$97 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 2, 2014 Check-out: Dec 3, 2014

The Strathcona Hotel

3 stars
60 York Street, Toronto, ON M5J 1S8
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.4
out of 5
155 reviews
Toronto get-away

All very good. Would stay here again. Parking difficult to access hotel. See full review

  • Go Habs
  • Aug 1, 2014
Central location

Staff very helpful Hotel rooms small but clean and adequate. For such a good position prices very... See full review

  • MVDE
  • Oct 7, 2013
Find home-like comfort in the centre of this thriving cosmopolitan city
The Strathcona Hotel's excellent location puts guests at the heart of downtown Toronto, where guests find fashionable boutiques and department stores, art galleries and museums, the Metro Toronto Convention Centre and CN Tower, and so much more. Recently renovated rooms reflect a new, modern design and offer a variety of high-tech amenities, including Wi-Fi Internet access (fees apply).

Highlights
  • Excellent downtown location
  • Warm, friendly staff
  • Airport shuttle available

Rooms

Rooms at the Strathcona Hotel come in a variety of sizes, but all are cozy and tastefully decorated in warm colors and furnishings with clean lines. Find European-style wood floors, high-loft pillows, in-room movies and Wi-Fi Internet access (fees apply) in all rooms. Executive rooms and suites include upgraded amenities, complimentary newspapers and, in some cases, amazing city views.

Features

Walk to St. Lawrence Market or hop on the ferry to Centre Island. Stop into the popular, on-site York Street Cafe for breakfast or lunch seven days a week, or explore nearby restaurants. Guests enjoy discounted passes to the Wellington Fitness Club, next-door to the hotel, with more than 50 group exercise classes and squash lessons each week. The New Age Spa is in the same building, and guests are invited to make an appointment for any of the fantastic treatments offered there. Whether traveling for business or pleasure, stay connected with Wi-Fi Internet access throughout the premises (fees apply).

Transportation
  • Toronto Pearson International Airport (16.3 mi/26.3 km)
  • Public bus stop (in the same block)

Attractions
  • Hockey Hall of Fame (0.4 mi/0.7 km)
  • St. Lawrence Market (0.6 mi/1 km)
  • Royal Ontario Museum (2.2 mi/3.5 km)
  • Centre Island (2.5 mi/4 km)
  • Casa Loma (3.8 mi/6.1 km)

Business
  • 24 hour business centre
  • Wi-Fi Internet access available (fees apply)

Hotel Map

43.6459 -79.3827
Area served
Toronto, Canada
Nearby airports
Pearson International
Area description
The hotel is located in the heart of Downtown Toronto's Entertainment, Financial and Sports Districts, just steps to the city's must see attractions.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Strathcona Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

The Strathcona Hotel Rooms

Executive King Bed
Executive room with one king bed, hair dryer, coffee maker, radio alarm clock, iron and ironing board, cable TV with remote and in-room movies. The room also offers high-speed wireless internet, desk with data port, phone with voice mail and individual climate control. Non-smoking room. No rollaways allowed in this room type.
Smart Two Single Beds
Smart room with two twin beds, radio alarm clock, cable TV with pay-per-view, phone with voicemail and hair dryer. Windows open and the room has individual climate control. Non-smoking room. No rollaways allowed in this room type.
Executive Two Double Beds
Executive room with two double beds. Room is equipped with a radio alarm clock, cable TV with pay-per-view and phone with voice mail. The room windows open. The room also includes individual climate control and a hair dryer. Non-smoking room. One rollaway allowed in this room type.
Smart One Queen Bed
Smart room with one queen bed, radio alarm clock and cable TV with pay-per-view. Room windows open. Room also has individual climate control, phone with voicemail and hair dryer. Non-smoking room. No rollaways allowed in this room type.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Airport shuttle
Activities
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Massey Hall: 0.2 mi
  • Toronto Symphony Orchestra: 0.2 mi
  • The Air Canada Centre: 0.2 mi
  • Air Canada Centre: 0.3 mi
  • Hockey Hall of Fame: 0.3 mi
  • Princess of Wales Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Four Seasons Centre for the Performing Arts: 0.4 mi
  • CN Tower: 0.4 mi
  • Rogers Centre: 0.4 mi
  • Harbourfront Centre: 0.4 mi
  • The Elgin and Winter Garden Theatre Centre: 0.5 mi
  • Eaton Centre: 0.6 mi
  • National Ballet of Canada: 0.6 mi
  • St Lawrence Market: 0.6 mi
  • Pantages Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Massey Hall: 0.2 mi
  • Toronto Symphony Orchestra: 0.2 mi
  • The Air Canada Centre: 0.2 mi
  • Air Canada Centre: 0.3 mi
  • Hockey Hall of Fame: 0.3 mi
  • Princess of Wales Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Four Seasons Centre for the Performing Arts: 0.4 mi
  • CN Tower: 0.4 mi
  • Rogers Centre: 0.4 mi
  • Harbourfront Centre: 0.4 mi
  • The Elgin and Winter Garden Theatre Centre: 0.5 mi
  • Eaton Centre: 0.6 mi
  • National Ballet of Canada: 0.6 mi
  • St Lawrence Market: 0.6 mi
  • Pantages Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Mackenzie House: 0.7 mi
  • The AGO, Art gallery of Ontario: 0.7 mi
  • Toronto Music Garden: 0.8 mi
  • Fort York: 1.1 mi
  • Allan Gardens Conservatory: 1.2 mi
  • Distillery District: 1.2 mi
  • Centre Island: 1.3 mi
  • University of Toronto: 1.4 mi
  • Toronto Island Park: 1.6 mi
  • Royal Ontario Museum: 1.7 mi
  • Royal Conservatory of Music: 1.7 mi
  • Bata Shoe Museum: 1.7 mi
  • Yorkville: 1.8 mi
  • Toronto Public Library: 1.8 mi
  • Spandina Historic House: 2.6 mi
  • Casa Loma: 2.9 mi
  • Ashbridge's Bay Park: 3.8 mi
  • High Park: 4.2 mi
  • The Beaches: 4.6 mi
  • Ontario Science Centre: 5.4 mi
  • Edwards Gardens: 6.2 mi
  • Toronto Centre for the Arts: 8.5 mi
  • Scarborough Bluffs: 9.3 mi
  • Toronto Zoo: 15.4 mi

Dining

On-Site Dining
The Pub - Open 11am-11pm, casual, pub food,York Street Cafe - Open 6:30am-2pm, casual, breakfast and lunch.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (155)

Ratings and reviews for The Strathcona Hotel

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
155 out of 155
Amenities:
3.1
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
3.9
Room comfort:
3.4
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.7

80% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Strathcona Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Buffalo NY
Nov 17, 2009

Strathcona is a good deal

Quick, easy walk to Union Station one way, to convention center the other way.Parking directly next door in public lot.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Strathcona Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Fairfax, Virginia
Nov 9, 2009

In the heart of town

Very clean but a bit worn. Small rooms but if you are attending a convention at the Toronto Convention center, this is as as close as you can get except for the on-site hotel (twice the cost). A short block walk to the Union Station Skywalk to the convention center. Only a block and a half from the theater district.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Close to many places. Rogers Center, Convention Center, Sky needle, Waterfront

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Strathcona Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago, IL
Oct 31, 2009

Unexceptional

My husband and I stayed at the Strathcona for 5 nights on our belated honeymoon. We drove in from Chicago on this trip, and it was the first time either of us had been to that city. The location of this hotel is excellect. It is in the heart of downtown and we were no more than a 30-45 minute walk from almost anything we wanted to do. However, the room was quite small, and the lack of parking lot added at least $20 each day to the cost of the vacation. Also, while I did not have a problem with the bed, my husband woke up with a sore back every morning. This hotel has very firm mattresses, so if that would be a problem for you I would suggest finding a different hotel. Overall, we had a decent stay here. It was our first time in Toronto, so being centrally located was very useful. However, if we come back to Toronto, we probably won't return here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Even though it is one of the most touristy things to do while visiting, I would highly recommend seeing the CN Tower, which is a short walk from this hotel. It is breathtaking.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Strathcona Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Ithaca, NY
Oct 12, 2009

Great location, otherwise just okay

We were just in Toronto for the weekend and it was our first time there, so we wanted to see a lot of the sites and do some shopping. This hotel was the perfect location for that, it is just a few very short blocks away from just about everything. Checking in went very quickly and the room was very clean, although small. This didn't bother us much, because we didn't need a lot of space and didn't spend much time there anyway. The worst thing about the room was the bed - it was hard as a rock! Also, when people were talking in the hallways you could hear them in the room. This only happened two or three times and not while we were trying to sleep, but was still annoying. Also, the restaurant attached to the hotel was not open the entire weekend (although the pub downstairs was), this might have been nice for breakfast. The hotel was nice enough, but I think next time I would spend a little more and try something else in the same neighborhood.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There are a lot of restaurants along King Street in the entertainment district (take a left out of the hotel and a left on King), we went to one in particular called Urban that was absolutely fantastic!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Strathcona Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Warren, Mi
Oct 9, 2009

Good Location

Went on a city tour Went on a bus tour to Niagara Falls. The room was fine. It was just too small. We had a room with two twin beds. I have been in Motels with larger rooms.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Strathcona Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
ckimberlygo
Business
Kingsville, Ontario
Sep 20, 2009

Not very impressed

I attended a 3 day training session in Toronto this past week. I was quickly checked in by a friendly desk person and found my room to be adequate, a king sized bed, entertainment unit, small desk and 2 piece bath. The view was of another high rise. I found the room to be clean but very small for the price and rating point of this hotel. I have stayed in Toronto many times and have paid less for a more spacious room with a better view and hotel parking. The bedding was clean but had the smell of hospital sheets. On my last day there, I went to take my medication to find that it had been removed from the drawer. I had put it in the night side drawer the day before so it was not lying out for the housekeeping service to see. I was very upset and searched the room at length with no avail. This medication is controlled and very necessary for my health. I spoke to the desk staff immediately and was met with an unhelpful response, "we will check the room and see if it turns up." The medication was not found. When I was picked up from a family member on my last day, he was upset because he had called the hotel to inquire about directions and a place to park to pick me up. He said the staff was helpful initially until they realized that I had checked out that morning. He said their tone became terse and abrupt, he said they did not help him at all and ended the call. I would not recommend this hotel and have already booked another place to stay when I return to Toronto next month.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Strathcona Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
The Sindbad
Business
Cairo, Egypt
Sep 17, 2009

Fantastic location, nice rooms

I was sightseeing in Toronto for 6 days and the hotel's great location made everything very accessible. There was a bus stop for each and every hop on hop off bus in a 3 min. walk distance and union station was just round the corner. the room was nice a and clean, nothing fancy but everything you need is there, the service was good and the concierge was very helpful, The hotel's location on york st south of front st makes it a nice quiet spot but still near everything. The airport express says it stops in front of the hotel but actually it stops in front of the royal york hotel which is round the corner but it's a 2 min walk or more if you have lots of luggage. I recommend it for families, friends or loners!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

the harbour front is a 15-20 min walk and it contains queen's quay a supermarket some restaurants and all the cruise ships.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Strathcona Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Cary, NC
Sep 15, 2009

Convenient location!

The hotel was pretty bare bones, but was perfectly fine for me. My room was on the small side and the towels weren't the fluffiest, but it was clean, the bed was comfortable, it was usually quiet, and the location was great! I was walking distance from the Harbour, the CN Tower, The Second City, and from Union Station (so I could hop on the subway easily). The room service menu looked pretty scanty. Also, I could never figure out when people started cleaning the rooms. It seemed like they started early and just hung out waiting for me to leave me room--I heard them shuffling around when I woke up (at around 7:30 am), and they pounced on me at the elevators ("Can we clean your room now?" when I left around 9:15 am).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Strathcona Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Los Angeles
Sep 14, 2009

Good location.Cafe on site for breakfast

Rooms are small but adequate.Lobby very basic.Great location for getting around town. Don't get excited about the Pub...does not have any atmosphere.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Strathcona Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Is. Traveler
Business
PEI, Canada
Sep 14, 2009

Awful, Refund Please

Room we reserved was not available. Room we were given was small and dirty. No chair, view of a wall. Staff was understanding and offered an upgrade. The 'upgraded' room was even worse. Orbitz was very supportive and arranged with the hotel to break our reservation and provided my refund.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Cirque du Soleil. Catch them while they are in town

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top