$123 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 30, 2015 Check-out: May 31, 2015

The Strathcona Hotel

3 stars
View map of 60 York Street, Toronto, ON M5J 1S8

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Strathcona Hotel

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
179 out of 179
Amenities:
3.1
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
3.9
Comfort:
3.5
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.7

79% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Strathcona Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Apr 25, 2010

toronto

small rooms, small bathroom, good location, bad beds.. still charges for wifi

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Strathcona Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
UK
Mar 16, 2010

You get what you pay for

It's a nice enough hotel - it's clean, well-decorated in a modern style and functional. The rooms are a little on the small side and there isn't much in the way of sound insulation, but it's relatively cheap. The major fact which should sell this hotel to anyone is that it's in a fantastic location right in the centre of Toronto, three minutes from the main train station and five from the CN tower/Air Canada centre complex. It's also nice that there is a Tim Hortons directly across the road, so breakfast is never a problem, either.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

CN Tower

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Strathcona Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boston, MA
Feb 21, 2010

Thumbs Down

It was like renting an ice locker. This room was in the corner of the hotel. There was a 19inch television tucked inside the closet space. Hardwood floors were unexpected. I gave the room plenty of time to heat up, over an hour - still, unsatisfactory. I didn't stay long enough to rate much anything else. The wi-fi was not complimentary. I suggest finding another hotel to truly enjoy your time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Strathcona Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
NYC
Jan 21, 2010

good location and large room

very nice location and room is pretty large but I found a bed bug!!! and that freaked me out!! and hotel stuffs are not so friendly but I didn't really care.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Strathcona Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Committee woman
Business
Ottawa ON
Jan 12, 2010

Central and across from my Porter bus

Central clean, all basic needs provided

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Strathcona Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Michigan
Jan 4, 2010

Good location. Small rooms

Stayed for 4 nights New Year's Weekend for a friends wedding. Room was small but adiquate. We are coffee drinkers and had to ask more than once for additional coffee packets (usually received only one at a time). Original reservation made two months in advance was not on file when I called to confirm the day before arrival. [...]Location was great for our itinerary.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Strathcona Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
blsmith7
Business
Tampa, FL
Jan 4, 2010

Great Experience

We had a great experience at this hotel. It was centrally located in Toronto with a very helpful staff. I would suggest you bring your own pillow as all of there's are rock hard. Other than that everything was wonderful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Strathcona Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York
Dec 29, 2009

Strathcona review - the Worst hotel eve

The hotel and [...] FALSELY ADVERTISED.This ruined my trip. And I only got $100 refund for2 on a 3 night stay. There was garbage everwhere. The rooms were SMALL ANDFREEZING. I immediately cancelled my room and wentsomewhere else.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Strathcona Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
couple retreaters
Business
lansing MI
Dec 1, 2009

small but clean

great downtown location, easy to walk to many main attractions. clean beds but i wanted to use the fitness room but i'm not going to pay $20 for half an hour of workout. the soap and shampoo was awful so bring your own. the servicing of rooms is great. i didnt like the hard wood floors but my husband did. the tv was older than other hotels we've stayed in but it was a decent size and got decent channels. there are not many areas to set things down and no where to sit except the bed. its not a room to hang out in. mostly just for sleeping. the shower was great. the walls are very thin so you hear your neigbors coming and going and when they use the toilet and the closet rod, so if they get up earlier or go down later than you do you hear it and it can wake you up. we were there end of november and the room was very warm even without use of the heater in fact we had to use the cooler a few times so we could sleep even though outside was below freezing! there is no parking for the hotel you have to find an underground parking yourself and pay for all the hours your car is there. it wasnt too bad but if the garage is far from your hotel it can be a pain.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: In Hotel

look at all the maps and information in the hotel lobby. it is full of ideas and coupons that we didnt discover until our last day.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Strathcona Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Julie Mac
Business
Rochester NY
Nov 29, 2009

Perfect location for Air Canada Concert

For the nearby concert we were attending (at Air Canada) it was a good choice. We didn't plan on spending too much time in the room, so we were looking for something affordable and convenient. Perfectly located close to shopping, bars, pretty much everything... it was great. But expect the rooms to be small, and the decor to be outdated. Definitely worth it (for our purposes), just not what is reflected within their website photos.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top