$84 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Oct 30, 2014 Check-out: Oct 31, 2014

Candlewood Suites MONTREAL DOWNTOWN CENTRE VILLE

3 stars
191 Rene Levesque Boulevard East, Montreal, QC H2X 3Z9
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
26 reviews
Gigantic, Gigantic, Gigantic, a big big suite

The suite was absolutley huge and very comfortable. Location was good. Walking distance to many fun... See full review

  • Gazza Strip
  • May 23, 2014
Good basic hotel

Nice, clean, spacious room. Nothing fancy, but a solid place to crash for the night. Full kitchen,... See full review

  • Manim
  • Nov 4, 2013
Candlewood Suites Extended Stay Hotel Montreal Downtown The Candlewood Suites Hotel is a member of the IHG family of brands, which includes InterContinental, Crowne Plaza, Hotel Indigo, Holiday Inn and Staybridge Suites. The Candlewood Suites Hotel Montreal offers apartment like suites to government, business, relocation , training & extended stay hotel guests requiring long or short term hotel or real estate accommodations. The Candlewood Suites Hotel Montreal is within walking distance to the Old Port of Montreal, Chinatown, Place des Arts, Contemporary Art Museum & St. Catherine Street Shopping. Walk to nearby businesses including Bell Canada – BCE, CGI, Bomardier, Hydro Quebec, Desjardins Financial, SNC Lavalin, Complex Guy Favreau, IBM, CBC, Alcoa, Alcan, ING, VIA Systems Standard Life, London Life Power Corporation & CHUM Hospital Project. Enjoy your evening dining on St. Laurent Street before retiring to your spacious suite. Our pet friendly hotel (fee) features studio, one-bedroom and two-bedroom apartment like suites featuring fully-equipped kitchens, spacious living and work areas, TV with DVD player, free high-speed wired Internet access, two phone lines with personalized voicemail. Other apartment like conveniences include 24-hour business center offering free Internet access, printing, faxing & copying capabilities, complimentary guest laundry facilities, fitness center, courtyard & lounge.

Hotel Map

45.5102 -73.5605
Nearby airports
Pierre Elliott Trudeau Airport, (YUL), 21.00, KM;
Area description
Downtown, downtown

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Candlewood Suites MONTREAL DOWNTOWN CENTRE VILLE also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Amenities

General
Pet friendly
Activities
Children's activities
Golf
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Services
Business center
Maid service
Guest laundromat
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Shops/Commercial services
Car rental desk
Porters
FAX
Currency exchange
White board
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
DVD player
Phone with speaker
Kitchen
Desk with lamp
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Cribs available
Temperature control
Ironing board
Bath tub

Nearby points of interest

  • Place des Arts: 0.3 mi
  • Old Montreal (Vieux-Montreal): 0.3 mi
  • Place Jacques-Cartier: 0.4 mi
  • Notre-Dame Basilica (Basilique Notre-Dame): 0.4 mi
  • Notre-Dame Basilica: 0.4 mi
  • Rue St-Paul: 0.5 mi
  • St. Patrick's Basilica: 0.5 mi
  • Rue Ste.-Catherine: 0.5 mi
  • Montreal Science Centre: 0.6 mi
  • Chateau Ramezay Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Museum of Archaeology and History (Pointe-a-Calliere Museum): 0.6 mi
  • Quays of the Old Port of Montreal (Quais du Vieux-Port de Montreal): 0.7 mi
  • Underground City: 0.7 mi
  • Cathedral of Marie-Reine-du-Monde: 0.8 mi
  • Lachine Canal (Canal du Lachine): 1 mi
  • Place des Arts: 0.3 mi
  • Old Montreal (Vieux-Montreal): 0.3 mi
  • Place Jacques-Cartier: 0.4 mi
  • Notre-Dame Basilica (Basilique Notre-Dame): 0.4 mi
  • Notre-Dame Basilica: 0.4 mi
  • Rue St-Paul: 0.5 mi
  • St. Patrick's Basilica: 0.5 mi
  • Rue Ste.-Catherine: 0.5 mi
  • Montreal Science Centre: 0.6 mi
  • Chateau Ramezay Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Museum of Archaeology and History (Pointe-a-Calliere Museum): 0.6 mi
  • Quays of the Old Port of Montreal (Quais du Vieux-Port de Montreal): 0.7 mi
  • Underground City: 0.7 mi
  • Cathedral of Marie-Reine-du-Monde: 0.8 mi
  • Lachine Canal (Canal du Lachine): 1 mi
  • Centre Bell: 1 mi
  • Montreal Canadiens Hall of Fame: 1 mi
  • Bell Centre: 1 mi
  • Notre-Dame-de-Bonsecours Chapel (Chapelle Notre-Dame-de-Bonsecours): 1.1 mi
  • Crescent Street: 1.2 mi
  • Montreal Museum of Fine Arts (Musee des Beaux-Arts): 1.2 mi
  • Mont (Mount) Royal: 1.4 mi
  • Ile Sainte-Helene: 1.4 mi
  • Port of Montreal, Iberville Cruise Terminal: 1.6 mi
  • St. Joseph's Oratory of Mount Royal: 3 mi
  • Little Italy: 3 mi
  • Montreal Botanical Gardens (Jardin Botanique de Montreal): 3.3 mi
  • Biodome de Montreal: 3.5 mi
  • Montreal Insectarium: 3.7 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (26)

Ratings and reviews for Candlewood Suites MONTREAL DOWNTOWN CENTRE VILLE

Overall score

3 / 5
5.01.0
9 out of 26
Amenities:
3.3
Room cleanliness:
3.4
Hotel staff:
3.3
Room comfort:
3.3
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.3

67% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Candlewood Suites MONTREAL DOWNTOWN CENTRE VILLE

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Gazza Strip
Business
Fredericton New Brunswick
May 23, 2014

Gigantic, Gigantic, Gigantic, a big big suite

The suite was absolutley huge and very comfortable. Location was good. Walking distance to many fun spots in downtown area. We came for a Canadiens game. It is a short cab ride or a bit of a walk to get to Bell Centre. The hotel is a bit tired but suited our needs. The hallway was noisy but once in our room, we didn't hear any of our neighbors. Parking was a bit of a pain as front staff didn't really know the rules for side streets. Ended up with a $55 parking ticket as the hotel's lot was full. Other than that, the staff were friendly. Would come back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Eggspectations for breakfast or Mai Xiang Yuan dumpling house in Chinatown. Both were great.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Candlewood Suites MONTREAL DOWNTOWN CENTRE VILLE

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
falam
Business
Toronto
Oct 22, 2012

hotel with lots of promises

I was at this hotel with my wife, a bland experience compared to our stay at staybridge. Staff weren't aware of the hotel policy such as check out time. Housekeeping was scheduled once in a week, which I don't get at all. I'm there to enjoy the vacation not to clean up. I'm sorry but yes I'm that lazy. Kitchen was nicely equipped. That was the only plus. My wife had the reward points with them, but she didn't had the card with her and they were reluctant enough not to search it in their system. This hotel's management and staff both need training. Unless if they think this the standard for hospitality. Not worthy to come back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Underground city.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Candlewood Suites MONTREAL DOWNTOWN CENTRE VILLE

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Jacksonville, FL
Aug 2, 2011

Great Location and Amenities

My husband and I stayed here for a week while on our honeymoon this past July. This hotel is great for a number of reasons. We loved the location, value, and that we felt more like we were staying in an apartment than a hotel. There was no upcharge to go from something more like a studio to a one bedroom style. We were surprised to find that the kitchen included everything that we would need (right down to the dish soap) to live like we normally would while at home. All of these homey touches helped us to feel more relaxed than we normally would while on vacation. We were able to walk to almost everywhere we wanted to go to. The metro is great though so we took that to go to destinations like Mount Royal, Olympic Stadium, and the Biosphere. If you plan to make some of your meals while on vacation like we did you may love the local IGA grocery store. We wish grocery stores in the US could be more like this one. Anyhow, it's a great hotel. I gave this hotel 4 stars instead of five because I see a 5 star hotel as a fancy hotel. This hotel is not fancy. It's very nice, comfortable, and clean… but it's no Bellagio.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Candlewood Suites MONTREAL DOWNTOWN CENTRE VILLE

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boston, MA
Jun 27, 2011

central location

Hotel room was clean but the shower didn't drain and we couldn't control the air conditioning so it was colder than we wanted. You really want this hotel for the price and location, everything else is pretty average.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

right around the corner are plenty of bars and restaurants

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Candlewood Suites MONTREAL DOWNTOWN CENTRE VILLE

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
St. Catharines, ON
Oct 2, 2010

An affordable place close to Old Montrea

Front dessk staff were very friendly and helpful. The hotel location was a short walk from Old Montreal which is where we wanted to spend time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The hotel is beside Chinatown and we did visit a fabulous Chinese restaurant which served excellent food.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Candlewood Suites MONTREAL DOWNTOWN CENTRE VILLE

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York City
Jul 29, 2009

Good location, OK place

The location of this hotel was perfect - very near the old Montreal with the tourist attractions, close to the Metro, and near the Village with its restaurants and nightlife. The room was small, however, but clean and well-maintained. We were there for 4 nights, though, and 4 washing machines (half of them) were broken the whole time we were there. Also one of the two internet computers was down the whole time we were there, and the one that was working had a bad keyboard and a very slow connection. Needless to say it was difficult to do laundry, get on the internet, and the gym was sometimes used by kids as a playroom which made that space unusable as well. The staff was very friendly and helpful but not very knowledgeable about the area or even of the hotel itself. We've stayed in suites many times before, and I would seriously consider not staying in a Candlewood Suites again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Candlewood Suites MONTREAL DOWNTOWN CENTRE VILLE

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Fort Myers, FL
Jul 2, 2009

LOUD

The hotel allowed graduating high school students to rent room for their graduation parties. On our floor we had at least 2 rooms full of drunken teenagers. As you can imagine they were rowdy, drunk, and without regard for the other guests. I called the front desk and was told that security would be sent immediately. Security was useless and could do nothing to control the students. The students would move the party from one room to another. The students had multiple rooms in multiple floors. What they should have done should have been to ask them to leave the premises but they did not. The parties continued past 3:00 A.M. The next morning when I spoke with management I was told that they were extremely sorry and that they had lost control of the situation the night before. I was told that the problem had been resolved since most of the students only had the room for one night. That night another party began around midnight and once again I had to call security. For our troubles the hotel refunded 50% of one night's stay. I will never return to this hotel and would not recommend it to an enemy!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Candlewood Suites MONTREAL DOWNTOWN CENTRE VILLE

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Bronx, NY
Jun 11, 2009

candlewood montreal

Great location. 2-3 blocks from Chinatown, walking distance to Old Montreal, Latin Quarter, and the Shopping District. Also close to public transportation. Friendly staff. The bed wasn't the most comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Candlewood Suites MONTREAL DOWNTOWN CENTRE VILLE

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Sep 14, 2008

Clean and Friendly; Great Location

Nice and clean, bright and cheery. Staff were friendly and helpful. Great tourist location for walking to St. Catherine Street, China Town, and Old Montreal. Our only complaint was that the matress was not comfortable; too soft and made our backs hurt.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top