$141 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 16, 2014 Check-out: Sep 19, 2014

Chateau Versailles

4 stars
1659 Sherbrooke St. West, Montreal, QC H3H 1E3
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
123 reviews
Very pleasant location

One day we went up the hill to Mont Royal, then another down Sherbrook to the art museum, over by... See full review

  • Guy Lafleur
  • Aug 14, 2014
Belle soirée à tous ♥

The Chateau Versailles on Sherbrooke is our go-to hotel whenever we visit Montreal. Why? Because... See full review

  • Alias Lilly Briscoe
  • Oct 22, 2013
Century Hotel with beautiful luxury guest rooms and suites in a historic setting
Situated along the Golden Mile of downtown Montreal, the Victorian style Chateau Versailles is steps from fine shopping, dining and attractions. This 100 year old historic, sculpture-laden property -- complete with fitness room, sauna and business center -- has spacious meeting and banquet facilities as well as guest rooms outfitted with original crown moldings and Matisse prints. Added perks include complimentary buffet breakfast, room service, and optional babysitting services. This four-story hotel does not have elevators.
Business
  • Banquet and meeting facilities for up to 20
  • Around-the-clock business center with computers, printer, fax machine and wireless Internet services
Highlights
  • Historic, art-adorned Victorian boutique property with high ceilings and ornate architectural details
  • Convenient, luxury location amid the Golden Mile of Montreal
  • Complimentary, elaborate continental breakfast
Rooms
All 65 luxurious guest rooms and suites at the Chateau Versailles are located on four floors and are adorned with numbered Matisse prints, rich colors, high ceilings and original crown molding. Rooms have one queen or one double bed with minibars, in-room safes, cable televisions with pay movies, clock radios and wireless Internet service (fees apply). Some rooms at the Chateau Versailles overlook Sherbrooke Street. Additional amenities include video consoles and bathrooms with hair-dryers and bathrobes.
Features
Adorned with art, including numbered Matisse prints in architecturally stunning guest rooms, the Victorian-style, boutique Chateau Versailles is conveniently located within the Golden Mile of Montreal. While the setting is historic, the property has a keen eye toward the comfort of its guests, with features that range from an on-site restaurant and fitness center with saunas for both men and women to banquet and meeting facilities and a complimentary buffet spread at breakfast. The hotel does not have elevator facilities.
Transportation

Montreal-Pierre Elliott Trudeau International Airport (8.1 mi/13.1 km)

Attractions
  • Le Hameau (0.1 mi/0.2 km)
  • Museum of Fine Arts (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • St. Deni Theatre (1.6 mi/2.7 km)
Policies and fees
  • Valet parking is available for $27.00 per day
  • The hotel serves afternoon tea to all guests

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

45.4956 -73.5826
Area served
Montreal.
Nearby airports
Pierre Elliott Trudeau International Airport.
Area description
Located downtown Montreal, in close proximity to shopping, famous restaurants, art galleries, antique stores and the Museum of Fine Arts. Just 2 blocks from Guy-Concordia metro station.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Chateau Versailles also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Chateau Versailles Rooms

Queen Deluxe
Room with one queen bed varying in size and shape, custom furniture, top of the line bedding boasting fluffy pillows and blankets with a velvety feel, all of today's best comforts: hair-dryer, mini-bar, safety deposit box, in-house movies and AM/FM Alarm clock.
Double Deluxe
Room with one double bed are warm and cozy, some with views overlooking Sherbrooke Street. Rich fabrics and contrasting wall colors, all of today's best comforts: hair-dryer, mini-bar, safety deposit box, in-house movies and AM/FM Alarm clock.
King Fireplace
Accommodations with king bed, a comfortable working desk, a modern bathroom and, more uniquely, an exquisite electrical Fireplace with original molding. Many of these rooms boast a beautiful bay window overlooking elegant Sherbrooke Street, better known as the Golden Square Mile.

Amenities

  • WiFi
General
Concierge
Pet friendly
Activities
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
In-Room Safe
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi

Nearby points of interest

  • Montreal Museum of Fine Arts (Musee des Beaux-Arts): 0.3 mi
  • Crescent Street: 0.3 mi
  • Bell Centre: 0.6 mi
  • Montreal Canadiens Hall of Fame: 0.7 mi
  • Centre Bell: 0.7 mi
  • Cathedral of Marie-Reine-du-Monde: 0.7 mi
  • Mont (Mount) Royal: 0.8 mi
  • Underground City: 0.9 mi
  • St. Patrick's Basilica: 1.1 mi
  • Place des Arts: 1.2 mi
  • Lachine Canal (Canal du Lachine): 1.4 mi
  • Notre-Dame Basilica: 1.4 mi
  • Notre-Dame Basilica (Basilique Notre-Dame): 1.5 mi
  • Museum of Archaeology and History (Pointe-a-Calliere Museum): 1.5 mi
  • Quays of the Old Port of Montreal (Quais du Vieux-Port de Montreal): 1.5 mi
  • Montreal Museum of Fine Arts (Musee des Beaux-Arts): 0.3 mi
  • Crescent Street: 0.3 mi
  • Bell Centre: 0.6 mi
  • Montreal Canadiens Hall of Fame: 0.7 mi
  • Centre Bell: 0.7 mi
  • Cathedral of Marie-Reine-du-Monde: 0.7 mi
  • Mont (Mount) Royal: 0.8 mi
  • Underground City: 0.9 mi
  • St. Patrick's Basilica: 1.1 mi
  • Place des Arts: 1.2 mi
  • Lachine Canal (Canal du Lachine): 1.4 mi
  • Notre-Dame Basilica: 1.4 mi
  • Notre-Dame Basilica (Basilique Notre-Dame): 1.5 mi
  • Museum of Archaeology and History (Pointe-a-Calliere Museum): 1.5 mi
  • Quays of the Old Port of Montreal (Quais du Vieux-Port de Montreal): 1.5 mi
  • Rue St-Paul: 1.6 mi
  • Montreal Science Centre: 1.6 mi
  • Place Jacques-Cartier: 1.7 mi
  • St. Joseph's Oratory of Mount Royal: 1.7 mi
  • Old Montreal (Vieux-Montreal): 1.7 mi
  • Port of Montreal, Iberville Cruise Terminal: 1.9 mi
  • Rue Ste.-Catherine: 1.9 mi
  • Chateau Ramezay Museum: 2 mi
  • Notre-Dame-de-Bonsecours Chapel (Chapelle Notre-Dame-de-Bonsecours): 2.5 mi
  • Ile Sainte-Helene: 2.9 mi
  • Little Italy: 3 mi
  • Montreal Botanical Gardens (Jardin Botanique de Montreal): 4.5 mi
  • Biodome de Montreal: 4.7 mi
  • Montreal Insectarium: 4.9 mi

Dining

RIDI Bar Ristorante and Terrace
Life really is that simple at RIDI Bar Ristorante, located just across the street. Ridi is a celebration of life and what has been bringing people together for centuries...food. Great food.
Share Peppino`s passion for life`s greatest pleasures: The freshest food prepared in the time honoured traditions of Mediterranean cuisine, the intricate and complex flavours of the world`s finest wines and most importantly time spent with family and friends.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (123)

Ratings and reviews for Chateau Versailles

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
123 out of 123
Amenities:
3.7
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.6
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4.4
Value:
4

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Chateau Versailles

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
minneapolis MN
Jul 20, 2010

Lovely Boutique hotel - great location

We had a comfortable, 5 night stay at the Chateau Versailles. We most liked the location - we could walk to an unlimited number of restaurants & shops.Our room was exceptional but we did upgrade [...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Walk to Crescent Street for unlimited nightlife every night - excellent people-watching & great food.

Review of Chateau Versailles

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Mt. Pearl, NL
Jul 6, 2010

Couple Retreat

Jazz Festival , shopping, resting , excercise, Restaurants Elevators Very Good

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Restful

Review of Chateau Versailles

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Massachusetts
Jul 5, 2010

Beware getting switched!

We checked in and discovered we'd been moved to the Hotel Meridien across the street due to "overbooking". The Meridien was nice, but it was a modern type of place, not the classic old-world one we thought we had signed up for. The other hotel was nice and the staff were good, but we didn't get what we were looking for. This hotel is close to some things, but the best spots for tourists are in the Old City, far away from the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
4
Review of Chateau Versailles

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
California
Jul 1, 2010

Pleasantly surprised!

Every day we were off early to the convention center and it was a big help that the breakfast offered at the hotel was served early, had a nice variety of foods, and it was plentiful. The room was a nice size but when we needed to add a bed it became small for 3 adults. The hotel did their best to accommodate and we were greatful! Internet was always available for us.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Chateau Versailles

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
LW
london
Jun 28, 2010

Good value

I was in Montreal attending a conference while my husband was holidaying. The location and facilities at the hotel were ideal for both.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Chateau Versailles

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Father Duck
Lake Arrowhead, CA
Jun 24, 2010

Delightful

great placed to stay while visiting the wonderful city of Montreal.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Chateau Versailles

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Manhattan beach
Jun 13, 2010

Great location, poor service

Location was fantastic!!! Quaint, quiet hotel that is close proximity to the center of town, night life (crescent st.) shopping (high end and regular), close to metro stop and university. Loved the location but the 2 or 21/2 star was given to the lack of detail of cleanliness with house keeping and the responsibility of wake up call etc. Rooms were small but adequate. Due to grand prix weekend, we were stuck down stairs with no light through our window. Our tv did not work with remote control and they were apologetic. the maintenance crew was wonderful in helping try to resolve my wi fi connection problem with the new iPad but I couldn't get on anyways, nothing to do with hotel. I was able to manually change the tv at the foot of my bed (they didn't offer any room change and we didn't ask.) House cleaners missed taking away our large plate of food from previous night's late night sandwich, no trash was taken away and only picked up towels and made bed as far as we can notice. The morning we left, we asked for 500am wake up call and received the call at 525am. We told front desk and they should have taken care of this problem. The cab was fortunately called with the correct time. Stay with minimal expectation and you will be fine.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Try not to stay down stairs

Review of Chateau Versailles

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Darlsie
Brisbane. Australia
Jun 6, 2010

I will live here forever.

This was GORGEOUS................. except for my 25kg suitcase being schlepped up and down 3 flights of stairs, by utterly charming French speaking staff, for whom, nothing...( even in Montreal), was a problem.( oops, didn't check for lift!) Breakfast was truly ' High-sterical'. Every aging anorectic on the Canadian planet, whingeing over lack of this and that... what? Air?. I Loved this Hotel, and am booking it again for the return trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Buy a Metro ticket, charge it up, and zip underground everywhere..all hours of day and night. Cheap and super easy.

Review of Chateau Versailles

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Silver Spring MD
Jun 1, 2010

Great Spot

This was a great European style hotel with the right amount of thoughtful amenities-you don't come to Montreal to hang out at the hotel. Perfect location, downtown but quiet and convenient to everything. It will really appeal to anyone who wants to get away from hordes of fanny-packed "ugly Americans". It's not the Holiday Inn and that's exactly what is appealing about it. It's a quiet place to rest after a long day of exploring.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Chateau Versailles

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
San Clemente,Ca.
May 25, 2010

Beautiful spring family holiday

We were easily accessible to the metro and within a short walking distance to museums,shopping,and all the lively action in downtown Montreal.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Back to menu Return to top

Change search