$209 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 31, 2015 Check-out: Jun 1, 2015

Thompson Toronto

4 stars
View map of 550 Wellington Street W, Toronto, ON M5V2V4

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.5
out of 5
23 reviews
Best hotel in Toronto

Best place to stay in Toronto. Will return again in the future See full review

  • Lord Alan
  • Mar 2, 2015
Great night in the city

The location if the hotels was prime for me, and love the fact thatchers was a 24hour diner attached! See full review

  • melissa m.
  • Feb 25, 2015
Thompson Toronto Thompsons first international addition opened in 2010 in the diverse and artistically driven King West Village a neighborhood adjacent to the citys financial and entertainment districts. Designed by Studio Gaia 102 ultra sleek guestrooms feature hardwood flooring contrasting accents in lush orange and cool white and floor to ceiling windows with sweeping views of Torontos cityscape. The three dining facilities at this King West Village hotel cater to all tastes offering comfort food at Thompson Diner a modern incarnation of the quintessential 24 hour American diner upscale Italian cuisine at Scarpetta by renowned chef Scott Conant and Japanese fusion at Wabora Sushi. Other amenities at this sleek boutique hotel in Toronto include a state of the art screen room 1812 Lounge a yoga studio and Torontos first and only rooftop pool bar and lounge.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Thompson Toronto also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Thompson Toronto Rooms

King Superior
King Superior-425SQFT-King Bed-Floor to Ceiling Windows-Marble bath w heated floors-rainshower
Penthouse Suite
PenthouseSte-2000SQFT-Toronto Skyline Vws-lvng room w. Billiard table Dining Rm Full Kitchen
Thompson Suite
ThompsonSte-1150SQFT-Broad City Views-Living Rm Kitchenette-Dining Rm-Marble Bath heated floors
King Deluxe
King Dlx-518SQFT-King Bed-City Vws-Flr2Ceiling Windows marble bath- Rain Shwr - heated floors
Deluxe Two Doubles
Dlx Dbl-420SQFT-2Dbl Beds-Flr2Ceiling Windows Rain Shwr Marble Bath heated floors
King Suite
King Ste-549SQFT-King Bed-Flr2Ceiling Windows Marble bath-Rain Shower-Soaking tub-heated flrs
Executive Suite
ExecutiveSte-890SQFT-King Bed-Flr2Ceiling Wndws Broad City Vw-Marble bath-Rain Shwr-heated flrs

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Heated pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Elevators
24 hour security
Activities
Heated pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Jacuzzi
Sauna
Night club
Jogging track
Tennis
Play ground
Boating
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Continental breakfast
Restaurant
Coffee shop
24 hour room service
Room service
Family plan
Services
24 hour front desk
Maid service
Childcare Service
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber shop
Porters
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Copy service
Currency exchange
Audio visual equipment
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Indoor parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Accessible parking
Room
Safe
Mini bar
Electronic door locks
International direct dial
Sprinklers in rooms

Nearby points of interest

  • Fort York: 0.3 mi
  • Toronto Music Garden: 0.5 mi
  • Rogers Centre: 0.6 mi
  • Princess of Wales Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • CN Tower: 0.7 mi
  • Massey Hall: 0.8 mi
  • Toronto Symphony Orchestra: 0.8 mi
  • The AGO, Art gallery of Ontario: 0.9 mi
  • Four Seasons Centre for the Performing Arts: 0.9 mi
  • Centre Island: 1 mi
  • Harbourfront Centre: 1 mi
  • Air Canada Centre: 1.1 mi
  • Maple Leaf Square: 1.1 mi
  • Hockey Hall of Fame: 1.2 mi
  • Eaton Centre: 1.3 mi
  • Fort York: 0.3 mi
  • Toronto Music Garden: 0.5 mi
  • Rogers Centre: 0.6 mi
  • Princess of Wales Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • CN Tower: 0.7 mi
  • Massey Hall: 0.8 mi
  • Toronto Symphony Orchestra: 0.8 mi
  • The AGO, Art gallery of Ontario: 0.9 mi
  • Four Seasons Centre for the Performing Arts: 0.9 mi
  • Centre Island: 1 mi
  • Harbourfront Centre: 1 mi
  • Air Canada Centre: 1.1 mi
  • Maple Leaf Square: 1.1 mi
  • Hockey Hall of Fame: 1.2 mi
  • Eaton Centre: 1.3 mi
  • The Elgin and Winter Garden Theatre Centre: 1.3 mi
  • Pantages Theatre: 1.4 mi
  • Mackenzie House: 1.4 mi
  • University of Toronto: 1.4 mi
  • National Ballet of Canada: 1.5 mi
  • St Lawrence Market: 1.6 mi
  • Bata Shoe Museum: 1.7 mi
  • Royal Conservatory of Music: 1.7 mi
  • Royal Ontario Museum: 1.8 mi
  • Toronto Island Park: 1.8 mi
  • Allan Gardens Conservatory: 1.9 mi
  • Yorkville: 2 mi
  • Toronto Public Library: 2.1 mi
  • Distillery District: 2.1 mi
  • Spandina Historic House: 2.5 mi
  • Casa Loma: 2.8 mi
  • High Park: 3.3 mi
  • Ashbridge's Bay Park: 4.8 mi
  • The Beaches: 5.5 mi
  • Ontario Science Centre: 6 mi
  • Edwards Gardens: 6.7 mi
  • Toronto Centre for the Arts: 8.6 mi
  • Scarborough Bluffs: 10.2 mi
  • Toronto Zoo: 16.2 mi

Dining

Gusto 101
Gusto. Literally tasty in Italian. The 101 is where to find us on Portland street. Were just a joint that serves nice food and wine. Italian with a twist.
Weslodge
Modern American cuisine.
Blowfish
apanese - Passion for our cuisine sake wine and genuine hospitality is our inspiration to provide friendly unpretentious confident and flawless service.
Scarpetta
CAA 4 Diamond Award Winner 2012 and 2013 and named one of The Daily Meals Top 5 Hotel Restaurants in Toronto. Chef Scott Conant oversees Scarpetta first international outpost of the acclaimed Scarpetta Italian Restaurant which first opened in Manhattan.
Jacobs and Co. Steakhouse
You dont have to cook fancy or complicated masterpieces/ just good food/ from fresh ingredients. Voted best Steakhouse in Toronto
Rodneys Oyster House
We take seafood seriously so we insist on importing it ourselves to ensure quality. Of our Federal Import Licenses our guests enjoy a daily selection of the very best salt and freshwater fish we can find whether it be Halibut Salmon Haddock Arctic.
Spice Route
The experience at Spice Route is sheer bliss. From the moment one enters the design is relaxing and indulging. The mixture of eclectic Asian decor mesmerizing music and distinctive cuisine is the soul of this spot.
Le Select Bistro
Le Select Bistro is the most authentic Parisian bistro this side of the Atlantic/ with great Bistro food/ a traditional zinc bar/jazz on the soundtrack/ friendly and attentive service/ and the best wine list in the city.
Thompson Diner
A modern interpretation of the classic diner Thompson Diner features rich banquets and a sleek full service bar. The breakfast lunch dinner and late night menus feature classic diner bites with a refined twist along with artisan beers and cocktails.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Ratings and reviews for Thompson Toronto

Overall score

4.5 / 5
5.01.0
23 out of 23
Amenities:
4.4
Cleanliness:
4.8
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.9
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.3

96% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Thompson Toronto

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Lord Alan
Business
N/A
Mar 2, 2015

Best hotel in Toronto

Best place to stay in Toronto. Will return again in the future

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Thompson Toronto

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
melissa m.
Business
Mississauga
Feb 25, 2015

Great night in the city

The location if the hotels was prime for me, and love the fact thatchers was a 24hour diner attached!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Thompson Toronto

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Newhubby42
Business
Toronto, Ontario
Aug 18, 2014

Great wedding stay.

My wife and I booked into the Thompson hotel for our wedding weekend. She used the room to get ready before the ceremony and we spent our first night together as a married couple there. Our stay was fantastic. Beautiful hotel in a great location, it couldn't have been more perfect for us. Thank you!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Get your breakfast at the Thompson diner! The eggs Benny are awesome.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Thompson Toronto

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Basketball guru
Business
Ny
Aug 6, 2014

Great hip venue

It was nice and relaxing. Right in the city. It was easy to walk to resturants and different events they had there in august. The rooms were very clean and nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Thompson Toronto

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mushfiqur
Business
New York
Aug 4, 2014

Thompson Hotel

Very modern, clean and sleek hotel. A little bit out of the way but still enjoyed my stay very much.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Thompson Toronto

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Hip Mama
Business
LaSalle, ON
Jul 13, 2014

Great stay

Always a great experience. Very swanky property. Love the review from the rooftop.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: In Hotel

Valet parking. Awesome.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Thompson Toronto

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Meaty
Business
Massachusetts
Jul 1, 2014

Great Stay!

The Thompson hotel in Toronto is located in a very convenient spot with easy access to the CN tower, the Rogers Center, night life, restaurants, and the waterfront. I would recommend this hotel in the future.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Thompson Toronto

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Lilkez
Business
NYC
Jun 30, 2014

love

loved the thompson - would DEF stay there again...so hip/posh ...you don't have to leave your hotel to have a good time..rooftop is ridiculously fun.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

The chase rooftop has phenom oysters and great bartenders.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Thompson Toronto

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Pleasantly impressed
Business
Akron, Ohio
Jun 30, 2014

Awesome place to stay. Can't wait to go back!

All of the hotel staff that we spoke to were very friendly and knowledgeable about things to do in Toronto. The weather was very nice during the time of our stay so we walked everywhere. There are many local places to eat nearby and there is just about any type of food you can imagine. We ate breakfast in the hotel diner each morning and the food there was very good. The waffles are amazing! Valet parking will run you about $38 per day. There is self-parking available as well. The roof top pool and bar is a must see. Nice atmosphere and an excellent view of the city. You need a valid room key to gain access to any floor so having that little bit of extra security was nice. We will definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Thompson Toronto

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
CanadianWino
Business
Toronto, Ontario
Jun 23, 2014

My Favourite Toronto Hotel

Great location, lots of great restaurants nearby. Book it once a year for our anniversary, as a time away from home. Only downside this time around was that pool was closed for most of my stay since the patio was reserved that night for wedding. The staff did all they could to compensate me for the stay, but since I had prepaid there wasn't anything they could do for that stay, but promised to make it up to me on my next. Looking forward to next years stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Le Select Bistro, some fabulous french dining on steps away.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top