$125 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Sep 21, 2014 Check-out: Sep 22, 2014

The Strathcona Hotel

3 stars
60 York Street, Toronto, ON M5J 1S8
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.4
out of 5
151 reviews
Toronto get-away

All very good. Would stay here again. Parking difficult to access hotel. See full review

  • Go Habs
  • Aug 1, 2014
Central location

Staff very helpful Hotel rooms small but clean and adequate. For such a good position prices very... See full review

  • MVDE
  • Oct 7, 2013
Find home-like comfort in the centre of this thriving cosmopolitan city
The Strathcona Hotel's excellent location puts guests at the heart of downtown Toronto, where guests find fashionable boutiques and department stores, art galleries and museums, the Metro Toronto Convention Centre and CN Tower, and so much more. Recently renovated rooms reflect a new, modern design and offer a variety of high-tech amenities, including Wi-Fi Internet access (fees apply).

Highlights
  • Excellent downtown location
  • Warm, friendly staff
  • Airport shuttle available

Rooms

Rooms at the Strathcona Hotel come in a variety of sizes, but all are cozy and tastefully decorated in warm colors and furnishings with clean lines. Find European-style wood floors, high-loft pillows, in-room movies and Wi-Fi Internet access (fees apply) in all rooms. Executive rooms and suites include upgraded amenities, complimentary newspapers and, in some cases, amazing city views.

Features

Walk to St. Lawrence Market or hop on the ferry to Centre Island. Stop into the popular, on-site York Street Cafe for breakfast or lunch seven days a week, or explore nearby restaurants. Guests enjoy discounted passes to the Wellington Fitness Club, next-door to the hotel, with more than 50 group exercise classes and squash lessons each week. The New Age Spa is in the same building, and guests are invited to make an appointment for any of the fantastic treatments offered there. Whether traveling for business or pleasure, stay connected with Wi-Fi Internet access throughout the premises (fees apply).

Transportation
  • Toronto Pearson International Airport (16.3 mi/26.3 km)
  • Public bus stop (in the same block)

Attractions
  • Hockey Hall of Fame (0.4 mi/0.7 km)
  • St. Lawrence Market (0.6 mi/1 km)
  • Royal Ontario Museum (2.2 mi/3.5 km)
  • Centre Island (2.5 mi/4 km)
  • Casa Loma (3.8 mi/6.1 km)

Business
  • 24 hour business centre
  • Wi-Fi Internet access available (fees apply)

Hotel Map

43.6459 -79.3827
Area served
Toronto, Canada
Nearby airports
Pearson International
Area description
The hotel is located in the heart of Downtown Toronto's Entertainment, Financial and Sports Districts, just steps to the city's must see attractions.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Strathcona Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

The Strathcona Hotel Rooms

Executive King Bed
Executive room with one king bed, hair dryer, coffee maker, radio alarm clock, iron and ironing board, cable TV with remote and in-room movies. The room also offers high-speed wireless internet, desk with data port, phone with voice mail and individual climate control. Non-smoking room. No rollaways allowed in this room type.
Smart Two Single Beds
Smart room with two twin beds, radio alarm clock, cable TV with pay-per-view, phone with voicemail and hair dryer. Windows open and the room has individual climate control. Non-smoking room. No rollaways allowed in this room type.
Executive Two Double Beds
Executive room with two double beds. Room is equipped with a radio alarm clock, cable TV with pay-per-view and phone with voice mail. The room windows open. The room also includes individual climate control and a hair dryer. Non-smoking room. One rollaway allowed in this room type.
Smart One Queen Bed
Smart room with one queen bed, radio alarm clock and cable TV with pay-per-view. Room windows open. Room also has individual climate control, phone with voicemail and hair dryer. Non-smoking room. No rollaways allowed in this room type.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Airport shuttle
Activities
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Massey Hall: 0.2 mi
  • Toronto Symphony Orchestra: 0.2 mi
  • The Air Canada Centre: 0.2 mi
  • Air Canada Centre: 0.3 mi
  • Hockey Hall of Fame: 0.3 mi
  • Princess of Wales Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Four Seasons Centre for the Performing Arts: 0.4 mi
  • CN Tower: 0.4 mi
  • Rogers Centre: 0.4 mi
  • Harbourfront Centre: 0.4 mi
  • The Elgin and Winter Garden Theatre Centre: 0.5 mi
  • Eaton Centre: 0.6 mi
  • National Ballet of Canada: 0.6 mi
  • St Lawrence Market: 0.6 mi
  • Pantages Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Massey Hall: 0.2 mi
  • Toronto Symphony Orchestra: 0.2 mi
  • The Air Canada Centre: 0.2 mi
  • Air Canada Centre: 0.3 mi
  • Hockey Hall of Fame: 0.3 mi
  • Princess of Wales Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Four Seasons Centre for the Performing Arts: 0.4 mi
  • CN Tower: 0.4 mi
  • Rogers Centre: 0.4 mi
  • Harbourfront Centre: 0.4 mi
  • The Elgin and Winter Garden Theatre Centre: 0.5 mi
  • Eaton Centre: 0.6 mi
  • National Ballet of Canada: 0.6 mi
  • St Lawrence Market: 0.6 mi
  • Pantages Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Mackenzie House: 0.7 mi
  • The AGO, Art gallery of Ontario: 0.7 mi
  • Toronto Music Garden: 0.8 mi
  • Fort York: 1.1 mi
  • Allan Gardens Conservatory: 1.2 mi
  • Distillery District: 1.2 mi
  • Centre Island: 1.3 mi
  • University of Toronto: 1.4 mi
  • Toronto Island Park: 1.6 mi
  • Royal Ontario Museum: 1.7 mi
  • Royal Conservatory of Music: 1.7 mi
  • Bata Shoe Museum: 1.7 mi
  • Yorkville: 1.8 mi
  • Toronto Public Library: 1.8 mi
  • Spandina Historic House: 2.6 mi
  • Casa Loma: 2.9 mi
  • Ashbridge's Bay Park: 3.8 mi
  • High Park: 4.2 mi
  • The Beaches: 4.6 mi
  • Ontario Science Centre: 5.4 mi
  • Edwards Gardens: 6.2 mi
  • Toronto Centre for the Arts: 8.5 mi
  • Scarborough Bluffs: 9.3 mi
  • Toronto Zoo: 15.4 mi

Dining

On-Site Dining
The Pub - Open 11am-11pm, casual, pub food,York Street Cafe - Open 6:30am-2pm, casual, breakfast and lunch.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (151)

Ratings and reviews for The Strathcona Hotel

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
23 out of 151
Amenities:
3.1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3.6
Location:
4.7
Value:
3.9

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Strathcona Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
vmichris06
Woodstock, VA 22664, USA
Jul 6, 2014

Baseball trip

We were in Toronto for one night in July and attended a Blue Jays baseball game. The walk to the Rogers Center was extremely quick and the hotel is located in a great area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Strathcona Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Royal Fair Visitor
Illinois
Dec 20, 2013

good for the trip

the location was good. We were able to walk to many of the places we went. The rooms were ok for the money. clean but small. the staff was friendly and helpful. overall a good stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Strathcona Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
PerryG
St. John's, NL
Oct 28, 2013

Great location!

This hotel is ideally located for everything downtown. Union Station just across the street and the Metro Toronto Convention Centre a block away. My friend and I had a room with two beds. We were a bit surprised the beds were actually twin beds instead of the usual double beds. The room was super small but for the price, it was fine.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Loose Moose Restaurant and Pub on Front Street has a great pub style menu. The nachos are mountainous!!! Just a very short walk from the Strathcona. Joe Badali's is also there if Italian is what you're looking for.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Strathcona Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Ben Ballin
Buffalo NY
Jul 20, 2013

TINY ROOMS

Our room was smaller than my walk in closet at my house. Nice location, but would stay somewhere else next time for the price and size.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Houston avenue bar and grill was awesome 5 min walk

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Strathcona Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
burgh runner
pittsburgh pa
Feb 24, 2013

great value and location

The staff was friendly and helpful, the room cozy and location was awesome. We enjoyed our stay and would reccomend it to other budget travelllers. Dont expect many in room amenities like a refrigerator or microwave. You are in the heart of Toronto though! Enjoy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Strathcona Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lauraish
New York, New York
Aug 12, 2012

Nice hotel

My friend and I stayed at the hotel for four nights. Staff was always friendly and helpful. Good location because it's close to the subway. The hotel has a the option of a paid bus or private town car to take you to the airport. My friend and I had the chance to be driven to the airport in a limo, no extra charge.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Strathcona Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Bubonix
Gander, NL, Canada
Dec 13, 2011

Bang 4 Buck

The location is perfect for any events located in the downtown area near or at large concert or sports events. The price was right for a short visit in the city. There is a buffet style breakfast and a la carte options in morning and noon. The next time I stay I will opt for the larger room though the rooms on the lower levels were somewhat cozy for two and had no fridge. I had noticed that executive suites are better equipped with flat screen tvs and iPod docks. Overall it was a great stay and great value. The room was not conducive for company just sleeping. No chairs or table. When I opened the door fir the first time the feeling I got was "it will do"

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Great sports bar located 3 minutes of hotel it was REAL !

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Strathcona Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Lau1122
NJ
Jan 10, 2011

Not a good pick

There were two problems I had with the hotel. The first being that the Strathcona Hotel DID NOT HAVE A PARKING LOT OR PARKING GARAGE. I had not been told this before booking the hotel. When my friend and I got there we found out that we were going to have to pay to park our car in a garage a few streets over. That was something that I wish I had been notified about upfront. No parking was an inconvenience and an additional expense that I was not informed of. The second and BIGGEST problem was that when I hopped into the shower I discovered that hair from the previous guest was still in the shower and on the walls. It was CLEAR that they had not cleaned the shower!!! I give room cleanliness a big fat ZERO!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

If you do stay at the Strathcona Hotel then you will be near some great attractions. Definitely check out Casa Loma and the BATA Shoe Musuem. They are a quick subway ride or long walk away.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Strathcona Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
new to Toronto
Boston, MA
Nov 29, 2010

Toronto Hotel Experience

The location of the hotel is really good as you can walk in any direction and get to a different neighborhood. The area is pretty quiet at night on the weekends since this is the financial district but just 3-4 blocks away on King St. and there is plenty to do. The room was fine - NYC style in space and amenities, inside room is very dark w/o much daylight. Unfortunately it is not a quiet hotel and I'm not talking street noise! The walls are thin, the hallways narrow so if anyone is partying late there is no question that you will here their noise. We did not take advantage of the in-hotel breakfast but it looked good from what we could see.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Shopping tip: Long walk from hotel

Bloor/Yorkville area but worth the visit.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Strathcona Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Toronto
Nov 21, 2010

Well Located

The room was a bit small! really modern decor. Small like the room you will find in Paris !!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

To Shopping , Entertament, Train Station, Night life... Everything

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search