$110 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 5, 2015 Check-out: Jul 6, 2015

The Strathcona Hotel

3 stars
View map of 60 York Street, Toronto, ON M5J 1S8

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Strathcona Hotel

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
181 out of 181
Amenities:
3.1
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3.5
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.7

80% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Strathcona Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Dr.Gibbs
Atlanta, GA
Aug 8, 2012

Small rooms, but very clean, great location!

The Strathcona is is light on amenities (no parking, for example), and the few it does have are expensive, but I'd definitely stay there again. My room was a bit small and had no view, and the bed wasn't very comfortable, but everything was recently renovated and extremely clean. Considering the price, the location is unbeatable! You can walk to the lake and the subway is only a block away. The staff is really helpful. Highly recommended.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of The Strathcona Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Loon
Business
Newcastle-upon-Tyne
Aug 4, 2010

Small room but perfect for our stay

The hotel is located close to the train station and only a few minutes (10-15) walk from the main shopping area in one direction and the CN Tower in the other. Everything was within walking distance from the hotel and the hop-on-off bus stopped a few metres from the hotel. Plenty of resturants in the local theatre district and around. The rooms where small but perfect for us as we were out site seeing most of the day, so only really there to sleep. But comfty beds and a lovely shower. Air con was a bit nosey, but soon got used to that. I would consider staying there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Strathcona Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Loon
Business
Newcastle-upon-Tyne
Aug 4, 2010

Small room but perfect for our stay

The hotel is located close to the train station and only a few minutes (10-15) walk from the main shopping area in one direction and the CN Tower in the other. Everything was within walking distance from the hotel and the hop-on-off bus stopped a few metres from the hotel. Plenty of resturants in the local theatre district and around. The rooms where small but perfect for us as we were out site seeing most of the day, so only really there to sleep. But comfty beds and a lovely shower. Air con was a bit nosey, but soon got used to that. I would consider staying there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Strathcona Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Cleveland, OH
Jul 25, 2010

Strathcona Toronto review

Nice stay, but you shouldn't expect much in the way of amenities. Basically, I think this place would be nice for the budget traveler (though I didn't know this when I booked the room). No one to handle your baggage when you arrive, and the parking they recommend is two blocks away (though at $18 a day to park was cheaper compared to other hotels). So, you need to unload your car, take bags to your room, then park your car. Small queen room - clean. Internet was only $20 total for four nights (again, much cheaper than other hotels in Toronto (paid $16 for one night at Sutton Place - ridiculous). Gym next door but $10 to use it. Concierge was helpful and all the staff were nice. Overall, I would recommend - the price was fair, but you just won't get all the services you might expect at other more expensive hotels.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Strathcona Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Niagara
Jul 25, 2010

Great service and location

We stayed over for one night and upon arrival the check in desk offered us a later check out time without us even asking. The rooms were a little small but honestly they were very clean and very modern looking. I would completely recommend this hotel if you're looking for something in an excellent location and don't intend to spend too much time in the room. I would go back without hesitation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

If you're looking for some excellent restaurants take the 5-10 minute walk down the Esplanade for all sorts of choices in a very nice neighbourhood. There is also a Subway restaurant and Tim Hortons less than a minute from the front door if you're looking for something quick.

Review of The Strathcona Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Cleveland, OH
Jul 25, 2010

Strathcona Toronto review

Nice stay, but you shouldn't expect much in the way of amenities. Basically, I think this place would be nice for the budget traveler (though I didn't know this when I booked the room). No one to handle your baggage when you arrive, and the parking they recommend is two blocks away (though at $18 a day to park was cheaper compared to other hotels). So, you need to unload your car, take bags to your room, then park your car. Small queen room - clean. Internet was only $20 total for four nights (again, much cheaper than other hotels in Toronto (paid $16 for one night at Sutton Place - ridiculous). Gym next door but $10 to use it. Concierge was helpful and all the staff were nice. Overall, I would recommend - the price was fair, but you just won't get all the services you might expect at other more expensive hotels.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Strathcona Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Canada Lover
Business
Derbyshire
Jul 24, 2010

Highly recommended and great location

A fantastically placed hotel within a short walking distance to the main sights.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

For a great steak visit The Keg

Review of The Strathcona Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Canada Lover
Business
Derbyshire
Jul 24, 2010

Highly recommended and great location

A fantastically placed hotel within a short walking distance to the main sights.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

For a great steak visit The Keg

Review of The Strathcona Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
not made of money
Business
clarksville, tn
Jul 19, 2010

know what your spending your money on

everything was fine with the hotel except the fact that we had to pay for local phone calls, which was not advised to me at the time of check-in. it wasnt just local calls but also 1-800 numbers that i called for airline verification. Furthermore, if i read correctly there was supposed to be a shuttle service that was provided to and from the airport. never when determining which hotel i was going to stay in was i advised that it was going to cost $55 one-way trip for this service. this was another inconvenience that, if known ahead of time, could have caused me to find a hotel that was either closer to the airport or actually had a free shuttle service. the business center required you to pay to use the internet, this also was something that i wish was advised to me before i paid for my reservations. the hotel room was of a decent size for two people and was very clean and cozy. my only problem with the room was that although it was newly renovated the only view i got outside my window was the site of another window within the same hotel. the hallways were I shaped and therefore i was the one who lucked out of gettinng to see the city. i had to make sure to keep my blinds closed so that the people across, above, or down below couldnt see in (it was that close). the hotel, itself, was well located in the city so that one would be able to either walk a few miles to destination or walk to the next block to Union Station, where the subway was located. it took about five to ten minutes to get to a desired subway destination and from there and you could walk a few blocks to an attraction or store. knowing what i know now about the location and the hotel i wouldn't mind staying again. this is because i now know what to expect when i get there. i know what that everything i do in this hotel will cost me money. whether it be sleeping after i pay for the room or using the phone to get a cab to get away from the hotel, it all cost more money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

if you get on the subway and pay for a $10 day pass you are allowed to take yourself and one adult on this one pass.. i believe it also allowed you to take children as well..with 64% humidity during the summer time it is the reccommended way of travel. also, as far as the shuttle service, it costs $36 at the adjacent hotel for a one way trip to pearson airport. this was for two adults.

Review of The Strathcona Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Falls church, Virginia
Jul 19, 2010

Trip to Canada

it was good over all they should offer atleast free wiifii i paid extra 2 get the service----all major hotels and bussiness have this service for free

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Strathcona Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Pittsburgh, PA
Jul 17, 2010

Great location for the price

Great price for the location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top