$94 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 26, 2015 Check-out: Apr 27, 2015

Chateau Versailles

4 stars
View map of 1659 Sherbrooke St. West, Montreal, QC H3H 1E3

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Chateau Versailles

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
131 out of 131
Amenities:
3.7
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.6
Comfort:
4
Location:
4.4
Value:
4

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Chateau Versailles

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Sam Math
Business
Dallas, TX, USA
Aug 23, 2011

Chateau Versailles-Montreal

Beautiful boutique hotel. Wonderful breakfast; great staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chateau Versailles

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
tomd
Business
Rhode Island, USA
Aug 19, 2011

couple getaway

My wife and I spent three nights in Montreal at the Chateau Versaille to celebrate our anniversary. The staff was very accommodating and welcoming. The breakfast was excellent. The location is within easy walking distance to Mont Royale, McGill University and the underground. We could not have been more pleased. Park at the University of Montreal just a block down the street. Very convenient and about half the price of valeting.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chateau Versailles

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Laurenwgmn
Business
toronto, ontario
Aug 2, 2011

Would not stay here again.

The air condition broke on our second night and our room was a SAUNA. we were not able to switch rooms due to over booking. Very uncomfortable nights sleep. The room was tiny, and looked run down and dirty. Bathroom was SO small barely big enough for one person.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Crescent Street.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chateau Versailles

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Rockaway, NJ
Jul 30, 2011

not so fabulous

we got in late and were given a room in the basement. The carpet was old and musty, the mattress was about 4 inches thick and I actually got on the floor to check for bed bugs (there were none) The room was clean and thankfully the AC did not work (It was 90 degrees out) After trying to move us to another basement room with no AC, we were finally upgraded to their hotel across the street, the Meridian. The room was very modern in comparison, the mattress had a pillowtop on top of it, the rugs were newer, the room was spotless and it had many more amenities. I would stay at their other hotel again, but I would definately NOT stay at the Versailles.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chateau Versailles

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Buffalo, NY
Jul 20, 2011

Good Service and Convenient Location

I went there with my boyfriend for a weekend. The hotel is at a very convenient location. The room is a good size for two people. The people in the hotel are very very helpful. We brought our bikes with us and they even help us to keep them in the store room. The room includes breakfast and the food was good. The AC is a little loud and there is no toothbrush in the bathroom. Other than that, everything was great. It is about 15 minutes walk to the shopping street and about 3 minutes walk to the subway station. There are bikes for rent in the city everywhere so it is pretty convenient without a car. Parking is a bit pricey there, but the people at the hotel told us a place to park that's only 5 minutes and a lot cheaper. Overall, I like this hotel a lot and I would recommend it to other people.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

I will try not to have a car in the city because the subway and bikes are everywhere and very very convenient.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chateau Versailles

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Brinish
Business
ireland
Jul 14, 2011

Not A Four Star Hotel

This is not a 4 star hotel by any stretch of the the ratings.!! It's at best a 3 star Bed and Breakfast . When shown to the doudy Double delux room I complained it was a small single but they were not helpful it was so small I had to move my case to get out the door . It's on two floors over ground in an old building no lift and lots of stairs. I decided after 10 min in the place it was not for me and wanted to cancel my booking for 4 nights they would not give me a refund. I stayed one night and moved on. The breakfast was a cold buffet brought in from across the road served in an overcrowded room with some guests eating off their knees. I see they have good reviews that maybe so I also would have given them one if they had said they were a 3 star B and B. Not for business or travellers who have difficulty with stairs. Oh !! they allow Pets if I had have brought mine I would have had to sleep onthe floor on top of my case.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Stay away from this hotel unless you understand it's proper rating

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chateau Versailles

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Brinish
Business
ireland
Jul 14, 2011

Not A Four Star Hotel

This is not a 4 star hotel by any stretch of the the ratings.!! It's at best a 3 star Bed and Breakfast . When shown to the doudy Double delux room I complained it was a small single but they were not helpful it was so small I had to move my case to get out the door . It's on two floors over ground in an old building no lift and lots of stairs. I decided after 10 min in the place it was not for me and wanted to cancel my booking for 4 nights they would not give me a refund. I stayed one night and moved on. The breakfast was a cold buffet brought in from across the road served in an overcrowded room with some guests eating off their knees. I see they have good reviews that maybe so I also would have given them one if they had said they were a 3 star B and B. Not for business or travellers who have difficulty with stairs. Oh !! they allow Pets if I had have brought mine I would have had to sleep onthe floor on top of my case.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Stay away from this hotel unless you understand it's proper rating

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chateau Versailles

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Poughkeepsie, NY
Jul 6, 2011

Wonderful

We loved our stay. This was the second time I'd been there and loved it the second time around as well. The breakfast is wonderful, the service impeccable, and the location is close to everything, but not too close to the craziness.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chateau Versailles

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Barbados
Jul 1, 2011

A gem of a place in the heart of the cit

Having never stayed here before, I was pleasantly surprised by everything I encountered, from the super-helpful staff to the included breakfast to the room - spacious, spotless, and comfortable. I loved the fact that it's a short walk to the subway, there's a bus line running East-West with stops right outside the hotel entrance, and it's just a stone's throw from downtown. Overall, a great experience - highly recommended!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Just down the street from the hotel along St. Catherine are several low cost & delicious options for a meal: Indian, Chinese/Szechuan, Japanese pub-style, Thai, classic French, made-to-order burgers and more!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chateau Versailles

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Wob
Business
Washington, DC
Jun 8, 2011

Really nice hotel in Montreal!

Great location. About a block from the Metro. Also, great clean room with turn down service for a great price, considering all the wonderful cultural attractions in Montreal.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top