$94 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 23, 2015 Check-out: Apr 24, 2015

The Strathcona Hotel

3 stars
View map of 60 York Street, Toronto, ON M5J 1S8

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Strathcona Hotel

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
160 out of 160
Amenities:
3.1
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
3.9
Comfort:
3.5
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.7

81% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Strathcona Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
waco,Tx
Jun 21, 2009

fair price for a fair room

nice and quiet with a great location. just a little small

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

go to jack astons!! great food and entertainment.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Strathcona Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
alison2682
Business
Boston area, MA
Jun 15, 2009

Great Location, Decent Hotel

We were only in Toronto for two days, so we really wanted to be a centralized location to touristy things. While the rooms were small and beds were small, they were clean and neat and provided a good place to crash at the end of the day. The location was great! It was just a short walk to the Hockey Hall of Fame, the CN Tower, a few really nice parks and Kensington Market wasn't all that far (we walked). It was also close to a coffee shop and a bunch of restaurants. We didn't have to cab at all, but they were plentiful in the area if you are there longer and wanted to venture out further. Overall a decent room in a great location. Major downsides for me were the lack of a chain lock on the doors, while you could turn on the a/c, it would turn on and off throughout the night and was fairly noisy, the beds were not super comfortable. But, I guess you get what you pay for because we got a really good deal through Orbitz. Also, it looks like they have plans for some renovations, so it may improve throughout the rest of 2009.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

CN Tower, Hockey Hall of Fame, Kensington Market, University of Toronto, shops, lots of restaurants, etc.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Strathcona Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
sparkowl
Business
Birmingham, MI
Jun 7, 2009

Strathcona

The Strathcona Hotel in Toronto, located on York and Wellington, was centered perfeclty amidst the heart of the city, the waterfront and most of the popular tourist attractions. A perk that staying her entitled us to was having the subway station within fifty feet of the hotels front door. This made traveling to any locations that were not within immediate walking distance, of which there were not many, a lot easier. The hotel has an underground parking area directly below it at a very reasonable rate. The hotel itself was clean and comfortable but not very spacious and did not include a lot of amenities. It offers all the neccessities for a good price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Watermark restaurant, despite having a fantastic location overlooking the water and a spacious outdoor dining area, offered the poorest service I and my girlfreind have ever experienced. We waited over an hour for our meals of which neither of us ate because of how poor the quality was.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Strathcona Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Minneapolis, MN
Jun 6, 2009

GREAT location and service

I appreciate the consideration from the housekeepers. She considered my comments/requests right away.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Strathcona Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boston, MA
May 31, 2009

Location! Location! Location!

We chose the Strathcona bc of it's convenience to the Rogers Center -- our trip was primarily to see the Red Sox vs the Jays. We were delighfully surprised to arrive and find that we were close to everything in downtown Toronto, both by foot and public transportation. Rooms and bathrooms were small as was the closet. Amenities were few, but if you're looking for a good price and a great spot, then this is it. BTW -- restaurant service was also available and quite nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a multitude of very inviting dining areas all within walking distance of the Strathcona --- fine dining and more casual with lots of quait outdoor areas.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Strathcona Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New Jersey
May 27, 2009

Classy on the cheap

Nice, trendy rooms, though a bit on the small side... (two DOUBLE beds??). Great location for the price - right across the street from CN tower, Union Station, Rogers Center. No free WiFi is a bummer in a place that is otherwise pretty hip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

At first glance, there is no direct, easy connection to the airport via subway/rail, so may people opt for the $20 express bus. I found that by riding the 192 airport rocket to the Kipling subway stop and taking the subway to Union Station (change in Bloor), it cost only $2.25 plus you get the real Toronto transportation experience. Takes about an hour.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Strathcona Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Winnipeg
May 9, 2009

could be great, not just very good

Enjoyed walking and seeing the waterfront and shops in the area

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Royal Ontario Museum, a long walk or short subway ride north

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Strathcona Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Fort Mcmurray
Dec 30, 2008

Small Rooms

Rooms were much smaller than I thought they would be, had to upgrade to a larger one.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Long walk from hotel

CN Tower

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Strathcona Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Bronx
Dec 23, 2008

My review of The Strathcona Hotel

You are really in the middle of everything at a great value. It's a great central starting point for a tour of downtown Toronto. The Strathcona provided a cozy getaway from the constant traffic, just around the corner. I enjoyed eating at the bar/restaurant in the lower level, the food was pretty good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The CN Tower and Rogers Centre are within a 5 minute walk.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Strathcona Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Oct 27, 2008

Convenient location

Within walking distance of train station and convention centre; good value for money if you are attending a meeting in Toronto, Canada.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top