$103 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 27, 2015 Check-out: May 28, 2015

The Strathcona Hotel

3 stars
View map of 60 York Street, Toronto, ON M5J 1S8

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Strathcona Hotel

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
179 out of 179
Amenities:
3.1
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
3.9
Comfort:
3.5
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.7

79% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Strathcona Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Sien - senior discount ?
Business
Williamsville, New York
Oct 23, 2010

Soap dispensers a problem!

Very comfortable queen size bed. Room warmed up quickly. Cleaning staff did a nice job each day. Some problem squeezing liquid soap and shampoo from the plastic containers placed upside down in a wall bracket. Had to purchase my own soap, etc. from an all night store down the block. ( That was a 30 minute walk there and back before I could wash my hands!) Most hotels we've been to give you a small bottle of hand cream, not this one. Hop-on, Hop-off tour bus located near hotel. Several great coffee shops (including Tim Horton's and Second Cup) steps away from entrance. Several reasonable places to eat a short walk down the block. We used Mega Bus to get to Toronto and saved the driving to a cabbie to get around the city. All the cars were clean and the drivers fares moderate. Plan to go back again and may stay at the same hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Buy tickets on-line for bus transportation. tours and attractions.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Strathcona Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago, IL
Oct 17, 2010

Great location and service

The location is great and convinent to the highways. The staffs are very helpful and curtise. There is no parking for the hotel, I wish we can be informed beforehand. Parking in the area is expensive and hard.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Strathcona Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago, IL
Oct 17, 2010

Great location and service

The location is great and convinent to the highways. The staffs are very helpful and curtise. There is no parking for the hotel, I wish we can be informed beforehand. Parking in the area is expensive and hard.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Strathcona Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JadedExplorer
Business
Madison, WI
Sep 14, 2010

Excellent location, friendly staff

The Strathcona is definite winner when it comes to location. You're right in the heart of the Financial District and a short walk from attractions like the CN Tower, Hockey Hall of Fame, Yonge Street, and the Harbourfront area, and you're also just across the street from Union Station, one of the major hubs of the subway system and intercity rail connections--plus some of the major bus and streetcar corridor streets are also a short walk away. Rooms are a bit on the smallish side but designed well to use the space pretty effectively, and have a nice clean and modern look. Staff were super friendly and helpful... my reservation actually got lost but the front desk staff were quick to assure I still could get a room at the guaranteed rate, and when the luggage storage area was near full the manager gave up a sizable chunk of his office to accommodate my bags. Housekeeping staff did an impeccable job... I was pleasantly surprised to even find my pajamas nicely folded. About the only negatives I can recall is that it can be a tad noisy--sound insulation both within and from outside isn't the greatest, though it didn't help that I had a ridiculously noisy family across the hall. And don't expect a spectacular view--many of the rooms face a rather bleak inner light-well area, though that probably at least helps a little in cutting down on street noise in the busy surroundings. The TV's are also a bit old, so don't expect to be wowed with HD in this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

As Toronto is quite spread out, I highly recommend using mass transit, and the Strathcona is conveniently located for this... it's most cost-effective to buy a day pass if you're going to be using the subway or trams more than twice in a day, but the TTC only sells them at collector booths and annoyingly they're often closed (it's not the most modern or efficient system when it comes to payment)--luckily, Union Station just across the street from the hotel has one of the few collector booths that is always reliably manned.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Strathcona Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
St. Paul, MN
Aug 21, 2010

Strathcona Not the best, but has perks

The Strathcona was bittersweet. The location is pretty much the best you can find. It is right downtown next to the CN Tower. If you are there on business it is great because it is in the Financial District. Price isn't too bad. The food is decent and is open later than other hotels, but the pub closes very early. Because it is in the Financial District everything is very expensive, however Queen St. is a half hour walk away, which is the best street in the city. All of these things are overshadowed by the noise. I was there for 4 nights and only was able to sleep a couple hours per night because the hotel is not very sound insulated and you hear every little car pass by outside, not to mention the constant construction, garbage pick up, yelling, etc. I have never been to a noisier hotel in my whole life. The staff was sort of helpful. The rooms are very small, but very clean. The bathrooms are great. There is basic cable of which most of the channels do not come in clearly. There is wi-fi. The city of Toronto is simply wonderful. The people are some of the best you'll ever meet. No matter how much the beggars on the street (oh there are beggars on EVERY street corner) ask for money do not give it to them because they don't actually need it. The average bum makes 15-20 dollars an hour, which is much higher than minimum wage. So good, but not great. If you like sleep do not go here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

King St. has great food and entertainment, but it is all expensive, so avoid that if you can. Queen St. is amazing. The best Indian food I have ever had was on Queen at a restaurant called Little India. Yonge St. is fun, but it also greatly over priced. The CN Tower is amazing as well, but make sure to go late at night when all of the tourists are gone. On Queen and Yonge you can find many clubs. The best one I found was a bar called the Horseshoe on Queen St. The metro isn't too expensive, but you can pretty much walk everywhere easily and taxis are also not too badly priced. This city is not a tourist city for there really is not too much to do so don't go here for a fun vacation, but if you have a day or two to waste you will be very pleased.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Strathcona Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Gosport
Aug 14, 2010

Unbeatable location for the price

Great location only a short walk from Eaton center and CN Tower. This hotel didn't have a pool, but when you are shopping and sight seeing that doesn't matter, as long as the weather is good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Strathcona Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Gosport
Aug 14, 2010

Unbeatable location for the price

Great location only a short walk from Eaton center and CN Tower. This hotel didn't have a pool, but when you are shopping and sight seeing that doesn't matter, as long as the weather is good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Strathcona Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
june v
Business
buffalo, ny
Aug 10, 2010

unbeatable location

For the most part it was very pleasant. The location is outstanding. The restaurant staff and housekeeping were great. The front desk could use some work.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Strathcona Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Loon
Business
Newcastle-upon-Tyne
Aug 4, 2010

Small room but perfect for our stay

The hotel is located close to the train station and only a few minutes (10-15) walk from the main shopping area in one direction and the CN Tower in the other. Everything was within walking distance from the hotel and the hop-on-off bus stopped a few metres from the hotel. Plenty of resturants in the local theatre district and around. The rooms where small but perfect for us as we were out site seeing most of the day, so only really there to sleep. But comfty beds and a lovely shower. Air con was a bit nosey, but soon got used to that. I would consider staying there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Strathcona Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Loon
Business
Newcastle-upon-Tyne
Aug 4, 2010

Small room but perfect for our stay

The hotel is located close to the train station and only a few minutes (10-15) walk from the main shopping area in one direction and the CN Tower in the other. Everything was within walking distance from the hotel and the hop-on-off bus stopped a few metres from the hotel. Plenty of resturants in the local theatre district and around. The rooms where small but perfect for us as we were out site seeing most of the day, so only really there to sleep. But comfty beds and a lovely shower. Air con was a bit nosey, but soon got used to that. I would consider staying there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top