$147 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 17, 2014 Check-out: Aug 18, 2014

Fairmont - The Queen Elizabeth

4 stars
900 Rene Levesque Boulevard West, Montreal, QC H3B 4A5
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
136 reviews
Very Nice Stay

We really enjoyed our stay. The location over the train and underground station was perfect for... See full review

  • bd81
  • Jul 25, 2014
Excellent

We had a wonderful stay at the Queen Elizabeth! We took the train right to the hotel. So... See full review

  • A friend to Montreal
  • Apr 21, 2014
Posh Montreal hotel above the train station, near major attractions
Situated above the train station near the Place des Arts, Dominion Square, Place Bonaventure and Bell Centre, the luxurious Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth is connected to the Underground City with 982 rooms, 91 of which are suites. Home to 50,000 square feet of meeting space, the hotel also features a spa, health club, indoor pool, steam room, lounge and the legendary Beaver Club restaurant. Other amenities at the pet-friendly Fairmont the Queen Elizabeth range from a steam room to a gift shop.
Highlights
  • Pet-friendly policy for dogs under 20 pounds (nominal fee applies)
  • Site of the famous Beaver Club, a gourmet restaurant
  • Spa and health club with pool, steam room and fitness equipment
Rooms
All of the 982 rooms and 91 suites have one king, one queen or two double beds with two-line telephones with voice mail, high-speed Internet access (fees may apply) and city views as well as alarm clock radios, coffee-makers, hair-dryers, and irons and ironing boards. A wide array of room categories exist within the hotel, from smaller economy rooms for budget-conscious travelers to luxurious one- and two-bedroom suites, some with separate living rooms, two televisions and full bathrooms, plus powder rooms. Fairmont the Queen Elizabeth also offers upper-level executive suites, some with kitchenettes and dining rooms.
Features
Poised near the illustrious sites, shopping, dining and nightlife of Montreal, the posh Fairmont the Queen Elizabeth caters to business and leisure travelers with a host of amenities, from luxury dining at the Beaver Club to a spa and health club, business center and meeting spaces. A widely varying room selection, 982 rooms and 91 suites, gives the property wide-reaching appeal, as does the presence of a pool, lounge, gift shop and prime address directly above the train station.
Transportation
  • Montreal-Pierre Elliott Trudeau International Airport (14 mi/22.5 km)
Attractions
  • Underground City (Connected to the hotel)
  • Cathedral of Marie-Reine-du-Monde (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • Bell Centre (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
Business
  • More than 50,000 square feet of flexible meeting space, including a 3,520-square-foot space for up to 300
  • Business center with high-speed Internet access, printing, faxing, scanning and courier services
Policies and fees
  • Valet parking (250 spaces) at the main entrance, Belmont or Cathcart Street, $29.00 per night, taxes excluded with a departure of 4pm

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Fairmont - The Queen Elizabeth Rooms

Fairmont Gold King or Queen NS room
Fairmont Gold King or Queen NS room - polished with a rich earth tone decor. This lavish room includes exclusive access to Fairmont Gold lounge with private concierge, complimentary continental breakfast and snacks.
Fairmont Queen NS room
Fairmont Queen NS room - polished with a rich earth tone decor. This luxurious room with a fresh, modern flair is fully equipped with a marble finished bathroom and all of today`s best amenities.
Fairmont 2 double beds NS
Fairmont 2 double beds NS room - polished with a rich earth tone decor. This luxurious, non-smoking room with a fresh, modern flair is fully equipped with a marble finished bathroom and all of today`s best amenities.
Moderate Queen NS
Moderate Queen NS - contemporary flair. This bright, elegant room is fully equipped with a business desk, marble finished bathroom, extra seating, and all of today`s best amenities including a mini bar, coffee maker, etc.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Activities
Pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Game room
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Fairmont - The Queen Elizabeth also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5

Hotel Map

45.5005 -73.5685
Area served
City Center
Nearby airports
Montreal - Trudeau Intl Airport, (YUL), 19.20, KM, E;

Nearby points of interest

  • Cathedral of Marie-Reine-du-Monde: 0 mi
  • Underground City: 0.1 mi
  • Centre Bell: 0.3 mi
  • Montreal Canadiens Hall of Fame: 0.3 mi
  • Bell Centre: 0.3 mi
  • St. Patrick's Basilica: 0.3 mi
  • Crescent Street: 0.4 mi
  • Montreal Museum of Fine Arts (Musee des Beaux-Arts): 0.5 mi
  • Place des Arts: 0.6 mi
  • Notre-Dame Basilica: 0.7 mi
  • Notre-Dame Basilica (Basilique Notre-Dame): 0.7 mi
  • Museum of Archaeology and History (Pointe-a-Calliere Museum): 0.7 mi
  • Quays of the Old Port of Montreal (Quais du Vieux-Port de Montreal): 0.8 mi
  • Rue St-Paul: 0.8 mi
  • Lachine Canal (Canal du Lachine): 0.8 mi
  • Cathedral of Marie-Reine-du-Monde: 0 mi
  • Underground City: 0.1 mi
  • Centre Bell: 0.3 mi
  • Montreal Canadiens Hall of Fame: 0.3 mi
  • Bell Centre: 0.3 mi
  • St. Patrick's Basilica: 0.3 mi
  • Crescent Street: 0.4 mi
  • Montreal Museum of Fine Arts (Musee des Beaux-Arts): 0.5 mi
  • Place des Arts: 0.6 mi
  • Notre-Dame Basilica: 0.7 mi
  • Notre-Dame Basilica (Basilique Notre-Dame): 0.7 mi
  • Museum of Archaeology and History (Pointe-a-Calliere Museum): 0.7 mi
  • Quays of the Old Port of Montreal (Quais du Vieux-Port de Montreal): 0.8 mi
  • Rue St-Paul: 0.8 mi
  • Lachine Canal (Canal du Lachine): 0.8 mi
  • Montreal Science Centre: 0.9 mi
  • Place Jacques-Cartier: 0.9 mi
  • Old Montreal (Vieux-Montreal): 1 mi
  • Mont (Mount) Royal: 1.1 mi
  • Rue Ste.-Catherine: 1.3 mi
  • Chateau Ramezay Museum: 1.3 mi
  • Port of Montreal, Iberville Cruise Terminal: 1.4 mi
  • Notre-Dame-de-Bonsecours Chapel (Chapelle Notre-Dame-de-Bonsecours): 1.9 mi
  • Ile Sainte-Helene: 2.2 mi
  • St. Joseph's Oratory of Mount Royal: 2.4 mi
  • Little Italy: 3.1 mi
  • Montreal Botanical Gardens (Jardin Botanique de Montreal): 4 mi
  • Biodome de Montreal: 4.2 mi
  • Montreal Insectarium: 4.4 mi

Dining

Le Montrealais Bistro Bar-Restaurant
Located on the lobby level of the hotel, Le Montrealais is a two-level restaurant including a bar section with windows overlooking Mary Queen of the World Cathedral and downtown Montreal. The menu offers tantalizing items featuring sunny Mediterranean cuisine, succulent grilled meats, fresh fish and luscious desserts in a lively bistro ambiance.
Les Voyageurs Bar
Comfort and relaxation guaranteed! The perfect place to unwind after a long day at work or play. Sit back with one of our famous martinis and enjoy the velvet touch of our pianist. When the time comes for an aperitif or a cocktail, our famous Voyageurs martinis are always the highlight of the hour! Unique and unequaled, the renowned Martinis have contributed greatly to the reputation of this elegant bar lounge since its opening. At lunch, Les Voyageurs offers one of the best business deals in town. The noontime menu features delicious international specialties that are sure to please those on the run.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (136)

Ratings and reviews for Fairmont - The Queen Elizabeth

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
136 out of 136
Amenities:
4.3
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.7
Value:
4

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Fairmont - The Queen Elizabeth

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
MSNS
Adirondacks
Apr 6, 2013

outstanding hotel

impeccably clean room, excellent service at the desk upon arrival, the restaurant for breakfast from Carlo, the concierge, and the luggage attendant

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

basilique next to the hotel

Review of Fairmont - The Queen Elizabeth

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mon p'tit pet
New Brunswick Canada
Mar 4, 2013

Wow!!! What a weekend!!

We booked the Queen Elizabeth because we were attending a Habs game at the Bell center.It is the only hotel in Montreal where you could go to the Bell center without having to go outside.Arriving at the game without a coat,boots,hat and mitts is to me one of the many 5 star treatments this hotel can offer.This fairmont hotel is located just above the Gare Central connected to the metro for any one arriving in Montreal by train .Also it is located above one of the largest underground shopping in the city and we were able to shop and eat comfortably dressed at room temperature.A 5* experience at a 4* hotel. One of our best weekend ever in Montreal.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

If you love ribs,you must go to "Bar-B-Barn"located on Guy street just a short walk from the hotel.

Review of Fairmont - The Queen Elizabeth

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Briton
Kingston ON
Feb 27, 2013

Very relaxing

Excellent location! Walkable to Place des Arts & Megabus depot.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Fairmont - The Queen Elizabeth

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
PDXN
Portland, OR
Feb 25, 2013

A mixed bag

Because it's winter, I got a great rate. I signed up for Fairmont's President's Club (free) online and got free Internet. BUT: I upgraded my room and couldn't tell what was upgraded. I had a nice view. Whoop-de-do. I don't think it was any larger than any other rooms with 2 queen beds, and the bathroom was tiny. AND: The hotel charges $2 a bag!!! to hold bags for you at checkout if you're coming back to pick them up. Needless to say, I didn't tip. The property is convenient, etc. but restaurants are egregiously overpriced. It does have a pool, so bring your suit.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Time-saving tip: In Hotel

If you're taking the train to Toronto, or the train/high-speed bus from the airport, The Queen E couldn't be more convenient.

Review of Fairmont - The Queen Elizabeth

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Inie H. R.
Tarboro, NC
Feb 5, 2013

Great Place to stay with Small Children

We were centrally located and treated like royalty. A great place to be as a family.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Fairmont - The Queen Elizabeth

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kathleen Irish Lass
Delmar, New York
Nov 19, 2012

Fairmont Queen Elizabeth

The room was up to date and the location was terrific. Being close to the train station and downtown is a definite plus. Staff were very helpful in helping us pick restaurants. Unfortunately, the room wasn't cleaned by 5 pm the next day when we returned from shopping and that was a downer. Other than that, we enjoyed our visit even though we thought the hotel was expensive.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Catherine Street is delightful.

Review of Fairmont - The Queen Elizabeth

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Dukeofargy
Rockwood, Ontario
Nov 8, 2012

okay price, SMALL room, questionable service.

We got a deal when we booked the hotel. At that, it is still somewhat pricey. This hotel prides itself on its high rating. It is very convenient to the railway station - almost right above it. The restaurants are good, albeit pricey. The rooms are small. We had a room with two double beds, which leaves little room to get around. I have to get off my chair for my wife to pass by to go to the window. The bathroom door has to be closed to use the toilet or one has the door dangerously close to one's privates. The tub is quite spaceous. The soap has a wonderfully mild rose fragrance. Room service is questionable. We left in the morning, around 10:00 a.m. and strolled around beautiful Montreal. Off to Ogilvy's and then off to Old Montreal which is within walking distance of the hotel. That is a bonus. We returned at 3:30 pm to discover that the room had not been cleaned. That was a shock. We phoned for room service and were told that we should have requested the room to be cleaned and that they only clean it if requested. After a "discussion" with housekeeping and also the house manager, to their credit, they arrived within minutes. The cleaning of the room took about an hour though. Talk about slow motion. We came up three times, only to discover that the cleaning staff was still in the room. Finally after an hour, the room was cleaned and we could come in to our room to relax. Would I come back? Possibly, mainly due to its excellent location. When checking in , be absolutely certain that you are in the right spot, or they will take the guy who is two feet away, but in the right spot. We were somewhat surprised after waiting 10 minutes, to find out that we were a few feet from the right spot, and they took the chap who arrived after we did I guess that was out fault, although I had not seen sigs indicating what the right spot might be. Room Tip: Always ASK for what you want. If you want non feather rooms, ask for it. If you want your room cleaned, you have to askfor it, or it won't get done. ... or so I was told by the receptionist. We stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Fairmont - The Queen Elizabeth

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Albs
Redondo Beach, CA
Sep 24, 2012

Nice hotel, great location, rooms need facelift

We enjoyed our stay at the Queen E, great location, but the rooms are very small, bathrooms very small, plumbing is ancient (complete with leaky faucets); it was not up to the standard of other Fairmont properties that we have stayed at. Given the size of the age and size of the room we would have expected a lower price, or could have paid the same and got a better room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The hotel is a short walk from anything you want: food, nightlife, tourist stuff ...

Review of Fairmont - The Queen Elizabeth

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Gurn
Tampa, Fl
Sep 13, 2012

Don't visit when staff is in labor dispute

Rooms were dirty. All service staff was involved in a labor dispute. All restaurants in hotel were closed during the full duration of our stay. Would not return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of Fairmont - The Queen Elizabeth

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mellow2
Boston
Aug 28, 2012

Didn't keep up

I am originally from Montreal and was visiting for a few days, all my favourite hotels were booked and I had to stay ay the Queen. Average. but the hotel needs some updating (the flat screen TV does not make up for the cramped bathroom with cracked porcelain. If you like shopping it is a great location and access to the underground is a must during cold winter months. Besides that, 16 bucks for a very average gin and tonic in a depressing hotel bar??? Really ?!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Sainte-Catherine Street

Review of Fairmont - The Queen Elizabeth

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Burtie
Delaware
Aug 7, 2012

First time in Montreal

This hotel is in the perfect location to do your own walking tour of the city. We did take the Gray Line to Mount Royal park(fantastic view) and the Montreal Casino. The riverfront is lively and fun. The food was always tasty, and we appreciated the English menus. The people were so very friendly and we never looked at our map without some one asking us if we needed help. We recommend The fairmont Queen Elizabeth highly and the lovely City of Montreal!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Norte-Dame Basilica

Back to menu Return to top