$124 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 30, 2015 Check-out: May 31, 2015

The Strathcona Hotel

3 stars
View map of 60 York Street, Toronto, ON M5J 1S8

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Strathcona Hotel

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
179 out of 179
Amenities:
3.1
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
3.9
Comfort:
3.5
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.7

79% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Strathcona Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Ben Ballin
Business
Buffalo NY
Jul 20, 2013

TINY ROOMS

Our room was smaller than my walk in closet at my house. Nice location, but would stay somewhere else next time for the price and size.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Houston avenue bar and grill was awesome 5 min walk

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Strathcona Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Traveler136
Business
NY
Jun 13, 2013

You get what you pay for...

Location is in heart of downtown.... The rest.... Rooms are nearly like Japanese capsule hotels... Never been in room soo small... Decor is nice, though. Modern looking, very clean. Floor is laminate, not usual carpet, which is good. View - it's in concrete well, surrounded by highrises. Windows - small, upper level... Next to it construction - early am was awakened by heavy machinery hitting metal on metal... Will gets out even the dead! No bar soap / no moisturizers given. Only liquid shampoo and liquid soap. Parking (if you came by a car) is problematic. I understand, it's downtown and technically not hotel's problem, BUT ... Adjacent to it is some underground parking. Came by 12.30 pm was parked until 6.45 pm. Then drove off and came 9 pm, left 10.30 am next morning. Was charged for parking 18 + 24 dollars. Total 42! dollars for approx 1 day stay... Something to consider IF you are driving...also should be mentioned it's surrounded by construction, so to arrive it's not straightforward .... Hope it helps....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Strathcona Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
PP70
Business
Vienna, Austria, Europe
May 3, 2013

good location

after a VIA trip "The Canadian" I booked this hotel as its close to central station. every point in downtown is accessible, I enjoyed a walk to CN tower, ontario lake.. rooms are tight, nevertheless everything maintained very well. good for a SHORT stay in toronto.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Distillery Town

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Strathcona Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
BAWAT
Business
Boynton Beach, Florida
Apr 26, 2013

Great family getaway

Very good experience for the price. Especially good concierge service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Dine at the 360 restaurant at the CN building. Not cheap, but the food is good, the staff friendly and the views are fantastic.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Strathcona Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
formerly from Toronto
Business
London, ON, Canada
Apr 22, 2013

Perfect spot if you just need a comfortable room for sleeping

The rooms are small. If you're ok with that, this hotel is in a perfect location and the price is right. Rooms are clean and beds are comfortable. We stayed in an "executive queen" and furnishings, bathroom etc..had been recently refurbed. Bare bones, nothing fancy, but clean. Room was quiet as well. Overall, if you want to be close to harbourfront, entertainment district, CN Tower etc..it's your best value. The overall 4 rating is for the location/value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Strathcona Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
burgh runner
Business
pittsburgh pa
Feb 24, 2013

great value and location

The staff was friendly and helpful, the room cozy and location was awesome. We enjoyed our stay and would reccomend it to other budget travelllers. Dont expect many in room amenities like a refrigerator or microwave. You are in the heart of Toronto though! Enjoy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Strathcona Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Conference Person
Business
New York
Jan 12, 2013

Very cozy and lovely to stay at

I really enjoyed my stay , however, I was barely in the room due to the proximity of many attractions and restaurants in the area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Strathcona Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Familia Lopez
Business
Montreal, Qc.
Jan 8, 2013

Great Location

The Strathcona Hotel is perfectly located in Downtown Toronto. We were able to walk to several places and the room comfort and cleanliness are great. I will recommend it and will come back for sure!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Strathcona Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
BostonianTraveller
Business
Boston, MA
Dec 26, 2012

Reviving the Islamic Spirit

The Strathcona Hotel is an excellent hotel located in downtown Toronto. The staff was extreamly helpful. The hotel was part of an agreement with the MTCC Convention Center, so we had an affordable rate along with free wi-fi for the weekend, and a extra cot for free.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Strathcona Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Amira
Business
Toronto, ON, Canada
Aug 29, 2012

Nice stay.. again!

Last time we stayed in the suite which was HUGE and amazing, but this time we took an executive room. The rooms are rather smaller and european like but the bed, furniture and TV are all brand new and very nice! Best of all this hotel is in a WONDERFUL location steps from everything exciting in TO and the rooms are very reasonably priced. If you're planning to be out on the town a lot the size of the room really doesn't matter too much! I will definitely stay there again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Marche at Brookfield place! Always great for breakfast brunch and dinner!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top