$103 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 18, 2015 Check-out: Aug 20, 2015

The Strathcona Hotel

3 stars
View map of 60 York Street, Toronto, ON M5J 1S8

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Strathcona Hotel

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
158 out of 158
Amenities:
3.1
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3.5
Location:
4.7
Value:
3.8

82% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Strathcona Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Red Sox follower
Business
Naugatuck, CT
Aug 25, 2009

Close to Rogers Centre

Nice little pub in the basement, many good resturaunts very close, walking distance to Rogers Centre. Location is close to everything you would want to do in Toronto.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Walk through the "path" to get directly to the Rogers Centre.

Review of The Strathcona Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bill Greene
Business
Los Angeles, California
Aug 22, 2009

Great location that's right downtown

We love the location across from the train station, Metro, and walking distance to Rogers Centre. Wheels on beds make them roll away from the wall when you try to read which is a nuisance.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Across the street is a Tim Hortons food place. Right next door is a small store, and there is a Second Cup coffee shop right down the street.

Review of The Strathcona Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Detroit, MI
Aug 15, 2009

Excellent!

The staff verry friendly and efficient. The decoration is very nice and clean. The rooms are small but they are updated. The location is excellent and near to all the attractions and subways.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Strathcona Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Grand Rapids, MI
Aug 11, 2009

Great bargain!

The strathcona is in a prime location for sightseeing and nightlife. Its right between the club district and the world famous eaton centre. the rooms, although small, are clean and decorated with a modern touch. everything was in good working order.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Strathcona Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
AEKaki
Business
Montreal, QC
Aug 6, 2009

It was ok.... I expected better

I expected a lot more from the hotel considering there are better reviews. If you just want a room in downtown Toronto, next to the CN tour, and you don't care for the type of room they offer and want something cheap, then this is the place for you. If you want something decent enough to relax and have your "space", then pay the extra 20-30$ and go somewhere better.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Strathcona Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago, IL
Jul 27, 2009

Strathcona Hotel July 2009

It was fine.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Strathcona Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
montreal
Jul 6, 2009

Convenient location

Great location, helpful staff, however room was small although quiet. I would recommend this hotel. Conveniently located near the train and bus station.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Strathcona Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
philadelphia, pa
Jun 29, 2009

Clean and very centrally located

The location is fantastic. It was extremely easy to get to driving in from the QEW. The location was excellent - less than 10 or 15 minutes from the queen street bars and entertainment district, CN tower, Rogers center, Eaton center mall, etc... I parked at the underground lot next door even though they told me it was expensive (it came out to $42 for thursday afternoon through saturday am which seemed reasonable). Also enjoyed the hotel bar. Only negative is that the room we had faced somewhat of a courtyard surrounded by 3 other buildings and let in very little light - but I was away all day anyway so it wasnt too bad.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Very close to Queen Street and the entertainment district

Review of The Strathcona Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
waco,Tx
Jun 21, 2009

fair price for a fair room

nice and quiet with a great location. just a little small

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

go to jack astons!! great food and entertainment.

Review of The Strathcona Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
alison2682
Business
Boston area, MA
Jun 15, 2009

Great Location, Decent Hotel

We were only in Toronto for two days, so we really wanted to be a centralized location to touristy things. While the rooms were small and beds were small, they were clean and neat and provided a good place to crash at the end of the day. The location was great! It was just a short walk to the Hockey Hall of Fame, the CN Tower, a few really nice parks and Kensington Market wasn't all that far (we walked). It was also close to a coffee shop and a bunch of restaurants. We didn't have to cab at all, but they were plentiful in the area if you are there longer and wanted to venture out further. Overall a decent room in a great location. Major downsides for me were the lack of a chain lock on the doors, while you could turn on the a/c, it would turn on and off throughout the night and was fairly noisy, the beds were not super comfortable. But, I guess you get what you pay for because we got a really good deal through Orbitz. Also, it looks like they have plans for some renovations, so it may improve throughout the rest of 2009.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

CN Tower, Hockey Hall of Fame, Kensington Market, University of Toronto, shops, lots of restaurants, etc.

Back to menu Return to top