 instead of a 4 if that had been possible). -Housekeeping did not give us an extra roll of toilet paper; luckily I noticed "in time" and just had to run out into the hallway and swipe one from the cart. -There was no couch - no place for two people to sit and relax. Just a comfy chair and ottoman. While the TV did extend from the bureau and turn towards the bed, only about 2/3 of the screen was visible from the bed. -While there are blackout curtains, because of where they're installed light bleeds from around the edges and the room never gets very dark during the day. Other than those three issues, though, everything was wonderful. The hotel was quiet, the staff extremely friendly, and our closet had one of the biggest safes I've ever seen (in some hotels I can't even fit a laptop in). Also, the location can't be beat: it was a short walk to Old Montreal and Notre Dame Cathedral, and there were many Bixi bike stations nearby, plus the Metro.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

As we were leaving Notre Dame Cathedral we saw many disappointed people trying to talk their way in, but the cathedral was being closed at 12:30pm on a Saturday for two weddings. Try to check before you go so that you won't miss out.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top