$116 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 23, 2014 Check-out: Dec 26, 2014

Fairmont - The Queen Elizabeth

4 stars
900 Rene Levesque Boulevard West, Montreal, QC H3B 4A5
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
96 reviews
Venerable old lady, still very classy

Great welcome, for my wife I and our pointer, room upgrade to a room just below John and Yoko's... See full review

  • Travels with Mum
  • Sep 22, 2014
Very Nice Stay

We really enjoyed our stay. The location over the train and underground station was perfect for... See full review

  • bd81
  • Jul 25, 2014
Posh Montreal hotel above the train station, near major attractions
Situated above the train station near the Place des Arts, Dominion Square, Place Bonaventure and Bell Centre, the luxurious Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth is connected to the Underground City with 982 rooms, 91 of which are suites. Home to 50,000 square feet of meeting space, the hotel also features a spa, health club, indoor pool, steam room, lounge and the legendary Beaver Club restaurant. Other amenities at the pet-friendly Fairmont the Queen Elizabeth range from a steam room to a gift shop.
Highlights
  • Pet-friendly policy for dogs under 20 pounds (nominal fee applies)
  • Site of the famous Beaver Club, a gourmet restaurant
  • Spa and health club with pool, steam room and fitness equipment
Rooms
All of the 982 rooms and 91 suites have one king, one queen or two double beds with two-line telephones with voice mail, high-speed Internet access (fees may apply) and city views as well as alarm clock radios, coffee-makers, hair-dryers, and irons and ironing boards. A wide array of room categories exist within the hotel, from smaller economy rooms for budget-conscious travelers to luxurious one- and two-bedroom suites, some with separate living rooms, two televisions and full bathrooms, plus powder rooms. Fairmont the Queen Elizabeth also offers upper-level executive suites, some with kitchenettes and dining rooms.
Features
Poised near the illustrious sites, shopping, dining and nightlife of Montreal, the posh Fairmont the Queen Elizabeth caters to business and leisure travelers with a host of amenities, from luxury dining at the Beaver Club to a spa and health club, business center and meeting spaces. A widely varying room selection, 982 rooms and 91 suites, gives the property wide-reaching appeal, as does the presence of a pool, lounge, gift shop and prime address directly above the train station.
Transportation
  • Montreal-Pierre Elliott Trudeau International Airport (14 mi/22.5 km)
Attractions
  • Underground City (Connected to the hotel)
  • Cathedral of Marie-Reine-du-Monde (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • Bell Centre (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
Business
  • More than 50,000 square feet of flexible meeting space, including a 3,520-square-foot space for up to 300
  • Business center with high-speed Internet access, printing, faxing, scanning and courier services
Policies and fees
  • Valet parking (250 spaces) at the main entrance, Belmont or Cathcart Street, $29.00 per night, taxes excluded with a departure of 4pm

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Fairmont - The Queen Elizabeth also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5

Fairmont - The Queen Elizabeth Rooms

Fairmont Gold King or Queen NS room
Fairmont Gold King or Queen NS room - polished with a rich earth tone decor. This lavish room includes exclusive access to Fairmont Gold lounge with private concierge, complimentary continental breakfast and snacks.
Fairmont Queen NS room
Fairmont Queen NS room - polished with a rich earth tone decor. This luxurious room with a fresh, modern flair is fully equipped with a marble finished bathroom and all of today`s best amenities.
Fairmont 2 double beds NS
Fairmont 2 double beds NS room - polished with a rich earth tone decor. This luxurious, non-smoking room with a fresh, modern flair is fully equipped with a marble finished bathroom and all of today`s best amenities.
Moderate Queen NS
Moderate Queen NS - contemporary flair. This bright, elegant room is fully equipped with a business desk, marble finished bathroom, extra seating, and all of today`s best amenities including a mini bar, coffee maker, etc.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Activities
Pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Game room
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Cathedral of Marie-Reine-du-Monde: 0 mi
  • Underground City: 0.1 mi
  • Centre Bell: 0.3 mi
  • Montreal Canadiens Hall of Fame: 0.3 mi
  • Bell Centre: 0.3 mi
  • St. Patrick's Basilica: 0.3 mi
  • Crescent Street: 0.4 mi
  • Montreal Museum of Fine Arts (Musee des Beaux-Arts): 0.5 mi
  • Place des Arts: 0.6 mi
  • Notre-Dame Basilica: 0.7 mi
  • Notre-Dame Basilica (Basilique Notre-Dame): 0.7 mi
  • Museum of Archaeology and History (Pointe-a-Calliere Museum): 0.7 mi
  • Quays of the Old Port of Montreal (Quais du Vieux-Port de Montreal): 0.8 mi
  • Rue St-Paul: 0.8 mi
  • Lachine Canal (Canal du Lachine): 0.8 mi
  • Cathedral of Marie-Reine-du-Monde: 0 mi
  • Underground City: 0.1 mi
  • Centre Bell: 0.3 mi
  • Montreal Canadiens Hall of Fame: 0.3 mi
  • Bell Centre: 0.3 mi
  • St. Patrick's Basilica: 0.3 mi
  • Crescent Street: 0.4 mi
  • Montreal Museum of Fine Arts (Musee des Beaux-Arts): 0.5 mi
  • Place des Arts: 0.6 mi
  • Notre-Dame Basilica: 0.7 mi
  • Notre-Dame Basilica (Basilique Notre-Dame): 0.7 mi
  • Museum of Archaeology and History (Pointe-a-Calliere Museum): 0.7 mi
  • Quays of the Old Port of Montreal (Quais du Vieux-Port de Montreal): 0.8 mi
  • Rue St-Paul: 0.8 mi
  • Lachine Canal (Canal du Lachine): 0.8 mi
  • Montreal Science Centre: 0.9 mi
  • Place Jacques-Cartier: 0.9 mi
  • Old Montreal (Vieux-Montreal): 1 mi
  • Mont (Mount) Royal: 1.1 mi
  • Rue Ste.-Catherine: 1.3 mi
  • Chateau Ramezay Museum: 1.3 mi
  • Port of Montreal, Iberville Cruise Terminal: 1.4 mi
  • Notre-Dame-de-Bonsecours Chapel (Chapelle Notre-Dame-de-Bonsecours): 1.9 mi
  • Ile Sainte-Helene: 2.2 mi
  • St. Joseph's Oratory of Mount Royal: 2.4 mi
  • Little Italy: 3.1 mi
  • Montreal Botanical Gardens (Jardin Botanique de Montreal): 4 mi
  • Biodome de Montreal: 4.2 mi
  • Montreal Insectarium: 4.4 mi

Dining

Le Montrealais Bistro Bar-Restaurant
Located on the lobby level of the hotel, Le Montrealais is a two-level restaurant including a bar section with windows overlooking Mary Queen of the World Cathedral and downtown Montreal. The menu offers tantalizing items featuring sunny Mediterranean cuisine, succulent grilled meats, fresh fish and luscious desserts in a lively bistro ambiance.
Les Voyageurs Bar
Comfort and relaxation guaranteed! The perfect place to unwind after a long day at work or play. Sit back with one of our famous martinis and enjoy the velvet touch of our pianist. When the time comes for an aperitif or a cocktail, our famous Voyageurs martinis are always the highlight of the hour! Unique and unequaled, the renowned Martinis have contributed greatly to the reputation of this elegant bar lounge since its opening. At lunch, Les Voyageurs offers one of the best business deals in town. The noontime menu features delicious international specialties that are sure to please those on the run.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (96)

Ratings and reviews for Fairmont - The Queen Elizabeth

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
96 out of 96
Amenities:
4.2
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.7
Value:
4

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Fairmont - The Queen Elizabeth

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mochajeffrey
ajax ontarioo
Jul 25, 2012

Comfort and service at it's best

Our first meeting with Kevin at the front desk set the tone for what became the most enjoyable time away from home. This visit was to celebrate our 21st wedding anniversary. Fairmont staff made us feel as though we had just gotten married again. We originally booked a single room with double beds as our son was also with us. We were able to upgrade to a suite for privacy. And what a suite - wow! My son also had his own separate bath which made us feel right at home. The room was well designed for comfort and The staff were very helpful and friendly. How could I Ever forget Isoz at the Conceirge desk. He booked us on the Montreal tour and we had quite a blast. Montreal was breath-taking and steeped in history. We left the best for last - dinner at the Montreal restaurant in the hotel. The salmon was great and I am still tasting those desserts. What a wonderful place and well located over the Central station and stops. I can't wait for my next Vacation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Fairmont - The Queen Elizabeth

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Albs
Business
Redondo Beach, CA
Sep 24, 2012

Nice hotel, great location, rooms need facelift

We enjoyed our stay at the Queen E, great location, but the rooms are very small, bathrooms very small, plumbing is ancient (complete with leaky faucets); it was not up to the standard of other Fairmont properties that we have stayed at. Given the size of the age and size of the room we would have expected a lower price, or could have paid the same and got a better room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The hotel is a short walk from anything you want: food, nightlife, tourist stuff ...

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Fairmont - The Queen Elizabeth

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Gurn
Business
Tampa, Fl
Sep 13, 2012

Don't visit when staff is in labor dispute

Rooms were dirty. All service staff was involved in a labor dispute. All restaurants in hotel were closed during the full duration of our stay. Would not return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Fairmont - The Queen Elizabeth

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mellow2
Business
Boston
Aug 28, 2012

Didn't keep up

I am originally from Montreal and was visiting for a few days, all my favourite hotels were booked and I had to stay ay the Queen. Average. but the hotel needs some updating (the flat screen TV does not make up for the cramped bathroom with cracked porcelain. If you like shopping it is a great location and access to the underground is a must during cold winter months. Besides that, 16 bucks for a very average gin and tonic in a depressing hotel bar??? Really ?!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Sainte-Catherine Street

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Fairmont - The Queen Elizabeth

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Burtie
Business
Delaware
Aug 7, 2012

First time in Montreal

This hotel is in the perfect location to do your own walking tour of the city. We did take the Gray Line to Mount Royal park(fantastic view) and the Montreal Casino. The riverfront is lively and fun. The food was always tasty, and we appreciated the English menus. The people were so very friendly and we never looked at our map without some one asking us if we needed help. We recommend The fairmont Queen Elizabeth highly and the lovely City of Montreal!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Norte-Dame Basilica

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Fairmont - The Queen Elizabeth

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
SHESAKICK
Business
CALIFORNIA
Aug 3, 2012

Central hotel in Montreal, Canada

The hotel was central to everything. The train station and a wonderful mall full of shops and bistros was just below. It as the perfect location. Everyone of the staff was very friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: In Hotel

Don't exchange your Canadian dollars at an exchange site. Use a store and buy something. You get more for your money!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Fairmont - The Queen Elizabeth

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Island girl traveler
Business
New Jersey
Aug 1, 2012

Underground sensation

Great hotel, great location. Room we stayed in was too small for a hotel this size. The bonus was the elevator to the underground shopping world. Most amazing underground world I have ever seen.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Everything you need is underground. Any cuisine you can imagine.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Fairmont - The Queen Elizabeth

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
jaya tang
Business
edmonton, alberta
Jul 31, 2012

best holiday

very good hotel in term of location, staffs and cleanliness except I wish the hotel provide free WIFI in the lobby.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Fairmont - The Queen Elizabeth

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mochajeffrey
Business
ajax ontarioo
Jul 25, 2012

Comfort and service at it's best

Our first meeting with Kevin at the front desk set the tone for what became the most enjoyable time away from home. This visit was to celebrate our 21st wedding anniversary. Fairmont staff made us feel as though we had just gotten married again. We originally booked a single room with double beds as our son was also with us. We were able to upgrade to a suite for privacy. And what a suite - wow! My son also had his own separate bath which made us feel right at home. The room was well designed for comfort and The staff were very helpful and friendly. How could I Ever forget Isoz at the Conceirge desk. He booked us on the Montreal tour and we had quite a blast. Montreal was breath-taking and steeped in history. We left the best for last - dinner at the Montreal restaurant in the hotel. The salmon was great and I am still tasting those desserts. What a wonderful place and well located over the Central station and stops. I can't wait for my next Vacation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Fairmont - The Queen Elizabeth

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
SelfishMom
Business
Brooklyn, NY
Jul 24, 2012

Will definitely go back to the Fairmont Queen Elizabeth

We booked a regular room and were offered an upgrade to a gold level room at check-in for an additional charge per night, which we took. This included a bigger room with more amenities, breakfast and snacks each day in the gold level lounge (including unlimited bottles of water and soft drinks), private concierges just for the gold level floors, turn down service, bikes and helmets to use for 2 hours, and WiFi. One of the concierges, Francois-Pascal, spent about half an hour with us planning what we would see and do on our trip, and his input was invaluable. Our room was very comfortable and the bed was wonderful. The only complaints I had were small and would not stop me from staying in the hotel again (I'd have given it a 4.5 instead of a 4 if that had been possible). -Housekeeping did not give us an extra roll of toilet paper; luckily I noticed "in time" and just had to run out into the hallway and swipe one from the cart. -There was no couch - no place for two people to sit and relax. Just a comfy chair and ottoman. While the TV did extend from the bureau and turn towards the bed, only about 2/3 of the screen was visible from the bed. -While there are blackout curtains, because of where they're installed light bleeds from around the edges and the room never gets very dark during the day. Other than those three issues, though, everything was wonderful. The hotel was quiet, the staff extremely friendly, and our closet had one of the biggest safes I've ever seen (in some hotels I can't even fit a laptop in). Also, the location can't be beat: it was a short walk to Old Montreal and Notre Dame Cathedral, and there were many Bixi bike stations nearby, plus the Metro.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

As we were leaving Notre Dame Cathedral we saw many disappointed people trying to talk their way in, but the cathedral was being closed at 12:30pm on a Saturday for two weddings. Try to check before you go so that you won't miss out.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Fairmont - The Queen Elizabeth

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Rodney the Traveler
Business
New York
Jul 9, 2012

Great family trip

We decided to getaway at the last minute and choose to make a trip to Montreal. The Fairmont was the perfect place to stay, The room was great and the staff was superior.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top