$102 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 19, 2015 Check-out: Aug 20, 2015

The Strathcona Hotel

3 stars
View map of 60 York Street, Toronto, ON M5J 1S8

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.5
out of 5
158 reviews
Overnight Trip

I stayed at the Strathcona 23-24 May. It's a bit of a business hotel, so the room was a bit on the... See full review

  • Arch Angel
  • May 27, 2015
Awesome Weekend

I stayed here for a few nights while visiting Toronto. The hotel was clean, bright, and situated... See full review

  • Sean C.
  • Feb 17, 2015
The Strathcona Hotel's excellent location puts guests at the heart of downtown Toronto, where guests find fashionable boutiques and department stores, art galleries and museums, the Metro Toronto Convention Centre and CN Tower, and so much more. Recently renovated rooms reflect a new, modern design and offer a variety of high-tech amenities, including Wi-Fi Internet access (fees apply).

Rooms

Rooms at the Strathcona Hotel come in a variety of sizes, but all are cozy and tastefully decorated in warm colors and furnishings with clean lines. Find European-style wood floors, high-loft pillows, in-room movies and Wi-Fi Internet access (fees apply) in all rooms. Executive rooms and suites include upgraded amenities, complimentary newspapers and, in some cases, amazing city views.

Property features

Walk to St. Lawrence Market or hop on the ferry to Centre Island. Stop into the popular, on-site York Street Cafe for breakfast or lunch seven days a week, or explore nearby restaurants. Guests enjoy discounted passes to the Wellington Fitness Club, next-door to the hotel, with more than 50 group exercise classes and squash lessons each week. The New Age Spa is in the same building, and guests are invited to make an appointment for any of the fantastic treatments offered there. Whether traveling for business or pleasure, stay connected with Wi-Fi Internet access throughout the premises (fees apply).

Highlights
  • Excellent downtown location
  • Warm, friendly staff
  • Airport shuttle available

Nearby attractions
  • Hockey Hall of Fame (0.4 mi/0.7 km)
  • St. Lawrence Market (0.6 mi/1 km)
  • Royal Ontario Museum (2.2 mi/3.5 km)
  • Centre Island (2.5 mi/4 km)
  • Casa Loma (3.8 mi/6.1 km)

Business
  • 24 hour business centre
  • Wi-Fi Internet access available (fees apply)
Transportation
  • Toronto Pearson International Airport (16.3 mi/26.3 km)
  • Public bus stop (in the same block)

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Strathcona Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

The Strathcona Hotel Rooms

Executive King Bed
Executive room with one king bed, hair dryer, coffee maker, radio alarm clock, iron and ironing board, cable TV with remote and in-room movies. The room also offers high-speed wireless internet, desk with data port, phone with voice mail and individual climate control. Non-smoking room. No rollaways allowed in this room type.
Smart Two Single Beds
Smart room with two twin beds, radio alarm clock, cable TV with pay-per-view, phone with voicemail and hair dryer. Windows open and the room has individual climate control. Non-smoking room. No rollaways allowed in this room type.
Executive Two Double Beds
Executive room with two double beds. Room is equipped with a radio alarm clock, cable TV with pay-per-view and phone with voice mail. The room windows open. The room also includes individual climate control and a hair dryer. Non-smoking room. One rollaway allowed in this room type.
Smart One Queen Bed
Smart room with one queen bed, radio alarm clock and cable TV with pay-per-view. Room windows open. Room also has individual climate control, phone with voicemail and hair dryer. Non-smoking room. No rollaways allowed in this room type.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Airport shuttle
Activities
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible Rooms/Facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Massey Hall: 0.2 mi
  • Toronto Symphony Orchestra: 0.2 mi
  • Maple Leaf Square: 0.2 mi
  • Air Canada Centre: 0.3 mi
  • Hockey Hall of Fame: 0.3 mi
  • Princess of Wales Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Four Seasons Centre for the Performing Arts: 0.4 mi
  • CN Tower: 0.4 mi
  • Rogers Centre: 0.4 mi
  • Harbourfront Centre: 0.4 mi
  • The Elgin and Winter Garden Theatre Centre: 0.5 mi
  • Eaton Centre: 0.6 mi
  • National Ballet of Canada: 0.6 mi
  • St Lawrence Market: 0.6 mi
  • Pantages Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Massey Hall: 0.2 mi
  • Toronto Symphony Orchestra: 0.2 mi
  • Maple Leaf Square: 0.2 mi
  • Air Canada Centre: 0.3 mi
  • Hockey Hall of Fame: 0.3 mi
  • Princess of Wales Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Four Seasons Centre for the Performing Arts: 0.4 mi
  • CN Tower: 0.4 mi
  • Rogers Centre: 0.4 mi
  • Harbourfront Centre: 0.4 mi
  • The Elgin and Winter Garden Theatre Centre: 0.5 mi
  • Eaton Centre: 0.6 mi
  • National Ballet of Canada: 0.6 mi
  • St Lawrence Market: 0.6 mi
  • Pantages Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Mackenzie House: 0.7 mi
  • The AGO, Art gallery of Ontario: 0.7 mi
  • Toronto Music Garden: 0.8 mi
  • Fort York: 1.1 mi
  • Allan Gardens Conservatory: 1.2 mi
  • Distillery District: 1.2 mi
  • Centre Island: 1.3 mi
  • University of Toronto: 1.4 mi
  • Toronto Island Park: 1.6 mi
  • Royal Ontario Museum: 1.7 mi
  • Royal Conservatory of Music: 1.7 mi
  • Bata Shoe Museum: 1.7 mi
  • Yorkville: 1.8 mi
  • Toronto Public Library: 1.8 mi
  • Spandina Historic House: 2.6 mi
  • Casa Loma: 2.9 mi
  • Ashbridge's Bay Park: 3.8 mi
  • High Park: 4.2 mi
  • The Beaches: 4.6 mi
  • Ontario Science Centre: 5.4 mi
  • Edwards Gardens: 6.2 mi
  • Toronto Centre for the Arts: 8.5 mi
  • Scarborough Bluffs: 9.3 mi
  • Toronto Zoo: 15.4 mi

Dining

On-Site Dining
The Pub - Open 11am-11pm, casual, pub food,York Street Cafe - Open 6:30am-2pm, casual, breakfast and lunch.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
2:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for The Strathcona Hotel

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
27 out of 158
Amenities:
3.2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.7
Value:
3.9

81% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Strathcona Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Luyao W.
Business
N/A
Apr 27, 2015

lovely trip

The hotel overall was really nice, the only part which made it worst was the internet. You could only use one device for the internet and if you want to use the internet on the other device you have to pay for it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Strathcona Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Daniel Pena
Business
New Jersey
Nov 8, 2014

Good

Good, location is the best of this hotel, I'll recommend it for a good party night in the entertaining distric

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Strathcona Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Daniel Pena
Business
New Jersey
Nov 3, 2014

Good Location

I really didn't spend any time at the hotel, but it's perfect for downtown attractions and night life, you get what you paid for.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

It's like 5 blocks away from the entertaining district

Review of The Strathcona Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
vmichris06
Business
Woodstock, VA 22664, USA
Jul 6, 2014

Baseball trip

We were in Toronto for one night in July and attended a Blue Jays baseball game. The walk to the Rogers Center was extremely quick and the hotel is located in a great area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Strathcona Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Royal Fair Visitor
Business
Illinois
Dec 20, 2013

good for the trip

the location was good. We were able to walk to many of the places we went. The rooms were ok for the money. clean but small. the staff was friendly and helpful. overall a good stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Strathcona Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
PerryG
Business
St. John's, NL
Oct 28, 2013

Great location!

This hotel is ideally located for everything downtown. Union Station just across the street and the Metro Toronto Convention Centre a block away. My friend and I had a room with two beds. We were a bit surprised the beds were actually twin beds instead of the usual double beds. The room was super small but for the price, it was fine.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Loose Moose Restaurant and Pub on Front Street has a great pub style menu. The nachos are mountainous!!! Just a very short walk from the Strathcona. Joe Badali's is also there if Italian is what you're looking for.

Review of The Strathcona Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Ben Ballin
Business
Buffalo NY
Jul 20, 2013

TINY ROOMS

Our room was smaller than my walk in closet at my house. Nice location, but would stay somewhere else next time for the price and size.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Houston avenue bar and grill was awesome 5 min walk

Review of The Strathcona Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
burgh runner
Business
pittsburgh pa
Feb 24, 2013

great value and location

The staff was friendly and helpful, the room cozy and location was awesome. We enjoyed our stay and would reccomend it to other budget travelllers. Dont expect many in room amenities like a refrigerator or microwave. You are in the heart of Toronto though! Enjoy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Strathcona Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lauraish
Business
New York, New York
Aug 12, 2012

Nice hotel

My friend and I stayed at the hotel for four nights. Staff was always friendly and helpful. Good location because it's close to the subway. The hotel has a the option of a paid bus or private town car to take you to the airport. My friend and I had the chance to be driven to the airport in a limo, no extra charge.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Strathcona Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Bubonix
Business
Gander, NL, Canada
Dec 13, 2011

Bang 4 Buck

The location is perfect for any events located in the downtown area near or at large concert or sports events. The price was right for a short visit in the city. There is a buffet style breakfast and a la carte options in morning and noon. The next time I stay I will opt for the larger room though the rooms on the lower levels were somewhat cozy for two and had no fridge. I had noticed that executive suites are better equipped with flat screen tvs and iPod docks. Overall it was a great stay and great value. The room was not conducive for company just sleeping. No chairs or table. When I opened the door fir the first time the feeling I got was "it will do"

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Great sports bar located 3 minutes of hotel it was REAL !

Back to menu Return to top