$98 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 10, 2015 Check-out: Jan 13, 2015

Chateau Versailles

4 stars
1659 Sherbrooke St. West, Montreal, QC H3H 1E3
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
126 reviews
Nice One-Night Stay

Great hotel. We had a problem with the heating in our first room, but we had no trouble switching... See full review

  • Matt6495739
  • Dec 3, 2014
Very pleasant location

One day we went up the hill to Mont Royal, then another down Sherbrook to the art museum, over by... See full review

  • Guy Lafleur
  • Aug 14, 2014
Century Hotel with beautiful luxury guest rooms and suites in a historic setting
Situated along the Golden Mile of downtown Montreal, the Victorian style Chateau Versailles is steps from fine shopping, dining and attractions. This 100 year old historic, sculpture-laden property -- complete with fitness room, sauna and business center -- has spacious meeting and banquet facilities as well as guest rooms outfitted with original crown moldings and Matisse prints. Added perks include complimentary buffet breakfast, room service, and optional babysitting services. This four-story hotel does not have elevators.
Business
  • Banquet and meeting facilities for up to 20
  • Around-the-clock business center with computers, printer, fax machine and wireless Internet services
Highlights
  • Historic, art-adorned Victorian boutique property with high ceilings and ornate architectural details
  • Convenient, luxury location amid the Golden Mile of Montreal
  • Complimentary, elaborate continental breakfast
Rooms
All 65 luxurious guest rooms and suites at the Chateau Versailles are located on four floors and are adorned with numbered Matisse prints, rich colors, high ceilings and original crown molding. Rooms have one queen or one double bed with minibars, in-room safes, cable televisions with pay movies, clock radios and wireless Internet service (fees apply). Some rooms at the Chateau Versailles overlook Sherbrooke Street. Additional amenities include video consoles and bathrooms with hair-dryers and bathrobes.
Features
Adorned with art, including numbered Matisse prints in architecturally stunning guest rooms, the Victorian-style, boutique Chateau Versailles is conveniently located within the Golden Mile of Montreal. While the setting is historic, the property has a keen eye toward the comfort of its guests, with features that range from an on-site restaurant and fitness center with saunas for both men and women to banquet and meeting facilities and a complimentary buffet spread at breakfast. The hotel does not have elevator facilities.
Transportation

Montreal-Pierre Elliott Trudeau International Airport (8.1 mi/13.1 km)

Attractions
  • Le Hameau (0.1 mi/0.2 km)
  • Museum of Fine Arts (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • St. Deni Theatre (1.6 mi/2.7 km)
Policies and fees
  • Valet parking is available for $27.00 per day
  • The hotel serves afternoon tea to all guests

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Chateau Versailles also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Chateau Versailles Rooms

Queen Deluxe
Room with one queen bed varying in size and shape, custom furniture, top of the line bedding boasting fluffy pillows and blankets with a velvety feel, all of today's best comforts: hair-dryer, mini-bar, safety deposit box, in-house movies and AM/FM Alarm clock.
Double Deluxe
Room with one double bed are warm and cozy, some with views overlooking Sherbrooke Street. Rich fabrics and contrasting wall colors, all of today's best comforts: hair-dryer, mini-bar, safety deposit box, in-house movies and AM/FM Alarm clock.
King Fireplace
Accommodations with king bed, a comfortable working desk, a modern bathroom and, more uniquely, an exquisite electrical Fireplace with original molding. Many of these rooms boast a beautiful bay window overlooking elegant Sherbrooke Street, better known as the Golden Square Mile.

Amenities

  • WiFi
General
Concierge
Pet friendly
Activities
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
In-Room Safe
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi

Nearby points of interest

  • Montreal Museum of Fine Arts (Musee des Beaux-Arts): 0.3 mi
  • Crescent Street: 0.3 mi
  • Bell Centre: 0.6 mi
  • Montreal Canadiens Hall of Fame: 0.7 mi
  • Centre Bell: 0.7 mi
  • Cathedral of Marie-Reine-du-Monde: 0.7 mi
  • Mont (Mount) Royal: 0.8 mi
  • Underground City: 0.9 mi
  • St. Patrick's Basilica: 1.1 mi
  • Place des Arts: 1.2 mi
  • Lachine Canal (Canal du Lachine): 1.4 mi
  • Notre-Dame Basilica: 1.4 mi
  • Notre-Dame Basilica (Basilique Notre-Dame): 1.5 mi
  • Museum of Archaeology and History (Pointe-a-Calliere Museum): 1.5 mi
  • Quays of the Old Port of Montreal (Quais du Vieux-Port de Montreal): 1.5 mi
  • Montreal Museum of Fine Arts (Musee des Beaux-Arts): 0.3 mi
  • Crescent Street: 0.3 mi
  • Bell Centre: 0.6 mi
  • Montreal Canadiens Hall of Fame: 0.7 mi
  • Centre Bell: 0.7 mi
  • Cathedral of Marie-Reine-du-Monde: 0.7 mi
  • Mont (Mount) Royal: 0.8 mi
  • Underground City: 0.9 mi
  • St. Patrick's Basilica: 1.1 mi
  • Place des Arts: 1.2 mi
  • Lachine Canal (Canal du Lachine): 1.4 mi
  • Notre-Dame Basilica: 1.4 mi
  • Notre-Dame Basilica (Basilique Notre-Dame): 1.5 mi
  • Museum of Archaeology and History (Pointe-a-Calliere Museum): 1.5 mi
  • Quays of the Old Port of Montreal (Quais du Vieux-Port de Montreal): 1.5 mi
  • Rue St-Paul: 1.6 mi
  • Montreal Science Centre: 1.6 mi
  • Place Jacques-Cartier: 1.7 mi
  • St. Joseph's Oratory of Mount Royal: 1.7 mi
  • Old Montreal (Vieux-Montreal): 1.7 mi
  • Port of Montreal, Iberville Cruise Terminal: 1.9 mi
  • Rue Ste.-Catherine: 1.9 mi
  • Chateau Ramezay Museum: 2 mi
  • Notre-Dame-de-Bonsecours Chapel (Chapelle Notre-Dame-de-Bonsecours): 2.5 mi
  • Ile Sainte-Helene: 2.9 mi
  • Little Italy: 3 mi
  • Montreal Botanical Gardens (Jardin Botanique de Montreal): 4.5 mi
  • Biodome de Montreal: 4.7 mi
  • Montreal Insectarium: 4.9 mi

Dining

RIDI Bar Ristorante and Terrace
Life really is that simple at RIDI Bar Ristorante, located just across the street. Ridi is a celebration of life and what has been bringing people together for centuries...food. Great food.
Share Peppino`s passion for life`s greatest pleasures: The freshest food prepared in the time honoured traditions of Mediterranean cuisine, the intricate and complex flavours of the world`s finest wines and most importantly time spent with family and friends.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (126)

Ratings and reviews for Chateau Versailles

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
12 out of 126
Amenities:
3.1
Room cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
3.8
Room comfort:
2.9
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.5

75% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Chateau Versailles

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Andy Anaheim
Business
Anaheim, CA
Jul 24, 2014

trip to downtown Montreal

This was a good choice of a Hotel for me, very quaint and pretty quiet. The room was small but comfortable, the bed was not firm but not too uncomfortable. The room could have been a bit cleaner although the bathroom was very clean. I loved the location and the convenience of a very short walk to my room once I entered the building. Staff was polite and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chateau Versailles

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Hrrundivbakshi
Business
Arlington, VA
Jun 25, 2014

Nice, homey, a bit small maybe

Customer service was top-notch, room was nice, if a bit small. In fact, something worth mentioning is that the bed in my room was actually kind of short! I'm 6'1", and I had to kind of sleep on the diagonal to fit -- so if you're a tall person, make sure you get a proper queen bed. Mine, I guess, was a kind of twin-and-a-half, made for shrimpy (perhaps I should say normal-sized) people. Beyond that, the location was great, breakfast was swell, and in general, I was well pleased.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chateau Versailles

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Mshakh
Business
CA
Oct 1, 2013

Disappointment

I would never imagine that the 4 star hotels could offer something less than the queen size bed and I missed the fact that I was booking just double-size bed in the tiny room. The good thing was that we didn't need to go to the gym- our room was on 4th floor with no elevator.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chateau Versailles

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
business job
Business
France
Jun 6, 2012

good experience

it was for a business trip, the location was great and it was very quiet even if it is was downtown

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chateau Versailles

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
The Looch
Business
Long Branch
Mar 11, 2012

comfortable, good location, very nice

stayed for 4 days, on business trip to Montreal The staff was helpful and attentive Very nice better than continental breakfast served each morning until 10:30 which is good for a bit more of a sleep in I had a room on the first floor which I enjoyed as there were large windows affording plenty of light for office work between sales calls Valet parking at the hotel for $27 per day or short walk to public lot at college on same block for $15 per day - or street parking free from 9PM until 9AM - pay station at $3 per hour otherwise The hotel was clean, answered all my questions (French or English your preference) An older property there are no elevators however the staff is ready to help with your bags if needed Exercise facilities were small but no one else used them during my stay - dry sauna also available High tea at 4PM if you are at the hotel Wireless internet included - worked well and when I had some VPN issues the staff rebooted the system to clear my problem A very nice place and I would stay there again for business or pleasure

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Head over to Crescent Street for pubs and clubs - cheap eats and plenty of take away

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chateau Versailles

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Brinish
Business
ireland
Jul 14, 2011

Not A Four Star Hotel

This is not a 4 star hotel by any stretch of the the ratings.!! It's at best a 3 star Bed and Breakfast . When shown to the doudy Double delux room I complained it was a small single but they were not helpful it was so small I had to move my case to get out the door . It's on two floors over ground in an old building no lift and lots of stairs. I decided after 10 min in the place it was not for me and wanted to cancel my booking for 4 nights they would not give me a refund. I stayed one night and moved on. The breakfast was a cold buffet brought in from across the road served in an overcrowded room with some guests eating off their knees. I see they have good reviews that maybe so I also would have given them one if they had said they were a 3 star B and B. Not for business or travellers who have difficulty with stairs. Oh !! they allow Pets if I had have brought mine I would have had to sleep onthe floor on top of my case.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Stay away from this hotel unless you understand it's proper rating

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chateau Versailles

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Brinish
Business
ireland
Jul 14, 2011

Not A Four Star Hotel

This is not a 4 star hotel by any stretch of the the ratings.!! It's at best a 3 star Bed and Breakfast . When shown to the doudy Double delux room I complained it was a small single but they were not helpful it was so small I had to move my case to get out the door . It's on two floors over ground in an old building no lift and lots of stairs. I decided after 10 min in the place it was not for me and wanted to cancel my booking for 4 nights they would not give me a refund. I stayed one night and moved on. The breakfast was a cold buffet brought in from across the road served in an overcrowded room with some guests eating off their knees. I see they have good reviews that maybe so I also would have given them one if they had said they were a 3 star B and B. Not for business or travellers who have difficulty with stairs. Oh !! they allow Pets if I had have brought mine I would have had to sleep onthe floor on top of my case.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Stay away from this hotel unless you understand it's proper rating

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chateau Versailles

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Canada
Nov 8, 2010

Chateau Versailles

A warm island in downtown, staff was nice, helpfull, room was clean and comfortable, roomservice is good, breakfast could be better.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chateau Versailles

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Toronto Ontario
Sep 30, 2010

Chateau Versailles

The staff at this hotel was very friendly and courteous. This hotel is an excellent choice for a quiet getaway close to the heart of Montreral in the Museum district.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chateau Versailles

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago, IL
Sep 21, 2009

Another Good Stay

Booked a Queen Room and asked for a King. No problem. I didn't like that it was in the back of the Hotel, but it was quiet and the room was good sized. Will go back...when in Montreal.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top