$128 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 3, 2015 Check-out: Aug 4, 2015

The Strathcona Hotel

3 stars
View map of 60 York Street, Toronto, ON M5J 1S8

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Strathcona Hotel

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
181 out of 181
Amenities:
3.1
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3.5
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.7

80% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Strathcona Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
tadashi
Business
Orlando, Fl
Mar 31, 2011

Small cramped spaces aren't always nice

The Hotel room was very small with an old 19" TV and a very springy bed. The heating system did not work well at all, it was eithier too hot or too cold. Cold never regulate. Staff is nice enough but the concierge does not know his way around the immediate area. I really found everything on my own with the use of my Iphone. I do not recommend this hotel to anyone looking for comfort in the Toronto area. The Breakfast was horrible and the pub offers up an adequate salad but over cooked wings. All in all I will pay through the nose at one of the other hotels in area before I stay in this hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Canyon Creek is an excellent place to dine, made my trip to Toronto during a snow storm enjoyable

Review of The Strathcona Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Sudbury
Mar 12, 2011

The Great Escape!

Excellent location, very clean & new!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Strathcona Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Aurunner
Business
Houston, TX
Mar 5, 2011

Budget hotel with nicer interior

I had read the reviews before booking my trip at the Strathocona so I was wondering how it would be. I was very surprised that overall this was a B+ hotel. I was in downtown Toronto for a conference for work so was there in town about 3 days. Never been to Toronto before so this was a good experience overall. The bed was comfortable, the bathroom and floor etc was clean. It is a budget type hotel however this is not your typical Motel 6 experience. The hotel has hardwood (light colored) floors, and the in room heating system was working fine. I would have liked to have a microwave but there was a working coffee maker, ironing board, iron etc. Also a working alarm clock but I did bring my own along.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

If you walk around a little, there are a few fast food places, not a lot because Toronto does have an 18% tax rate on almost anything so basically there's not a lot of incentive for cheap places to eat.

Review of The Strathcona Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
FooDog
Business
Chicago, IL
Feb 19, 2011

5 stars for the location

The location was excellent!!! i have read the reviews prior booking the hotel, many of them said tiny rooms! And they were all right , the rooms are really really small! At lest the one we got! But if you go out there to explore Toronto and not spent lots of time in the hotel, i am totally recommending it ! the price was right too ! once again fantastic location!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Strathcona Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
SW Ontario
Feb 18, 2011

Convenient downtown location

The Strathcona is very convenient to Union Station and the entertainment district of downtown Toronto. Our room was on the small size, but quite adequate for two people, and had been recently renovated with hardwood floors and a flat screen TV, one of the best that I have seen in a mid range hotel. The staff were helpful, the dining room Ok. The hotel is clean with limited facilities, great value for a short stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Theatres, Tiff, waterfront all within walking distance

Review of The Strathcona Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
valentines weekend
Business
london
Feb 16, 2011

valentine get a away

went to a concert went to dinner at 360 rest. missing proper soap in the shower very small room hard to adjust tempt. in room due to its location

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

tim hortons across the street,ACC minutes away

Review of The Strathcona Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
valentines weekend
Business
london
Feb 16, 2011

valentine get a away

went to a concert went to dinner at 360 rest. missing proper soap in the shower very small room hard to adjust tempt. in room due to its location

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

tim hortons across the street,ACC minutes away

Review of The Strathcona Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Lau1122
Business
NJ
Jan 10, 2011

Not a good pick

There were two problems I had with the hotel. The first being that the Strathcona Hotel DID NOT HAVE A PARKING LOT OR PARKING GARAGE. I had not been told this before booking the hotel. When my friend and I got there we found out that we were going to have to pay to park our car in a garage a few streets over. That was something that I wish I had been notified about upfront. No parking was an inconvenience and an additional expense that I was not informed of. The second and BIGGEST problem was that when I hopped into the shower I discovered that hair from the previous guest was still in the shower and on the walls. It was CLEAR that they had not cleaned the shower!!! I give room cleanliness a big fat ZERO!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

If you do stay at the Strathcona Hotel then you will be near some great attractions. Definitely check out Casa Loma and the BATA Shoe Musuem. They are a quick subway ride or long walk away.

Review of The Strathcona Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Cleveland, OH
Dec 17, 2010

Very Nice and Affordable

I enjoyed my experience with this hotel. It completely met my expectations. Checking in and out was easy, the room was small but very nice, and the hotel was in a good location. I drove to Toronto from the US and the hotel was very close to the highway and easy to find. The staff was extremely helpful and kind, and they really made our stay a nice experience. The restaurant below the hotel did not have the best food, but the prices weren't too bad. I would recommend this hotel, but maybe not for a large family because the rooms are pretty small.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Strathcona Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Bernsie
Business
Chicago, IL
Dec 14, 2010

Loved my stay

The Strathcona treated me very well. It is located in Toronto's Financial District. Ronald at the front desk was very courteous and helpful. I had booked a 2 single beds room due to it being the lowest price, but they upgraded me to a room with a queen-sized bed and I wasn't charged extra. The room was smaller than other hotel rooms I've stayed at - this didn't bother me, but it may bother other people. The room was immaculate - no dust anywhere. I didn't need to order room service or eat in the hotel eateries (York St. Cafe and The Pub) because the hotel was close to neighborhoods with good restaurants. Because of budget, I walked everywhere and chose places to eat that cost less than $10 per meal. I went to restaurants on Adelaide St W, King St W, Queen St W, Dundas St W and Front St. There are also many upscale restaurants in the area. I highly recommend purchasing internet because that's how I found places to eat. The internet cost was very inexpensive for my entire stay of 4 nights. A TTC subway station was located very close to the hotel on University Ave and King St W. My trip couldn't have gone any better, and that was largely due to the location of the Strathcona Hotel and the pleasant stay I had there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There are many inexpensive restaurant/eating options within walking distance of the hotel (walking distance for me is a mile or so). Alternatively, you can take the TTC subway because it's located 1-2 blocks from the hotel.

Back to menu Return to top