$165 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 13, 2014 Check-out: Jul 14, 2014

The Fairmont Royal York

4 stars
100 Front Street West, Toronto, ON M5J 1E3
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
109 reviews
Reunion in Toronto

We arrived by train at 10 am! We just had to walk across the street!The bellman claimed our luggage... See full review

  • LinLake
  • Jun 3, 2014
few days to R&R

hotel was great but a real nightmare to get into ! massive construction around with one ways was... See full review

  • dave me
  • May 20, 2014
Updated landmark hotel boasts modern conveniences in downtown's center
The landmark Fairmont Royal York hotel defined luxury when the city of Toronto was still in its infancy, and it continues to meet guests' high standards for first-class accommodations. Updated with modern conveniences, this classic hotel in the heart of downtown is perfect for business or leisure travel. Get a fabulous meal at one of the hotel's five restaurants. Stay connected at the business center. Work out in the fitness center, swim in the heated indoor pool, relax in the steam bath or rejuvenate with a specialized spa treatment.
Highlights
  • Luxurious accommodations in a landmark hotel
  • Magnificent hand-painted ceiling
  • Historic hotel featured in numerous Hollywood movies
Rooms

Choose from a number of spacious, elegantly decorated guest rooms and suites at the Fairmont Royal York. Standard amenities include bathrobes, high-speed Internet access (fees apply) and operable windows. Some guest rooms feature gorgeous city views. Separate sleeping and sitting areas are included in all suites, but to enjoy enough space to entertain up to 16, reserve the Royal Suite. Experience truly royal treatment when reserving a Fairmont Gold guest room or suite. Private reception and check-in on the 12th floor, access to the exclusive Fairmont Gold Lounge and complimentary use of a private boardroom are included.

Features

Guests enjoy a sophisticated and elegant part of Toronto's history, updated to incorporate modern conveniences, at the Fairmont Royal York. In addition to the stately rooms, the hotel features a state-of-the-art fitness center, heated indoor swimming pool and steam bath. Elevators are home to images of England's royalty, and guests can expect the royal treatment throughout the hotel, from the concierge to the on-site Spa. Original hand-painted ceilings and ornate pillars recall the hotel's past, but the five on-site restaurants and four lounges offer contemporary fare and fashionable cocktails.

Transportation
  • Toronto Pearson International Airport (16.5 mi/26.6 km)
  • Union Station (across the street)
Attractions
  • CN Tower (0.3 mi/0.6 km)
  • Harbourfront (0.6 mi/1 km)
  • Bloor-Yorkville (2.6 mi/4.3 km)
  • Casa Loma (3.9 mi/6.3 km)
Business
  • Fully equipped business center
  • Meeting and conference facilities available
  • Wi-Fi and high-speed Internet access (fees apply)

The Fairmont Royal York Rooms

Fairmont Room
Located throughout the hotel, Fairmont rooms are our traditional guestrooms, with elegant, comfortable decor. Both smoking and non-smoking Fairmont rooms are available. Rooms are approximately 250 sq. feet and have one or two beds.
Fairmont Deluxe Room
Deluxe rooms are larger open-concept rooms, with a sitting area as well as a sleeping area. All are located on the 1st to 11th floors, and both smoking and non-smoking Deluxe rooms are available. With their larger size, Deluxe rooms are ideal for families, or any guest who will be staying for an extended period. Rooms are approximately 500 sq. feet and have one or two beds.
Fairmont Gold Room
Our elegant room selection on our Fairmont Gold floors at The Fairmont Royal York include: Fairmont Gold Guest Rooms Fairmont Gold Junior Suites Fairmont Gold One Bedroom Suites

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Airport shuttle
  • Indoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Indoor pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Childcare Service
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Internet
High-speed internet
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Fairmont Royal York also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Hotel Map

43.6455 -79.3813
Area served
Nearby airports Lester B. Pearson Intl Airport, (YYZ), 32 KM; Toronto Island Airport, (YTZ), 2KM
Nearby airports
In the heart of the financial and entertainment districts, we are connected by the underground PATH Walkway to approximately 1200 shops, services and attractions, including: Hockey Hall of Fame, the Air Canada Centre, Eaton Centre and Union Station.

Nearby points of interest

  • The Air Canada Centre: 0.2 mi
  • Air Canada Centre: 0.2 mi
  • Hockey Hall of Fame: 0.2 mi
  • Massey Hall: 0.3 mi
  • Toronto Symphony Orchestra: 0.3 mi
  • CN Tower: 0.4 mi
  • Princess of Wales Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Harbourfront Centre: 0.4 mi
  • Four Seasons Centre for the Performing Arts: 0.4 mi
  • Rogers Centre: 0.5 mi
  • The Elgin and Winter Garden Theatre Centre: 0.5 mi
  • St Lawrence Market: 0.6 mi
  • National Ballet of Canada: 0.6 mi
  • Eaton Centre: 0.6 mi
  • Pantages Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • The Air Canada Centre: 0.2 mi
  • Air Canada Centre: 0.2 mi
  • Hockey Hall of Fame: 0.2 mi
  • Massey Hall: 0.3 mi
  • Toronto Symphony Orchestra: 0.3 mi
  • CN Tower: 0.4 mi
  • Princess of Wales Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Harbourfront Centre: 0.4 mi
  • Four Seasons Centre for the Performing Arts: 0.4 mi
  • Rogers Centre: 0.5 mi
  • The Elgin and Winter Garden Theatre Centre: 0.5 mi
  • St Lawrence Market: 0.6 mi
  • National Ballet of Canada: 0.6 mi
  • Eaton Centre: 0.6 mi
  • Pantages Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Mackenzie House: 0.7 mi
  • The AGO, Art gallery of Ontario: 0.8 mi
  • Toronto Music Garden: 0.9 mi
  • Distillery District: 1.1 mi
  • Allan Gardens Conservatory: 1.2 mi
  • Fort York: 1.2 mi
  • Centre Island: 1.3 mi
  • University of Toronto: 1.4 mi
  • Toronto Island Park: 1.6 mi
  • Royal Ontario Museum: 1.7 mi
  • Royal Conservatory of Music: 1.7 mi
  • Bata Shoe Museum: 1.8 mi
  • Toronto Public Library: 1.8 mi
  • Yorkville: 1.8 mi
  • Spandina Historic House: 2.7 mi
  • Casa Loma: 3 mi
  • Ashbridge's Bay Park: 3.8 mi
  • High Park: 4.2 mi
  • The Beaches: 4.5 mi
  • Ontario Science Centre: 5.4 mi
  • Edwards Gardens: 6.2 mi
  • Toronto Centre for the Arts: 8.5 mi
  • Scarborough Bluffs: 9.3 mi
  • Toronto Zoo: 15.4 mi

Dining

EPIC Restaurant
EPIC takes a reputation for innovation and quality and infuses it with premium quality regional elements.
Benihana Japanese Steakhouse
Benihana is a fabulous teppan steakhouse experience in the heart of Toronto.
The Library Bar
The ideal venue for pre-dinner or theatre beverages, business lunches or evening cocktails.
Piper's Gastropub
Join us on our coast-to-coast journey of casual favourites with a uniquely local twist.
York Station
The smallest bar in Toronto is the meeting spot before catching the commuter train.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The Fairmont Royal York brings cosmopolitan flair and dedicated expertise to conferences, meetings and banquets. Recently renovated, this elegant hotel's conference facilities meet the technological needs of modern business, while its knowledgeable staff contributes to seamlessly executed events.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (109)

Ratings and reviews for The Fairmont Royal York

Overall score

3.1 / 5
5.01.0
10 out of 109
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
2.8
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2.9
Location:
3.8
Value:
2.7

50% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Fairmont Royal York

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jcjn
Montreal
Feb 12, 2014

Great getaway

Wanted to stay close to the air Canada centre and the train station. No better location. However never ending construction. The hotel was everything and more than I had expected. Beautiful hotel ,such history . Excellent and friendly staff and comfortable rooms . Looking forward to my next visit.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of The Fairmont Royal York

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Yelwac
Boston. MA
Aug 16, 2013

Lovely hotel

The Fairmount Royal York is a lovely historic hotel with many ammenities. The rooms are clean and well appointed. It is located across from the main Toronto train station, walkable to the Harborside, CN Tower, Rogers Center, across from the subway and around the corner from Bixi Rental bikes. The only difficulty is that until at least spring 2014, the entire area in front of the hotel is under construction and it makes it somewhat cumbersome to come and go.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of The Fairmont Royal York

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
prince1
toronto
Nov 27, 2011

Location was everything.....Fantastic

We ran behind, stuck in traffic. We had tickets for the Prince concert show to start at 8:00pm. We arrive at the hotel and the staff was so helpfull and accomodating they checked us in quickly so we wouldn't be late for the show. Exceptional service , will visit again soon!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

If you are going to a concert or game at the ACC this is your hotel, short walk to the ACC. THANK_YOU!

Review of The Fairmont Royal York

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
yonny
montreal
Nov 15, 2011

a week-end get-away

a little chaotic. Not enough staff for in-coming guests.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

AGO & ROM - great museums - great exhibitions

Review of The Fairmont Royal York

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Non trailer park reviewer
Detroit, MI
Sep 19, 2010

Not the Ritz

its a great place if you are used to the motel 6. bad bathroom and linnens, noisy, tiny bathroom, horrible restaurant recommendations. Don't do it - their are plenty of nice hotels in Toronto. Not worth the money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of The Fairmont Royal York

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Non trailer park reviewer
Detroit, MI
Sep 19, 2010

Not the Ritz

its a great place if you are used to the motel 6. bad bathroom and linnens, noisy, tiny bathroom, horrible restaurant recommendations. Don't do it - their are plenty of nice hotels in Toronto. Not worth the money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of The Fairmont Royal York

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Washington, DC
Sep 26, 2009

Huge Hotel

Arrived at hotel and was amazed by the size of the hotel. It was by far the largest hotel I have ever stayed. Just huge. The staff was friendly. No issues checking in or checking out. Though an older hotel, it was still impressive. I did not eat at the hotel so cannot comment on the food. Lots of places to eat outside the hotel that were fun.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of The Fairmont Royal York

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Washington, DC
Sep 26, 2009

Huge Hotel

Arrived at hotel and was amazed by the size of the hotel. It was by far the largest hotel I have ever stayed. Just huge. The staff was friendly. No issues checking in or checking out. Though an older hotel, it was still impressive. I did not eat at the hotel so cannot comment on the food. Lots of places to eat outside the hotel that were fun.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of The Fairmont Royal York

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Toronto
Nov 16, 2008

Dirty

I was shocked at the deluxe room in the Royal York. We had to wait till around 4:30 pm before the room was ready. It still wasn't ready so they gave us a different room. When we got to our floor it smelled of smoke and so did our non smoking room. The room was supposed to be set up for 3 people and it was only set for 2 people. We had to keep calling housekeeping for extra cups, glasses, robes, towels etc. In the room carpet was filthy. When we asked for something the housekeeping staff were nice, but that was the only redeeming feature of the hotel. We had a sofa bed that you didn't even want to sit on, let alone sleep on. It was old, the upholstery was worn and dirty. The whole time you were having a shower you were up to your ankles in dirty water because the tub didn't drain properly. I was embarrassed to have invited my friends from out of town to the hotel. I expected the Royal York rooms to be much better and atleast to have clean furnishing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of The Fairmont Royal York

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Toronto
Nov 16, 2008

Dirty

I was shocked at the deluxe room in the Royal York. We had to wait till around 4:30 pm before the room was ready. It still wasn't ready so they gave us a different room. When we got to our floor it smelled of smoke and so did our non smoking room. The room was supposed to be set up for 3 people and it was only set for 2 people. We had to keep calling housekeeping for extra cups, glasses, robes, towels etc. In the room carpet was filthy. When we asked for something the housekeeping staff were nice, but that was the only redeeming feature of the hotel. We had a sofa bed that you didn't even want to sit on, let alone sleep on. It was old, the upholstery was worn and dirty. The whole time you were having a shower you were up to your ankles in dirty water because the tub didn't drain properly. I was embarrassed to have invited my friends from out of town to the hotel. I expected the Royal York rooms to be much better and atleast to have clean furnishing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Back to menu Return to top