$103 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 18, 2015 Check-out: Aug 20, 2015

The Strathcona Hotel

3 stars
View map of 60 York Street, Toronto, ON M5J 1S8

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.5
out of 5
158 reviews
Overnight Trip

I stayed at the Strathcona 23-24 May. It's a bit of a business hotel, so the room was a bit on the... See full review

  • Arch Angel
  • May 27, 2015
Awesome Weekend

I stayed here for a few nights while visiting Toronto. The hotel was clean, bright, and situated... See full review

  • Sean C.
  • Feb 17, 2015
The Strathcona Hotel's excellent location puts guests at the heart of downtown Toronto, where guests find fashionable boutiques and department stores, art galleries and museums, the Metro Toronto Convention Centre and CN Tower, and so much more. Recently renovated rooms reflect a new, modern design and offer a variety of high-tech amenities, including Wi-Fi Internet access (fees apply).

Rooms

Rooms at the Strathcona Hotel come in a variety of sizes, but all are cozy and tastefully decorated in warm colors and furnishings with clean lines. Find European-style wood floors, high-loft pillows, in-room movies and Wi-Fi Internet access (fees apply) in all rooms. Executive rooms and suites include upgraded amenities, complimentary newspapers and, in some cases, amazing city views.

Property features

Walk to St. Lawrence Market or hop on the ferry to Centre Island. Stop into the popular, on-site York Street Cafe for breakfast or lunch seven days a week, or explore nearby restaurants. Guests enjoy discounted passes to the Wellington Fitness Club, next-door to the hotel, with more than 50 group exercise classes and squash lessons each week. The New Age Spa is in the same building, and guests are invited to make an appointment for any of the fantastic treatments offered there. Whether traveling for business or pleasure, stay connected with Wi-Fi Internet access throughout the premises (fees apply).

Highlights
  • Excellent downtown location
  • Warm, friendly staff
  • Airport shuttle available

Nearby attractions
  • Hockey Hall of Fame (0.4 mi/0.7 km)
  • St. Lawrence Market (0.6 mi/1 km)
  • Royal Ontario Museum (2.2 mi/3.5 km)
  • Centre Island (2.5 mi/4 km)
  • Casa Loma (3.8 mi/6.1 km)

Business
  • 24 hour business centre
  • Wi-Fi Internet access available (fees apply)
Transportation
  • Toronto Pearson International Airport (16.3 mi/26.3 km)
  • Public bus stop (in the same block)

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Strathcona Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

The Strathcona Hotel Rooms

Executive King Bed
Executive room with one king bed, hair dryer, coffee maker, radio alarm clock, iron and ironing board, cable TV with remote and in-room movies. The room also offers high-speed wireless internet, desk with data port, phone with voice mail and individual climate control. Non-smoking room. No rollaways allowed in this room type.
Smart Two Single Beds
Smart room with two twin beds, radio alarm clock, cable TV with pay-per-view, phone with voicemail and hair dryer. Windows open and the room has individual climate control. Non-smoking room. No rollaways allowed in this room type.
Executive Two Double Beds
Executive room with two double beds. Room is equipped with a radio alarm clock, cable TV with pay-per-view and phone with voice mail. The room windows open. The room also includes individual climate control and a hair dryer. Non-smoking room. One rollaway allowed in this room type.
Smart One Queen Bed
Smart room with one queen bed, radio alarm clock and cable TV with pay-per-view. Room windows open. Room also has individual climate control, phone with voicemail and hair dryer. Non-smoking room. No rollaways allowed in this room type.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Airport shuttle
Activities
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible Rooms/Facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Massey Hall: 0.2 mi
  • Toronto Symphony Orchestra: 0.2 mi
  • Maple Leaf Square: 0.2 mi
  • Air Canada Centre: 0.3 mi
  • Hockey Hall of Fame: 0.3 mi
  • Princess of Wales Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Four Seasons Centre for the Performing Arts: 0.4 mi
  • CN Tower: 0.4 mi
  • Rogers Centre: 0.4 mi
  • Harbourfront Centre: 0.4 mi
  • The Elgin and Winter Garden Theatre Centre: 0.5 mi
  • Eaton Centre: 0.6 mi
  • National Ballet of Canada: 0.6 mi
  • St Lawrence Market: 0.6 mi
  • Pantages Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Massey Hall: 0.2 mi
  • Toronto Symphony Orchestra: 0.2 mi
  • Maple Leaf Square: 0.2 mi
  • Air Canada Centre: 0.3 mi
  • Hockey Hall of Fame: 0.3 mi
  • Princess of Wales Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Four Seasons Centre for the Performing Arts: 0.4 mi
  • CN Tower: 0.4 mi
  • Rogers Centre: 0.4 mi
  • Harbourfront Centre: 0.4 mi
  • The Elgin and Winter Garden Theatre Centre: 0.5 mi
  • Eaton Centre: 0.6 mi
  • National Ballet of Canada: 0.6 mi
  • St Lawrence Market: 0.6 mi
  • Pantages Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Mackenzie House: 0.7 mi
  • The AGO, Art gallery of Ontario: 0.7 mi
  • Toronto Music Garden: 0.8 mi
  • Fort York: 1.1 mi
  • Allan Gardens Conservatory: 1.2 mi
  • Distillery District: 1.2 mi
  • Centre Island: 1.3 mi
  • University of Toronto: 1.4 mi
  • Toronto Island Park: 1.6 mi
  • Royal Ontario Museum: 1.7 mi
  • Royal Conservatory of Music: 1.7 mi
  • Bata Shoe Museum: 1.7 mi
  • Yorkville: 1.8 mi
  • Toronto Public Library: 1.8 mi
  • Spandina Historic House: 2.6 mi
  • Casa Loma: 2.9 mi
  • Ashbridge's Bay Park: 3.8 mi
  • High Park: 4.2 mi
  • The Beaches: 4.6 mi
  • Ontario Science Centre: 5.4 mi
  • Edwards Gardens: 6.2 mi
  • Toronto Centre for the Arts: 8.5 mi
  • Scarborough Bluffs: 9.3 mi
  • Toronto Zoo: 15.4 mi

Dining

On-Site Dining
The Pub - Open 11am-11pm, casual, pub food,York Street Cafe - Open 6:30am-2pm, casual, breakfast and lunch.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
2:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for The Strathcona Hotel

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
158 out of 158
Amenities:
3.1
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3.5
Location:
4.7
Value:
3.8

82% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Strathcona Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
MGC40
Business
Boston ma
Aug 27, 2012

Stay away

Stayed The Strathcona Hotel past week, 4 nights . room was avg size one dresser two drawers for two double bed room. bathroom literly next to one bed .no drawrs for dsk or nightstand Wifi no matter how many times i asked never worked Cable reception poor , I complined . no help Close to all major areas ,but for the price not worth it all had one day breakfast buffet food buffet cold bad do

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Strathcona Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Marshfield, MA
Nov 28, 2010

Purely Awful

This hotel was not at all what it was advertised to be. No internet, no parking, no attractions...I ended up switching hotels.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Strathcona Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boston, MA
Sep 6, 2009

Poor service, tiny room

Room was tiny. Staff was not very friendly or helpful. Great location, but would not recommend this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Strathcona Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York
Dec 29, 2009

Strathcona review - the Worst hotel eve

The hotel and [...] FALSELY ADVERTISED.This ruined my trip. And I only got $100 refund for2 on a 3 night stay. There was garbage everwhere. The rooms were SMALL ANDFREEZING. I immediately cancelled my room and wentsomewhere else.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Strathcona Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Is. Traveler
Business
PEI, Canada
Sep 14, 2009

Awful, Refund Please

Room we reserved was not available. Room we were given was small and dirty. No chair, view of a wall. Staff was understanding and offered an upgrade. The 'upgraded' room was even worse. Orbitz was very supportive and arranged with the hotel to break our reservation and provided my refund.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Cirque du Soleil. Catch them while they are in town

Review of The Strathcona Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Cocoa Beach
Oct 18, 2008

Strathcona Hotel Toronto

Upon arrival to my room I found that the pillows had blond hair on them (I have brown hair), there was a towel hanging on the back of the bathroom door which I assume was previously used and lady's stockings were in the seat of the desk chair from the last person staying in the room. Two days later when returning to my room the maid had left her wet cleaning rag on top of my suitcase. So, in my opinion the housekeeping staff definitely needed some help and the front desk person in charge of reservations also could benefit from some instruction on how to handle reservations.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Many great restaurants in the area.

Review of The Strathcona Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boston, MA
Feb 21, 2010

Thumbs Down

It was like renting an ice locker. This room was in the corner of the hotel. There was a 19inch television tucked inside the closet space. Hardwood floors were unexpected. I gave the room plenty of time to heat up, over an hour - still, unsatisfactory. I didn't stay long enough to rate much anything else. The wi-fi was not complimentary. I suggest finding another hotel to truly enjoy your time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Strathcona Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Lau1122
Business
NJ
Jan 10, 2011

Not a good pick

There were two problems I had with the hotel. The first being that the Strathcona Hotel DID NOT HAVE A PARKING LOT OR PARKING GARAGE. I had not been told this before booking the hotel. When my friend and I got there we found out that we were going to have to pay to park our car in a garage a few streets over. That was something that I wish I had been notified about upfront. No parking was an inconvenience and an additional expense that I was not informed of. The second and BIGGEST problem was that when I hopped into the shower I discovered that hair from the previous guest was still in the shower and on the walls. It was CLEAR that they had not cleaned the shower!!! I give room cleanliness a big fat ZERO!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

If you do stay at the Strathcona Hotel then you will be near some great attractions. Definitely check out Casa Loma and the BATA Shoe Musuem. They are a quick subway ride or long walk away.

Review of The Strathcona Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
NSUII
Business
Washington DC
Jan 1, 2014

OK for Short Trip

OK hotel; very small rooms; hallways smelled; hard to find because of construction work; you have to walk several blocks for airport shuttle bus; wireless NOT FREE; lobby coffee NOT FREE; friendly, nice staff

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Strathcona Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Bubonix
Business
Gander, NL, Canada
Dec 13, 2011

Bang 4 Buck

The location is perfect for any events located in the downtown area near or at large concert or sports events. The price was right for a short visit in the city. There is a buffet style breakfast and a la carte options in morning and noon. The next time I stay I will opt for the larger room though the rooms on the lower levels were somewhat cozy for two and had no fridge. I had noticed that executive suites are better equipped with flat screen tvs and iPod docks. Overall it was a great stay and great value. The room was not conducive for company just sleeping. No chairs or table. When I opened the door fir the first time the feeling I got was "it will do"

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Great sports bar located 3 minutes of hotel it was REAL !

Back to menu Return to top