$119 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 9, 2015 Check-out: Aug 10, 2015

Chateau Versailles

4 stars
View map of 1659 Sherbrooke St. West, Montreal, QC H3H 1E3

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Chateau Versailles

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
128 out of 128
Amenities:
3.7
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4.4
Value:
4

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Chateau Versailles

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Vsrivast
Business
Cincinnati
Sep 6, 2014

Great haunt near McGill

They don't have elevators and the carpets are old and worn out and the place could use a face lift. Having said all that the location is great, staff is jovial and the breakfasts are good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There are several eaters a couple of blocks away. Chateau Kabab has spectacular Mediterranean food and is open till 12.30 am...perfect for late checkins or late night cravings.

Review of Chateau Versailles

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Moodge
Business
Oakville
Sep 1, 2014

Okay

I have stayed at many hotels in Montreal and this one was just okay. It was far from the main strip of restaurants and shopping so you need to drive. The room was comfortable but average . The carpet was distrusting and needed to be steam cleaned. There were big marks all over it and the one beside the bed was wet. The breakfast was nice and the coffee good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Chateau Versailles

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Two Bits Worth
Business
Sparks, NV
Aug 20, 2014

Preparing for Renovation?

First off, the two stars overall are specifically to give credit to the staff who were always courteous, responsive, informative, and reflected well on the running of the establishment. They earned their full-level approval in the survey. I also found available amenities adequate, while the location was well situated for access to much of Montreal. I will state the mattresses on both beds were comfortable and the linen was quite clean. For the rest... Chateau Versailles appears to be owned and operated by the same firm which operates the Le Meridien across the street from this hotel. While CV advertises itself as a boutique hotel with charm, the carpets in both rooms we occupied (we had two separate stays during this trip) were quite worn and appeared in need of replacement. The guest safe in the first room was left with the deadbolts out, rendering it unusable and was not repaired during our stay. The environmental unit in the first room also experienced issues where we turned up the thermostat to turn off the AC, but it could not be restarted the next day when the temperature had warmed. The maintenance person stated the controls in the room were not in regular operational order. Further, in both rooms, either the base boards or the the paint on the walls had chips, wear, or other damage. In the second room, the bathtub water control was loose and did not function properly. The guess of my wife and I was either Le Meridien is preparing to shut down CV or is preparing for a major renovation. However, the general state of the rooms, the lack of finish or utility of operational and decorative appointments render the terms 'boutique' and 'charm' as examples of the negative cliches these terms enjoy. I would expect the owners of the hotel to provide an explanation for what appears to be an overall deterioration of the property, given the more glowing reviews from earlier years. Given a thorough overhaul and refurbishing, this hotel could easily again be worthy of the earlier reviews.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

From the airport, use the 747 bus line, if your hotel is anywhere near Rue Rene-Levesque. It is $10CDN per person and an easy and inexpensive way to access the city.

Review of Chateau Versailles

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bob The B.
Business
West Haven, Ct.
Aug 20, 2014

Quaint and charming

Chateau Versailles is not your usual hotel, my friend whom I met who lives in the area said it used to be a private house. Small and personal, no elevators, but nice furnishings and surroundings. The desk staff is excellent, I had to unfortunately cut my stay short, and the staff, especially the nice lady who worked on Sunday morning did their best to get me a refund for two nights I had reserved. The complimentary free breakfast was excellent, eggs included along with croissants, bagels, cereal, etc. The dining room is gorgeous, large windows to gaze through, and plenty of seating, whether it be at a table or sitting on a couch. The room was a single, cozy yet functional, flat screen tv, but no hd, comfortable double bed and plenty of pillows. I even found a complimentary umbrella which came in handy. The only negative was I had to pay for local calls, didn't realize it until I got the bill, my cell phone provider didn't work in Canada. The room was very quiet, hardly any outside noise, the bathroom was clean and large, with a complimentary plush robe. The hotel is located near the main bus line, which I used frequently. In all it was probably the most unique hotel I've stayed in, cozy and personal, yet posh and somewhat luxurious.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Chateau Versailles

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Fat hubby
Business
Canada
Aug 18, 2014

The Chateau Versailles

location was great. on the Hop-on-hop-off bus tour route in a swanky part of town. staff were very helpful and non-judgmental. bed a bit small and soft for a man of my size. mini-bar was not working, although stuffed with things including soggy chocolates. food was good for breakfast. overall a very peaceful, clean and delightful experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Museum of Fine Art and Gray Line Bus Tour Route.

Review of Chateau Versailles

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Guy Lafleur
Business
Florida
Aug 14, 2014

Very pleasant location

One day we went up the hill to Mont Royal, then another down Sherbrook to the art museum, over by McGill campus. In that direction are some nice restaurants too. The metro stop at Guy Concordia is right there two blocks down the hill. The staff at the desk were very helpful; breakfast was plain, but we had a lot of other eating to do. It was easy to get a taxi out front. We were in for weekend wedding and it was a good place to visit in the city.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Metro is easy

Review of Chateau Versailles

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Laura Mars
Business
Charlotte
Aug 11, 2014

Excellent value boutique hotel

I've stayed twice at the Chateau Versailles. Excellent value and location. The pros: centrally located with easy access to the Metro, Mont Royal Park, and most districts in the city, even by foot; good breakfast included; friendly and knowledgeable staff; private, quiet, decent-sized rooms with air conditioning and private bath; clean; valet parking is extra but available. The cons: no elevator, plus lots of stairs to enter the building; this is a well-maintained boutique hotel, so the bedroom furnishings are a bit dated, and the mattress was not comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Le Taj (Indian Cuisine) is an easy walk from the hotel; so is M:Brgr.

Review of Chateau Versailles

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Clauss
Business
Orlando fl
Aug 9, 2014

No very good

Was Good Not ascensor I like But no repeat this hotel

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Chateau Versailles

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Andy Anaheim
Business
Anaheim, CA
Jul 24, 2014

trip to downtown Montreal

This was a good choice of a Hotel for me, very quaint and pretty quiet. The room was small but comfortable, the bed was not firm but not too uncomfortable. The room could have been a bit cleaner although the bathroom was very clean. I loved the location and the convenience of a very short walk to my room once I entered the building. Staff was polite and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Chateau Versailles

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Girl from Va
Business
Springfield,va
Jul 17, 2014

Weekend getaway with girl

It Place walking everywhere, very close to shopping and city.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top