$161 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 10, 2014 Check-out: Aug 11, 2014

Chateau Versailles

4 stars
1659 Sherbrooke St. West, Montreal, QC H3H 1E3
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
173 reviews
Belle soirée à tous ♥

The Chateau Versailles on Sherbrooke is our go-to hotel whenever we visit Montreal. Why? Because... See full review

  • Alias Lilly Briscoe
  • Oct 22, 2013
Charming with a great location

Everything was good. The continental breakfast was excellent See full review

  • Krystaljo
  • Aug 8, 2013
Century Hotel with beautiful luxury guest rooms and suites in a historic setting
Situated along the Golden Mile of downtown Montreal, the Victorian style Chateau Versailles is steps from fine shopping, dining and attractions. This 100 year old historic, sculpture-laden property -- complete with fitness room, sauna and business center -- has spacious meeting and banquet facilities as well as guest rooms outfitted with original crown moldings and Matisse prints. Added perks include complimentary buffet breakfast, room service, and optional babysitting services. This four-story hotel does not have elevators.
Business
  • Banquet and meeting facilities for up to 20
  • Around-the-clock business center with computers, printer, fax machine and wireless Internet services
Highlights
  • Historic, art-adorned Victorian boutique property with high ceilings and ornate architectural details
  • Convenient, luxury location amid the Golden Mile of Montreal
  • Complimentary, elaborate continental breakfast
Rooms
All 65 luxurious guest rooms and suites at the Chateau Versailles are located on four floors and are adorned with numbered Matisse prints, rich colors, high ceilings and original crown molding. Rooms have one queen or one double bed with minibars, in-room safes, cable televisions with pay movies, clock radios and wireless Internet service (fees apply). Some rooms at the Chateau Versailles overlook Sherbrooke Street. Additional amenities include video consoles and bathrooms with hair-dryers and bathrobes.
Features
Adorned with art, including numbered Matisse prints in architecturally stunning guest rooms, the Victorian-style, boutique Chateau Versailles is conveniently located within the Golden Mile of Montreal. While the setting is historic, the property has a keen eye toward the comfort of its guests, with features that range from an on-site restaurant and fitness center with saunas for both men and women to banquet and meeting facilities and a complimentary buffet spread at breakfast. The hotel does not have elevator facilities.
Transportation

Montreal-Pierre Elliott Trudeau International Airport (8.1 mi/13.1 km)

Attractions
  • Le Hameau (0.1 mi/0.2 km)
  • Museum of Fine Arts (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • St. Deni Theatre (1.6 mi/2.7 km)
Policies and fees
  • Valet parking is available for $27.00 per day
  • The hotel serves afternoon tea to all guests

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

45.4956 -73.5826
Area served
Montreal.
Nearby airports
Pierre Elliott Trudeau International Airport.
Area description
Located downtown Montreal, in close proximity to shopping, famous restaurants, art galleries, antique stores and the Museum of Fine Arts. Just 2 blocks from Guy-Concordia metro station.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Chateau Versailles also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Chateau Versailles Rooms

Queen Deluxe
Room with one queen bed varying in size and shape, custom furniture, top of the line bedding boasting fluffy pillows and blankets with a velvety feel, all of today's best comforts: hair-dryer, mini-bar, safety deposit box, in-house movies and AM/FM Alarm clock.
Double Deluxe
Room with one double bed are warm and cozy, some with views overlooking Sherbrooke Street. Rich fabrics and contrasting wall colors, all of today's best comforts: hair-dryer, mini-bar, safety deposit box, in-house movies and AM/FM Alarm clock.
King Fireplace
Accommodations with king bed, a comfortable working desk, a modern bathroom and, more uniquely, an exquisite electrical Fireplace with original molding. Many of these rooms boast a beautiful bay window overlooking elegant Sherbrooke Street, better known as the Golden Square Mile.

Amenities

  • WiFi
General
Concierge
Pet friendly
Activities
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
In-Room Safe
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi

Nearby points of interest

  • Montreal Museum of Fine Arts (Musee des Beaux-Arts): 0.3 mi
  • Crescent Street: 0.3 mi
  • Bell Centre: 0.6 mi
  • Montreal Canadiens Hall of Fame: 0.7 mi
  • Centre Bell: 0.7 mi
  • Cathedral of Marie-Reine-du-Monde: 0.7 mi
  • Mont (Mount) Royal: 0.8 mi
  • Underground City: 0.9 mi
  • St. Patrick's Basilica: 1.1 mi
  • Place des Arts: 1.2 mi
  • Lachine Canal (Canal du Lachine): 1.4 mi
  • Notre-Dame Basilica: 1.4 mi
  • Notre-Dame Basilica (Basilique Notre-Dame): 1.5 mi
  • Museum of Archaeology and History (Pointe-a-Calliere Museum): 1.5 mi
  • Quays of the Old Port of Montreal (Quais du Vieux-Port de Montreal): 1.5 mi
  • Montreal Museum of Fine Arts (Musee des Beaux-Arts): 0.3 mi
  • Crescent Street: 0.3 mi
  • Bell Centre: 0.6 mi
  • Montreal Canadiens Hall of Fame: 0.7 mi
  • Centre Bell: 0.7 mi
  • Cathedral of Marie-Reine-du-Monde: 0.7 mi
  • Mont (Mount) Royal: 0.8 mi
  • Underground City: 0.9 mi
  • St. Patrick's Basilica: 1.1 mi
  • Place des Arts: 1.2 mi
  • Lachine Canal (Canal du Lachine): 1.4 mi
  • Notre-Dame Basilica: 1.4 mi
  • Notre-Dame Basilica (Basilique Notre-Dame): 1.5 mi
  • Museum of Archaeology and History (Pointe-a-Calliere Museum): 1.5 mi
  • Quays of the Old Port of Montreal (Quais du Vieux-Port de Montreal): 1.5 mi
  • Rue St-Paul: 1.6 mi
  • Montreal Science Centre: 1.6 mi
  • Place Jacques-Cartier: 1.7 mi
  • St. Joseph's Oratory of Mount Royal: 1.7 mi
  • Old Montreal (Vieux-Montreal): 1.7 mi
  • Port of Montreal, Iberville Cruise Terminal: 1.9 mi
  • Rue Ste.-Catherine: 1.9 mi
  • Chateau Ramezay Museum: 2 mi
  • Notre-Dame-de-Bonsecours Chapel (Chapelle Notre-Dame-de-Bonsecours): 2.5 mi
  • Ile Sainte-Helene: 2.9 mi
  • Little Italy: 3 mi
  • Montreal Botanical Gardens (Jardin Botanique de Montreal): 4.5 mi
  • Biodome de Montreal: 4.7 mi
  • Montreal Insectarium: 4.9 mi

Dining

RIDI Bar Ristorante and Terrace
Life really is that simple at RIDI Bar Ristorante, located just across the street. Ridi is a celebration of life and what has been bringing people together for centuries...food. Great food.
Share Peppino`s passion for life`s greatest pleasures: The freshest food prepared in the time honoured traditions of Mediterranean cuisine, the intricate and complex flavours of the world`s finest wines and most importantly time spent with family and friends.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (173)

Ratings and reviews for Chateau Versailles

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
173 out of 173
Amenities:
3.7
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.6
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.1

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Chateau Versailles

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Laurenwgmn
toronto, ontario
Aug 2, 2011

Would not stay here again.

The air condition broke on our second night and our room was a SAUNA. we were not able to switch rooms due to over booking. Very uncomfortable nights sleep. The room was tiny, and looked run down and dirty. Bathroom was SO small barely big enough for one person.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Crescent Street.

Review of Chateau Versailles

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Laurenwgmn
toronto, ontario
Aug 2, 2011

Would not stay here again.

The air condition broke on our second night and our room was a SAUNA. we were not able to switch rooms due to over booking. Very uncomfortable nights sleep. The room was tiny, and looked run down and dirty. Bathroom was SO small barely big enough for one person.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Crescent Street.

Review of Chateau Versailles

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Rockaway, NJ
Jul 30, 2011

not so fabulous

we got in late and were given a room in the basement. The carpet was old and musty, the mattress was about 4 inches thick and I actually got on the floor to check for bed bugs (there were none) The room was clean and thankfully the AC did not work (It was 90 degrees out) After trying to move us to another basement room with no AC, we were finally upgraded to their hotel across the street, the Meridian. The room was very modern in comparison, the mattress had a pillowtop on top of it, the rugs were newer, the room was spotless and it had many more amenities. I would stay at their other hotel again, but I would definately NOT stay at the Versailles.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Review of Chateau Versailles

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Rockaway, NJ
Jul 30, 2011

not so fabulous

we got in late and were given a room in the basement. The carpet was old and musty, the mattress was about 4 inches thick and I actually got on the floor to check for bed bugs (there were none) The room was clean and thankfully the AC did not work (It was 90 degrees out) After trying to move us to another basement room with no AC, we were finally upgraded to their hotel across the street, the Meridian. The room was very modern in comparison, the mattress had a pillowtop on top of it, the rugs were newer, the room was spotless and it had many more amenities. I would stay at their other hotel again, but I would definately NOT stay at the Versailles.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Review of Chateau Versailles

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Buffalo, NY
Jul 20, 2011

Good Service and Convenient Location

I went there with my boyfriend for a weekend. The hotel is at a very convenient location. The room is a good size for two people. The people in the hotel are very very helpful. We brought our bikes with us and they even help us to keep them in the store room. The room includes breakfast and the food was good. The AC is a little loud and there is no toothbrush in the bathroom. Other than that, everything was great. It is about 15 minutes walk to the shopping street and about 3 minutes walk to the subway station. There are bikes for rent in the city everywhere so it is pretty convenient without a car. Parking is a bit pricey there, but the people at the hotel told us a place to park that's only 5 minutes and a lot cheaper. Overall, I like this hotel a lot and I would recommend it to other people.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

I will try not to have a car in the city because the subway and bikes are everywhere and very very convenient.

Review of Chateau Versailles

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Buffalo, NY
Jul 20, 2011

Good Service and Convenient Location

I went there with my boyfriend for a weekend. The hotel is at a very convenient location. The room is a good size for two people. The people in the hotel are very very helpful. We brought our bikes with us and they even help us to keep them in the store room. The room includes breakfast and the food was good. The AC is a little loud and there is no toothbrush in the bathroom. Other than that, everything was great. It is about 15 minutes walk to the shopping street and about 3 minutes walk to the subway station. There are bikes for rent in the city everywhere so it is pretty convenient without a car. Parking is a bit pricey there, but the people at the hotel told us a place to park that's only 5 minutes and a lot cheaper. Overall, I like this hotel a lot and I would recommend it to other people.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

I will try not to have a car in the city because the subway and bikes are everywhere and very very convenient.

Review of Chateau Versailles

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Brinish
Business
ireland
Jul 14, 2011

Not A Four Star Hotel

This is not a 4 star hotel by any stretch of the the ratings.!! It's at best a 3 star Bed and Breakfast . When shown to the doudy Double delux room I complained it was a small single but they were not helpful it was so small I had to move my case to get out the door . It's on two floors over ground in an old building no lift and lots of stairs. I decided after 10 min in the place it was not for me and wanted to cancel my booking for 4 nights they would not give me a refund. I stayed one night and moved on. The breakfast was a cold buffet brought in from across the road served in an overcrowded room with some guests eating off their knees. I see they have good reviews that maybe so I also would have given them one if they had said they were a 3 star B and B. Not for business or travellers who have difficulty with stairs. Oh !! they allow Pets if I had have brought mine I would have had to sleep onthe floor on top of my case.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Stay away from this hotel unless you understand it's proper rating

Review of Chateau Versailles

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Poughkeepsie, NY
Jul 6, 2011

Wonderful

We loved our stay. This was the second time I'd been there and loved it the second time around as well. The breakfast is wonderful, the service impeccable, and the location is close to everything, but not too close to the craziness.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Chateau Versailles

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Poughkeepsie, NY
Jul 6, 2011

Wonderful

We loved our stay. This was the second time I'd been there and loved it the second time around as well. The breakfast is wonderful, the service impeccable, and the location is close to everything, but not too close to the craziness.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Chateau Versailles

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Barbados
Jul 1, 2011

A gem of a place in the heart of the cit

Having never stayed here before, I was pleasantly surprised by everything I encountered, from the super-helpful staff to the included breakfast to the room - spacious, spotless, and comfortable. I loved the fact that it's a short walk to the subway, there's a bus line running East-West with stops right outside the hotel entrance, and it's just a stone's throw from downtown. Overall, a great experience - highly recommended!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Just down the street from the hotel along St. Catherine are several low cost & delicious options for a meal: Indian, Chinese/Szechuan, Japanese pub-style, Thai, classic French, made-to-order burgers and more!

Back to menu Return to top