$71 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Mar 29, 2015 Check-out: Mar 30, 2015

The Strathcona Hotel

3 stars
View map of 60 York Street, Toronto, ON M5J 1S8

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Strathcona Hotel

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
160 out of 160
Amenities:
3.1
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
3.9
Comfort:
3.5
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.7

81% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Strathcona Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Traveling With Felix
Business
NYC
Aug 18, 2014

Great Location

Walking Distance to CN Tower, Rogers Stadium, Aquarium!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

CN Tower, Aquarium, night life, etc

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Strathcona Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
International couple MiOn
Business
michigan
Aug 14, 2014

Not bad for the price...

Overall, decent experience. There was only valet parking available. The hotel staff didn't tell us about the amenities or breakfast time or even check out time. The room was nicely laid out and appealing. However the rooms are not carpeted and is a bit louder between floors. We also found a sock left from the last guest.... location was good, but construction made it hard to find.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Strathcona Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Arinumber1
Business
Toronto
Aug 24, 2014

Best for your money

This hotel is a few short blocks from the center of Downtown Toronto.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Strathcona Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
BCPat
Business
BC
Nov 19, 2014

Weekend downtown

Check in quick as always. Desk staff helpful and polite.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Union station is very close to the hotel and gives access to the rest of the city via the TTC. Dont get caught in traffic. In Toronto transit is far quicker.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Strathcona Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Art Van Delay
Business
Albany, California
Dec 3, 2014

Good enough

Overall a great value for the price. It's not fancy but has all of the amenities. Location is great as well. Staff is friendly and even good looking.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Strathcona Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Arturo L.
Business
N/A
Jan 14, 2015

Family Trip to Toronto

My family and I had a great experience at The Strathcona Hotel. At first, we were a little disappointed that the hotel didn't have it's own parking garage but, in the end parking was not as expensive as I thought (53.00 for the 3 days). The location of the hotel was great! we were able to walk mostly everywhere we wanted and when we couldn't, the subway was only a couple blocks away. The Staff was also great, they gave us free wifi, which really helped with our planning, and bottled water, which was good for all the walking we did. Overall, we had a great experience here, when we come back to Toronto we will definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Strathcona Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Bronx, NY
Aug 4, 2009

The Strathcona Hotel

I enjoyed my room. Even though the room was small, it was very comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

The places that I visited were within a mile of the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Strathcona Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Saskatchewan
Business
Saskatchewan
Aug 21, 2009

Strathcona

Staff were very helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Strathcona Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
DAS
Business
Yorkshire, UK
Sep 9, 2009

good value accommodation, great location

Great base for exploring the city. All main attractions within walking distance-including CN tower, Rogers Centre, Steam Whistle Brewery, Theatres and some museums. Also near Union Station and subway stop for exploring further afield. Friendly and helpful staff Clean rooms - although a bit on the small side - but ok if like us you only want to sleep there. Lifts could be unreliable - a problem if you were on the 10th floor. Overall good value for money - a superb trip!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

use the GO train on a weekend to get to Niagara Falls - way cheaper than an organised tour.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Strathcona Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
chellez
Business
Markham
May 2, 2010

its ALRIGHT.......

What i was looking for was privacy which was moderate. We had a twin bedroom at first and it was really small beds so we upgraded to a queen size bed with no extra charge and it was great!! WARNING! the rooms are REALLY small but not for the price. that was the first thing we noticed. Second the hotel had NO ICE!!!!! we had drinks and dip so we had to improvise. Third its a great place JUST to sleep, however you can hear the trucks on the street at night which is really LOUD! When bringing friends over there is little privacy. we got in trouble at 9:00 PM because people were sleeping which sucked. There was little privacy, you can hear people open and close their doors which is very loud. If someone dropped something on the above floor it really loud.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top