$111 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 15, 2014 Check-out: Aug 16, 2014

The Strathcona Hotel

3 stars
60 York Street, Toronto, ON M5J 1S8
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.4
out of 5
239 reviews
Central location

Staff very helpful Hotel rooms small but clean and adequate. For such a good position prices very... See full review

  • MVDE
  • Oct 7, 2013
Baseball trip

We were in Toronto for one night in July and attended a Blue Jays baseball game. The walk to the... See full review

  • vmichris06
  • Jul 6, 2014
Find home-like comfort in the centre of this thriving cosmopolitan city
The Strathcona Hotel's excellent location puts guests at the heart of downtown Toronto, where guests find fashionable boutiques and department stores, art galleries and museums, the Metro Toronto Convention Centre and CN Tower, and so much more. Recently renovated rooms reflect a new, modern design and offer a variety of high-tech amenities, including Wi-Fi Internet access (fees apply).

Highlights
  • Excellent downtown location
  • Warm, friendly staff
  • Airport shuttle available

Rooms

Rooms at the Strathcona Hotel come in a variety of sizes, but all are cozy and tastefully decorated in warm colors and furnishings with clean lines. Find European-style wood floors, high-loft pillows, in-room movies and Wi-Fi Internet access (fees apply) in all rooms. Executive rooms and suites include upgraded amenities, complimentary newspapers and, in some cases, amazing city views.

Features

Walk to St. Lawrence Market or hop on the ferry to Centre Island. Stop into the popular, on-site York Street Cafe for breakfast or lunch seven days a week, or explore nearby restaurants. Guests enjoy discounted passes to the Wellington Fitness Club, next-door to the hotel, with more than 50 group exercise classes and squash lessons each week. The New Age Spa is in the same building, and guests are invited to make an appointment for any of the fantastic treatments offered there. Whether traveling for business or pleasure, stay connected with Wi-Fi Internet access throughout the premises (fees apply).

Transportation
  • Toronto Pearson International Airport (16.3 mi/26.3 km)
  • Public bus stop (in the same block)

Attractions
  • Hockey Hall of Fame (0.4 mi/0.7 km)
  • St. Lawrence Market (0.6 mi/1 km)
  • Royal Ontario Museum (2.2 mi/3.5 km)
  • Centre Island (2.5 mi/4 km)
  • Casa Loma (3.8 mi/6.1 km)

Business
  • 24 hour business centre
  • Wi-Fi Internet access available (fees apply)

The Strathcona Hotel Rooms

Executive King Bed
Executive room with one king bed, hair dryer, coffee maker, radio alarm clock, iron and ironing board, cable TV with remote and in-room movies. The room also offers high-speed wireless internet, desk with data port, phone with voice mail and individual climate control. Non-smoking room. No rollaways allowed in this room type.
Smart Two Single Beds
Smart room with two twin beds, radio alarm clock, cable TV with pay-per-view, phone with voicemail and hair dryer. Windows open and the room has individual climate control. Non-smoking room. No rollaways allowed in this room type.
Executive Two Double Beds
Executive room with two double beds. Room is equipped with a radio alarm clock, cable TV with pay-per-view and phone with voice mail. The room windows open. The room also includes individual climate control and a hair dryer. Non-smoking room. One rollaway allowed in this room type.
Smart One Queen Bed
Smart room with one queen bed, radio alarm clock and cable TV with pay-per-view. Room windows open. Room also has individual climate control, phone with voicemail and hair dryer. Non-smoking room. No rollaways allowed in this room type.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Airport shuttle
Activities
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Strathcona Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Hotel Map

43.6459 -79.3827
Area served
Toronto, Canada
Nearby airports
Pearson International
Area description
The hotel is located in the heart of Downtown Toronto's Entertainment, Financial and Sports Districts, just steps to the city's must see attractions.

Nearby points of interest

  • Massey Hall: 0.2 mi
  • Toronto Symphony Orchestra: 0.2 mi
  • The Air Canada Centre: 0.2 mi
  • Air Canada Centre: 0.3 mi
  • Hockey Hall of Fame: 0.3 mi
  • Princess of Wales Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Four Seasons Centre for the Performing Arts: 0.4 mi
  • CN Tower: 0.4 mi
  • Rogers Centre: 0.4 mi
  • Harbourfront Centre: 0.4 mi
  • The Elgin and Winter Garden Theatre Centre: 0.5 mi
  • Eaton Centre: 0.6 mi
  • National Ballet of Canada: 0.6 mi
  • St Lawrence Market: 0.6 mi
  • Pantages Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Massey Hall: 0.2 mi
  • Toronto Symphony Orchestra: 0.2 mi
  • The Air Canada Centre: 0.2 mi
  • Air Canada Centre: 0.3 mi
  • Hockey Hall of Fame: 0.3 mi
  • Princess of Wales Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Four Seasons Centre for the Performing Arts: 0.4 mi
  • CN Tower: 0.4 mi
  • Rogers Centre: 0.4 mi
  • Harbourfront Centre: 0.4 mi
  • The Elgin and Winter Garden Theatre Centre: 0.5 mi
  • Eaton Centre: 0.6 mi
  • National Ballet of Canada: 0.6 mi
  • St Lawrence Market: 0.6 mi
  • Pantages Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Mackenzie House: 0.7 mi
  • The AGO, Art gallery of Ontario: 0.7 mi
  • Toronto Music Garden: 0.8 mi
  • Fort York: 1.1 mi
  • Allan Gardens Conservatory: 1.2 mi
  • Distillery District: 1.2 mi
  • Centre Island: 1.3 mi
  • University of Toronto: 1.4 mi
  • Toronto Island Park: 1.6 mi
  • Royal Ontario Museum: 1.7 mi
  • Royal Conservatory of Music: 1.7 mi
  • Bata Shoe Museum: 1.7 mi
  • Yorkville: 1.8 mi
  • Toronto Public Library: 1.8 mi
  • Spandina Historic House: 2.6 mi
  • Casa Loma: 2.9 mi
  • Ashbridge's Bay Park: 3.8 mi
  • High Park: 4.2 mi
  • The Beaches: 4.6 mi
  • Ontario Science Centre: 5.4 mi
  • Edwards Gardens: 6.2 mi
  • Toronto Centre for the Arts: 8.5 mi
  • Scarborough Bluffs: 9.3 mi
  • Toronto Zoo: 15.4 mi

Dining

On-Site Dining
The Pub - Open 11am-11pm, casual, pub food,York Street Cafe - Open 6:30am-2pm, casual, breakfast and lunch.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (239)

Ratings and reviews for The Strathcona Hotel

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
239 out of 239
Amenities:
3.1
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
3.9
Room comfort:
3.4
Location:
4.7
Value:
3.7

79% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Strathcona Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Florida
Jul 6, 2011

best price for location, small rooms

I was in Toronto for a conference. The Strathcona Hotel was cheap, clean and in an excellent location (walking distance to the convention center). Naturally along with these great perks: small rooms but very clean and new, no breakfast or any amenities for that matter but delicious breakfast buffet in downstairs cafe for $15...there was also some sort of "medical plant" convention going on at the same time and the hotel made a huge deal about the hotel being 100% non-smoking (you have to sign a waiver and all agreeing to this policy) but then the entire hotel smelled of reefer for about 3 days, our whole floor, our room, even whilst eating breakfast it was pouring through the ventilation system!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

http://www.dhaba.ca/ for delicious Indian cuisine

Review of The Strathcona Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Roanoke, VA
Oct 4, 2007

Good location to get around

I chose the hotel to be close to the Convention Center but to be in a more reasonably-priced hotels than than those close by. Location is great to get to many places on foot. Staff was very friendly, hotel has been around a while and could use a little updating. Of the 2 elevators, one was inoperable my entire stay (2 nights). Pub in basement a nice place with good wait staff and decent food. Room was quiet and comfortable - not spacious but that wasn't my need. This was a business trip. Very satisfied for what I paid. Many guests were foreign - many German. Everyone was friendly. I would definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

I went to a great Indian Restaurant on Front. Went to Gretzky's place afterwards for drinks and to watch the Maple Leafs play. The Red Tomatoe is nearby - one of my favorite Toronto restaurants.

Review of The Strathcona Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Niagara
Jul 25, 2010

Great service and location

We stayed over for one night and upon arrival the check in desk offered us a later check out time without us even asking. The rooms were a little small but honestly they were very clean and very modern looking. I would completely recommend this hotel if you're looking for something in an excellent location and don't intend to spend too much time in the room. I would go back without hesitation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

If you're looking for some excellent restaurants take the 5-10 minute walk down the Esplanade for all sorts of choices in a very nice neighbourhood. There is also a Subway restaurant and Tim Hortons less than a minute from the front door if you're looking for something quick.

Review of The Strathcona Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
KenInVA
Norfolk, VA, USA
Sep 27, 2011

Great value in the heart of Toronto

It's not the most feature-packed hotel I've been to. The rooms are a bit on the small size, but cozy and clean. The most stand-out feature is the location, it's close to the subway, street car, the bus, restaurants and shopping. The view from the room wasn't spectacular, but it didn't need to be. The price made it affordable in the center of downtown. Housekeeping was friendly and efficient. The front desk staff was a bit apathetic, but not rude. However, parking our rental was a problem. Had to use the municipal lot which was pricey. Some sort of enter/exit privilege or discount would have been a plus.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Skip the breakfast in the hotel lobby and go up Church St. for some great eating opportunities.

Review of The Strathcona Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
turf
West Lafayette, IN, USA
Aug 17, 2011

Location, location, location

Myself and a friend spent 3 nights in this hotel. While it was annoying that internet service and breakfast were not included, the location of this hotel to attractions and public transit within the city made it an absolute gem! The room was ok, I'm not hard to please and I only used the room to sleep. It did have a lack of electrical outlets, as we had to unplug the room clock to charge our phones and cameras. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Great value for a downtown hotel. Understand though that park will be at on offsite garage. I parked at the Hilton and spent $60 total.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of The Strathcona Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Nikki T
New York City
Aug 13, 2012

Great Hotel

The Strathcona Hotel is conveniently located downtown Toronto near the Financial district and Union Station. Union Station on the Yonge subway line was a transfer point for other trains. It was within walking distance of the CN Tower, Harborfront, St. Lawrence Marketplace, Hockey Hall of Fame, Rodgers Stadium, and RBC Tower with a food court located on the lower level of Front Street. The room was a bit small, but just right for me. The staff was courteous and friendly. I would return to this hotel and recommend it to others.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

It's advisable to purchase Citipass on line. which gives access to 5 attractions such as the CN Tower, Casa Loma, ROM etc. No waiting on line - easy access to enter these locations.

Review of The Strathcona Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Buffalo NY
Nov 17, 2009

Strathcona is a good deal

Quick, easy walk to Union Station one way, to convention center the other way.Parking directly next door in public lot.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Strathcona Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Aurunner
Business
Houston, TX
Mar 5, 2011

Budget hotel with nicer interior

I had read the reviews before booking my trip at the Strathocona so I was wondering how it would be. I was very surprised that overall this was a B+ hotel. I was in downtown Toronto for a conference for work so was there in town about 3 days. Never been to Toronto before so this was a good experience overall. The bed was comfortable, the bathroom and floor etc was clean. It is a budget type hotel however this is not your typical Motel 6 experience. The hotel has hardwood (light colored) floors, and the in room heating system was working fine. I would have liked to have a microwave but there was a working coffee maker, ironing board, iron etc. Also a working alarm clock but I did bring my own along.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

If you walk around a little, there are a few fast food places, not a lot because Toronto does have an 18% tax rate on almost anything so basically there's not a lot of incentive for cheap places to eat.

Review of The Strathcona Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Caramelle
Montréal, Canada
Oct 1, 2011

Good deal for downtown Toronto

Recently renovated and spotless. The room is a little small but space is well utilized. Within walking distance of most of downtown Toronto (across from the Royal York and very close to Union Station). I did not need to take the subway or streetcars and took a cab only once, to get back to the bus station. I knew this hotel from before the facelift and will certainly go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of The Strathcona Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago, IL
Oct 17, 2010

Great location and service

The location is great and convinent to the highways. The staffs are very helpful and curtise. There is no parking for the hotel, I wish we can be informed beforehand. Parking in the area is expensive and hard.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top