$275 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 19, 2014 Check-out: Aug 20, 2014

The Great George

3 stars
58 Great George Street, Charlottetown, PE C1A 4K3
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.8
out of 5
6 reviews
The Greatest George

This is one of the best places to stay. I am only hesitant to sing the praises any further as I... See full review

  • k white
  • Oct 18, 2013
Perfect spot for a Chralottetown visit

The lobby in this fine hotel has a warm and comfortable European feel to it. Some of the staff are... See full review

  • Troy Green
  • Feb 1, 2014
The Great George is Charlottetown's award-winning historic boutique hotel, located in the heart of downtown. Stay with us, stroll and enjoy shopping, dining, theatre, Victoria Row, Sydney Street and the beautiful Charlottetown waterfront, all of which are just a few steps away. The Great George has 60 individually appointed guestrooms, efficiency suites, and deluxe rooms featuring fireplace, Jacuzzi or claw-foot tub. The hotel is the result of over 10 years of restoration. Island antiques and artwork showcased by rich interiors create an atmosphere unlike any traditional hotel. A National Award Winner for Tourism Excellence as presented by the Canadian Tourism Human Resource Canada and the Globe and Mail, The Great George will ensure your guests are treated to a memorable experience. Whether you are in Charlottetown for business or pleasure, The Great George has the variety and the expertise to provide you with an experience not to be forgotten. Our professional reservation and sales associates are ready to assist you.

Hotel Map

46.2339 -63.1245
Nearby airports
(YYG), 9.00, KM;
Area description
Downtown

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Great George also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.5 out of 5

The Great George Rooms

Deluxe Room
DLX w/king-fireplace-double jacuzzi- free parking and breakfast
Traditional 2 Doubles
Traditional Guest Room with 2 Double Size Beds Free Breakfast and Parking-High Speed Internet
Traditional Queen
Traditional Guest Room with 1 queen bed Free Breakfast and Parking-High Speed Internet
Pavillion King Room
Traditional room with King Bed

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Activities
Fitness Center
Jacuzzi
Dining
Continental breakfast
Coffee shop
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Laundry service
Guest laundromat
Concierge desk
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
FAX
Conference facilities
Copy service
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Television with cable
Desk with lamp
Fire place

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
02:30 PM
Check-out:
10:30 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (6)

Ratings and reviews for The Great George

Overall score

4.8 / 5
5.01.0
6 out of 6
Amenities:
4.5
Room cleanliness:
4.8
Hotel staff:
4.8
Room comfort:
4.8
Location:
5
Value:
4.8

100% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Great George

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
nighthawk779
Kansas City
Aug 6, 2011

rIt deserves the title

We stayed two nights one at begining of trip and one at the end. The room was open and large we were able to bring in three large suit cases and still had room. The view of the church across the street was great. The hotel staff brought chocolate and ice around in the evening. The breakfast with cinnamon rolls , fruit and other food was great. Staff was pleasant helpful and knowledgeable about the area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Go on the tours given by young people in period clothes. It was very informative and the right length

Review of The Great George

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Atlanta, Georgia
Aug 1, 2010

Phenomenal! Stay here!

If you want to feel like you live in Charlottetown, stay here. I have nothing to bad to say. The staff is so helpful! I have a friend who stayed at another famous hotel and did not like it. Stay here!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Victoria Row has live music!

Review of The Great George

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
nighthawk779
Kansas City
Aug 6, 2011

rIt deserves the title

We stayed two nights one at begining of trip and one at the end. The room was open and large we were able to bring in three large suit cases and still had room. The view of the church across the street was great. The hotel staff brought chocolate and ice around in the evening. The breakfast with cinnamon rolls , fruit and other food was great. Staff was pleasant helpful and knowledgeable about the area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Go on the tours given by young people in period clothes. It was very informative and the right length

Review of The Great George

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
k white
williamsburg, va
Oct 18, 2013

The Greatest George

This is one of the best places to stay. I am only hesitant to sing the praises any further as I would like to keep this place my little secret. The entire staff were fantastic. It is very obvious the proprietor know their business and knows it well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There are many great places to eat, including a great brew pub and an Irish pub.

Review of The Great George

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Atlanta, Georgia
Aug 1, 2010

Phenomenal! Stay here!

If you want to feel like you live in Charlottetown, stay here. I have nothing to bad to say. The staff is so helpful! I have a friend who stayed at another famous hotel and did not like it. Stay here!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Victoria Row has live music!

Review of The Great George

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Troy Green
Skaneateles, NY
Feb 1, 2014

Perfect spot for a Chralottetown visit

The lobby in this fine hotel has a warm and comfortable European feel to it. Some of the staff are extremely helpful and everyone was very friendly. When we needed a rental car for the day, they set it up without a hitch and Also got us a great deal. Their recommendations for restaurants and pubs were also on the mark. Best thing about this hotel may have been the sheets which were soft as butter and the cleanliness of the room and the hotel in general. We loved it here and will go back again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Go see the beach at Brayton point. Absolutely beautiful

Back to menu Return to top