$138 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 7, 2015 Check-out: Jan 10, 2015

The Omni King Edward Hotel

4 stars
37 King Street East, 37 King Street East, Toronto, ON M5C 1E9
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
65 reviews
Classy, elegant place

Well located and well run too. It can run high in price, but if you're looking for luxury, they... See full review

  • latinamericantraveler007
  • Jul 8, 2014
Elegant!

If you are looking for a classy and charming hotel that treats you like a special guest look no... See full review

  • Ruby anniversary
  • Jun 8, 2014
The Omni King Edward Hotel has hosted visitors for over a century and to this day remains a hallmark of luxury and comfort. With its rich history and old worlds charm sprinkled with modern amenities and elegant decor this hotel pays homage to a proud history as the first luxury hotel in the city of Toronto. The hotel is conveniently located in the financial and entertainment and shopping districts plus near the Metro Toronto Convention Centre and Sony Centre as well as The Distillery District and Eaton Centre and the St. Lawrence Farmers Market. The 301 spacious guestrooms and suites offer regal elegance and comfort. Our luxuriously newly renovated guest rooms feature the finest in furnishings with custom bedding and detailed crown moldings all with beautifully appointed marble bathrooms. Experience modern day comforts in this legendary hotel. The Omni King Edward features more than 22000 square feet of flexible meeting space-including 3 ballrooms and is ideally suited to host elegant business meetings and social gatherings.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Omni King Edward Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

The Omni King Edward Hotel Rooms

Deluxe Room
Newly Renovated Deluxe Room 1 King Bed. Approx. 350 square feet guest room with 1 king bed and a luxurious contemporary washroom. Stylish decor pays homage to proud history as the first luxury hotel in Toronto. Large HDTV and working desk plus Wifi and Keurig coffee machine plus premium bedding and much more.
Deluxe Room
Newly renovated Deluxe Room 1 Queen Bed. Approx. 350 sq. ft. guest room with 1 queen bed and a luxurious contemporary washroom. Stylish decor pays homage to a proud history as the first luxury hotel in Toronto. Large HDTV and working desk plus WiFi and Keurig coffee machine plus premium bedding and much more.
Deluxe Room
Newly renovated Deluxe Room 2 Queen Beds. 350 sq. ft. guest room with 2 queen beds and a luxurious contemporary washroom. Stylish decor pays homage to a proud history as the first luxury hotel in Toronto. Large HDTV and a working desk plus WIFI and Keurig coffee machine plus premium bedding and much more.
Deluxe Executive Room
Newly Renovated Deluxe Executive Room 1 King Bed. New 450 sq. ft. over-sized room with sitting area and contemporary washroom. Stylish decor pays homage to a proud history as the first luxury hotel in Toronto. Features large HDTV and large work desk plus WIFI and Keurig Coffee machine plus more.
Deluxe Suite
Newly Renovated Deluxe Suite 1 King Bed. 650 sq. ft. Suite with large living area plus over-sized bedroom and a luxurious contemporary washroom. Stylish decor pays homage to a proud history as the first luxury hotel in Toronto. Features Large HDTV and work desk plus WIFI and Keurig coffee machine plus more.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Ice machine
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Sauna
Dining
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
24 hour room service
Room service
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
Multilingual
Airline desk
In-Room Safe
Shops/Commercial services
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Car rental desk
Barber shop
Barber/Beauty shop
Porters
Doorman
FAX
Conference facilities
Currency exchange
News stand
Overhead projector
Audio visual equipment
Projector
White board
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Safe
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Heated guest rooms
Hairdryer in room
Fire alarm with light
Turndown service
Temperature control
Electronic door locks
Dining guide
Iron
Ironing board
Smoke detectors

Nearby points of interest

  • Hockey Hall of Fame: 0.2 mi
  • National Ballet of Canada: 0.2 mi
  • St Lawrence Market: 0.2 mi
  • The Elgin and Winter Garden Theatre Centre: 0.3 mi
  • Eaton Centre: 0.4 mi
  • Mackenzie House: 0.4 mi
  • Air Canada Centre: 0.4 mi
  • Pantages Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Four Seasons Centre for the Performing Arts: 0.5 mi
  • Toronto Symphony Orchestra: 0.5 mi
  • Massey Hall: 0.6 mi
  • Princess of Wales Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Harbourfront Centre: 0.7 mi
  • CN Tower: 0.8 mi
  • Distillery District: 0.8 mi
  • Hockey Hall of Fame: 0.2 mi
  • National Ballet of Canada: 0.2 mi
  • St Lawrence Market: 0.2 mi
  • The Elgin and Winter Garden Theatre Centre: 0.3 mi
  • Eaton Centre: 0.4 mi
  • Mackenzie House: 0.4 mi
  • Air Canada Centre: 0.4 mi
  • Pantages Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Four Seasons Centre for the Performing Arts: 0.5 mi
  • Toronto Symphony Orchestra: 0.5 mi
  • Massey Hall: 0.6 mi
  • Princess of Wales Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Harbourfront Centre: 0.7 mi
  • CN Tower: 0.8 mi
  • Distillery District: 0.8 mi
  • Allan Gardens Conservatory: 0.8 mi
  • Rogers Centre: 0.9 mi
  • The AGO, Art gallery of Ontario: 0.9 mi
  • Toronto Music Garden: 1.3 mi
  • University of Toronto: 1.4 mi
  • Fort York: 1.5 mi
  • Royal Ontario Museum: 1.6 mi
  • Royal Conservatory of Music: 1.6 mi
  • Toronto Public Library: 1.6 mi
  • Yorkville: 1.7 mi
  • Centre Island: 1.7 mi
  • Bata Shoe Museum: 1.7 mi
  • Toronto Island Park: 1.9 mi
  • Spandina Historic House: 2.6 mi
  • Casa Loma: 2.9 mi
  • Ashbridge's Bay Park: 3.5 mi
  • The Beaches: 4.2 mi
  • High Park: 4.5 mi
  • Ontario Science Centre: 5 mi
  • Edwards Gardens: 5.9 mi
  • Toronto Centre for the Arts: 8.3 mi
  • Scarborough Bluffs: 8.9 mi
  • Toronto Zoo: 15 mi

Dining

Victorias
Fusing traditional and cutting edge ingredients in its preparations the chef creates dishes that integrate seasonal ingredients with classical methods. Open Mon-Fri 0630-1130 hours. Open Sat-Sun 0730-1100 and Fri-Sun 1430-1800 hours. Fri-Sun 1430-1700 hours for Afternoon Tea and Sun 1130-1400 for Brunch.
Consort Bar
Relax in an elegant atmosphere reminiscent of an English Aristocrats Club. Select from our menu of signature cocktails commemorating the hotels centennial or enjoy a light lunch. Open Mon-Fri 1130-0100 hours. Open Sat 1100-0100 and Sun 1100-2300 hours.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (65)

Ratings and reviews for The Omni King Edward Hotel

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
65 out of 65
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.2

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Omni King Edward Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mikey Surfs
Business
Los Angeles
Sep 6, 2011

Great Stay

Great location, good looking hotel, and through Orbitz, a great price. My friends said that their business clients always stay there and I understand why. Nice place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Great location with access to subway to get all over Toronto

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Omni King Edward Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
An Aruban in Toronto
Business
Baltimore, MD, USA
Sep 6, 2011

Great location

King Edward, Le Meridien is a beautiful historic building and the location was great! I had two rooms, one was great and the other had a noisy air-conditioning unit. The staff was very friendly and helpful. I thought we were going to have rooms side by side or at least on the same floor. I had called two days before to confirm that we would arrive late. When we arrived, the reservation clerk had to look for rooms for us and asked if we wanted upgrades, which we refused. That was disappointing, because I expected the hotel to have our rooms ready and of the same quality. This our first trip to Toronto and the city and its people are great!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

CN Tower, Chinatown, the beautiful malls and theatres.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Omni King Edward Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Ontario
Aug 3, 2011

Gorgeous setting

An expensive hotel but situated within easy walking distance of the Eaton Centre, theatres, a hundred restaurants and a thousand shops! Very pricy parking. Charming hotel and accommodating staff. Would have enjoyed a pool but it's not surprising that a vintage hotel doesn't have one. Very historical.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Marche/Richtree restaurant (market-style) is in BCE Place and open until midnight or 1 a.m. for excellent strong coffee and $4 to $10 desserts!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Omni King Edward Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
ohio
Jul 21, 2011

Very nice couple of days

This is 1 of the better trips 2 Toronto, I usually travel there yearly, stay downtown mostly. I enjoy walking among the bustling crowds, eating at all the terrific restaurants around that area. Very safe at night, too. Hotel rooms are bit old, but large & sunny. Staff helpful, service fast. Concierge always had good advice about outings.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Entertainment district very close by, nightlife, restaurants abundant.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Omni King Edward Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Brighton, MI
Jul 12, 2011

One of our best hotel experiences

The hotel was beautiful, with historic charm. The front desk and concierge were truly available 24 hrs. We chose to upgrade to a mini-suite upon arrival, which surprisingly included drinks and light snacks in the evening, and far above average breakfast in a wi-fi friendly lounge. The mini-bar was well stocked, the room was clean. Though the hotel is a few blocks from the center of downtown, we had no trouble walking to all the sights of significance, and the metro was less than one block away. We would certainly stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

There is shopping and food literally, EVERYWHERE! Less than a block walk to a great little pub with exceptional prices, just behind the hotel. Shopping up and down Yonge St. for over a mile, about a 45 min walk to the upscale stores... Or, hop on the metro.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Omni King Edward Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Buffalo, NY
Jul 11, 2011

Good, not great

When we checked in we were told they did have our room but if we took one on the 2nd floor we would have access to the lounge for snacks and breakfast. They told us it was worth $75 dollars so we took it because we figured we had to eat the next day anyway and it would save us some money. The food was okay but probably only worth about half of what they said. The staff was nice however and the room was clean and we had everything we needed. I got what i expected so i give it a 3.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Omni King Edward Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Montreal, Canada
Apr 10, 2011

Nice stay

We stayed two nights: the room was as expected, roomy, clean and nicely decorated. The matress was okay. Staff was friendly and efficient. Bathroom was clean and included anything useful. Everyhing is pretty much walking distance. Metro station very close by.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Toronto international film festival

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Omni King Edward Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chester County, PA
Mar 20, 2011

Top notch...mostly

Overall the hotel is very good. Great downtown location. The lobby is elegant. The staff highly professional, very friendly and helpful. The room was very nice, comfortable and quite spacious for the price though with some need of attention. The bed was very comfortable with fresh, crisp cotton sheets and 4 big pillows. 24 hr. room service! On the negative side: everyone travels with at least 2 devices that need to be plugged in. There was no plug ON the desk. I found myself crawling around underneath the desk to get to one plug for my laptop and had to park my iPad on the floor to plug it in. The wallpaper was peeling around the window. And I was most annoyed that the internet access was $15 extra. There is valet parking at $40 per 24 hours (in/out privileges) which is steep but there's an indoor lot less than a block away at $12/24 (which they'll readily tell you about if you ask.) I'd certainly return. I didn't eat onsite so my "3" in the dining options survey reflects a neutral experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Park at the underground lot a block away for $12/24 hours.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Omni King Edward Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Diego, CA
Jan 3, 2011

Excellent Service, Great Stay!

Great room, clean, quiet and comfortable!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Omni King Edward Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Delaware
Dec 30, 2010

very classy

very nice staff, clean, great location, room was fine but not amazing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

if you're american, book on[...]to avoid foreign currency transaction fees on your credit card.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top