$133 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 13, 2014 Check-out: Dec 16, 2014

The Fairmont Royal York

4 stars
100 Front Street West, Toronto, ON M5J 1E3
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
91 reviews
Wonderful Weekend Getaway

This hotel has great old world charm. Back in the day, it was the largest hotel in the British... See full review

  • Mike and Christine
  • Aug 20, 2014
Reunion in Toronto

We arrived by train at 10 am! We just had to walk across the street!The bellman claimed our luggage... See full review

  • LinLake
  • Jun 3, 2014
Updated landmark hotel boasts modern conveniences in downtown's center
The landmark Fairmont Royal York hotel defined luxury when the city of Toronto was still in its infancy, and it continues to meet guests' high standards for first-class accommodations. Updated with modern conveniences, this classic hotel in the heart of downtown is perfect for business or leisure travel. Get a fabulous meal at one of the hotel's five restaurants. Stay connected at the business center. Work out in the fitness center, swim in the heated indoor pool, relax in the steam bath or rejuvenate with a specialized spa treatment.
Highlights
  • Luxurious accommodations in a landmark hotel
  • Magnificent hand-painted ceiling
  • Historic hotel featured in numerous Hollywood movies
Rooms

Choose from a number of spacious, elegantly decorated guest rooms and suites at the Fairmont Royal York. Standard amenities include bathrobes, high-speed Internet access (fees apply) and operable windows. Some guest rooms feature gorgeous city views. Separate sleeping and sitting areas are included in all suites, but to enjoy enough space to entertain up to 16, reserve the Royal Suite. Experience truly royal treatment when reserving a Fairmont Gold guest room or suite. Private reception and check-in on the 12th floor, access to the exclusive Fairmont Gold Lounge and complimentary use of a private boardroom are included.

Features

Guests enjoy a sophisticated and elegant part of Toronto's history, updated to incorporate modern conveniences, at the Fairmont Royal York. In addition to the stately rooms, the hotel features a state-of-the-art fitness center, heated indoor swimming pool and steam bath. Elevators are home to images of England's royalty, and guests can expect the royal treatment throughout the hotel, from the concierge to the on-site Spa. Original hand-painted ceilings and ornate pillars recall the hotel's past, but the five on-site restaurants and four lounges offer contemporary fare and fashionable cocktails.

Transportation
  • Toronto Pearson International Airport (16.5 mi/26.6 km)
  • Union Station (across the street)
Attractions
  • CN Tower (0.3 mi/0.6 km)
  • Harbourfront (0.6 mi/1 km)
  • Bloor-Yorkville (2.6 mi/4.3 km)
  • Casa Loma (3.9 mi/6.3 km)
Business
  • Fully equipped business center
  • Meeting and conference facilities available
  • Wi-Fi and high-speed Internet access (fees apply)

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Fairmont Royal York also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

The Fairmont Royal York Rooms

Fairmont Room
Located throughout the hotel, Fairmont rooms are our traditional guestrooms, with elegant, comfortable decor. Both smoking and non-smoking Fairmont rooms are available. Rooms are approximately 250 sq. feet and have one or two beds.
Fairmont Deluxe Room
Deluxe rooms are larger open-concept rooms, with a sitting area as well as a sleeping area. All are located on the 1st to 11th floors, and both smoking and non-smoking Deluxe rooms are available. With their larger size, Deluxe rooms are ideal for families, or any guest who will be staying for an extended period. Rooms are approximately 500 sq. feet and have one or two beds.
Fairmont Gold Room
Our elegant room selection on our Fairmont Gold floors at The Fairmont Royal York include: Fairmont Gold Guest Rooms Fairmont Gold Junior Suites Fairmont Gold One Bedroom Suites

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Airport shuttle
  • Indoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Indoor pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Childcare Service
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Internet
High-speed internet
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • The Air Canada Centre: 0.2 mi
  • Air Canada Centre: 0.2 mi
  • Hockey Hall of Fame: 0.2 mi
  • Massey Hall: 0.3 mi
  • Toronto Symphony Orchestra: 0.3 mi
  • CN Tower: 0.4 mi
  • Princess of Wales Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Harbourfront Centre: 0.4 mi
  • Four Seasons Centre for the Performing Arts: 0.4 mi
  • Rogers Centre: 0.5 mi
  • The Elgin and Winter Garden Theatre Centre: 0.5 mi
  • St Lawrence Market: 0.6 mi
  • National Ballet of Canada: 0.6 mi
  • Eaton Centre: 0.6 mi
  • Pantages Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • The Air Canada Centre: 0.2 mi
  • Air Canada Centre: 0.2 mi
  • Hockey Hall of Fame: 0.2 mi
  • Massey Hall: 0.3 mi
  • Toronto Symphony Orchestra: 0.3 mi
  • CN Tower: 0.4 mi
  • Princess of Wales Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Harbourfront Centre: 0.4 mi
  • Four Seasons Centre for the Performing Arts: 0.4 mi
  • Rogers Centre: 0.5 mi
  • The Elgin and Winter Garden Theatre Centre: 0.5 mi
  • St Lawrence Market: 0.6 mi
  • National Ballet of Canada: 0.6 mi
  • Eaton Centre: 0.6 mi
  • Pantages Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Mackenzie House: 0.7 mi
  • The AGO, Art gallery of Ontario: 0.8 mi
  • Toronto Music Garden: 0.9 mi
  • Distillery District: 1.1 mi
  • Allan Gardens Conservatory: 1.2 mi
  • Fort York: 1.2 mi
  • Centre Island: 1.3 mi
  • University of Toronto: 1.4 mi
  • Toronto Island Park: 1.6 mi
  • Royal Ontario Museum: 1.7 mi
  • Royal Conservatory of Music: 1.7 mi
  • Bata Shoe Museum: 1.8 mi
  • Toronto Public Library: 1.8 mi
  • Yorkville: 1.8 mi
  • Spandina Historic House: 2.7 mi
  • Casa Loma: 3 mi
  • Ashbridge's Bay Park: 3.8 mi
  • High Park: 4.2 mi
  • The Beaches: 4.5 mi
  • Ontario Science Centre: 5.4 mi
  • Edwards Gardens: 6.2 mi
  • Toronto Centre for the Arts: 8.5 mi
  • Scarborough Bluffs: 9.3 mi
  • Toronto Zoo: 15.4 mi

Dining

EPIC Restaurant
EPIC takes a reputation for innovation and quality and infuses it with premium quality regional elements.
Benihana Japanese Steakhouse
Benihana is a fabulous teppan steakhouse experience in the heart of Toronto.
The Library Bar
The ideal venue for pre-dinner or theatre beverages, business lunches or evening cocktails.
Piper's Gastropub
Join us on our coast-to-coast journey of casual favourites with a uniquely local twist.
York Station
The smallest bar in Toronto is the meeting spot before catching the commuter train.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The Fairmont Royal York brings cosmopolitan flair and dedicated expertise to conferences, meetings and banquets. Recently renovated, this elegant hotel's conference facilities meet the technological needs of modern business, while its knowledgeable staff contributes to seamlessly executed events.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (91)

Ratings and reviews for The Fairmont Royal York

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
8 out of 91
Amenities:
4.4
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.9
Value:
3.6

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Fairmont Royal York

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ctdudette
Business
ysa
Dec 12, 2012

Great location difficult to navigate

There are many stairs up and down and difficult for handicapped people or travelers with lota of luggage. In the heart of torono business district and lovely hotel. Close to main attrations and train.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Fairmont Royal York

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lire50
Business
New York City
Aug 27, 2012

The Lone Traveler

The Royal Fairmont's exterior was obscured by construction, however it does still present itself as a place of distinction...like "well-worn, but still taken care of, old money charm". I was told that I'd be getting a room with a view. "The view" was of huge white plastic sheets covering the scaffolding and of an office building's windows. No view of the landscape what-so-ever! I was too tired from the 14 hour train ride to ask for a room change! I decided that the room was clean and set up nicely...so I decided to stay in the view-less room! Weird Note: The comforter is covered by a tucked in white sheet! It didn't look bad...but it was strange! Bath tub sides were unusually high. I tripped getting in and out of it often! The housekeeping staff was very efficient (I had a problem with a leaky iron.). The resturants Epic and Piper's were really good. I would stay at The Royal Fairmont Hotel again, however I would upgrade my room choice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

For first time Toronto visitors, take the Hop-On-Hop-Off Sightseeing 3-Day Package. It was extemely helpful and the narrative monologue by the college-age tour guides was very amusing at times!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Fairmont Royal York

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anton The Great
Business
New York City
Aug 8, 2012

My Trip To Toronto

The Fairmont Royal York was exceptional! This hotel offers its guests only the best. I stayed there twice and the second time was better than the first - and my first stay there was perfect! The Fairmont Royal York is truly a class act! When you come to Toronto - stay here!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

When you come to Toronto - buy a TTC pass for transit. It will save you money if you plan to do a lot of traveling around the city! Great city to explore and a pass will help you with this.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Fairmont Royal York

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
CamPac
Business
Montreal
Jul 23, 2012

Excellent hotel... but get a room as far as possible from...

I stayed two nights at the Royal York. If you arrive with Porter (Downtown aeroport), the shuttle drops you off at the door and picks you right up there too. No hassle, no taxi. Very central, walking distance form everything, subway access. However Breakfast very expensive and mini bar too. STAY AS FAR AS YOU CAN FROM A ROOM NEAR THE ELEVATOR and you feel the vibration.... super noisy if you are a light sleeper. But I recommend this hotel anyways, if like me you feel secure in a clean well know hotel (but I would not pay the regular price for it).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Fairmont Royal York

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
an0nym0us1
Business
Kitchener, ON
Jul 15, 2012

Ok, but disappointing if you paid full price

I was looking forward to staying here. I got a really good deal for the room. However, I was very disappointed with the room itself. The lobby is gorgeous and everything is very close. But the room was worn out and outdated. The wallpaper was coming off, the carpets were old and dirty and worst of all they forgot to clean the corners of the room! You can tell the the dirt was accumulating in the corners for months. The room was extremely hot all night even though the temperature was set to 15C, the room temperature never went below 24C. I was expecting a lot more from this Hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Fairmont Royal York

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Laura aka Super PA
Business
Duncansville, PA
May 31, 2012

First solo travel experience...don't regret my hotel decision!

The hotel blew my mind. The location is fantastic and the hotel itself was beautiful. As to be expected with such a luxurious setting, any extras such as the mini bar in the room were extremely overpriced. Also, I found it rather odd and surprising that you have to pay $15 per day for wifi on top of your regular room rate. The hotel is definitely very nice, but for the nightly rate I think wifi should be included. They were also working on the outside of the hotel during my stay so one day my window was completely covered with paper and there was some construction associated noise during the day. However, this of course is temporary and necessary for upkeep of the hotel. Overall, the hotel and staff as a whole were great, and I thoroughly enjoyed my time in Toronto.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Fairmont Royal York

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Inner Harmony Feng Shui
Business
Pittsburgh PA
May 16, 2011

Wonderful place! Wonderful staff!

This hotel was close to the convention center, and was beautiful. Most of all, the staff here, from valets, to front desk to maids were all very courteous and helpful. Would stay here again and again. Also, great little shops in the lower level!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Benehana was excellent!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Fairmont Royal York

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Miami Beach lover
Business
Denver, Colorado
Aug 4, 2009

Fairmont Royal York - MSJH

The Fairmont is a very nice hotel located in the center of toronto which allows easy access to all the sites in downtown. The staff was extremely helpful. I thoroughly enjoyed my stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

The underground all is a little pricy but excellent.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top