$129 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 22, 2014 Check-out: Dec 25, 2014

The Fairmont Royal York

4 stars
100 Front Street West, Toronto, ON M5J 1E3
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
92 reviews
Amazing

Incredible! Best hotel I have ever stayed in. The only negative is that there is a fee for internet... See full review

  • collegestudent02
  • Dec 1, 2014
Wonderful Weekend Getaway

This hotel has great old world charm. Back in the day, it was the largest hotel in the British... See full review

  • Mike and Christine
  • Aug 20, 2014
Updated landmark hotel boasts modern conveniences in downtown's center
The landmark Fairmont Royal York hotel defined luxury when the city of Toronto was still in its infancy, and it continues to meet guests' high standards for first-class accommodations. Updated with modern conveniences, this classic hotel in the heart of downtown is perfect for business or leisure travel. Get a fabulous meal at one of the hotel's five restaurants. Stay connected at the business center. Work out in the fitness center, swim in the heated indoor pool, relax in the steam bath or rejuvenate with a specialized spa treatment.
Highlights
  • Luxurious accommodations in a landmark hotel
  • Magnificent hand-painted ceiling
  • Historic hotel featured in numerous Hollywood movies
Rooms

Choose from a number of spacious, elegantly decorated guest rooms and suites at the Fairmont Royal York. Standard amenities include bathrobes, high-speed Internet access (fees apply) and operable windows. Some guest rooms feature gorgeous city views. Separate sleeping and sitting areas are included in all suites, but to enjoy enough space to entertain up to 16, reserve the Royal Suite. Experience truly royal treatment when reserving a Fairmont Gold guest room or suite. Private reception and check-in on the 12th floor, access to the exclusive Fairmont Gold Lounge and complimentary use of a private boardroom are included.

Features

Guests enjoy a sophisticated and elegant part of Toronto's history, updated to incorporate modern conveniences, at the Fairmont Royal York. In addition to the stately rooms, the hotel features a state-of-the-art fitness center, heated indoor swimming pool and steam bath. Elevators are home to images of England's royalty, and guests can expect the royal treatment throughout the hotel, from the concierge to the on-site Spa. Original hand-painted ceilings and ornate pillars recall the hotel's past, but the five on-site restaurants and four lounges offer contemporary fare and fashionable cocktails.

Transportation
  • Toronto Pearson International Airport (16.5 mi/26.6 km)
  • Union Station (across the street)
Attractions
  • CN Tower (0.3 mi/0.6 km)
  • Harbourfront (0.6 mi/1 km)
  • Bloor-Yorkville (2.6 mi/4.3 km)
  • Casa Loma (3.9 mi/6.3 km)
Business
  • Fully equipped business center
  • Meeting and conference facilities available
  • Wi-Fi and high-speed Internet access (fees apply)

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Fairmont Royal York also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

The Fairmont Royal York Rooms

Fairmont Room
Located throughout the hotel, Fairmont rooms are our traditional guestrooms, with elegant, comfortable decor. Both smoking and non-smoking Fairmont rooms are available. Rooms are approximately 250 sq. feet and have one or two beds.
Fairmont Deluxe Room
Deluxe rooms are larger open-concept rooms, with a sitting area as well as a sleeping area. All are located on the 1st to 11th floors, and both smoking and non-smoking Deluxe rooms are available. With their larger size, Deluxe rooms are ideal for families, or any guest who will be staying for an extended period. Rooms are approximately 500 sq. feet and have one or two beds.
Fairmont Gold Room
Our elegant room selection on our Fairmont Gold floors at The Fairmont Royal York include: Fairmont Gold Guest Rooms Fairmont Gold Junior Suites Fairmont Gold One Bedroom Suites

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Airport shuttle
  • Indoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Indoor pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Childcare Service
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Internet
High-speed internet
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Air Canada Centre: 0.2 mi
  • Hockey Hall of Fame: 0.2 mi
  • Massey Hall: 0.3 mi
  • Toronto Symphony Orchestra: 0.3 mi
  • CN Tower: 0.4 mi
  • Princess of Wales Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Harbourfront Centre: 0.4 mi
  • Four Seasons Centre for the Performing Arts: 0.4 mi
  • Rogers Centre: 0.5 mi
  • The Elgin and Winter Garden Theatre Centre: 0.5 mi
  • St Lawrence Market: 0.6 mi
  • National Ballet of Canada: 0.6 mi
  • Eaton Centre: 0.6 mi
  • Pantages Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Mackenzie House: 0.7 mi
  • Air Canada Centre: 0.2 mi
  • Hockey Hall of Fame: 0.2 mi
  • Massey Hall: 0.3 mi
  • Toronto Symphony Orchestra: 0.3 mi
  • CN Tower: 0.4 mi
  • Princess of Wales Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Harbourfront Centre: 0.4 mi
  • Four Seasons Centre for the Performing Arts: 0.4 mi
  • Rogers Centre: 0.5 mi
  • The Elgin and Winter Garden Theatre Centre: 0.5 mi
  • St Lawrence Market: 0.6 mi
  • National Ballet of Canada: 0.6 mi
  • Eaton Centre: 0.6 mi
  • Pantages Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Mackenzie House: 0.7 mi
  • The AGO, Art gallery of Ontario: 0.8 mi
  • Toronto Music Garden: 0.9 mi
  • Distillery District: 1.1 mi
  • Allan Gardens Conservatory: 1.2 mi
  • Fort York: 1.2 mi
  • Centre Island: 1.3 mi
  • University of Toronto: 1.4 mi
  • Toronto Island Park: 1.6 mi
  • Royal Ontario Museum: 1.7 mi
  • Royal Conservatory of Music: 1.7 mi
  • Bata Shoe Museum: 1.8 mi
  • Toronto Public Library: 1.8 mi
  • Yorkville: 1.8 mi
  • Spandina Historic House: 2.7 mi
  • Casa Loma: 3 mi
  • Ashbridge's Bay Park: 3.8 mi
  • High Park: 4.2 mi
  • The Beaches: 4.5 mi
  • Ontario Science Centre: 5.4 mi
  • Edwards Gardens: 6.2 mi
  • Toronto Centre for the Arts: 8.5 mi
  • Scarborough Bluffs: 9.3 mi
  • Toronto Zoo: 15.4 mi

Dining

EPIC Restaurant
EPIC takes a reputation for innovation and quality and infuses it with premium quality regional elements.
Benihana Japanese Steakhouse
Benihana is a fabulous teppan steakhouse experience in the heart of Toronto.
The Library Bar
The ideal venue for pre-dinner or theatre beverages, business lunches or evening cocktails.
Piper's Gastropub
Join us on our coast-to-coast journey of casual favourites with a uniquely local twist.
York Station
The smallest bar in Toronto is the meeting spot before catching the commuter train.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The Fairmont Royal York brings cosmopolitan flair and dedicated expertise to conferences, meetings and banquets. Recently renovated, this elegant hotel's conference facilities meet the technological needs of modern business, while its knowledgeable staff contributes to seamlessly executed events.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (92)

Ratings and reviews for The Fairmont Royal York

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
8 out of 92
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
3.8
Room comfort:
3.5
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.8

62% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Fairmont Royal York

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
disappointed hostess
Business
Illinois
Apr 7, 2014

Disappointing weekend

Despite Isaiah checking us in -who was very nice, our stay was disappointing. I thought the Royal York would be a special treat, but from trying to maneuver the horrible mess of construction to park and later exit several times with our car and the inattentive staff in the restaurant for lunch, I was sorry I had chosen to stay here. Our window views were obstructed by scaffolding, and the closet was very difficult to hang anything in. We did have a nice dinner in the dining room Saturday evening and Sunday brunch was also good -so not all was lost.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: In Hotel

wait to stay here until the construction is finished

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Fairmont Royal York

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mike the planner
Business
michigan
Aug 6, 2012

Great family getaway

The room was a good size for our family,but the bathroom could be a little larger.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Fairmont Royal York

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Steelerfan
Business
Falls Church, VA, USA
Jul 30, 2012

Classy and convenient

Great hotel in a fabulous part of town. A throwback to a different era with all the modern conveniences. Rooms need a touch of TLC (bathroom was a little musty and wallpaper a bit damaged) but still with lots of style and definitely worth the price. Even my teenager was impressed!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Fairmont Royal York

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
sam1947
Business
rochester, ny
Jul 23, 2012

just average hotel

Everything is very ordinary, nothing much to say . Ordered for extra coffee, took 2 hours to arrive in the room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Fairmont Royal York

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Vin M
Business
Richmond Hill
Jan 2, 2012

Great location and ambiance

Very beautiful hotel, convinient location, close to major shopping and all the downtown attactions

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Fairmont Royal York

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Webster, NY
Jun 12, 2011

Covenient location, friendly staff

Went to the BlueJays game, easy walk from the hotel. Great dinner nearby. Easy walk to the lakeshore. Accomodations nice. The check in staff were excellent. Gave our 2 kids a coloring book and stuffed animal immediately to help keep them occupied.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Bymark is excellent but pricey. Marche is a great place for breakfast or lunch.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Fairmont Royal York

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Nov 24, 2008

Fit for a princess

I took my 9 year old daughter to Toronto for a girls weekend. The Royal York Hotel was everything we'd hoped it would be and more. The elegance, grandeur, and visual appeal of this hotel are exactly what you'd expect of a hotel of this stature. The staff was very courteous and treated my daughter with kindness and respect. The room was clean, elegant and very comfortable. We had High Tea in Epic Restaurant and it was absolutely top notch! We used Room Service late one evening and they were quick and courteous too! (Our food actually arrived hot!!!)The easy underground access to both the railway station and the subway station meant that we never even had to go outside to make our connections. The hotel is close to many fine restaurants and attractions as well. Best of all, the price that we paid for our room was unbeatable!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Toronto's entertainment district is just a couple of blocks from the hotel, which meant that we could stroll to and from the theatre at a leisurely pace. This area is jam-packed with theatres, restaurants, clubs, and bars of all kinds!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Fairmont Royal York

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Aug 6, 2007

Yikes

Check in was prompt and friendly; however the room was nauseating. Some sort or reddish fluid streaked the walls. When the curtains were opened to help identify the stain the entire rod fell. This was reported immediately to the front desk. A very kind maintenance person arrived promptly to report the rod could not be repaired and we would be moved to another room. When we returned and asked the front desk what room we now had they replied they had no information regarding any problems with the room. We returned to the room and had a message from the same front desk that the repair could not be made and room availability was questionable. My daughter was tired and asked that we cease arguing with uninformed staff and simply stay out of the room as much as possible. The tub backed up, the sheets were stained. On and on. We stayed only two nights and will not return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top