Candlewood Suites MONTREAL DOWNTOWN CENTRE VILLE

3 stars
191 Rene Levesque Boulevard East, Montreal, QC H2X 3Z9
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
26 reviews
Gigantic, Gigantic, Gigantic, a big big suite

The suite was absolutley huge and very comfortable. Location was good. Walking distance to many fun... See full review

  • Gazza Strip
  • May 23, 2014
Good basic hotel

Nice, clean, spacious room. Nothing fancy, but a solid place to crash for the night. Full kitchen,... See full review

  • Manim
  • Nov 4, 2013
Candlewood Suites Extended Stay Hotel Montreal Downtown The Candlewood Suites Hotel is a member of the IHG family of brands, which includes InterContinental, Crowne Plaza, Hotel Indigo, Holiday Inn and Staybridge Suites. The Candlewood Suites Hotel Montreal offers apartment like suites to government, business, relocation , training & extended stay hotel guests requiring long or short term hotel or real estate accommodations. The Candlewood Suites Hotel Montreal is within walking distance to the Old Port of Montreal, Chinatown, Place des Arts, Contemporary Art Museum & St. Catherine Street Shopping. Walk to nearby businesses including Bell Canada – BCE, CGI, Bomardier, Hydro Quebec, Desjardins Financial, SNC Lavalin, Complex Guy Favreau, IBM, CBC, Alcoa, Alcan, ING, VIA Systems Standard Life, London Life Power Corporation & CHUM Hospital Project. Enjoy your evening dining on St. Laurent Street before retiring to your spacious suite. Our pet friendly hotel (fee) features studio, one-bedroom and two-bedroom apartment like suites featuring fully-equipped kitchens, spacious living and work areas, TV with DVD player, free high-speed wired Internet access, two phone lines with personalized voicemail. Other apartment like conveniences include 24-hour business center offering free Internet access, printing, faxing & copying capabilities, complimentary guest laundry facilities, fitness center, courtyard & lounge.

Amenities

General
Pet friendly
Activities
Children's activities
Golf
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Services
Business center
Maid service
Guest laundromat
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Shops/Commercial services
Car rental desk
Porters
FAX
Currency exchange
White board
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
DVD player
Phone with speaker
Kitchen
Desk with lamp
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Cribs available
Temperature control
Ironing board
Bath tub

Hotel Map

45.5102 -73.5605
Nearby airports
Pierre Elliott Trudeau Airport, (YUL), 21.00, KM, E;
Area description
Downtown, downtown

Nearby points of interest

  • Place des Arts: 0.3 mi
  • Old Montreal (Vieux-Montreal): 0.3 mi
  • Place Jacques-Cartier: 0.4 mi
  • Notre-Dame Basilica (Basilique Notre-Dame): 0.4 mi
  • Notre-Dame Basilica: 0.4 mi
  • Rue St-Paul: 0.5 mi
  • St. Patrick's Basilica: 0.5 mi
  • Rue Ste.-Catherine: 0.5 mi
  • Montreal Science Centre: 0.6 mi
  • Chateau Ramezay Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Museum of Archaeology and History (Pointe-a-Calliere Museum): 0.6 mi
  • Quays of the Old Port of Montreal (Quais du Vieux-Port de Montreal): 0.7 mi
  • Underground City: 0.7 mi
  • Cathedral of Marie-Reine-du-Monde: 0.8 mi
  • Lachine Canal (Canal du Lachine): 1 mi
  • Place des Arts: 0.3 mi
  • Old Montreal (Vieux-Montreal): 0.3 mi
  • Place Jacques-Cartier: 0.4 mi
  • Notre-Dame Basilica (Basilique Notre-Dame): 0.4 mi
  • Notre-Dame Basilica: 0.4 mi
  • Rue St-Paul: 0.5 mi
  • St. Patrick's Basilica: 0.5 mi
  • Rue Ste.-Catherine: 0.5 mi
  • Montreal Science Centre: 0.6 mi
  • Chateau Ramezay Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Museum of Archaeology and History (Pointe-a-Calliere Museum): 0.6 mi
  • Quays of the Old Port of Montreal (Quais du Vieux-Port de Montreal): 0.7 mi
  • Underground City: 0.7 mi
  • Cathedral of Marie-Reine-du-Monde: 0.8 mi
  • Lachine Canal (Canal du Lachine): 1 mi
  • Centre Bell: 1 mi
  • Montreal Canadiens Hall of Fame: 1 mi
  • Bell Centre: 1 mi
  • Notre-Dame-de-Bonsecours Chapel (Chapelle Notre-Dame-de-Bonsecours): 1.1 mi
  • Crescent Street: 1.2 mi
  • Montreal Museum of Fine Arts (Musee des Beaux-Arts): 1.2 mi
  • Mont (Mount) Royal: 1.4 mi
  • Ile Sainte-Helene: 1.4 mi
  • Port of Montreal, Iberville Cruise Terminal: 1.6 mi
  • St. Joseph's Oratory of Mount Royal: 3 mi
  • Little Italy: 3 mi
  • Montreal Botanical Gardens (Jardin Botanique de Montreal): 3.3 mi
  • Biodome de Montreal: 3.5 mi
  • Montreal Insectarium: 3.7 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (26)

Ratings and reviews for Candlewood Suites MONTREAL DOWNTOWN CENTRE VILLE

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
26 out of 26
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.5
Value:
4

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Candlewood Suites MONTREAL DOWNTOWN CENTRE VILLE

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Fort Myers, FL
Jul 2, 2009

LOUD

The hotel allowed graduating high school students to rent room for their graduation parties. On our floor we had at least 2 rooms full of drunken teenagers. As you can imagine they were rowdy, drunk, and without regard for the other guests. I called the front desk and was told that security would be sent immediately. Security was useless and could do nothing to control the students. The students would move the party from one room to another. The students had multiple rooms in multiple floors. What they should have done should have been to ask them to leave the premises but they did not. The parties continued past 3:00 A.M. The next morning when I spoke with management I was told that they were extremely sorry and that they had lost control of the situation the night before. I was told that the problem had been resolved since most of the students only had the room for one night. That night another party began around midnight and once again I had to call security. For our troubles the hotel refunded 50% of one night's stay. I will never return to this hotel and would not recommend it to an enemy!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of Candlewood Suites MONTREAL DOWNTOWN CENTRE VILLE

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
New York City
Jul 29, 2009

Good location, OK place

The location of this hotel was perfect - very near the old Montreal with the tourist attractions, close to the Metro, and near the Village with its restaurants and nightlife. The room was small, however, but clean and well-maintained. We were there for 4 nights, though, and 4 washing machines (half of them) were broken the whole time we were there. Also one of the two internet computers was down the whole time we were there, and the one that was working had a bad keyboard and a very slow connection. Needless to say it was difficult to do laundry, get on the internet, and the gym was sometimes used by kids as a playroom which made that space unusable as well. The staff was very friendly and helpful but not very knowledgeable about the area or even of the hotel itself. We've stayed in suites many times before, and I would seriously consider not staying in a Candlewood Suites again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Candlewood Suites MONTREAL DOWNTOWN CENTRE VILLE

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
falam
Toronto
Oct 22, 2012

hotel with lots of promises

I was at this hotel with my wife, a bland experience compared to our stay at staybridge. Staff weren't aware of the hotel policy such as check out time. Housekeeping was scheduled once in a week, which I don't get at all. I'm there to enjoy the vacation not to clean up. I'm sorry but yes I'm that lazy. Kitchen was nicely equipped. That was the only plus. My wife had the reward points with them, but she didn't had the card with her and they were reluctant enough not to search it in their system. This hotel's management and staff both need training. Unless if they think this the standard for hospitality. Not worthy to come back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Underground city.

Review of Candlewood Suites MONTREAL DOWNTOWN CENTRE VILLE

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Ten sun
Montreal
May 21, 2014

Montreal

Good for its price. Lot of clubs and bars around and Chinatown right next door

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Candlewood Suites MONTREAL DOWNTOWN CENTRE VILLE

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Likes to laugh
cleveland, Ohio
Jul 31, 2009

just for laughs -great location

Very friendly staff, eager to help. Clean rooms, but because it is an extended stay room service only once a week.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Candlewood Suites MONTREAL DOWNTOWN CENTRE VILLE

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
St. Catharines, ON
Oct 2, 2010

An affordable place close to Old Montrea

Front dessk staff were very friendly and helpful. The hotel location was a short walk from Old Montreal which is where we wanted to spend time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The hotel is beside Chinatown and we did visit a fabulous Chinese restaurant which served excellent food.

Review of Candlewood Suites MONTREAL DOWNTOWN CENTRE VILLE

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Bronx, NY
Jun 11, 2009

candlewood montreal

Great location. 2-3 blocks from Chinatown, walking distance to Old Montreal, Latin Quarter, and the Shopping District. Also close to public transportation. Friendly staff. The bed wasn't the most comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Candlewood Suites MONTREAL DOWNTOWN CENTRE VILLE

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Boston, MA
Jun 27, 2011

central location

Hotel room was clean but the shower didn't drain and we couldn't control the air conditioning so it was colder than we wanted. You really want this hotel for the price and location, everything else is pretty average.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

right around the corner are plenty of bars and restaurants

Review of Candlewood Suites MONTREAL DOWNTOWN CENTRE VILLE

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
nyc, NY, USA
Oct 26, 2010

Downtown location

Loved the kitchen for cooking at home. Had a great corner room with best city views. Staff was quite helpful at all times. Little things were lacking attention such as loose shower head, loose bath faucet handle, garbage disposer inadequate,bed a bit sagging. Easy access to subway and supermarket, then on to the main tourist destinations.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Eat breakfast and dinner in your room, saving $$$ for the daytime activities.

Review of Candlewood Suites MONTREAL DOWNTOWN CENTRE VILLE

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
idmgirl
San Francisco, CA
Sep 15, 2009

Like a furnished apartment for your stay

I'm very glad I chose to stay at the Candlewood Suites for my latest trip to Montréal for a music festival. The location is extremely convenient to the venues located on the south part of St-Laurent near Chinatown. I reserved a 1BR suite which had a separate bedroom and living room. It was more than enough room for myself -- I could have had 2 or 3 friends stay with me (maybe next year!). There is a fold out double bed couch in the living room and TVs in both the bedroom and living room. My only complaint is that the internet connection provided is basically unusable and there was no wi-fi network. There is no restaurant on-site but a short walk will get you to Chinatown or, if in a pinch, the food court at Complexe Desjardins. There is also an IGA at the Complexe Desjardins which is great because you have a complete kitchenette in your suite. I didn't mind that the maid service is only weekly (I stayed for 10 days) since clean towels were always available at reception. The staff were always friendly. I will stay here again on my next trip to Montréal.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Back to menu Return to top