$117 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jun 13, 2015 Check-out: Jun 15, 2015

The Strathcona Hotel

3 stars
View map of 60 York Street, Toronto, ON M5J 1S8

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Strathcona Hotel

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
181 out of 181
Amenities:
3.1
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3.5
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.7

80% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Strathcona Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
First time traveler to Toronto
Business
South Jersey
Jul 1, 2009

Small rooms but upgrade gracious

The original standard double room that I booked looked nothing like what is on the website. The room was tiny with two twin beds. Not suitable for two adults. However, after argueing with the front desk clerk I was able to upgrade my room to a double with queen beds. Much nicer room with more space. This is the room thats shown on the website. So although I was disappointed with the original room the upgrade was very nice and worth it. The hotel is located 3 blocks from Rogers stadium but has no parking so be prepared to pay for parking(at least $18 a day). All in all the location is good and the queen double room is very nice. Just don't get fooled by the pics on the website and make sure when booking that you get the room from the pic on the website.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

I had a lot of trouble trying to find a liquor store. On the last day I found one in Union Station located down the block and across the street from the hotel. You have to go down into the shops to locate but well worth it if you want to grab some wine, beer, etc.

Review of The Strathcona Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
downtown Toronto
Oct 24, 2010

Affordable moderate hotel

Comfortable Rooms Lot of extras - like internet not included Downtown location is the biggest advantage Reasonable pricing

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Downtown location is positive

Review of The Strathcona Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Canada Lover
Business
Derbyshire
Jul 24, 2010

Highly recommended and great location

A fantastically placed hotel within a short walking distance to the main sights.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

For a great steak visit The Keg

Review of The Strathcona Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ms traveler
Business
Midlands UK
Nov 6, 2010

Great value for money

Good overall value for money. Polite staff, room always clean. Good central location for exploring Toronto.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Expect Toronto to be an expensive city average transportation cost from airport to city $20 per person on shuttle coach, $55 by taxi. Tax as of Oct 2010 was at 13% added on at the tills.

Review of The Strathcona Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Gosport
Aug 14, 2010

Unbeatable location for the price

Great location only a short walk from Eaton center and CN Tower. This hotel didn't have a pool, but when you are shopping and sight seeing that doesn't matter, as long as the weather is good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Strathcona Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Loon
Business
Newcastle-upon-Tyne
Aug 4, 2010

Small room but perfect for our stay

The hotel is located close to the train station and only a few minutes (10-15) walk from the main shopping area in one direction and the CN Tower in the other. Everything was within walking distance from the hotel and the hop-on-off bus stopped a few metres from the hotel. Plenty of resturants in the local theatre district and around. The rooms where small but perfect for us as we were out site seeing most of the day, so only really there to sleep. But comfty beds and a lovely shower. Air con was a bit nosey, but soon got used to that. I would consider staying there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Strathcona Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Bronx, NY
Aug 4, 2009

The Strathcona Hotel

I enjoyed my room. Even though the room was small, it was very comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

The places that I visited were within a mile of the hotel.

Review of The Strathcona Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Saskatchewan
Business
Saskatchewan
Aug 21, 2009

Strathcona

Staff were very helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Strathcona Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
DAS
Business
Yorkshire, UK
Sep 9, 2009

good value accommodation, great location

Great base for exploring the city. All main attractions within walking distance-including CN tower, Rogers Centre, Steam Whistle Brewery, Theatres and some museums. Also near Union Station and subway stop for exploring further afield. Friendly and helpful staff Clean rooms - although a bit on the small side - but ok if like us you only want to sleep there. Lifts could be unreliable - a problem if you were on the 10th floor. Overall good value for money - a superb trip!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

use the GO train on a weekend to get to Niagara Falls - way cheaper than an organised tour.

Review of The Strathcona Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
chellez
Business
Markham
May 2, 2010

its ALRIGHT.......

What i was looking for was privacy which was moderate. We had a twin bedroom at first and it was really small beds so we upgraded to a queen size bed with no extra charge and it was great!! WARNING! the rooms are REALLY small but not for the price. that was the first thing we noticed. Second the hotel had NO ICE!!!!! we had drinks and dip so we had to improvise. Third its a great place JUST to sleep, however you can hear the trucks on the street at night which is really LOUD! When bringing friends over there is little privacy. we got in trouble at 9:00 PM because people were sleeping which sucked. There was little privacy, you can hear people open and close their doors which is very loud. If someone dropped something on the above floor it really loud.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top