$108 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Nov 1, 2014 Check-out: Nov 4, 2014

The Strathcona Hotel

3 stars
60 York Street, Toronto, ON M5J 1S8
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.4
out of 5
151 reviews
Toronto get-away

All very good. Would stay here again. Parking difficult to access hotel. See full review

  • Go Habs
  • Aug 1, 2014
Central location

Staff very helpful Hotel rooms small but clean and adequate. For such a good position prices very... See full review

  • MVDE
  • Oct 7, 2013
Find home-like comfort in the centre of this thriving cosmopolitan city
The Strathcona Hotel's excellent location puts guests at the heart of downtown Toronto, where guests find fashionable boutiques and department stores, art galleries and museums, the Metro Toronto Convention Centre and CN Tower, and so much more. Recently renovated rooms reflect a new, modern design and offer a variety of high-tech amenities, including Wi-Fi Internet access (fees apply).

Highlights
  • Excellent downtown location
  • Warm, friendly staff
  • Airport shuttle available

Rooms

Rooms at the Strathcona Hotel come in a variety of sizes, but all are cozy and tastefully decorated in warm colors and furnishings with clean lines. Find European-style wood floors, high-loft pillows, in-room movies and Wi-Fi Internet access (fees apply) in all rooms. Executive rooms and suites include upgraded amenities, complimentary newspapers and, in some cases, amazing city views.

Features

Walk to St. Lawrence Market or hop on the ferry to Centre Island. Stop into the popular, on-site York Street Cafe for breakfast or lunch seven days a week, or explore nearby restaurants. Guests enjoy discounted passes to the Wellington Fitness Club, next-door to the hotel, with more than 50 group exercise classes and squash lessons each week. The New Age Spa is in the same building, and guests are invited to make an appointment for any of the fantastic treatments offered there. Whether traveling for business or pleasure, stay connected with Wi-Fi Internet access throughout the premises (fees apply).

Transportation
  • Toronto Pearson International Airport (16.3 mi/26.3 km)
  • Public bus stop (in the same block)

Attractions
  • Hockey Hall of Fame (0.4 mi/0.7 km)
  • St. Lawrence Market (0.6 mi/1 km)
  • Royal Ontario Museum (2.2 mi/3.5 km)
  • Centre Island (2.5 mi/4 km)
  • Casa Loma (3.8 mi/6.1 km)

Business
  • 24 hour business centre
  • Wi-Fi Internet access available (fees apply)

Hotel Map

43.6459 -79.3827
Area served
Toronto, Canada
Nearby airports
Pearson International
Area description
The hotel is located in the heart of Downtown Toronto's Entertainment, Financial and Sports Districts, just steps to the city's must see attractions.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Strathcona Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

The Strathcona Hotel Rooms

Executive King Bed
Executive room with one king bed, hair dryer, coffee maker, radio alarm clock, iron and ironing board, cable TV with remote and in-room movies. The room also offers high-speed wireless internet, desk with data port, phone with voice mail and individual climate control. Non-smoking room. No rollaways allowed in this room type.
Smart Two Single Beds
Smart room with two twin beds, radio alarm clock, cable TV with pay-per-view, phone with voicemail and hair dryer. Windows open and the room has individual climate control. Non-smoking room. No rollaways allowed in this room type.
Executive Two Double Beds
Executive room with two double beds. Room is equipped with a radio alarm clock, cable TV with pay-per-view and phone with voice mail. The room windows open. The room also includes individual climate control and a hair dryer. Non-smoking room. One rollaway allowed in this room type.
Smart One Queen Bed
Smart room with one queen bed, radio alarm clock and cable TV with pay-per-view. Room windows open. Room also has individual climate control, phone with voicemail and hair dryer. Non-smoking room. No rollaways allowed in this room type.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Airport shuttle
Activities
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Massey Hall: 0.2 mi
  • Toronto Symphony Orchestra: 0.2 mi
  • The Air Canada Centre: 0.2 mi
  • Air Canada Centre: 0.3 mi
  • Hockey Hall of Fame: 0.3 mi
  • Princess of Wales Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Four Seasons Centre for the Performing Arts: 0.4 mi
  • CN Tower: 0.4 mi
  • Rogers Centre: 0.4 mi
  • Harbourfront Centre: 0.4 mi
  • The Elgin and Winter Garden Theatre Centre: 0.5 mi
  • Eaton Centre: 0.6 mi
  • National Ballet of Canada: 0.6 mi
  • St Lawrence Market: 0.6 mi
  • Pantages Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Massey Hall: 0.2 mi
  • Toronto Symphony Orchestra: 0.2 mi
  • The Air Canada Centre: 0.2 mi
  • Air Canada Centre: 0.3 mi
  • Hockey Hall of Fame: 0.3 mi
  • Princess of Wales Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Four Seasons Centre for the Performing Arts: 0.4 mi
  • CN Tower: 0.4 mi
  • Rogers Centre: 0.4 mi
  • Harbourfront Centre: 0.4 mi
  • The Elgin and Winter Garden Theatre Centre: 0.5 mi
  • Eaton Centre: 0.6 mi
  • National Ballet of Canada: 0.6 mi
  • St Lawrence Market: 0.6 mi
  • Pantages Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Mackenzie House: 0.7 mi
  • The AGO, Art gallery of Ontario: 0.7 mi
  • Toronto Music Garden: 0.8 mi
  • Fort York: 1.1 mi
  • Allan Gardens Conservatory: 1.2 mi
  • Distillery District: 1.2 mi
  • Centre Island: 1.3 mi
  • University of Toronto: 1.4 mi
  • Toronto Island Park: 1.6 mi
  • Royal Ontario Museum: 1.7 mi
  • Royal Conservatory of Music: 1.7 mi
  • Bata Shoe Museum: 1.7 mi
  • Yorkville: 1.8 mi
  • Toronto Public Library: 1.8 mi
  • Spandina Historic House: 2.6 mi
  • Casa Loma: 2.9 mi
  • Ashbridge's Bay Park: 3.8 mi
  • High Park: 4.2 mi
  • The Beaches: 4.6 mi
  • Ontario Science Centre: 5.4 mi
  • Edwards Gardens: 6.2 mi
  • Toronto Centre for the Arts: 8.5 mi
  • Scarborough Bluffs: 9.3 mi
  • Toronto Zoo: 15.4 mi

Dining

On-Site Dining
The Pub - Open 11am-11pm, casual, pub food,York Street Cafe - Open 6:30am-2pm, casual, breakfast and lunch.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (151)

Ratings and reviews for The Strathcona Hotel

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
151 out of 151
Amenities:
3.1
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
3.9
Room comfort:
3.5
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.7

80% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Strathcona Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Lau1122
Business
NJ
Jan 10, 2011

Not a good pick

There were two problems I had with the hotel. The first being that the Strathcona Hotel DID NOT HAVE A PARKING LOT OR PARKING GARAGE. I had not been told this before booking the hotel. When my friend and I got there we found out that we were going to have to pay to park our car in a garage a few streets over. That was something that I wish I had been notified about upfront. No parking was an inconvenience and an additional expense that I was not informed of. The second and BIGGEST problem was that when I hopped into the shower I discovered that hair from the previous guest was still in the shower and on the walls. It was CLEAR that they had not cleaned the shower!!! I give room cleanliness a big fat ZERO!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

If you do stay at the Strathcona Hotel then you will be near some great attractions. Definitely check out Casa Loma and the BATA Shoe Musuem. They are a quick subway ride or long walk away.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Strathcona Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Cleveland, OH
Dec 17, 2010

Very Nice and Affordable

I enjoyed my experience with this hotel. It completely met my expectations. Checking in and out was easy, the room was small but very nice, and the hotel was in a good location. I drove to Toronto from the US and the hotel was very close to the highway and easy to find. The staff was extremely helpful and kind, and they really made our stay a nice experience. The restaurant below the hotel did not have the best food, but the prices weren't too bad. I would recommend this hotel, but maybe not for a large family because the rooms are pretty small.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Strathcona Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Bernsie
Business
Chicago, IL
Dec 14, 2010

Loved my stay

The Strathcona treated me very well. It is located in Toronto's Financial District. Ronald at the front desk was very courteous and helpful. I had booked a 2 single beds room due to it being the lowest price, but they upgraded me to a room with a queen-sized bed and I wasn't charged extra. The room was smaller than other hotel rooms I've stayed at - this didn't bother me, but it may bother other people. The room was immaculate - no dust anywhere. I didn't need to order room service or eat in the hotel eateries (York St. Cafe and The Pub) because the hotel was close to neighborhoods with good restaurants. Because of budget, I walked everywhere and chose places to eat that cost less than $10 per meal. I went to restaurants on Adelaide St W, King St W, Queen St W, Dundas St W and Front St. There are also many upscale restaurants in the area. I highly recommend purchasing internet because that's how I found places to eat. The internet cost was very inexpensive for my entire stay of 4 nights. A TTC subway station was located very close to the hotel on University Ave and King St W. My trip couldn't have gone any better, and that was largely due to the location of the Strathcona Hotel and the pleasant stay I had there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There are many inexpensive restaurant/eating options within walking distance of the hotel (walking distance for me is a mile or so). Alternatively, you can take the TTC subway because it's located 1-2 blocks from the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Strathcona Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Rochester, NY
Dec 14, 2010

nice no frills hotel

Would've given it a higher review but the hotel had no parking. Not a bad hotel. Room was small but clean. Heating unit was very picky. Went from freezing cold to so hot you couldn't stand it. Hotel is in a great part of the city.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Don't go anywhere near The Loose Moose. Rude unhelpful staff. Put the wrong order in for me. Girlfriend asked for chicken to be added to her salad. Waitress had an attitude and said she had to check with the kitchen. To her surprise the kitchen said it wouldn't be a problem. Service was very slow, drinks were overpriced and my burger was beyond well done. Stay away.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Strathcona Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
new to Toronto
Business
Boston, MA
Nov 29, 2010

Toronto Hotel Experience

The location of the hotel is really good as you can walk in any direction and get to a different neighborhood. The area is pretty quiet at night on the weekends since this is the financial district but just 3-4 blocks away on King St. and there is plenty to do. The room was fine - NYC style in space and amenities, inside room is very dark w/o much daylight. Unfortunately it is not a quiet hotel and I'm not talking street noise! The walls are thin, the hallways narrow so if anyone is partying late there is no question that you will here their noise. We did not take advantage of the in-hotel breakfast but it looked good from what we could see.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Long walk from hotel

Bloor/Yorkville area but worth the visit.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Strathcona Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Marshfield, MA
Nov 28, 2010

Purely Awful

This hotel was not at all what it was advertised to be. No internet, no parking, no attractions...I ended up switching hotels.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Strathcona Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Toronto
Nov 21, 2010

Well Located

The room was a bit small! really modern decor. Small like the room you will find in Paris !!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

To Shopping , Entertament, Train Station, Night life... Everything

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Strathcona Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
minnesota
Nov 15, 2010

great hotel, great location

classy hotel. Great location minutes away from union station for subway and queen street for street cars. The deluxe room is perfect for 1 person, too cramped for anymore.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

if you are looking for a great indian place, aroma on king and st. John is it!! Delish and minutes from second city and a short walk back to the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Strathcona Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ms traveler
Business
Midlands UK
Nov 6, 2010

Great value for money

Good overall value for money. Polite staff, room always clean. Good central location for exploring Toronto.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Expect Toronto to be an expensive city average transportation cost from airport to city $20 per person on shuttle coach, $55 by taxi. Tax as of Oct 2010 was at 13% added on at the tills.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Strathcona Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Ronzue
Business
Chicago, IL
Nov 4, 2010

Mixed Feelings...

We went to Toronto to attend a concert and meet some friends. stayed here for two nights. Overall, the hotel lacks in many ways except for one combination: great location for the price. The check-in staff was not friendly at all. I asked for parking info and he kept repeating - we don't have any parking in the hotel. Just mentioned that there is a parking next door and a couple others in the area but didn't provide helpful info about rates or whether we could park there overnight. Along the lines, they could not provide proper dinner recommendations as well. The room was barely walkable. Bed was sinking in. No water in the vending machine! Even after paying $9.99 + tax for internet, it was slow and the signal was very low.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top