$117 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 6, 2015 Check-out: Sep 7, 2015

Chateau Versailles

4 stars
View map of 1659 Sherbrooke St. West, Montreal, QC H3H 1E3

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Chateau Versailles

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
128 out of 128
Amenities:
3.7
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4.4
Value:
4

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Chateau Versailles

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MarkNYC
Couples
New York, NY
Jul 9, 2014

Botique Hotel in a Great Location

After reading a few of the negative reviews about Chateau Versailles I was apprehensive about staying here, but I was booking a last minute trip and was low on options. I'm happy to report that my overall experience here was great! It is in a prime location in downtown Montreal and only two blocks away from the metro, which made getting around the city easy and convenient. We also felt safe walking back to the hotel late in the evenings. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful – giving me suggestion on places to go, how to navigate town and making reservations for me as I didn't have an international phone plan of my own. The rooms are on the smaller side but they are cute, clean and cozy and I booked my stay knowing that the rooms weren't large. The bathrooms were also very nice and a good size which you might not expect from smaller rooms. They did fail to clean my room one day of my stay. There are also no elevators but I was only on the second floor and had very light baggage with me so that wasn't a huge issue for us. Overall everything was great! Would stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The hotel was close to the main shopping and dining area, and right down the street from the Musée des Beaux Arts. There is a metro station only two blocks away so it was very easy to get around the entire city.

Review of Chateau Versailles

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Hrrundivbakshi
Business
Arlington, VA
Jun 25, 2014

Nice, homey, a bit small maybe

Customer service was top-notch, room was nice, if a bit small. In fact, something worth mentioning is that the bed in my room was actually kind of short! I'm 6'1", and I had to kind of sleep on the diagonal to fit -- so if you're a tall person, make sure you get a proper queen bed. Mine, I guess, was a kind of twin-and-a-half, made for shrimpy (perhaps I should say normal-sized) people. Beyond that, the location was great, breakfast was swell, and in general, I was well pleased.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Chateau Versailles

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
NMBSkurosh
Couples
Washington DC
Jun 9, 2014

great little hotel in Montreal

I have been going to the Formula 1 Grand Prix in Montreal the past 10 years. Typically to be ripped off by mediocre or worse hotel at super inflated prices on this weekend. Chateau Versailles was such a refreshing surprise; great value; courteous staff; clean; decent breakfast, shower, good bed and only one block from the Metro. Great value. Definitely going back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Chateau Versailles

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
BTBT
Couples
Florida
Jun 9, 2014

Grand Prix raises the price

At it's Grand prix price the hotel was too expensive. At the normal price it is a nice tourist hotel. Lack if elevators is the biggest shortfall but the valets carry the bags if needed. Very friendly staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Chateau Versailles

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
AZ Couple
Couples
Tucson, AZ
Jun 9, 2014

very nice hotel

It is a very pretty, boutique hotel. All good. Nothing negative to say. Would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Chateau Versailles

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
brandonjh44
St. Louis, MO
Apr 17, 2014

Fantastic boutique hotel in a great location...

We really really enjoyed our stay at this beautiful hotel. The place itself is 2 older buildings joined together. It is renovated to it's time and has a very homey and comfortable feel. The rooms are not what most travelers are used to, but they have plenty of room and the bathroom of the room that we stayed in was very spacious. The housekeeping staff came in each day and did fantastic job, they also have a turn down service that came through each evening complete with chocolates. Every staff member we spoke with was extremely friendly and helpful, they were also bilingual. The location of the hotel also makes it extra special, several bus stops are right outside the door, you can easily walk to St. Catherine St. and Old Montreal, taxis were always around and several great bars and restaurants were no more than 5 minutes away. This hotel is spectacular and we will not be staying anywhere else the next time we visit Montreal.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

You are not far from everything and if you don't like to walk the transportation possibilities are endless.

Review of Chateau Versailles

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Krystaljo
Couples
Old chatham, NY
Feb 11, 2014

A great hotel with a wonderful ambiance.

The staff is very courteous. The breakfast is delicious. The edifice is charming

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Chateau Versailles

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Alligator and Turtle
Couples
New England
Nov 9, 2013

Our Montreal Visit

There was three of us in the room. None of us had any complaints. We were 2 blocks from the subway. We used a MetroPass to get around. The location was good. The staff were all very helpful. The room was quiet. My only complaint is for the Montreal citizens. Man, they get taxed on all sorts of things..... All in all, we plan on coming back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Not Applicable

In November, they have these fixed price menus at the restaurants. We liked Sauvigne and Solamar on the corner of Rue St. Paul and Rue St. Vincent. Check it out at www.mtlatable.com

Review of Chateau Versailles

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Alias Lilly Briscoe
Couples
Longboat Key, FL, USA
Oct 22, 2013

Belle soirée à tous ♥

The Chateau Versailles on Sherbrooke is our go-to hotel whenever we visit Montreal. Why? Because it's well located, quaint, beautifully decorated, well staffed. Being in the heart of Montreal's shopping and restaurant district is amazing. The morning brunch -- served in a stunning 19th C. dining room complete with high ceilings and beautifully apportioned comfortable furniture--is a foodie's delight. I can't say enough good things about this lovely hotel. We've been going there for 30 years, and it's always a treat.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Time-saving tip: In Hotel

If you don't like stairs, or are traveling with a lot of bags, request a room on the first or second floors (or be prepared for a lot of steps)! Also be aware that there is an extra charge for parking - the parking lot on the premises is very tiny, so usually you will be asked to valet park.

Review of Chateau Versailles

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Mshakh
Business
CA
Oct 1, 2013

Disappointment

I would never imagine that the 4 star hotels could offer something less than the queen size bed and I missed the fact that I was booking just double-size bed in the tiny room. The good thing was that we didn't need to go to the gym- our room was on 4th floor with no elevator.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top