$70 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Mar 29, 2015 Check-out: Mar 30, 2015

The Strathcona Hotel

3 stars
View map of 60 York Street, Toronto, ON M5J 1S8

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Strathcona Hotel

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
160 out of 160
Amenities:
3.1
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
3.9
Comfort:
3.5
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.7

81% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Strathcona Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Cleveland, OH
Dec 17, 2010

Very Nice and Affordable

I enjoyed my experience with this hotel. It completely met my expectations. Checking in and out was easy, the room was small but very nice, and the hotel was in a good location. I drove to Toronto from the US and the hotel was very close to the highway and easy to find. The staff was extremely helpful and kind, and they really made our stay a nice experience. The restaurant below the hotel did not have the best food, but the prices weren't too bad. I would recommend this hotel, but maybe not for a large family because the rooms are pretty small.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Strathcona Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Bernsie
Business
Chicago, IL
Dec 14, 2010

Loved my stay

The Strathcona treated me very well. It is located in Toronto's Financial District. Ronald at the front desk was very courteous and helpful. I had booked a 2 single beds room due to it being the lowest price, but they upgraded me to a room with a queen-sized bed and I wasn't charged extra. The room was smaller than other hotel rooms I've stayed at - this didn't bother me, but it may bother other people. The room was immaculate - no dust anywhere. I didn't need to order room service or eat in the hotel eateries (York St. Cafe and The Pub) because the hotel was close to neighborhoods with good restaurants. Because of budget, I walked everywhere and chose places to eat that cost less than $10 per meal. I went to restaurants on Adelaide St W, King St W, Queen St W, Dundas St W and Front St. There are also many upscale restaurants in the area. I highly recommend purchasing internet because that's how I found places to eat. The internet cost was very inexpensive for my entire stay of 4 nights. A TTC subway station was located very close to the hotel on University Ave and King St W. My trip couldn't have gone any better, and that was largely due to the location of the Strathcona Hotel and the pleasant stay I had there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There are many inexpensive restaurant/eating options within walking distance of the hotel (walking distance for me is a mile or so). Alternatively, you can take the TTC subway because it's located 1-2 blocks from the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Strathcona Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Rochester, NY
Dec 14, 2010

nice no frills hotel

Would've given it a higher review but the hotel had no parking. Not a bad hotel. Room was small but clean. Heating unit was very picky. Went from freezing cold to so hot you couldn't stand it. Hotel is in a great part of the city.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Don't go anywhere near The Loose Moose. Rude unhelpful staff. Put the wrong order in for me. Girlfriend asked for chicken to be added to her salad. Waitress had an attitude and said she had to check with the kitchen. To her surprise the kitchen said it wouldn't be a problem. Service was very slow, drinks were overpriced and my burger was beyond well done. Stay away.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Strathcona Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
new to Toronto
Business
Boston, MA
Nov 29, 2010

Toronto Hotel Experience

The location of the hotel is really good as you can walk in any direction and get to a different neighborhood. The area is pretty quiet at night on the weekends since this is the financial district but just 3-4 blocks away on King St. and there is plenty to do. The room was fine - NYC style in space and amenities, inside room is very dark w/o much daylight. Unfortunately it is not a quiet hotel and I'm not talking street noise! The walls are thin, the hallways narrow so if anyone is partying late there is no question that you will here their noise. We did not take advantage of the in-hotel breakfast but it looked good from what we could see.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Long walk from hotel

Bloor/Yorkville area but worth the visit.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Strathcona Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Marshfield, MA
Nov 28, 2010

Purely Awful

This hotel was not at all what it was advertised to be. No internet, no parking, no attractions...I ended up switching hotels.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Strathcona Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Toronto
Nov 21, 2010

Well Located

The room was a bit small! really modern decor. Small like the room you will find in Paris !!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

To Shopping , Entertament, Train Station, Night life... Everything

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Strathcona Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
minnesota
Nov 15, 2010

great hotel, great location

classy hotel. Great location minutes away from union station for subway and queen street for street cars. The deluxe room is perfect for 1 person, too cramped for anymore.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

if you are looking for a great indian place, aroma on king and st. John is it!! Delish and minutes from second city and a short walk back to the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Strathcona Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ms traveler
Business
Midlands UK
Nov 6, 2010

Great value for money

Good overall value for money. Polite staff, room always clean. Good central location for exploring Toronto.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Expect Toronto to be an expensive city average transportation cost from airport to city $20 per person on shuttle coach, $55 by taxi. Tax as of Oct 2010 was at 13% added on at the tills.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Strathcona Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Ronzue
Business
Chicago, IL
Nov 4, 2010

Mixed Feelings...

We went to Toronto to attend a concert and meet some friends. stayed here for two nights. Overall, the hotel lacks in many ways except for one combination: great location for the price. The check-in staff was not friendly at all. I asked for parking info and he kept repeating - we don't have any parking in the hotel. Just mentioned that there is a parking next door and a couple others in the area but didn't provide helpful info about rates or whether we could park there overnight. Along the lines, they could not provide proper dinner recommendations as well. The room was barely walkable. Bed was sinking in. No water in the vending machine! Even after paying $9.99 + tax for internet, it was slow and the signal was very low.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Strathcona Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
rusillini
Business
Urbana, IL
Nov 3, 2010

Nice hotel for business trips

I was traveling to Toronto for business and I needed a quiet and comfortable place to work and rest. Strathcona is a perfect place for that. The king size bed in my room was really comfortable and the room was very clean. The only thing I could see from the window was the wall of a neighboring building, but who cares, it was very quiet room, given that the hotel is right in the heart of Toronto's business district. The desk and chair were very comfortable either.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top