$71 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Mar 29, 2015 Check-out: Mar 30, 2015

The Strathcona Hotel

3 stars
View map of 60 York Street, Toronto, ON M5J 1S8

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Strathcona Hotel

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
160 out of 160
Amenities:
3.1
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
3.9
Comfort:
3.5
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.7

81% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Strathcona Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Grand Rapids, MI
Aug 11, 2009

Great bargain!

The strathcona is in a prime location for sightseeing and nightlife. Its right between the club district and the world famous eaton centre. the rooms, although small, are clean and decorated with a modern touch. everything was in good working order.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Strathcona Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Philadelphia, PA
Apr 8, 2011

Not worth the price

The location for the Hotel is amazing and there is a lot of stuff to do around. However, the rooms are pretty small and the moments inside the room are completely restricted. Also, there are no tables in case you plan to work. You will ahve to stick to your bed and work sitting on it. Though the hotel charges a lot for the WiFi connection $30 for a week, the connection is pathetic. Is would say a nice place to stay if you are planning to be in the room for sleeping purposes. For working or for business purposes, not recommended at all.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Strathcona Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Visitor_06
Business
Austin, Texas
May 14, 2010

Downtown Toronto Hideaway

The Strathcona is nestled in the Heart of Toronto, only a block's walk from the ViaRail Train Station. It was a central location to entertainment, sightseeing etc. Hotel was clean and the best I can say about the waitstaff is that they stayed out of the way. WiFi was paid @ 3Days for $20 (1 day $10). OK Omlette breakfast. Tucked away downtown with view of another wall of the hotel for many rooms. Rooms were small, but comfortable and seemed to have been updated within the last 4 years. I would stay there again at the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Long walk from hotel

The REX Jazz and Blues Bar in the REX Hotel had two sets on Wednesday Night and seemed to have someone playing live music every night of the week. Check out "The Second City" comedy stage. You can get half-price tickets at T.O.TIX, which is a long walk from the Strathcona.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Strathcona Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Conference go-er, first time to TO
Business
St. John's, NL
May 9, 2010

Decent spot

Not a bad spot if you just need a place to crash. In the heart of downtown Toronto. Close to many sights and things to do. I wouldn't want to spend time in my room outside of sleeping though.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Quick to walk anywhere.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Strathcona Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Fjxvcdc
Business
Montana
Aug 22, 2014

Short getaway

Great location, the room was not very big, but adequate for a short trip where you spent your in the city

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Strathcona Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Daniel Pena
Business
New Jersey
Nov 3, 2014

Good Location

I really didn't spend any time at the hotel, but it's perfect for downtown attractions and night life, you get what you paid for.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

It's like 5 blocks away from the entertaining district

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Strathcona Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Daniel Pena
Business
New Jersey
Nov 8, 2014

Good

Good, location is the best of this hotel, I'll recommend it for a good party night in the entertaining distric

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Strathcona Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
James from Buffalo
Business
Buffalo, New York
Nov 17, 2014

For the price it was just ok.

The experience was ok, but it was nothing to write home about. The room was smaller than expected, especially given that it was labeled as an "Executive" room, but not uncomfortable. However I had to big problems that shouldn't have been an issue. First, the hotel makes you sign a no noise policy which sounded great. But, it didn't make much different given the sound proofing in the rooms. My room was a cross from the stairway door. The door to my room was shut in that no person could get through it, but that didn't stop light and sound. With the door closed Light freely came through near the frame. That was likely where the sound also came through all night and morning as people went in and out of the stairwell loudly closing the door. The windows weren't much better. I was 12 floors up, but could hear the sounds of the street as if I was on the first floor. My second issue was when I entered the room. Upon going into the bathroom, I noticed a wet, dirty cotton swab on top of the wall mounted shampoo dispenser. It looked like a disposable cotton cloth used for removing eye makeup, especially because it had black smudges all over it. Whatever it was, regardless if it was from a prior guest or the cleaning staff, it should not have been left in my shower. The price, for that area was good, but I wont be staying there again given my experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Strathcona Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Bubonix
Business
Gander, NL, Canada
Dec 13, 2011

Bang 4 Buck

The location is perfect for any events located in the downtown area near or at large concert or sports events. The price was right for a short visit in the city. There is a buffet style breakfast and a la carte options in morning and noon. The next time I stay I will opt for the larger room though the rooms on the lower levels were somewhat cozy for two and had no fridge. I had noticed that executive suites are better equipped with flat screen tvs and iPod docks. Overall it was a great stay and great value. The room was not conducive for company just sleeping. No chairs or table. When I opened the door fir the first time the feeling I got was "it will do"

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Great sports bar located 3 minutes of hotel it was REAL !

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Strathcona Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
MontrealBusinessTraveller
Business
Montreal, Quebec
May 17, 2012

Great location

I appreciated that the hotel was located very close to the train station and the room was clean, but the comfort level was average at best. The Internet was very slow in the evenings and other guests were noisy during the night. That said, the staff were all quite kind and helpful. I'd return because of convenience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Very close to the train station.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top