$77 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 3, 2015 Check-out: Apr 4, 2015

The Strathcona Hotel

3 stars
View map of 60 York Street, Toronto, ON M5J 1S8

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Strathcona Hotel

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
160 out of 160
Amenities:
3.1
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
3.9
Comfort:
3.5
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.7

81% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Strathcona Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
minnesota
Nov 15, 2010

great hotel, great location

classy hotel. Great location minutes away from union station for subway and queen street for street cars. The deluxe room is perfect for 1 person, too cramped for anymore.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

if you are looking for a great indian place, aroma on king and st. John is it!! Delish and minutes from second city and a short walk back to the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Strathcona Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Pittsburgh, PA
Jul 17, 2010

Great location for the price

Great price for the location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Strathcona Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Falls church, Virginia
Jul 19, 2010

Trip to Canada

it was good over all they should offer atleast free wiifii i paid extra 2 get the service----all major hotels and bussiness have this service for free

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Strathcona Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Buffalo NY
Nov 17, 2009

Strathcona is a good deal

Quick, easy walk to Union Station one way, to convention center the other way.Parking directly next door in public lot.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Strathcona Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
BioDude
Business
Manhattan KS
Jun 12, 2010

Clean and comfortable

Overall good deal for the money. Small rooms (it is a budget hotel after all), but great location downtown. We would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Strathcona Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Cleveland, OH
Dec 17, 2010

Very Nice and Affordable

I enjoyed my experience with this hotel. It completely met my expectations. Checking in and out was easy, the room was small but very nice, and the hotel was in a good location. I drove to Toronto from the US and the hotel was very close to the highway and easy to find. The staff was extremely helpful and kind, and they really made our stay a nice experience. The restaurant below the hotel did not have the best food, but the prices weren't too bad. I would recommend this hotel, but maybe not for a large family because the rooms are pretty small.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Strathcona Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Caramelle
Business
Montréal, Canada
Oct 1, 2011

Good deal for downtown Toronto

Recently renovated and spotless. The room is a little small but space is well utilized. Within walking distance of most of downtown Toronto (across from the Royal York and very close to Union Station). I did not need to take the subway or streetcars and took a cab only once, to get back to the bus station. I knew this hotel from before the facelift and will certainly go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Strathcona Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Cary, NC
Sep 15, 2009

Convenient location!

The hotel was pretty bare bones, but was perfectly fine for me. My room was on the small side and the towels weren't the fluffiest, but it was clean, the bed was comfortable, it was usually quiet, and the location was great! I was walking distance from the Harbour, the CN Tower, The Second City, and from Union Station (so I could hop on the subway easily). The room service menu looked pretty scanty. Also, I could never figure out when people started cleaning the rooms. It seemed like they started early and just hung out waiting for me to leave me room--I heard them shuffling around when I woke up (at around 7:30 am), and they pounced on me at the elevators ("Can we clean your room now?" when I left around 9:15 am).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Strathcona Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Los Angeles
Sep 14, 2009

Good location.Cafe on site for breakfast

Rooms are small but adequate.Lobby very basic.Great location for getting around town. Don't get excited about the Pub...does not have any atmosphere.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Strathcona Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kyi Kyi
Business
Houston, TX
Mar 31, 2008

Good Overall Experience

The best thing about the Strathcona hotel is its location. It is across the street from the train station, the airport express shuttle, and in close proximity to many restaurants and The PATH (a system of underground walk ways that leads to many of the great sites in the city). The hotel is a little bit older but is currently undergoing a full renovation. My observation of the partially renovated area is that new style will be a very sleek and modern. The hotel is comfortable and the staff were all very helpful and pleasant.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The food at the Pub downstairs is great and the street dogs from the vendors in front Union Station across the street are excellent.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top