$102 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Apr 18, 2015 Check-out: Apr 20, 2015

Candlewood Suites MONTREAL DOWNTOWN CENTRE VILLE

3 stars
View map of 191 Rene Levesque Boulevard East, Montreal, QC H2X 3Z9

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Candlewood Suites MONTREAL DOWNTOWN CENTRE VILLE

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
27 out of 27
Amenities:
3.7
Cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.9

85% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Candlewood Suites MONTREAL DOWNTOWN CENTRE VILLE

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Travelleron Biz
Business
Toronto
Nov 23, 2012

Montreal Review

This hotel is acceptable noisy guests and an issue with the room key. Jennifer was exceptional in her help

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Candlewood Suites MONTREAL DOWNTOWN CENTRE VILLE

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
nyc, NY, USA
Oct 26, 2010

Downtown location

Loved the kitchen for cooking at home. Had a great corner room with best city views. Staff was quite helpful at all times. Little things were lacking attention such as loose shower head, loose bath faucet handle, garbage disposer inadequate,bed a bit sagging. Easy access to subway and supermarket, then on to the main tourist destinations.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Eat breakfast and dinner in your room, saving $$$ for the daytime activities.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Candlewood Suites MONTREAL DOWNTOWN CENTRE VILLE

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
cornwall, On
Oct 7, 2010

stay at candlewood suites

It was awesome especially when we got our room upgraded

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Candlewood Suites MONTREAL DOWNTOWN CENTRE VILLE

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
St. Catharines, ON
Oct 2, 2010

An affordable place close to Old Montrea

Front dessk staff were very friendly and helpful. The hotel location was a short walk from Old Montreal which is where we wanted to spend time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The hotel is beside Chinatown and we did visit a fabulous Chinese restaurant which served excellent food.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Candlewood Suites MONTREAL DOWNTOWN CENTRE VILLE

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Donjx
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Jun 5, 2010

Nice, moderate hotel

This is a suite hotel and the rooms are spacious and clean -- my TV was missing channels but I didn't bother to get it fixed. There is a fridge, stove, microwave, etc. There are a variety of restaurants within walking distance and Old Montreal is a 15-min walk away. Nicest surprise is that the Airport 747 bus took me to within a block of the hotel for $7 Canadian.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Pappillon -- try the Moules

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Candlewood Suites MONTREAL DOWNTOWN CENTRE VILLE

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
M-Michelle
Business
Stamford, CT
Mar 23, 2010

Great hotel

Everything is great about this hotel. Except, parking are expensive and the internet access need an upgrade. Wireless will be a lot better; instead of plugging the blue wire in my laptop. Other, than that nothing else beat this hotel for its price and the location. Specially, having a full kitchen, stove and a fridge. It is really feel like being home.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Candlewood Suites MONTREAL DOWNTOWN CENTRE VILLE

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
idmgirl
Business
San Francisco, CA
Sep 15, 2009

Like a furnished apartment for your stay

I'm very glad I chose to stay at the Candlewood Suites for my latest trip to Montréal for a music festival. The location is extremely convenient to the venues located on the south part of St-Laurent near Chinatown. I reserved a 1BR suite which had a separate bedroom and living room. It was more than enough room for myself -- I could have had 2 or 3 friends stay with me (maybe next year!). There is a fold out double bed couch in the living room and TVs in both the bedroom and living room. My only complaint is that the internet connection provided is basically unusable and there was no wi-fi network. There is no restaurant on-site but a short walk will get you to Chinatown or, if in a pinch, the food court at Complexe Desjardins. There is also an IGA at the Complexe Desjardins which is great because you have a complete kitchenette in your suite. I didn't mind that the maid service is only weekly (I stayed for 10 days) since clean towels were always available at reception. The staff were always friendly. I will stay here again on my next trip to Montréal.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Candlewood Suites MONTREAL DOWNTOWN CENTRE VILLE

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Aries World Traveler
Business
Brooklyn, NY
Aug 7, 2009

The Best Of Both Worlds

Usually i look for apartment rentals while I'm away from home. It cuts down on having to eat out all the time and usually there is a washer and dryer setup to do laundry yourself. The Candlewood Suits gives your the best of both worlds. Apartment living within a hotel atmosphere. The staff was friendly and knowledgeable. The gym was clean at all times and the free laundry service (excluding the soap and softener) was great. The Candlewood Suites is a best bet while staying in Montreal.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

When you arrive take a trip over to IGA market and stock up on some of the best meat and fish i've seen for a reasonable.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Candlewood Suites MONTREAL DOWNTOWN CENTRE VILLE

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Vineland Visitor
Business
Vineland, NJ
Aug 6, 2009

Old Montreal is Beautiful

Hotel is located just outside of Old Montreal near the China town area of the city. Valet parking is actually next door at the Holiday Inn Express but is extremely easy. The Hotel offers a complimentary laundry room, with 12 washers and dryers - perfect for a family of 4 running low on clean clothes, Everything is within walking distance.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Candlewood Suites MONTREAL DOWNTOWN CENTRE VILLE

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Likes to laugh
Business
cleveland, Ohio
Jul 31, 2009

just for laughs -great location

Very friendly staff, eager to help. Clean rooms, but because it is an extended stay room service only once a week.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Candlewood Suites MONTREAL DOWNTOWN CENTRE VILLE

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York City
Jul 29, 2009

Good location, OK place

The location of this hotel was perfect - very near the old Montreal with the tourist attractions, close to the Metro, and near the Village with its restaurants and nightlife. The room was small, however, but clean and well-maintained. We were there for 4 nights, though, and 4 washing machines (half of them) were broken the whole time we were there. Also one of the two internet computers was down the whole time we were there, and the one that was working had a bad keyboard and a very slow connection. Needless to say it was difficult to do laundry, get on the internet, and the gym was sometimes used by kids as a playroom which made that space unusable as well. The staff was very friendly and helpful but not very knowledgeable about the area or even of the hotel itself. We've stayed in suites many times before, and I would seriously consider not staying in a Candlewood Suites again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top