$112 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 5, 2015 Check-out: Jul 6, 2015

The Strathcona Hotel

3 stars
View map of 60 York Street, Toronto, ON M5J 1S8

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Strathcona Hotel

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
181 out of 181
Amenities:
3.1
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3.5
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.7

80% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Strathcona Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
jackxxxx
Business
toronto, on, canada
Jul 14, 2010

Gaga

lol my friend got white paint on her clothes because they randomly painted the door while we were out and didn't post any sign near the door... but ultimately we got the room free... it was just a close place to sleep after seeing the Lady Gaga concert:-) anyway...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Strathcona Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Erie, PA
Jul 9, 2010

So, so...

Rooms are very, very, small. Fortunately I was traveling alone. I upgraded myself to a "deluxe" room, but it still would have been cramped with two people. I can only imagine what a "standard" room would have been like. The cafe attached to the hotel served good, but pricey, breakfasts. The food in The Pub on the basement level was good and reasonable (open for dinner and evenings only). I probably would not return to this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Strathcona Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
BioDude
Business
Manhattan KS
Jun 12, 2010

Clean and comfortable

Overall good deal for the money. Small rooms (it is a budget hotel after all), but great location downtown. We would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Strathcona Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
two-biz-travellers
Business
upper-Mid-West, USA
Jun 11, 2010

Really Ugly, the bad and the good !

Monday 06/07/10- Arrived at the hotel at noon. [...] At 2.05pm he gives us probably the smallest room #520 with 2 tiny (twin) beds, not double beds, with no space-in-the-room to move around. Our low back pain that started 1st night, despite Ibuprofen round-the-clock, still persists even after 24 hours of being home. Other staff members at Reception were helpful & polite. The lady in housekeeping was superb! She does a great job that needs to be recognized and rewarded.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

The food courts in the office buildings around York x and Wellington st, were very helpful in getting quick and in-expensive meals - breakfast, lunch and dinner. Only caveat was one needed to have dinner before 7pm as the food courts close at 7.30pm.

Review of The Strathcona Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Western New York
Jun 10, 2010

Strathcona -- A Great Place to Stay!

This is a great boutique style hotel in a great location. My sister and I stayed there when we went to see the Eagles concert and couldn't have been happier. LOVE the wood floors in the rooms -- much cleaner than carpet! Room was spotless and front desk staff were great. We were pleasantly surprised when we arrived at 11 am of our room was ready. Rooms are cozy but the fact that they are spotless and non-smoking far make up for this -- not to mention that the room rate could be considered a steal! Would stay here again and have also told others about our great experience. Thank you Strathcona for a wonderful stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Try Little Anthony's Italian Restaurant 121 Richmond Street West (416) 368-2223. Delicious food and great service at a reasonable price. We had a fabulous dinner here!

Review of The Strathcona Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Nameless in St. Paul
Business
St. Paul MN
Jun 5, 2010

Strathcona May 28-June 3

The room was very nice and comfortable, with the exception of no choice in pillows. Hotel was located close to many interesting places. There was one night marred by a man shouting in the street, with no effort on anyone's part to have him leave. The pub had overpriced small drinks. The breakfast buffet was well-run and good, with excellent coffee. Housekeeping very friendly. Same with check-in staff. Appreciated the concierge on-site.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

It paid to call ahead to dining places, since they did not necessarily have the criteria desired. (Ex: To eat in rather than dining on a patio would involve needing to shout at your dinner companion to be heard.)

Review of The Strathcona Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Visitor_06
Business
Austin, Texas
May 14, 2010

Downtown Toronto Hideaway

The Strathcona is nestled in the Heart of Toronto, only a block's walk from the ViaRail Train Station. It was a central location to entertainment, sightseeing etc. Hotel was clean and the best I can say about the waitstaff is that they stayed out of the way. WiFi was paid @ 3Days for $20 (1 day $10). OK Omlette breakfast. Tucked away downtown with view of another wall of the hotel for many rooms. Rooms were small, but comfortable and seemed to have been updated within the last 4 years. I would stay there again at the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Long walk from hotel

The REX Jazz and Blues Bar in the REX Hotel had two sets on Wednesday Night and seemed to have someone playing live music every night of the week. Check out "The Second City" comedy stage. You can get half-price tickets at T.O.TIX, which is a long walk from the Strathcona.

Review of The Strathcona Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Conference go-er, first time to TO
Business
St. John's, NL
May 9, 2010

Decent spot

Not a bad spot if you just need a place to crash. In the heart of downtown Toronto. Close to many sights and things to do. I wouldn't want to spend time in my room outside of sleeping though.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Quick to walk anywhere.

Review of The Strathcona Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
chellez
Business
Markham
May 2, 2010

its ALRIGHT.......

What i was looking for was privacy which was moderate. We had a twin bedroom at first and it was really small beds so we upgraded to a queen size bed with no extra charge and it was great!! WARNING! the rooms are REALLY small but not for the price. that was the first thing we noticed. Second the hotel had NO ICE!!!!! we had drinks and dip so we had to improvise. Third its a great place JUST to sleep, however you can hear the trucks on the street at night which is really LOUD! When bringing friends over there is little privacy. we got in trouble at 9:00 PM because people were sleeping which sucked. There was little privacy, you can hear people open and close their doors which is very loud. If someone dropped something on the above floor it really loud.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Strathcona Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
chellez
Business
Markham
May 2, 2010

its ALRIGHT.......

What i was looking for was privacy which was moderate. We had a twin bedroom at first and it was really small beds so we upgraded to a queen size bed with no extra charge and it was great!! WARNING! the rooms are REALLY small but not for the price. that was the first thing we noticed. Second the hotel had NO ICE!!!!! we had drinks and dip so we had to improvise. Third its a great place JUST to sleep, however you can hear the trucks on the street at night which is really LOUD! When bringing friends over there is little privacy. we got in trouble at 9:00 PM because people were sleeping which sucked. There was little privacy, you can hear people open and close their doors which is very loud. If someone dropped something on the above floor it really loud.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top