$141 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 25, 2014 Check-out: Jul 26, 2014

The Fairmont Royal York

4 stars
100 Front Street West, Toronto, ON M5J 1E3
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
109 reviews
Reunion in Toronto

We arrived by train at 10 am! We just had to walk across the street!The bellman claimed our luggage... See full review

  • LinLake
  • Jun 3, 2014
few days to R&R

hotel was great but a real nightmare to get into ! massive construction around with one ways was... See full review

  • dave me
  • May 20, 2014
Updated landmark hotel boasts modern conveniences in downtown's center
The landmark Fairmont Royal York hotel defined luxury when the city of Toronto was still in its infancy, and it continues to meet guests' high standards for first-class accommodations. Updated with modern conveniences, this classic hotel in the heart of downtown is perfect for business or leisure travel. Get a fabulous meal at one of the hotel's five restaurants. Stay connected at the business center. Work out in the fitness center, swim in the heated indoor pool, relax in the steam bath or rejuvenate with a specialized spa treatment.
Highlights
  • Luxurious accommodations in a landmark hotel
  • Magnificent hand-painted ceiling
  • Historic hotel featured in numerous Hollywood movies
Rooms

Choose from a number of spacious, elegantly decorated guest rooms and suites at the Fairmont Royal York. Standard amenities include bathrobes, high-speed Internet access (fees apply) and operable windows. Some guest rooms feature gorgeous city views. Separate sleeping and sitting areas are included in all suites, but to enjoy enough space to entertain up to 16, reserve the Royal Suite. Experience truly royal treatment when reserving a Fairmont Gold guest room or suite. Private reception and check-in on the 12th floor, access to the exclusive Fairmont Gold Lounge and complimentary use of a private boardroom are included.

Features

Guests enjoy a sophisticated and elegant part of Toronto's history, updated to incorporate modern conveniences, at the Fairmont Royal York. In addition to the stately rooms, the hotel features a state-of-the-art fitness center, heated indoor swimming pool and steam bath. Elevators are home to images of England's royalty, and guests can expect the royal treatment throughout the hotel, from the concierge to the on-site Spa. Original hand-painted ceilings and ornate pillars recall the hotel's past, but the five on-site restaurants and four lounges offer contemporary fare and fashionable cocktails.

Transportation
  • Toronto Pearson International Airport (16.5 mi/26.6 km)
  • Union Station (across the street)
Attractions
  • CN Tower (0.3 mi/0.6 km)
  • Harbourfront (0.6 mi/1 km)
  • Bloor-Yorkville (2.6 mi/4.3 km)
  • Casa Loma (3.9 mi/6.3 km)
Business
  • Fully equipped business center
  • Meeting and conference facilities available
  • Wi-Fi and high-speed Internet access (fees apply)

Hotel Map

43.6455 -79.3813
Area served
Nearby airports Lester B. Pearson Intl Airport, (YYZ), 32 KM; Toronto Island Airport, (YTZ), 2KM
Nearby airports
In the heart of the financial and entertainment districts, we are connected by the underground PATH Walkway to approximately 1200 shops, services and attractions, including: Hockey Hall of Fame, the Air Canada Centre, Eaton Centre and Union Station.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Fairmont Royal York also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

The Fairmont Royal York Rooms

Fairmont Room
Located throughout the hotel, Fairmont rooms are our traditional guestrooms, with elegant, comfortable decor. Both smoking and non-smoking Fairmont rooms are available. Rooms are approximately 250 sq. feet and have one or two beds.
Fairmont Deluxe Room
Deluxe rooms are larger open-concept rooms, with a sitting area as well as a sleeping area. All are located on the 1st to 11th floors, and both smoking and non-smoking Deluxe rooms are available. With their larger size, Deluxe rooms are ideal for families, or any guest who will be staying for an extended period. Rooms are approximately 500 sq. feet and have one or two beds.
Fairmont Gold Room
Our elegant room selection on our Fairmont Gold floors at The Fairmont Royal York include: Fairmont Gold Guest Rooms Fairmont Gold Junior Suites Fairmont Gold One Bedroom Suites

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Airport shuttle
  • Indoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Indoor pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Childcare Service
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Internet
High-speed internet
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • The Air Canada Centre: 0.2 mi
  • Air Canada Centre: 0.2 mi
  • Hockey Hall of Fame: 0.2 mi
  • Massey Hall: 0.3 mi
  • Toronto Symphony Orchestra: 0.3 mi
  • CN Tower: 0.4 mi
  • Princess of Wales Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Harbourfront Centre: 0.4 mi
  • Four Seasons Centre for the Performing Arts: 0.4 mi
  • Rogers Centre: 0.5 mi
  • The Elgin and Winter Garden Theatre Centre: 0.5 mi
  • St Lawrence Market: 0.6 mi
  • National Ballet of Canada: 0.6 mi
  • Eaton Centre: 0.6 mi
  • Pantages Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • The Air Canada Centre: 0.2 mi
  • Air Canada Centre: 0.2 mi
  • Hockey Hall of Fame: 0.2 mi
  • Massey Hall: 0.3 mi
  • Toronto Symphony Orchestra: 0.3 mi
  • CN Tower: 0.4 mi
  • Princess of Wales Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Harbourfront Centre: 0.4 mi
  • Four Seasons Centre for the Performing Arts: 0.4 mi
  • Rogers Centre: 0.5 mi
  • The Elgin and Winter Garden Theatre Centre: 0.5 mi
  • St Lawrence Market: 0.6 mi
  • National Ballet of Canada: 0.6 mi
  • Eaton Centre: 0.6 mi
  • Pantages Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Mackenzie House: 0.7 mi
  • The AGO, Art gallery of Ontario: 0.8 mi
  • Toronto Music Garden: 0.9 mi
  • Distillery District: 1.1 mi
  • Allan Gardens Conservatory: 1.2 mi
  • Fort York: 1.2 mi
  • Centre Island: 1.3 mi
  • University of Toronto: 1.4 mi
  • Toronto Island Park: 1.6 mi
  • Royal Ontario Museum: 1.7 mi
  • Royal Conservatory of Music: 1.7 mi
  • Bata Shoe Museum: 1.8 mi
  • Toronto Public Library: 1.8 mi
  • Yorkville: 1.8 mi
  • Spandina Historic House: 2.7 mi
  • Casa Loma: 3 mi
  • Ashbridge's Bay Park: 3.8 mi
  • High Park: 4.2 mi
  • The Beaches: 4.5 mi
  • Ontario Science Centre: 5.4 mi
  • Edwards Gardens: 6.2 mi
  • Toronto Centre for the Arts: 8.5 mi
  • Scarborough Bluffs: 9.3 mi
  • Toronto Zoo: 15.4 mi

Dining

EPIC Restaurant
EPIC takes a reputation for innovation and quality and infuses it with premium quality regional elements.
Benihana Japanese Steakhouse
Benihana is a fabulous teppan steakhouse experience in the heart of Toronto.
The Library Bar
The ideal venue for pre-dinner or theatre beverages, business lunches or evening cocktails.
Piper's Gastropub
Join us on our coast-to-coast journey of casual favourites with a uniquely local twist.
York Station
The smallest bar in Toronto is the meeting spot before catching the commuter train.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The Fairmont Royal York brings cosmopolitan flair and dedicated expertise to conferences, meetings and banquets. Recently renovated, this elegant hotel's conference facilities meet the technological needs of modern business, while its knowledgeable staff contributes to seamlessly executed events.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (109)

Ratings and reviews for The Fairmont Royal York

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
109 out of 109
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.7

81% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Fairmont Royal York

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Toronto
Nov 16, 2008

Dirty

I was shocked at the deluxe room in the Royal York. We had to wait till around 4:30 pm before the room was ready. It still wasn't ready so they gave us a different room. When we got to our floor it smelled of smoke and so did our non smoking room. The room was supposed to be set up for 3 people and it was only set for 2 people. We had to keep calling housekeeping for extra cups, glasses, robes, towels etc. In the room carpet was filthy. When we asked for something the housekeeping staff were nice, but that was the only redeeming feature of the hotel. We had a sofa bed that you didn't even want to sit on, let alone sleep on. It was old, the upholstery was worn and dirty. The whole time you were having a shower you were up to your ankles in dirty water because the tub didn't drain properly. I was embarrassed to have invited my friends from out of town to the hotel. I expected the Royal York rooms to be much better and atleast to have clean furnishing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of The Fairmont Royal York

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
disappointed hostess
Illinois
Apr 7, 2014

Disappointing weekend

Despite Isaiah checking us in -who was very nice, our stay was disappointing. I thought the Royal York would be a special treat, but from trying to maneuver the horrible mess of construction to park and later exit several times with our car and the inattentive staff in the restaurant for lunch, I was sorry I had chosen to stay here. Our window views were obstructed by scaffolding, and the closet was very difficult to hang anything in. We did have a nice dinner in the dining room Saturday evening and Sunday brunch was also good -so not all was lost.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
2
Time-saving tip: In Hotel

wait to stay here until the construction is finished

Review of The Fairmont Royal York

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
dennyf
Jackson Hts NY
Jun 23, 2012

Disappointed, would not stay again

Checking in at 8:30 p.m. a room with two beds not available for an hour. We needed to have have dinner and change clothes, so took a room with a queen size bed. On way to room, we passed two different maid stations still making up rooms! Could not locate tv remote upon returning from dinner. Called front desk, they sent up another. Next morning found tv remote on floor under bed. Internet costs $15. This room costs over $200 and they are asking for $15? Bed was so soft I was afraid I was going to fall off on the floor. Hotel beds are generally firm in my experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Fisherman's Wharf, excellent dinner. Service impeccable, oysters absolutely perfect.

Review of The Fairmont Royal York

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Toronto
Nov 16, 2008

Dirty

I was shocked at the deluxe room in the Royal York. We had to wait till around 4:30 pm before the room was ready. It still wasn't ready so they gave us a different room. When we got to our floor it smelled of smoke and so did our non smoking room. The room was supposed to be set up for 3 people and it was only set for 2 people. We had to keep calling housekeeping for extra cups, glasses, robes, towels etc. In the room carpet was filthy. When we asked for something the housekeeping staff were nice, but that was the only redeeming feature of the hotel. We had a sofa bed that you didn't even want to sit on, let alone sleep on. It was old, the upholstery was worn and dirty. The whole time you were having a shower you were up to your ankles in dirty water because the tub didn't drain properly. I was embarrassed to have invited my friends from out of town to the hotel. I expected the Royal York rooms to be much better and atleast to have clean furnishing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of The Fairmont Royal York

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
LMM Business Travel
Business
Chicago IL
May 15, 2014

Convenient location but requires updating - very very runned down room

The people were nice and the location would be convenient if there is no construction however I would rather be inconvenienced by staying at a more updated facility. I do not plan to stay there again. The rooms are disappointing because they are very very old, runned down and require lots of updating to be competitive relative to other hotels. The price is not cheap so you can stay at a more up to date place for the same money. Maybe my room was poor because I ordered it from an on-line discount provider. But $276 is not a discount for a poor room. Never again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Fairmont Royal York

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Aug 6, 2007

Yikes

Check in was prompt and friendly; however the room was nauseating. Some sort or reddish fluid streaked the walls. When the curtains were opened to help identify the stain the entire rod fell. This was reported immediately to the front desk. A very kind maintenance person arrived promptly to report the rod could not be repaired and we would be moved to another room. When we returned and asked the front desk what room we now had they replied they had no information regarding any problems with the room. We returned to the room and had a message from the same front desk that the repair could not be made and room availability was questionable. My daughter was tired and asked that we cease arguing with uninformed staff and simply stay out of the room as much as possible. The tub backed up, the sheets were stained. On and on. We stayed only two nights and will not return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of The Fairmont Royal York

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Aug 6, 2007

Yikes

Check in was prompt and friendly; however the room was nauseating. Some sort or reddish fluid streaked the walls. When the curtains were opened to help identify the stain the entire rod fell. This was reported immediately to the front desk. A very kind maintenance person arrived promptly to report the rod could not be repaired and we would be moved to another room. When we returned and asked the front desk what room we now had they replied they had no information regarding any problems with the room. We returned to the room and had a message from the same front desk that the repair could not be made and room availability was questionable. My daughter was tired and asked that we cease arguing with uninformed staff and simply stay out of the room as much as possible. The tub backed up, the sheets were stained. On and on. We stayed only two nights and will not return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of The Fairmont Royal York

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Mavica
Business
Montreal CANADA
Aug 16, 2010

Bad

The room is VERY smal, the bathroom is TO SMAL you are not capable to use the bowl with confort it is ridiculs

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Fairmont Royal York

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Farsh
Business
Vancouver, BC, Canada
Nov 30, 2011

Outdated

Old and outdated rooms even though I paid extra to get upgraded. Very friendly staff but the hotel is noisy and old. Would not stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Fairmont Royal York

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Traveler Again
South Florida
May 5, 2012

Needs updating

Stayed for four nights. Staff very slow to respond to requests -- took several hours and, in one case, over a day. Senior Staff kept promising to respond, but didn't. First room had a odd odor, shifted to another. Hall for second room had a dusty smell. No bathrobe as listed, took over 24 hours for one to appear at the door. Meals high priced but food good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Back to menu Return to top