$123 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 12, 2015 Check-out: Jul 13, 2015

Chateau Versailles

4 stars
View map of 1659 Sherbrooke St. West, Montreal, QC H3H 1E3

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
144 reviews
Quick night away

We often stay at the Chateau Versailles, when we want to be closer to town. The location is... See full review

  • Don from NH
  • Apr 20, 2015
excellent choice

I found this hotel very comfortable and staff welcoming. The location was very convenient to... See full review

  • Jan
  • Mar 26, 2015
Situated along the Golden Mile of downtown Montreal, the Victorian style Chateau Versailles is steps from fine shopping, dining and attractions. This 100 year old historic, sculpture-laden property -- complete with fitness room, sauna and business center -- has spacious meeting and banquet facilities as well as guest rooms outfitted with original crown moldings and Matisse prints. Added perks include complimentary buffet breakfast, room service, and optional babysitting services. This four-story hotel does not have elevators.
Rooms
All 65 luxurious guest rooms and suites at the Chateau Versailles are located on four floors and are adorned with numbered Matisse prints, rich colors, high ceilings and original crown molding. Rooms have one queen or one double bed with minibars, in-room safes, cable televisions with pay movies, clock radios and wireless Internet service (fees apply). Some rooms at the Chateau Versailles overlook Sherbrooke Street. Additional amenities include video consoles and bathrooms with hair-dryers and bathrobes.
Property features
Adorned with art, including numbered Matisse prints in architecturally stunning guest rooms, the Victorian-style, boutique Chateau Versailles is conveniently located within the Golden Mile of Montreal. While the setting is historic, the property has a keen eye toward the comfort of its guests, with features that range from an on-site restaurant and fitness center with saunas for both men and women to banquet and meeting facilities and a complimentary buffet spread at breakfast. The hotel does not have elevator facilities.
Highlights
  • Banquet and meeting facilities for up to 20
  • Around-the-clock business center with computers, printer, fax machine and wireless Internet services
Nearby attractions
  • Le Hameau (0.1 mi/0.2 km)
  • Museum of Fine Arts (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • St. Deni Theatre (1.6 mi/2.7 km)
Transportation

Montreal-Pierre Elliott Trudeau International Airport (8.1 mi/13.1 km)

Policies
  • Valet parking is available for $27.00 per day
  • The hotel serves afternoon tea to all guests

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Chateau Versailles also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5

Chateau Versailles Rooms

Queen Deluxe
Room with one queen bed varying in size and shape, custom furniture, top of the line bedding boasting fluffy pillows and blankets with a velvety feel, all of today's best comforts: hair-dryer, mini-bar, safety deposit box, in-house movies and AM/FM Alarm clock.
Double Deluxe
Room with one double bed are warm and cozy, some with views overlooking Sherbrooke Street. Rich fabrics and contrasting wall colors, all of today's best comforts: hair-dryer, mini-bar, safety deposit box, in-house movies and AM/FM Alarm clock.
King Fireplace
Accommodations with king bed, a comfortable working desk, a modern bathroom and, more uniquely, an exquisite electrical Fireplace with original molding. Many of these rooms boast a beautiful bay window overlooking elegant Sherbrooke Street, better known as the Golden Square Mile.

Amenities

  • WiFi
General
Concierge
Pet friendly
Activities
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
In-Room Safe
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi

Nearby points of interest

  • Montreal Museum of Fine Arts (Musee des Beaux-Arts): 0.3 mi
  • Crescent Street: 0.3 mi
  • Bell Centre: 0.6 mi
  • Montreal Canadiens Hall of Fame: 0.7 mi
  • Centre Bell: 0.7 mi
  • Cathedral of Marie-Reine-du-Monde: 0.7 mi
  • Mont (Mount) Royal: 0.8 mi
  • Underground City: 0.9 mi
  • St. Patrick's Basilica: 1.1 mi
  • Place des Arts: 1.2 mi
  • Lachine Canal (Canal du Lachine): 1.4 mi
  • Notre-Dame Basilica: 1.4 mi
  • Notre-Dame Basilica (Basilique Notre-Dame): 1.5 mi
  • Museum of Archaeology and History (Pointe-a-Calliere Museum): 1.5 mi
  • Quays of the Old Port of Montreal (Quais du Vieux-Port de Montreal): 1.5 mi
  • Montreal Museum of Fine Arts (Musee des Beaux-Arts): 0.3 mi
  • Crescent Street: 0.3 mi
  • Bell Centre: 0.6 mi
  • Montreal Canadiens Hall of Fame: 0.7 mi
  • Centre Bell: 0.7 mi
  • Cathedral of Marie-Reine-du-Monde: 0.7 mi
  • Mont (Mount) Royal: 0.8 mi
  • Underground City: 0.9 mi
  • St. Patrick's Basilica: 1.1 mi
  • Place des Arts: 1.2 mi
  • Lachine Canal (Canal du Lachine): 1.4 mi
  • Notre-Dame Basilica: 1.4 mi
  • Notre-Dame Basilica (Basilique Notre-Dame): 1.5 mi
  • Museum of Archaeology and History (Pointe-a-Calliere Museum): 1.5 mi
  • Quays of the Old Port of Montreal (Quais du Vieux-Port de Montreal): 1.5 mi
  • Rue St-Paul: 1.6 mi
  • Montreal Science Centre: 1.6 mi
  • Place Jacques-Cartier: 1.7 mi
  • St. Joseph's Oratory of Mount Royal: 1.7 mi
  • Old Montreal (Vieux-Montreal): 1.7 mi
  • Port of Montreal, Iberville Cruise Terminal: 1.9 mi
  • Rue Ste.-Catherine: 1.9 mi
  • Chateau Ramezay Museum: 2 mi
  • Notre-Dame-de-Bonsecours Chapel (Chapelle Notre-Dame-de-Bonsecours): 2.5 mi
  • Ile Sainte-Helene: 2.9 mi
  • Little Italy: 3 mi
  • Montreal Botanical Gardens (Jardin Botanique de Montreal): 4.5 mi
  • Biodome de Montreal: 4.7 mi
  • Montreal Insectarium: 4.9 mi

Dining

RIDI Bar Ristorante and Terrace
Life really is that simple at RIDI Bar Ristorante, located just across the street. Ridi is a celebration of life and what has been bringing people together for centuries...food. Great food.
Share Peppino`s passion for life`s greatest pleasures: The freshest food prepared in the time honoured traditions of Mediterranean cuisine, the intricate and complex flavours of the world`s finest wines and most importantly time spent with family and friends.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Chateau Versailles

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
17 out of 144
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.6
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.1

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Chateau Versailles

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Skylar P.
Business
Madison
Jan 5, 2015

Lovely and Affordable

The price was right, and the service was wonderful!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Chateau Versailles

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Two Bits Worth
Business
Sparks, NV
Aug 20, 2014

Preparing for Renovation?

First off, the two stars overall are specifically to give credit to the staff who were always courteous, responsive, informative, and reflected well on the running of the establishment. They earned their full-level approval in the survey. I also found available amenities adequate, while the location was well situated for access to much of Montreal. I will state the mattresses on both beds were comfortable and the linen was quite clean. For the rest... Chateau Versailles appears to be owned and operated by the same firm which operates the Le Meridien across the street from this hotel. While CV advertises itself as a boutique hotel with charm, the carpets in both rooms we occupied (we had two separate stays during this trip) were quite worn and appeared in need of replacement. The guest safe in the first room was left with the deadbolts out, rendering it unusable and was not repaired during our stay. The environmental unit in the first room also experienced issues where we turned up the thermostat to turn off the AC, but it could not be restarted the next day when the temperature had warmed. The maintenance person stated the controls in the room were not in regular operational order. Further, in both rooms, either the base boards or the the paint on the walls had chips, wear, or other damage. In the second room, the bathtub water control was loose and did not function properly. The guess of my wife and I was either Le Meridien is preparing to shut down CV or is preparing for a major renovation. However, the general state of the rooms, the lack of finish or utility of operational and decorative appointments render the terms 'boutique' and 'charm' as examples of the negative cliches these terms enjoy. I would expect the owners of the hotel to provide an explanation for what appears to be an overall deterioration of the property, given the more glowing reviews from earlier years. Given a thorough overhaul and refurbishing, this hotel could easily again be worthy of the earlier reviews.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

From the airport, use the 747 bus line, if your hotel is anywhere near Rue Rene-Levesque. It is $10CDN per person and an easy and inexpensive way to access the city.

Review of Chateau Versailles

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Clauss
Business
Orlando fl
Aug 9, 2014

No very good

Was Good Not ascensor I like But no repeat this hotel

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Chateau Versailles

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
MabelZ
Business
Mohegan Lake, NY
Sep 3, 2013

Great location, friendly staff

The hotel is a converted old house. It's very clean, and the staff is helpful. Parking runs $27/day. There are no elevators, and a longish set of stairs to walk in the hotel, plus more to go to your room. The breakfast buffet is very decent. Our room had an awful view of an interior courtyard, but if you keep the curtains closed, the room itself is well appointed. Wi-fi works well inside the rooms.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Porta Calle, portuguese restaurant.

Review of Chateau Versailles

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mark 777
Business
Youngstown, NY
Nov 16, 2012

Charming!!

The hotel is a collection of old Montreal Mansions that have been joined together. Absolutely charming! The location is excellent. The valet parking is very convenient and your car is available at any time for one daily price. I would stay there again!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Chateau Versailles

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
SusuQ
Business
Virginia
Oct 22, 2012

Fine... not great.

While I love the exterior architecture and the interior design, it just wasn't enough to keep me satisfied. The hotel staff were very friendly and the breakfast was the highlight of our day. At one time the sleeping room was probably cool with a deep orange color, but time has taken its toll and it just looked dirty and used. The room was small and awkward and smelled too heavily of peaches. They touted a keurig but then only offered you two k-cups of coffee. The bed was a full, uncomfortable and the sheets were rough. We did not sleep well at all. Why would they not just offer queen size beds as a standard? I do fully understand the meaning of a boutique hotel, but there just was not enough 'good' to outweigh the 'bad'.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Chateau Versailles

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Tamuna
Business
Tbilisi, georgia
Jul 31, 2012

Perfect staff, nice and covinient location

However stayed for short time, it was very positive experience. Very nice and helpful staff, excellent complimentary breakfast and internet access adds value. I would rate the hotel A++ and thank you for great hospitality

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Chateau Versailles

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ballerina
Business
Massachusetts
Jul 30, 2012

Wedding Weekend

The hotel is wonderfullysituated, but it took forever to get the rooms cleaned up.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Chateau Versailles

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JessicaPHL
Business
Philadelphia, PA
Jul 23, 2012

Perfect location and great value

We didn't even take advantage of the complimentary breakfast and were still very pleased with the value and location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Chateau Versailles

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
The travellers
Business
Gatineau , Quebec
Oct 26, 2011

Our mini vacation at Chateau Versailles Montreal

We loved every minute of it. The arrival and departure points were up and above our expectations. The Staff was very eficient and fast. Things were always done very rapidly and in a pleasant way. The breakfast was delightful and the atmosphere in the Salon where we ate was extremely relaxing. Again the service was impeccable. Our room was big enought for what we needed. Clean and organized. Very easy access to Internet-apprreciated. The only little hick was the bed (I did upgrate for a Queen size when I booked and only got a regular size bed) But, we didn't even bring it up with the Hotel Staff - Everything else was so accomadating that we left things as is. Overall we enjoyed our stay enormously-location was near to anything and everything. Will defenitely book this Hotel in the futur.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top