$133 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 12, 2014 Check-out: Dec 15, 2014

The Fairmont Royal York

4 stars
100 Front Street West, Toronto, ON M5J 1E3
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
91 reviews
Wonderful Weekend Getaway

This hotel has great old world charm. Back in the day, it was the largest hotel in the British... See full review

  • Mike and Christine
  • Aug 20, 2014
Reunion in Toronto

We arrived by train at 10 am! We just had to walk across the street!The bellman claimed our luggage... See full review

  • LinLake
  • Jun 3, 2014
Updated landmark hotel boasts modern conveniences in downtown's center
The landmark Fairmont Royal York hotel defined luxury when the city of Toronto was still in its infancy, and it continues to meet guests' high standards for first-class accommodations. Updated with modern conveniences, this classic hotel in the heart of downtown is perfect for business or leisure travel. Get a fabulous meal at one of the hotel's five restaurants. Stay connected at the business center. Work out in the fitness center, swim in the heated indoor pool, relax in the steam bath or rejuvenate with a specialized spa treatment.
Highlights
  • Luxurious accommodations in a landmark hotel
  • Magnificent hand-painted ceiling
  • Historic hotel featured in numerous Hollywood movies
Rooms

Choose from a number of spacious, elegantly decorated guest rooms and suites at the Fairmont Royal York. Standard amenities include bathrobes, high-speed Internet access (fees apply) and operable windows. Some guest rooms feature gorgeous city views. Separate sleeping and sitting areas are included in all suites, but to enjoy enough space to entertain up to 16, reserve the Royal Suite. Experience truly royal treatment when reserving a Fairmont Gold guest room or suite. Private reception and check-in on the 12th floor, access to the exclusive Fairmont Gold Lounge and complimentary use of a private boardroom are included.

Features

Guests enjoy a sophisticated and elegant part of Toronto's history, updated to incorporate modern conveniences, at the Fairmont Royal York. In addition to the stately rooms, the hotel features a state-of-the-art fitness center, heated indoor swimming pool and steam bath. Elevators are home to images of England's royalty, and guests can expect the royal treatment throughout the hotel, from the concierge to the on-site Spa. Original hand-painted ceilings and ornate pillars recall the hotel's past, but the five on-site restaurants and four lounges offer contemporary fare and fashionable cocktails.

Transportation
  • Toronto Pearson International Airport (16.5 mi/26.6 km)
  • Union Station (across the street)
Attractions
  • CN Tower (0.3 mi/0.6 km)
  • Harbourfront (0.6 mi/1 km)
  • Bloor-Yorkville (2.6 mi/4.3 km)
  • Casa Loma (3.9 mi/6.3 km)
Business
  • Fully equipped business center
  • Meeting and conference facilities available
  • Wi-Fi and high-speed Internet access (fees apply)

Hotel Map

43.6455 -79.3813
Area served
Nearby airports Lester B. Pearson Intl Airport, (YYZ), 32 KM; Toronto Island Airport, (YTZ), 2KM
Nearby airports
In the heart of the financial and entertainment districts, we are connected by the underground PATH Walkway to approximately 1200 shops, services and attractions, including: Hockey Hall of Fame, the Air Canada Centre, Eaton Centre and Union Station.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Fairmont Royal York also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

The Fairmont Royal York Rooms

Fairmont Room
Located throughout the hotel, Fairmont rooms are our traditional guestrooms, with elegant, comfortable decor. Both smoking and non-smoking Fairmont rooms are available. Rooms are approximately 250 sq. feet and have one or two beds.
Fairmont Deluxe Room
Deluxe rooms are larger open-concept rooms, with a sitting area as well as a sleeping area. All are located on the 1st to 11th floors, and both smoking and non-smoking Deluxe rooms are available. With their larger size, Deluxe rooms are ideal for families, or any guest who will be staying for an extended period. Rooms are approximately 500 sq. feet and have one or two beds.
Fairmont Gold Room
Our elegant room selection on our Fairmont Gold floors at The Fairmont Royal York include: Fairmont Gold Guest Rooms Fairmont Gold Junior Suites Fairmont Gold One Bedroom Suites

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Airport shuttle
  • Indoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Indoor pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Childcare Service
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Internet
High-speed internet
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • The Air Canada Centre: 0.2 mi
  • Air Canada Centre: 0.2 mi
  • Hockey Hall of Fame: 0.2 mi
  • Massey Hall: 0.3 mi
  • Toronto Symphony Orchestra: 0.3 mi
  • CN Tower: 0.4 mi
  • Princess of Wales Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Harbourfront Centre: 0.4 mi
  • Four Seasons Centre for the Performing Arts: 0.4 mi
  • Rogers Centre: 0.5 mi
  • The Elgin and Winter Garden Theatre Centre: 0.5 mi
  • St Lawrence Market: 0.6 mi
  • National Ballet of Canada: 0.6 mi
  • Eaton Centre: 0.6 mi
  • Pantages Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • The Air Canada Centre: 0.2 mi
  • Air Canada Centre: 0.2 mi
  • Hockey Hall of Fame: 0.2 mi
  • Massey Hall: 0.3 mi
  • Toronto Symphony Orchestra: 0.3 mi
  • CN Tower: 0.4 mi
  • Princess of Wales Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Harbourfront Centre: 0.4 mi
  • Four Seasons Centre for the Performing Arts: 0.4 mi
  • Rogers Centre: 0.5 mi
  • The Elgin and Winter Garden Theatre Centre: 0.5 mi
  • St Lawrence Market: 0.6 mi
  • National Ballet of Canada: 0.6 mi
  • Eaton Centre: 0.6 mi
  • Pantages Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Mackenzie House: 0.7 mi
  • The AGO, Art gallery of Ontario: 0.8 mi
  • Toronto Music Garden: 0.9 mi
  • Distillery District: 1.1 mi
  • Allan Gardens Conservatory: 1.2 mi
  • Fort York: 1.2 mi
  • Centre Island: 1.3 mi
  • University of Toronto: 1.4 mi
  • Toronto Island Park: 1.6 mi
  • Royal Ontario Museum: 1.7 mi
  • Royal Conservatory of Music: 1.7 mi
  • Bata Shoe Museum: 1.8 mi
  • Toronto Public Library: 1.8 mi
  • Yorkville: 1.8 mi
  • Spandina Historic House: 2.7 mi
  • Casa Loma: 3 mi
  • Ashbridge's Bay Park: 3.8 mi
  • High Park: 4.2 mi
  • The Beaches: 4.5 mi
  • Ontario Science Centre: 5.4 mi
  • Edwards Gardens: 6.2 mi
  • Toronto Centre for the Arts: 8.5 mi
  • Scarborough Bluffs: 9.3 mi
  • Toronto Zoo: 15.4 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The Fairmont Royal York brings cosmopolitan flair and dedicated expertise to conferences, meetings and banquets. Recently renovated, this elegant hotel's conference facilities meet the technological needs of modern business, while its knowledgeable staff contributes to seamlessly executed events.

Dining

EPIC Restaurant
EPIC takes a reputation for innovation and quality and infuses it with premium quality regional elements.
Benihana Japanese Steakhouse
Benihana is a fabulous teppan steakhouse experience in the heart of Toronto.
The Library Bar
The ideal venue for pre-dinner or theatre beverages, business lunches or evening cocktails.
Piper's Gastropub
Join us on our coast-to-coast journey of casual favourites with a uniquely local twist.
York Station
The smallest bar in Toronto is the meeting spot before catching the commuter train.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (91)

Ratings and reviews for The Fairmont Royal York

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
91 out of 91
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.7

82% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Fairmont Royal York

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jcjn
Business
Montreal
Feb 12, 2014

Great getaway

Wanted to stay close to the air Canada centre and the train station. No better location. However never ending construction. The hotel was everything and more than I had expected. Beautiful hotel ,such history . Excellent and friendly staff and comfortable rooms . Looking forward to my next visit.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Fairmont Royal York

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
concert gal
Business
new york
Apr 4, 2014

FANTASTIC HOTEL

EXCELLENT staff, clean rooms and hotel overall, location is great!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Fairmont Royal York

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Seano
Business
Port Colborne
Nov 29, 2011

A Fine Break in Luxury

I had read some reviews that went on about the lack of Staff... I have no idea where those comments came from because as soon as my suitcase had touched the sidewalk in front of the Hotel there were staff wanting to take my luggage to my room. I enter the Hotel and there were more staff wanting to carry my case up the stairs - informing me the 13 stairs to the lobby can be tiresome carrying a case! Check in went quick - It was busy however there were lots of staff on hand to expedite check in. The calls to the front desk were answered prompt and professional addressing me by name as soon as they answered the call. I can say that this trip will be remembered for a long time as it more than met my expectations. Fairmont Royal York is OLD SCHOOL CHARM!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Frans Diner - Short walk on Front Street (2-3 Blocks). Turn Left from the Hotel front Entrance. Awesome Breakfasts Apx 25.00 for 2 and thats with TIP!!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Fairmont Royal York

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
prince1
Business
toronto
Nov 27, 2011

Location was everything.....Fantastic

We ran behind, stuck in traffic. We had tickets for the Prince concert show to start at 8:00pm. We arrive at the hotel and the staff was so helpfull and accomodating they checked us in quickly so we wouldn't be late for the show. Exceptional service , will visit again soon!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

If you are going to a concert or game at the ACC this is your hotel, short walk to the ACC. THANK_YOU!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Fairmont Royal York

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
why do I need this
Business
Pittsburgh, PA
Jul 5, 2012

The Fairmont Royal York

Excellent. The location was perfect. We did not even need the car once it was parked.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Fairmont Royal York

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Hydatius
Business
Philadelphia
Jul 10, 2012

Fairmount Gold Review, Not Necessarily Applicable Overall

With the summer holiday discount, it seemed worth paying about a third more per night to stay on a concierge floor -- we'd never done Fairmount Gold before, but other concierge floors have usually proved worth the investment. This was no exception -- in fact, this was by far the best service I've had in a Canadian hotel, matching the best Asian hotels I've stayed in. The hotel is old, but the rooms are clean and well-appointed. The Gold lounge is beautiful, with an honor bar and a superb breakfast buffet that includes both the American heart-attack on a plate staples and nice European cold meats and cheese.The spa and pool are clean, accessible and comfortable. And the staff is impeccable. I can't speak for the 11 regular floors -- the main lobby was definitely a bit of a zoo. But we found this magnificent.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Fairmont Royal York

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Tiger Joe 53
Business
Michigan
Jul 30, 2012

Detroit Tiger getaway

The hotel was great. Only complaint was the const.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Close walk to the CN Tower, and the ball park.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Fairmont Royal York

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
GMcGreen
Business
alexandria, Virginia
Aug 8, 2012

perfect for experiencing toronto!

the staff, location and amenities and room were perfect!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

check out the distillery district for cool brew pubs and shopping

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Fairmont Royal York

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anton The Great
Business
New York City
Aug 8, 2012

My Trip To Toronto

The Fairmont Royal York was exceptional! This hotel offers its guests only the best. I stayed there twice and the second time was better than the first - and my first stay there was perfect! The Fairmont Royal York is truly a class act! When you come to Toronto - stay here!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

When you come to Toronto - buy a TTC pass for transit. It will save you money if you plan to do a lot of traveling around the city! Great city to explore and a pass will help you with this.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Fairmont Royal York

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Marty Montessori
Business
Wasaga Beach, Ontario
Apr 29, 2013

Son's wedding inToronto

The valet was polite and helped us, the lobby beautiful as usual, the room was clean. The only issue is that we could not see out our window, as a filter or screen was covering the outside. This was an odd feeling, as we are used to a view (of something...). It could make some claustrophobic.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

You are walking distance from theatre, the St. Lawrence Market shopping area and the Hockey Hall of Fame, along with many fine restaurants. The hotel, itself has so many places to dine and to shop, I would've liked to have had more days to spend right in the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top