$98 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 10, 2015 Check-out: Jan 13, 2015

Chateau Versailles

4 stars
1659 Sherbrooke St. West, Montreal, QC H3H 1E3
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
126 reviews
Nice One-Night Stay

Great hotel. We had a problem with the heating in our first room, but we had no trouble switching... See full review

  • Matt6495739
  • Dec 3, 2014
Very pleasant location

One day we went up the hill to Mont Royal, then another down Sherbrook to the art museum, over by... See full review

  • Guy Lafleur
  • Aug 14, 2014
Century Hotel with beautiful luxury guest rooms and suites in a historic setting
Situated along the Golden Mile of downtown Montreal, the Victorian style Chateau Versailles is steps from fine shopping, dining and attractions. This 100 year old historic, sculpture-laden property -- complete with fitness room, sauna and business center -- has spacious meeting and banquet facilities as well as guest rooms outfitted with original crown moldings and Matisse prints. Added perks include complimentary buffet breakfast, room service, and optional babysitting services. This four-story hotel does not have elevators.
Business
  • Banquet and meeting facilities for up to 20
  • Around-the-clock business center with computers, printer, fax machine and wireless Internet services
Highlights
  • Historic, art-adorned Victorian boutique property with high ceilings and ornate architectural details
  • Convenient, luxury location amid the Golden Mile of Montreal
  • Complimentary, elaborate continental breakfast
Rooms
All 65 luxurious guest rooms and suites at the Chateau Versailles are located on four floors and are adorned with numbered Matisse prints, rich colors, high ceilings and original crown molding. Rooms have one queen or one double bed with minibars, in-room safes, cable televisions with pay movies, clock radios and wireless Internet service (fees apply). Some rooms at the Chateau Versailles overlook Sherbrooke Street. Additional amenities include video consoles and bathrooms with hair-dryers and bathrobes.
Features
Adorned with art, including numbered Matisse prints in architecturally stunning guest rooms, the Victorian-style, boutique Chateau Versailles is conveniently located within the Golden Mile of Montreal. While the setting is historic, the property has a keen eye toward the comfort of its guests, with features that range from an on-site restaurant and fitness center with saunas for both men and women to banquet and meeting facilities and a complimentary buffet spread at breakfast. The hotel does not have elevator facilities.
Transportation

Montreal-Pierre Elliott Trudeau International Airport (8.1 mi/13.1 km)

Attractions
  • Le Hameau (0.1 mi/0.2 km)
  • Museum of Fine Arts (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • St. Deni Theatre (1.6 mi/2.7 km)
Policies and fees
  • Valet parking is available for $27.00 per day
  • The hotel serves afternoon tea to all guests

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Chateau Versailles also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Chateau Versailles Rooms

Queen Deluxe
Room with one queen bed varying in size and shape, custom furniture, top of the line bedding boasting fluffy pillows and blankets with a velvety feel, all of today's best comforts: hair-dryer, mini-bar, safety deposit box, in-house movies and AM/FM Alarm clock.
Double Deluxe
Room with one double bed are warm and cozy, some with views overlooking Sherbrooke Street. Rich fabrics and contrasting wall colors, all of today's best comforts: hair-dryer, mini-bar, safety deposit box, in-house movies and AM/FM Alarm clock.
King Fireplace
Accommodations with king bed, a comfortable working desk, a modern bathroom and, more uniquely, an exquisite electrical Fireplace with original molding. Many of these rooms boast a beautiful bay window overlooking elegant Sherbrooke Street, better known as the Golden Square Mile.

Amenities

  • WiFi
General
Concierge
Pet friendly
Activities
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
In-Room Safe
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi

Nearby points of interest

  • Montreal Museum of Fine Arts (Musee des Beaux-Arts): 0.3 mi
  • Crescent Street: 0.3 mi
  • Bell Centre: 0.6 mi
  • Montreal Canadiens Hall of Fame: 0.7 mi
  • Centre Bell: 0.7 mi
  • Cathedral of Marie-Reine-du-Monde: 0.7 mi
  • Mont (Mount) Royal: 0.8 mi
  • Underground City: 0.9 mi
  • St. Patrick's Basilica: 1.1 mi
  • Place des Arts: 1.2 mi
  • Lachine Canal (Canal du Lachine): 1.4 mi
  • Notre-Dame Basilica: 1.4 mi
  • Notre-Dame Basilica (Basilique Notre-Dame): 1.5 mi
  • Museum of Archaeology and History (Pointe-a-Calliere Museum): 1.5 mi
  • Quays of the Old Port of Montreal (Quais du Vieux-Port de Montreal): 1.5 mi
  • Montreal Museum of Fine Arts (Musee des Beaux-Arts): 0.3 mi
  • Crescent Street: 0.3 mi
  • Bell Centre: 0.6 mi
  • Montreal Canadiens Hall of Fame: 0.7 mi
  • Centre Bell: 0.7 mi
  • Cathedral of Marie-Reine-du-Monde: 0.7 mi
  • Mont (Mount) Royal: 0.8 mi
  • Underground City: 0.9 mi
  • St. Patrick's Basilica: 1.1 mi
  • Place des Arts: 1.2 mi
  • Lachine Canal (Canal du Lachine): 1.4 mi
  • Notre-Dame Basilica: 1.4 mi
  • Notre-Dame Basilica (Basilique Notre-Dame): 1.5 mi
  • Museum of Archaeology and History (Pointe-a-Calliere Museum): 1.5 mi
  • Quays of the Old Port of Montreal (Quais du Vieux-Port de Montreal): 1.5 mi
  • Rue St-Paul: 1.6 mi
  • Montreal Science Centre: 1.6 mi
  • Place Jacques-Cartier: 1.7 mi
  • St. Joseph's Oratory of Mount Royal: 1.7 mi
  • Old Montreal (Vieux-Montreal): 1.7 mi
  • Port of Montreal, Iberville Cruise Terminal: 1.9 mi
  • Rue Ste.-Catherine: 1.9 mi
  • Chateau Ramezay Museum: 2 mi
  • Notre-Dame-de-Bonsecours Chapel (Chapelle Notre-Dame-de-Bonsecours): 2.5 mi
  • Ile Sainte-Helene: 2.9 mi
  • Little Italy: 3 mi
  • Montreal Botanical Gardens (Jardin Botanique de Montreal): 4.5 mi
  • Biodome de Montreal: 4.7 mi
  • Montreal Insectarium: 4.9 mi

Dining

RIDI Bar Ristorante and Terrace
Life really is that simple at RIDI Bar Ristorante, located just across the street. Ridi is a celebration of life and what has been bringing people together for centuries...food. Great food.
Share Peppino`s passion for life`s greatest pleasures: The freshest food prepared in the time honoured traditions of Mediterranean cuisine, the intricate and complex flavours of the world`s finest wines and most importantly time spent with family and friends.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (126)

Ratings and reviews for Chateau Versailles

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
126 out of 126
Amenities:
3.7
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4.4
Value:
4

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Chateau Versailles

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
kimberly dawson
Business
Milwaukee WI
Oct 12, 2009

Second time around not as good

The first time we stayed at Chateau Versailles was in August of 2008. We enjoyed it immensely. Our second visit was during the first week of October (2009). When we checked in, the reception desk told us that our suite cases will be brought to our room. Fifteen minutes later, we went and fetched the site cases ourselves. The reception desk apologized and told us that the bellhop was helping other guests. Our room was clean and welcoming. Unfortunately, it was hot and stuffy. We lowered the thermostat to the lowest setting possible and without avail. A breakfast buffet was included in our package. Depending on who manned the dining room the tables, were the food was laid out, was setup differently. This caused confusion for us and other guests. For example the hot water pot for tea was a glass coffee pot sitting on a burner on one day. The next day, the hot water was inside a nondescript carafe. Also, on one day, a toaster was available for guest use. On the following day the toaster was gone. When we asked about it, we were given a curt answer of "no more toaster". In our opinion the dinning room should have a standard layout no matter which staff is on hand. Furthermore, one of the dining room staffers had a non-courteous attitude. The turndown service was inconsistent as well. On one night chocolates were left. On the other nights no chocolates were left. What irked us the most during our second stay was the lack of consistency of how staff members carried out their tasks. Non of the aforementioned issues occurred during our stay in 2008.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chateau Versailles

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
kismetkat
Business
columbus OH
Oct 11, 2009

Great staff

We originally had a very small room. The complimentary breakfast (which was nothing less than spectacular) room was near us and in the morning when people made toast, our fire alarm kept going off. When we talked to the staff about it, they moved us to another room which was much bigger. Since we were there for 9 days, it was much appreciated. They were very helpful with offering suggestions about restaurants or really anything we wanted to know. Sheets were super nice and plushy bathrobes, too! Merci beaucoup, ya'll!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

If you want to take in the whole city, get a one week Metro pass. It allows you unlimited access to the subway- we went all over the place!! The stop is just two blocks from the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chateau Versailles

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Urbane Outfitter
Business
Washington, DC
Oct 5, 2009

Comfortable Decadence

We found the reception to be top notch - very helpful, eager to accommodate, and professional. The room was quaint with an undoubted Montreal touch that suited the tone and style of the city: well decorated hallways, ample breakfast with cozy dining room, and turn down service at night that was was always rewarding to return to. The only downturn we experienced was the fire alarms going off twice in the morning apparently for an overheating toaster (which was not the hotel's fault!), but was still disrupting. The upside is that at least we know the fire alarms work! I would highly recommend Chateau Versailles for a romantic getaway that's truly affordable! We will definitely be returning.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There's a quaint chocalaterie just down the street that you need to call at least 30 minutes beforehand to reserve for high tea. It's run by very nice staff and everything is homemade - try Le Maitre!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chateau Versailles

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago, IL
Sep 21, 2009

Another Good Stay

Booked a Queen Room and asked for a King. No problem. I didn't like that it was in the back of the Hotel, but it was quiet and the room was good sized. Will go back...when in Montreal.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chateau Versailles

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
London UK
Sep 18, 2009

Disappointment

I cannot see how they claim to be a 4 stars hotel. They did not response any emails I sent re: airport transfer, room condition etc. Beware, booked via ebookers means u can only get rooms on the ground floor and it is not quiet. We had to change room as the shower didn't drain (with water up to your ankle) and upon complaint was told that was normal?! But we insisted on changing room and then the blow dryer didn't work. They may have nice room if u book direct at much higher price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chateau Versailles

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Pol and Jackie
Business
Hillsdale, MI
Sep 15, 2009

"Complements Montreal's Old World feel"

My wife and I stayed at the hotel for 3 nights, and enjoyed it well. The rooms are a bit smaller, but well furnished and clean. The service is exceptional. The hotel feels like a B&B- a nice complement to being in Montreal. My wife's only comment was that the walls are not very well insulated acoustically, so you can hear noises from the next room (and vice versa). And the lack of an elevator (which is commonly lacking in most buildings in Montreal!) can pose a problem for some people. Over-all, I will definitely recommend this hotel to friends.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chateau Versailles

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
NY,NY
Sep 11, 2009

NOT BAD

ONLY ONE NIGHT STAY SO IT WAS FINE, A LITTLE OVER PRICED FOR ME BUT I WANTED A NON CHAIN HOTEL. THEY COULD HAVE BEEN A LITTLE MORE HELPFUL WITH MAPS AND ATTRACTIONS SINCE WE TOLD THEM WE WOULD ONLY BE THERE FOR TWO DAYS.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chateau Versailles

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
muffin74
Business
NY
Sep 8, 2009

Cozy, clean and quiet!

Breakfast was great. Friendly stuff!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chateau Versailles

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
mthudak
Business
Pittsburgh, PA
Sep 7, 2009

beautiful old hotel

Overall, this was a lovely place to stay. There were extra charges for internet, and cars were valet parked only, with a charge and of course, a tip. There were numerous steps to enter, and then to get to our floor. I'm not sure if there was an elevator anywhere -- none was offered or suggested, and we never saw one. This may be an issue for individuals with mobility problems. The hotel and the room were both beautiful. The only downside was the bathroom! The door was very narrow, and although I'm not large, I bumped into one side or the other frequently when entering. More of an issue was the location of the toilet -- the front of which was only about 6 inches from the bathtub and wall opposite it. I found it easier to sit sideways when using it, rather than wiggle my legs into place. My husband, who is 6'3", had no other option but to sit sideways! :-) We mostly laughed about it. A lovely light breakfast is included with your room. Although they offered hard boiled eggs and a quiche of some sort, it was primarily a continental breakfast, so we chose to eat a heartier breakfast at a restaurant instead. For a business traveller in a hurry, or someone who usually eats lightly for breakfast, this would have been very good. The staff was EXCELLENT!!! ALL were extremely professional and friendly. We don't speak French, other than to say "Bonjour" and "Merci," and the staff were all bilingual, so they were able to interact with us and answer any questions we had. They couldn't have been more accommodating or pleasant. The location is great -- close to stores/restaurants and metro stations. We very much enjoyed our stay there, and will most likely stay there again next year.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Actually, short trip on the Metro -- the best way to get around. We found excellent restaurants in the Latin Quarter, and had a wonderful time roaming around Old Town Montreal -- great restaurants there, as well.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chateau Versailles

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago, IL
Sep 7, 2009

Weekend in Montreal

The hotel is in an excellent location, close to restaurants, shopping, and a convenience store. The daily breakfast is very convenient, it can get crowded on the weekend so go down before 9:30am.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

If you like live music and jazz, there are two clubs in walking distance of the hotel (5 - 12 min). Maison de Jazz and the Upstairs Jazz room.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top