$91 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 12, 2015 Check-out: Apr 13, 2015

Chateau Versailles

4 stars
View map of 1659 Sherbrooke St. West, Montreal, QC H3H 1E3

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Chateau Versailles

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
129 out of 129
Amenities:
3.7
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.6
Comfort:
4
Location:
4.4
Value:
4

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Chateau Versailles

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
G Weisen
Business
Chicago
Sep 4, 2012

Excellent base in Montreal, especially for a couple

Overall experience was very positive. Staff was very helpful. Room a bit on the small side but comfortable (i.e., very European, as the name indicates). Perfect for a couple. Pleasant location near downtown and close to Mont Royal. Not what I would call a swinging neighborhood, but those aren't far away and there's a Metro stop within a couple of blocks. And it's a lovely walk up Sherbrooke to some of the hipper neighborhoods. Also, Old Port is within walking distance (20 minutes or so). Reasonable parking at the college down the street (just ask the front desk). Stone's throw from Dominion Square Tavern, which is an excellent place to start your night off with some fantastic signature drinks (or cut it short because you've had one too many and passed out at the bar; the drinks are very potent). Minor inconvenience: no elevator. But the exercise will do you good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Long walk from hotel

Go to Le Cheval Blanc brewery (short Metro ride and walk or pretty long walk). Fantastic beer, esp. the Double Happiness.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chateau Versailles

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
relaxed runner
Business
New York, NY
Sep 4, 2012

Comforting and Friendly

My stay here was mostly wonderful and as expected. It was so close to downtown which was really great. I was staying there with a friend of mine who we wanted a combination of going out and relaxing time. It was perfect for that. Also as a runner it was great proximity from mount royale to get my daily run in. If you are an active person looking for a gym, don't stay here as the "gym" has the world's first stationary bike and treadmill...and nothing else. Overall the staff was super friendly and helpful with great suggestions of where to go and accommodations. Loved this hotel and would definitely come back...it was definitely the right price for the right stay. Never had to get on public transrportation for where I wanted to go (and that included old Montreal!)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chateau Versailles

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
RobJG
Business
Toronto
Aug 13, 2012

Montreal! Hotel Versailles! oui!

We had often passed this historic building, so well situated on Sherbrooke West and finally took advantage of the hotel's reputation. It was a very pleasant experience, with a nice room which for us was fine but the two storey climb might be for the younger guests. Other than that, this is a real plus with good comfort, old world atmosphere, and the continental breakfast was excellent. i would return for certain.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

The Lawrence restaurant on St Laurent at Fairmont was a great culinary experience.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chateau Versailles

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Parco
Business
Florida
Aug 8, 2012

Exception front desk/concierge staff, but...

Guess where to park to check-in. No elevator (would be difficult for handicapped or elderly persons or those carrying their own suitcases). No pool, yes sauna and small workout room. Breakfast, average. Rooms small no ultra comfort for a 4 star. Shower difficult to control temp--way too hot or too cold. 4th floor noisy from street traffic. Early check out (12 noon) with no option for extended hour.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Great place for parents and children to stay to check out the universities for their education.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chateau Versailles

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Tamuna
Business
Tbilisi, georgia
Jul 31, 2012

Perfect staff, nice and covinient location

However stayed for short time, it was very positive experience. Very nice and helpful staff, excellent complimentary breakfast and internet access adds value. I would rate the hotel A++ and thank you for great hospitality

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chateau Versailles

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ballerina
Business
Massachusetts
Jul 30, 2012

Wedding Weekend

The hotel is wonderfullysituated, but it took forever to get the rooms cleaned up.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chateau Versailles

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lone Louvetine
Business
Geneva, Switzerland
Jul 25, 2012

La Vie du Château

Walkable from the central bus station, but I was happy to be greeted by a charming doorman who took my bag up those carpeted steps! The staff and the comfort of the Château were more than welcoming, setting me up for the following day's sightseeing, for which the hotel is well located. However, it is not especially near Vieux Montreal; best for visiting the great museums and McGill. All fine for the single woman traveler, too. P.S. appeared to have no lift/elevator

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

I found the Hop On - Hop Off bus tour very interesting and a good way to do a lot in a short time.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chateau Versailles

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JessicaPHL
Business
Philadelphia, PA
Jul 23, 2012

Perfect location and great value

We didn't even take advantage of the complimentary breakfast and were still very pleased with the value and location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chateau Versailles

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
ShoelessJoe
Business
Ottawa, Ont
Jun 29, 2012

Nice booutique hotel

We had a charming room with high ceilings and a fireplace. However the bathroom is tiny. Location just a bit west of downtown, I know the area so I didnt pay for valet as there is lots of metered and free parking around.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chateau Versailles

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Adventurers Two
Business
CT
Jun 25, 2012

First-Time Visit to Montreal

Great one-night stay--very friendly and informative staff. Clean and comfortable room with breakfast provided. Location close to shopping, dining, museums, and the metro. Would stay again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top