$105 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 6, 2015 Check-out: Sep 8, 2015

The Strathcona Hotel

3 stars
View map of 60 York Street, Toronto, ON M5J 1S8

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Strathcona Hotel

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
161 out of 161
Amenities:
3.1
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3.5
Location:
4.7
Value:
3.8

82% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Strathcona Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
thrifty conference traveller
Business
New Hampshire
Sep 6, 2009

Good location, reasonable price

I was in Toronto for a conference at the convention center. The Strathcona was a reasonably priced alternative to other hotels in the area, and just as convenient. The rooms were small but clean and nicely done. I didn't spend much time in the room, but it was a comfortable and convenient stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Strathcona Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
Boston, MA
Sep 6, 2009

Poor service, tiny room

Room was tiny. Staff was not very friendly or helpful. Great location, but would not recommend this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of The Strathcona Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
A canadian that lives in Plymouth, MI
Sep 3, 2009

Disappointed beyond belief

This Hotel was incredibly disappointing. I brought my 2 boys to Toronto for the "downtown" experience and going against my better judgement, opted to try something new. Bad choice. The staff initially didn't have my reservation from Orbitz, he answered 5 phone calls before finishing my check in a 1/2 hour later with my 2 kids present. The he put us in a "better" room and after finding out parking was >$40 for a 24 hour period, OR 2 blocks away, we hauled all of our luggage back to the hotel only 2 find that the "better" room was a queen bed in a matchbox room size that smelled so bad of smoke we were coughing!! When I hauled my kids and luggage back to front desk I was greeted by a new person that disbelived my findings and even my kids were trying to defend me! He then set us up in another room, about the same size.. with 2 twin beds. It was in view of a brick wall and incredibly small. Whenever we walked through the lobby we were greeted with stares at the kids. Someone in the elevator actually commented on them being there!!!!! Aside from the location, and there are many hotels in the same area.. I will NEVER stay at this place again!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of The Strathcona Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Red Sox follower
Family
Naugatuck, CT
Aug 25, 2009

Close to Rogers Centre

Nice little pub in the basement, many good resturaunts very close, walking distance to Rogers Centre. Location is close to everything you would want to do in Toronto.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Walk through the "path" to get directly to the Rogers Centre.

Review of The Strathcona Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bill Greene
Couples
Los Angeles, California
Aug 22, 2009

Great location that's right downtown

We love the location across from the train station, Metro, and walking distance to Rogers Centre. Wheels on beds make them roll away from the wall when you try to read which is a nuisance.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Across the street is a Tim Hortons food place. Right next door is a small store, and there is a Second Cup coffee shop right down the street.

Review of The Strathcona Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
Detroit, MI
Aug 15, 2009

Excellent!

The staff verry friendly and efficient. The decoration is very nice and clean. The rooms are small but they are updated. The location is excellent and near to all the attractions and subways.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of The Strathcona Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Friends
Grand Rapids, MI
Aug 11, 2009

Great bargain!

The strathcona is in a prime location for sightseeing and nightlife. Its right between the club district and the world famous eaton centre. the rooms, although small, are clean and decorated with a modern touch. everything was in good working order.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of The Strathcona Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
AEKaki
Couples
Montreal, QC
Aug 6, 2009

It was ok.... I expected better

I expected a lot more from the hotel considering there are better reviews. If you just want a room in downtown Toronto, next to the CN tour, and you don't care for the type of room they offer and want something cheap, then this is the place for you. If you want something decent enough to relax and have your "space", then pay the extra 20-30$ and go somewhere better.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of The Strathcona Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Single
Chicago, IL
Jul 27, 2009

Strathcona Hotel July 2009

It was fine.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of The Strathcona Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Single
montreal
Jul 6, 2009

Convenient location

Great location, helpful staff, however room was small although quiet. I would recommend this hotel. Conveniently located near the train and bus station.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Single

Back to menu Return to top