$112 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 5, 2015 Check-out: Jul 6, 2015

The Strathcona Hotel

3 stars
View map of 60 York Street, Toronto, ON M5J 1S8

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Strathcona Hotel

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
181 out of 181
Amenities:
3.1
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3.5
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.7

80% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Strathcona Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
JRad
Business
Detroit, MI, USA
Feb 8, 2012

Excellent service but lacking in amenities

My room was the tiniest hotel room I'd ever seen, which is fine because I didn't really need a big room, it was just surprisingly small and did not have a chair or anything, just the bed (which took up most of the room) and a couple tables. There was this red light in the closet that I was some mix between looking modern and making it look like a place you would take a hooker (a hooker you are paying a LOT of money but aren't planning on spending the night in the hotel afterward--actually, this is probably why the comforter was not super warm and the warm blanket was hidden in the closet where I didn't find it till my last night) It was irritating that I had to pay for Internet in my hotel, then the Internet ended up being *so slow* that it was hard to get stuff done. It was also irritating that a lot of other little amenities you would expect from a hotel room were missing (like lotion? and soft towels? the towels were kinda crummy and rough). There was also a gym next door that we got discounts on using for being a guest at the hotel, but it still cost $10 to use. In spite of all that, the service was excellent. I was impressed with the fact that basically from the time I checked in, every staff member knew which room I was in without asking every time I was down at the desk and many of them knew my name!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Strathcona Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
BusinessTravel2012
Business
Montreal, QC, Canada
Jan 14, 2012

Perfect Location

Hotel is less than 5 minutes away from the train station and Bay Street. Staff was very courteous and there is a Tim Hortons right across the street. Internet is paid, but good speed and they keep your luggage if you need it. Only minus, the room was a bit cold, but bumped it up to max and was ok.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Minutes from train station.

Review of The Strathcona Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Bubonix
Business
Gander, NL, Canada
Dec 13, 2011

Bang 4 Buck

The location is perfect for any events located in the downtown area near or at large concert or sports events. The price was right for a short visit in the city. There is a buffet style breakfast and a la carte options in morning and noon. The next time I stay I will opt for the larger room though the rooms on the lower levels were somewhat cozy for two and had no fridge. I had noticed that executive suites are better equipped with flat screen tvs and iPod docks. Overall it was a great stay and great value. The room was not conducive for company just sleeping. No chairs or table. When I opened the door fir the first time the feeling I got was "it will do"

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Great sports bar located 3 minutes of hotel it was REAL !

Review of The Strathcona Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Meself
Business
Florida, USA
Dec 2, 2011

Great Location

Great location, great price. However as they have window A/C heaters, you can hear the traffice noise all night long. Cars, trucks...even when they back up..BEEP, BEEP, BEEP, BEEP.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Strathcona Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Futbol Fan 1
Business
Cleveland, OH, USA
Nov 21, 2011

Loved the Strathcona

Despite that fact that they could not readily find my online reservation, they made it good. The location is awesome - walking distance of the harbour, fine dining and shopping. The parking situation was unpredictable and the garage entrance next door would be closed at random times. The room was exceptionally clean and that means a lot to us. The cost was very reasonable - we will definitely book there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Go to the Lawrence market and gather some unique foods then picnic at the harbour.

Review of The Strathcona Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Gladriel
Business
Hartford, CT, USA
Nov 7, 2011

Perfect Toronto location

The room was neat , efficient and clean The hard wood floor in the room was a welcome bonus.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The CN Tower is very close and subway near by was easy to understand and made other destinations very easy to get to.

Review of The Strathcona Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Atsa
Business
Philadelphia, PA, USA
Nov 6, 2011

won't be going back

The room was very small. Light came in the room under the door at night. The TV was very small (16 inch) and was placed in the 1/2 closet with my clothes. there was only three hangers in the closet.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Strathcona Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
travel fan
Business
canada
Oct 13, 2011

good value; noise intrusive

7th floor room. 11 day stay. only major complaint extremely loud bang when any door closed in the adjacent hallway. there is a large gap between the floor and bottom of door, no insulation and heavy automatic hinge that shuts door with a bang. other guests seemingly unable to make any effort to gently close doors means forget about sleeping after 6 am.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Strathcona Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Caramelle
Business
Montréal, Canada
Oct 1, 2011

Good deal for downtown Toronto

Recently renovated and spotless. The room is a little small but space is well utilized. Within walking distance of most of downtown Toronto (across from the Royal York and very close to Union Station). I did not need to take the subway or streetcars and took a cab only once, to get back to the bus station. I knew this hotel from before the facelift and will certainly go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Strathcona Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
KenInVA
Business
Norfolk, VA, USA
Sep 27, 2011

Great value in the heart of Toronto

It's not the most feature-packed hotel I've been to. The rooms are a bit on the small size, but cozy and clean. The most stand-out feature is the location, it's close to the subway, street car, the bus, restaurants and shopping. The view from the room wasn't spectacular, but it didn't need to be. The price made it affordable in the center of downtown. Housekeeping was friendly and efficient. The front desk staff was a bit apathetic, but not rude. However, parking our rental was a problem. Had to use the municipal lot which was pricey. Some sort of enter/exit privilege or discount would have been a plus.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Skip the breakfast in the hotel lobby and go up Church St. for some great eating opportunities.

Back to menu Return to top