$91 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Mar 3, 2015 Check-out: Mar 6, 2015

Chateau Versailles

4 stars
View map of 1659 Sherbrooke St. West, Montreal, QC H3H 1E3

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
128 reviews
Lovely and Affordable

The price was right, and the service was wonderful! See full review

  • Skylar P.
  • Jan 5, 2015
Nice One-Night Stay

Great hotel. We had a problem with the heating in our first room, but we had no trouble switching... See full review

  • Matt6495739
  • Dec 3, 2014
Century Hotel with beautiful luxury guest rooms and suites in a historic setting
Situated along the Golden Mile of downtown Montreal, the Victorian style Chateau Versailles is steps from fine shopping, dining and attractions. This 100 year old historic, sculpture-laden property -- complete with fitness room, sauna and business center -- has spacious meeting and banquet facilities as well as guest rooms outfitted with original crown moldings and Matisse prints. Added perks include complimentary buffet breakfast, room service, and optional babysitting services. This four-story hotel does not have elevators.
Business
  • Banquet and meeting facilities for up to 20
  • Around-the-clock business center with computers, printer, fax machine and wireless Internet services
Highlights
  • Historic, art-adorned Victorian boutique property with high ceilings and ornate architectural details
  • Convenient, luxury location amid the Golden Mile of Montreal
  • Complimentary, elaborate continental breakfast
Rooms
All 65 luxurious guest rooms and suites at the Chateau Versailles are located on four floors and are adorned with numbered Matisse prints, rich colors, high ceilings and original crown molding. Rooms have one queen or one double bed with minibars, in-room safes, cable televisions with pay movies, clock radios and wireless Internet service (fees apply). Some rooms at the Chateau Versailles overlook Sherbrooke Street. Additional amenities include video consoles and bathrooms with hair-dryers and bathrobes.
Features
Adorned with art, including numbered Matisse prints in architecturally stunning guest rooms, the Victorian-style, boutique Chateau Versailles is conveniently located within the Golden Mile of Montreal. While the setting is historic, the property has a keen eye toward the comfort of its guests, with features that range from an on-site restaurant and fitness center with saunas for both men and women to banquet and meeting facilities and a complimentary buffet spread at breakfast. The hotel does not have elevator facilities.
Transportation

Montreal-Pierre Elliott Trudeau International Airport (8.1 mi/13.1 km)

Attractions
  • Le Hameau (0.1 mi/0.2 km)
  • Museum of Fine Arts (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • St. Deni Theatre (1.6 mi/2.7 km)
Policies and fees
  • Valet parking is available for $27.00 per day
  • The hotel serves afternoon tea to all guests

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Chateau Versailles also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5

Chateau Versailles Rooms

Queen Deluxe
Room with one queen bed varying in size and shape, custom furniture, top of the line bedding boasting fluffy pillows and blankets with a velvety feel, all of today's best comforts: hair-dryer, mini-bar, safety deposit box, in-house movies and AM/FM Alarm clock.
Double Deluxe
Room with one double bed are warm and cozy, some with views overlooking Sherbrooke Street. Rich fabrics and contrasting wall colors, all of today's best comforts: hair-dryer, mini-bar, safety deposit box, in-house movies and AM/FM Alarm clock.
King Fireplace
Accommodations with king bed, a comfortable working desk, a modern bathroom and, more uniquely, an exquisite electrical Fireplace with original molding. Many of these rooms boast a beautiful bay window overlooking elegant Sherbrooke Street, better known as the Golden Square Mile.

Amenities

  • WiFi
General
Concierge
Pet friendly
Activities
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
In-Room Safe
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi

Nearby points of interest

  • Montreal Museum of Fine Arts (Musee des Beaux-Arts): 0.3 mi
  • Crescent Street: 0.3 mi
  • Bell Centre: 0.6 mi
  • Montreal Canadiens Hall of Fame: 0.7 mi
  • Centre Bell: 0.7 mi
  • Cathedral of Marie-Reine-du-Monde: 0.7 mi
  • Mont (Mount) Royal: 0.8 mi
  • Underground City: 0.9 mi
  • St. Patrick's Basilica: 1.1 mi
  • Place des Arts: 1.2 mi
  • Lachine Canal (Canal du Lachine): 1.4 mi
  • Notre-Dame Basilica: 1.4 mi
  • Notre-Dame Basilica (Basilique Notre-Dame): 1.5 mi
  • Museum of Archaeology and History (Pointe-a-Calliere Museum): 1.5 mi
  • Quays of the Old Port of Montreal (Quais du Vieux-Port de Montreal): 1.5 mi
  • Montreal Museum of Fine Arts (Musee des Beaux-Arts): 0.3 mi
  • Crescent Street: 0.3 mi
  • Bell Centre: 0.6 mi
  • Montreal Canadiens Hall of Fame: 0.7 mi
  • Centre Bell: 0.7 mi
  • Cathedral of Marie-Reine-du-Monde: 0.7 mi
  • Mont (Mount) Royal: 0.8 mi
  • Underground City: 0.9 mi
  • St. Patrick's Basilica: 1.1 mi
  • Place des Arts: 1.2 mi
  • Lachine Canal (Canal du Lachine): 1.4 mi
  • Notre-Dame Basilica: 1.4 mi
  • Notre-Dame Basilica (Basilique Notre-Dame): 1.5 mi
  • Museum of Archaeology and History (Pointe-a-Calliere Museum): 1.5 mi
  • Quays of the Old Port of Montreal (Quais du Vieux-Port de Montreal): 1.5 mi
  • Rue St-Paul: 1.6 mi
  • Montreal Science Centre: 1.6 mi
  • Place Jacques-Cartier: 1.7 mi
  • St. Joseph's Oratory of Mount Royal: 1.7 mi
  • Old Montreal (Vieux-Montreal): 1.7 mi
  • Port of Montreal, Iberville Cruise Terminal: 1.9 mi
  • Rue Ste.-Catherine: 1.9 mi
  • Chateau Ramezay Museum: 2 mi
  • Notre-Dame-de-Bonsecours Chapel (Chapelle Notre-Dame-de-Bonsecours): 2.5 mi
  • Ile Sainte-Helene: 2.9 mi
  • Little Italy: 3 mi
  • Montreal Botanical Gardens (Jardin Botanique de Montreal): 4.5 mi
  • Biodome de Montreal: 4.7 mi
  • Montreal Insectarium: 4.9 mi

Dining

RIDI Bar Ristorante and Terrace
Life really is that simple at RIDI Bar Ristorante, located just across the street. Ridi is a celebration of life and what has been bringing people together for centuries...food. Great food.
Share Peppino`s passion for life`s greatest pleasures: The freshest food prepared in the time honoured traditions of Mediterranean cuisine, the intricate and complex flavours of the world`s finest wines and most importantly time spent with family and friends.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (128)

Ratings and reviews for Chateau Versailles

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
77 out of 128
Amenities:
3.7
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.6
Comfort:
4
Location:
4.4
Value:
4

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Chateau Versailles

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Matt6495739
Business
Montreal, QC
Dec 3, 2014

Nice One-Night Stay

Great hotel. We had a problem with the heating in our first room, but we had no trouble switching to a different room. Free continental breakfast but not much selection.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chateau Versailles

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sin Nombre
Business
Claremont, CA
Oct 25, 2014

Nice little hotel in Montreal.

When we arrived, the doorman came down the stairs and brought our bags to the lobby then to our room. Staff was friendly and spoke English and French. They were always helpful arranging for a taxis and helped with phone calls that required French. The rooms were fairly tight but clean. Wifi was good. There is no elevator so please ask them if they have arrangements. Breakfast was continental, so there was no hot food, but it was by no means inadequate or small. Location is about 5 minutes walk from the Metro, 8 from Fine Arts, approximately 10 (with a little uphill) from the 747 airport bus stop. Perfectly located, really. We thought it was quite nice as long as you go in with the right expectations.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

The multi-day transit passes are a good buy. You can get a 3-day for $6/day, same price as 2 one-way trips. Bus and train will take you almost anywhere you need to go.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chateau Versailles

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Moodge
Business
Oakville
Sep 1, 2014

Okay

I have stayed at many hotels in Montreal and this one was just okay. It was far from the main strip of restaurants and shopping so you need to drive. The room was comfortable but average . The carpet was distrusting and needed to be steam cleaned. There were big marks all over it and the one beside the bed was wet. The breakfast was nice and the coffee good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chateau Versailles

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Fat hubby
Business
Canada
Aug 18, 2014

The Chateau Versailles

location was great. on the Hop-on-hop-off bus tour route in a swanky part of town. staff were very helpful and non-judgmental. bed a bit small and soft for a man of my size. mini-bar was not working, although stuffed with things including soggy chocolates. food was good for breakfast. overall a very peaceful, clean and delightful experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Museum of Fine Art and Gray Line Bus Tour Route.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chateau Versailles

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Guy Lafleur
Business
Florida
Aug 14, 2014

Very pleasant location

One day we went up the hill to Mont Royal, then another down Sherbrook to the art museum, over by McGill campus. In that direction are some nice restaurants too. The metro stop at Guy Concordia is right there two blocks down the hill. The staff at the desk were very helpful; breakfast was plain, but we had a lot of other eating to do. It was easy to get a taxi out front. We were in for weekend wedding and it was a good place to visit in the city.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Metro is easy

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chateau Versailles

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MarkNYC
Business
New York, NY
Jul 9, 2014

Botique Hotel in a Great Location

After reading a few of the negative reviews about Chateau Versailles I was apprehensive about staying here, but I was booking a last minute trip and was low on options. I'm happy to report that my overall experience here was great! It is in a prime location in downtown Montreal and only two blocks away from the metro, which made getting around the city easy and convenient. We also felt safe walking back to the hotel late in the evenings. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful – giving me suggestion on places to go, how to navigate town and making reservations for me as I didn't have an international phone plan of my own. The rooms are on the smaller side but they are cute, clean and cozy and I booked my stay knowing that the rooms weren't large. The bathrooms were also very nice and a good size which you might not expect from smaller rooms. They did fail to clean my room one day of my stay. There are also no elevators but I was only on the second floor and had very light baggage with me so that wasn't a huge issue for us. Overall everything was great! Would stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The hotel was close to the main shopping and dining area, and right down the street from the Musée des Beaux Arts. There is a metro station only two blocks away so it was very easy to get around the entire city.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chateau Versailles

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
NMBSkurosh
Business
Washington DC
Jun 9, 2014

great little hotel in Montreal

I have been going to the Formula 1 Grand Prix in Montreal the past 10 years. Typically to be ripped off by mediocre or worse hotel at super inflated prices on this weekend. Chateau Versailles was such a refreshing surprise; great value; courteous staff; clean; decent breakfast, shower, good bed and only one block from the Metro. Great value. Definitely going back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chateau Versailles

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
BTBT
Business
Florida
Jun 9, 2014

Grand Prix raises the price

At it's Grand prix price the hotel was too expensive. At the normal price it is a nice tourist hotel. Lack if elevators is the biggest shortfall but the valets carry the bags if needed. Very friendly staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chateau Versailles

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
AZ Couple
Business
Tucson, AZ
Jun 9, 2014

very nice hotel

It is a very pretty, boutique hotel. All good. Nothing negative to say. Would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chateau Versailles

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Krystaljo
Business
Old chatham, NY
Feb 11, 2014

A great hotel with a wonderful ambiance.

The staff is very courteous. The breakfast is delicious. The edifice is charming

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top