$119 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 24, 2014 Check-out: Dec 27, 2014

Chateau Versailles

4 stars
1659 Sherbrooke St. West, Montreal, QC H3H 1E3
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
125 reviews
Very pleasant location

One day we went up the hill to Mont Royal, then another down Sherbrook to the art museum, over by... See full review

  • Guy Lafleur
  • Aug 14, 2014
Belle soirée à tous ♥

The Chateau Versailles on Sherbrooke is our go-to hotel whenever we visit Montreal. Why? Because... See full review

  • Alias Lilly Briscoe
  • Oct 22, 2013
Century Hotel with beautiful luxury guest rooms and suites in a historic setting
Situated along the Golden Mile of downtown Montreal, the Victorian style Chateau Versailles is steps from fine shopping, dining and attractions. This 100 year old historic, sculpture-laden property -- complete with fitness room, sauna and business center -- has spacious meeting and banquet facilities as well as guest rooms outfitted with original crown moldings and Matisse prints. Added perks include complimentary buffet breakfast, room service, and optional babysitting services. This four-story hotel does not have elevators.
Business
  • Banquet and meeting facilities for up to 20
  • Around-the-clock business center with computers, printer, fax machine and wireless Internet services
Highlights
  • Historic, art-adorned Victorian boutique property with high ceilings and ornate architectural details
  • Convenient, luxury location amid the Golden Mile of Montreal
  • Complimentary, elaborate continental breakfast
Rooms
All 65 luxurious guest rooms and suites at the Chateau Versailles are located on four floors and are adorned with numbered Matisse prints, rich colors, high ceilings and original crown molding. Rooms have one queen or one double bed with minibars, in-room safes, cable televisions with pay movies, clock radios and wireless Internet service (fees apply). Some rooms at the Chateau Versailles overlook Sherbrooke Street. Additional amenities include video consoles and bathrooms with hair-dryers and bathrobes.
Features
Adorned with art, including numbered Matisse prints in architecturally stunning guest rooms, the Victorian-style, boutique Chateau Versailles is conveniently located within the Golden Mile of Montreal. While the setting is historic, the property has a keen eye toward the comfort of its guests, with features that range from an on-site restaurant and fitness center with saunas for both men and women to banquet and meeting facilities and a complimentary buffet spread at breakfast. The hotel does not have elevator facilities.
Transportation

Montreal-Pierre Elliott Trudeau International Airport (8.1 mi/13.1 km)

Attractions
  • Le Hameau (0.1 mi/0.2 km)
  • Museum of Fine Arts (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • St. Deni Theatre (1.6 mi/2.7 km)
Policies and fees
  • Valet parking is available for $27.00 per day
  • The hotel serves afternoon tea to all guests

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Chateau Versailles also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Chateau Versailles Rooms

Queen Deluxe
Room with one queen bed varying in size and shape, custom furniture, top of the line bedding boasting fluffy pillows and blankets with a velvety feel, all of today's best comforts: hair-dryer, mini-bar, safety deposit box, in-house movies and AM/FM Alarm clock.
Double Deluxe
Room with one double bed are warm and cozy, some with views overlooking Sherbrooke Street. Rich fabrics and contrasting wall colors, all of today's best comforts: hair-dryer, mini-bar, safety deposit box, in-house movies and AM/FM Alarm clock.
King Fireplace
Accommodations with king bed, a comfortable working desk, a modern bathroom and, more uniquely, an exquisite electrical Fireplace with original molding. Many of these rooms boast a beautiful bay window overlooking elegant Sherbrooke Street, better known as the Golden Square Mile.

Amenities

  • WiFi
General
Concierge
Pet friendly
Activities
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
In-Room Safe
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi

Nearby points of interest

  • Montreal Museum of Fine Arts (Musee des Beaux-Arts): 0.3 mi
  • Crescent Street: 0.3 mi
  • Bell Centre: 0.6 mi
  • Montreal Canadiens Hall of Fame: 0.7 mi
  • Centre Bell: 0.7 mi
  • Cathedral of Marie-Reine-du-Monde: 0.7 mi
  • Mont (Mount) Royal: 0.8 mi
  • Underground City: 0.9 mi
  • St. Patrick's Basilica: 1.1 mi
  • Place des Arts: 1.2 mi
  • Lachine Canal (Canal du Lachine): 1.4 mi
  • Notre-Dame Basilica: 1.4 mi
  • Notre-Dame Basilica (Basilique Notre-Dame): 1.5 mi
  • Museum of Archaeology and History (Pointe-a-Calliere Museum): 1.5 mi
  • Quays of the Old Port of Montreal (Quais du Vieux-Port de Montreal): 1.5 mi
  • Montreal Museum of Fine Arts (Musee des Beaux-Arts): 0.3 mi
  • Crescent Street: 0.3 mi
  • Bell Centre: 0.6 mi
  • Montreal Canadiens Hall of Fame: 0.7 mi
  • Centre Bell: 0.7 mi
  • Cathedral of Marie-Reine-du-Monde: 0.7 mi
  • Mont (Mount) Royal: 0.8 mi
  • Underground City: 0.9 mi
  • St. Patrick's Basilica: 1.1 mi
  • Place des Arts: 1.2 mi
  • Lachine Canal (Canal du Lachine): 1.4 mi
  • Notre-Dame Basilica: 1.4 mi
  • Notre-Dame Basilica (Basilique Notre-Dame): 1.5 mi
  • Museum of Archaeology and History (Pointe-a-Calliere Museum): 1.5 mi
  • Quays of the Old Port of Montreal (Quais du Vieux-Port de Montreal): 1.5 mi
  • Rue St-Paul: 1.6 mi
  • Montreal Science Centre: 1.6 mi
  • Place Jacques-Cartier: 1.7 mi
  • St. Joseph's Oratory of Mount Royal: 1.7 mi
  • Old Montreal (Vieux-Montreal): 1.7 mi
  • Port of Montreal, Iberville Cruise Terminal: 1.9 mi
  • Rue Ste.-Catherine: 1.9 mi
  • Chateau Ramezay Museum: 2 mi
  • Notre-Dame-de-Bonsecours Chapel (Chapelle Notre-Dame-de-Bonsecours): 2.5 mi
  • Ile Sainte-Helene: 2.9 mi
  • Little Italy: 3 mi
  • Montreal Botanical Gardens (Jardin Botanique de Montreal): 4.5 mi
  • Biodome de Montreal: 4.7 mi
  • Montreal Insectarium: 4.9 mi

Dining

RIDI Bar Ristorante and Terrace
Life really is that simple at RIDI Bar Ristorante, located just across the street. Ridi is a celebration of life and what has been bringing people together for centuries...food. Great food.
Share Peppino`s passion for life`s greatest pleasures: The freshest food prepared in the time honoured traditions of Mediterranean cuisine, the intricate and complex flavours of the world`s finest wines and most importantly time spent with family and friends.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (125)

Ratings and reviews for Chateau Versailles

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
125 out of 125
Amenities:
3.7
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4.4
Value:
4

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Chateau Versailles

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Laurenwgmn
Business
toronto, ontario
Aug 2, 2011

Would not stay here again.

The air condition broke on our second night and our room was a SAUNA. we were not able to switch rooms due to over booking. Very uncomfortable nights sleep. The room was tiny, and looked run down and dirty. Bathroom was SO small barely big enough for one person.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Crescent Street.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chateau Versailles

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
London UK
Sep 18, 2009

Disappointment

I cannot see how they claim to be a 4 stars hotel. They did not response any emails I sent re: airport transfer, room condition etc. Beware, booked via ebookers means u can only get rooms on the ground floor and it is not quiet. We had to change room as the shower didn't drain (with water up to your ankle) and upon complaint was told that was normal?! But we insisted on changing room and then the blow dryer didn't work. They may have nice room if u book direct at much higher price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chateau Versailles

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Mshakh
Business
CA
Oct 1, 2013

Disappointment

I would never imagine that the 4 star hotels could offer something less than the queen size bed and I missed the fact that I was booking just double-size bed in the tiny room. The good thing was that we didn't need to go to the gym- our room was on 4th floor with no elevator.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chateau Versailles

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Jul 27, 2010

so so place, 2 stars at best

NO amenities at the hotel, not even an elevator, superior room we were sold was closet sized ended up paying $30/night for bigger room, with chipped paint, terribly small baththub with horrible showerhead, unconfortable bathroom/toilet, safe was not bolted (so could not use it), located fair walking distance from the downtown, I would never give this hotel 4Stars it claims it's rated, at best 2 star hotel. There is no shortage of nice affordable hotels all over downtown Montreal[...].

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chateau Versailles

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Rockaway, NJ
Jul 30, 2011

not so fabulous

we got in late and were given a room in the basement. The carpet was old and musty, the mattress was about 4 inches thick and I actually got on the floor to check for bed bugs (there were none) The room was clean and thankfully the AC did not work (It was 90 degrees out) After trying to move us to another basement room with no AC, we were finally upgraded to their hotel across the street, the Meridian. The room was very modern in comparison, the mattress had a pillowtop on top of it, the rugs were newer, the room was spotless and it had many more amenities. I would stay at their other hotel again, but I would definately NOT stay at the Versailles.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chateau Versailles

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
kimberly dawson
Business
Milwaukee WI
Oct 12, 2009

Second time around not as good

The first time we stayed at Chateau Versailles was in August of 2008. We enjoyed it immensely. Our second visit was during the first week of October (2009). When we checked in, the reception desk told us that our suite cases will be brought to our room. Fifteen minutes later, we went and fetched the site cases ourselves. The reception desk apologized and told us that the bellhop was helping other guests. Our room was clean and welcoming. Unfortunately, it was hot and stuffy. We lowered the thermostat to the lowest setting possible and without avail. A breakfast buffet was included in our package. Depending on who manned the dining room the tables, were the food was laid out, was setup differently. This caused confusion for us and other guests. For example the hot water pot for tea was a glass coffee pot sitting on a burner on one day. The next day, the hot water was inside a nondescript carafe. Also, on one day, a toaster was available for guest use. On the following day the toaster was gone. When we asked about it, we were given a curt answer of "no more toaster". In our opinion the dinning room should have a standard layout no matter which staff is on hand. Furthermore, one of the dining room staffers had a non-courteous attitude. The turndown service was inconsistent as well. On one night chocolates were left. On the other nights no chocolates were left. What irked us the most during our second stay was the lack of consistency of how staff members carried out their tasks. Non of the aforementioned issues occurred during our stay in 2008.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chateau Versailles

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Manhattan beach
Jun 13, 2010

Great location, poor service

Location was fantastic!!! Quaint, quiet hotel that is close proximity to the center of town, night life (crescent st.) shopping (high end and regular), close to metro stop and university. Loved the location but the 2 or 21/2 star was given to the lack of detail of cleanliness with house keeping and the responsibility of wake up call etc. Rooms were small but adequate. Due to grand prix weekend, we were stuck down stairs with no light through our window. Our tv did not work with remote control and they were apologetic. the maintenance crew was wonderful in helping try to resolve my wi fi connection problem with the new iPad but I couldn't get on anyways, nothing to do with hotel. I was able to manually change the tv at the foot of my bed (they didn't offer any room change and we didn't ask.) House cleaners missed taking away our large plate of food from previous night's late night sandwich, no trash was taken away and only picked up towels and made bed as far as we can notice. The morning we left, we asked for 500am wake up call and received the call at 525am. We told front desk and they should have taken care of this problem. The cab was fortunately called with the correct time. Stay with minimal expectation and you will be fine.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Try not to stay down stairs

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chateau Versailles

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Two Bits Worth
Business
Sparks, NV
Aug 20, 2014

Preparing for Renovation?

First off, the two stars overall are specifically to give credit to the staff who were always courteous, responsive, informative, and reflected well on the running of the establishment. They earned their full-level approval in the survey. I also found available amenities adequate, while the location was well situated for access to much of Montreal. I will state the mattresses on both beds were comfortable and the linen was quite clean. For the rest... Chateau Versailles appears to be owned and operated by the same firm which operates the Le Meridien across the street from this hotel. While CV advertises itself as a boutique hotel with charm, the carpets in both rooms we occupied (we had two separate stays during this trip) were quite worn and appeared in need of replacement. The guest safe in the first room was left with the deadbolts out, rendering it unusable and was not repaired during our stay. The environmental unit in the first room also experienced issues where we turned up the thermostat to turn off the AC, but it could not be restarted the next day when the temperature had warmed. The maintenance person stated the controls in the room were not in regular operational order. Further, in both rooms, either the base boards or the the paint on the walls had chips, wear, or other damage. In the second room, the bathtub water control was loose and did not function properly. The guess of my wife and I was either Le Meridien is preparing to shut down CV or is preparing for a major renovation. However, the general state of the rooms, the lack of finish or utility of operational and decorative appointments render the terms 'boutique' and 'charm' as examples of the negative cliches these terms enjoy. I would expect the owners of the hotel to provide an explanation for what appears to be an overall deterioration of the property, given the more glowing reviews from earlier years. Given a thorough overhaul and refurbishing, this hotel could easily again be worthy of the earlier reviews.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

From the airport, use the 747 bus line, if your hotel is anywhere near Rue Rene-Levesque. It is $10CDN per person and an easy and inexpensive way to access the city.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chateau Versailles

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Brinish
Business
ireland
Jul 14, 2011

Not A Four Star Hotel

This is not a 4 star hotel by any stretch of the the ratings.!! It's at best a 3 star Bed and Breakfast . When shown to the doudy Double delux room I complained it was a small single but they were not helpful it was so small I had to move my case to get out the door . It's on two floors over ground in an old building no lift and lots of stairs. I decided after 10 min in the place it was not for me and wanted to cancel my booking for 4 nights they would not give me a refund. I stayed one night and moved on. The breakfast was a cold buffet brought in from across the road served in an overcrowded room with some guests eating off their knees. I see they have good reviews that maybe so I also would have given them one if they had said they were a 3 star B and B. Not for business or travellers who have difficulty with stairs. Oh !! they allow Pets if I had have brought mine I would have had to sleep onthe floor on top of my case.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Stay away from this hotel unless you understand it's proper rating

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chateau Versailles

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
ShoelessJoe
Business
Ottawa, Ont
Jun 29, 2012

Nice booutique hotel

We had a charming room with high ceilings and a fireplace. However the bathroom is tiny. Location just a bit west of downtown, I know the area so I didnt pay for valet as there is lots of metered and free parking around.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top