$129 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 10, 2015 Check-out: Jan 13, 2015

The Fairmont Royal York

4 stars
100 Front Street West, Toronto, ON M5J 1E3
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
92 reviews
Amazing

Incredible! Best hotel I have ever stayed in. The only negative is that there is a fee for internet... See full review

  • collegestudent02
  • Dec 1, 2014
Wonderful Weekend Getaway

This hotel has great old world charm. Back in the day, it was the largest hotel in the British... See full review

  • Mike and Christine
  • Aug 20, 2014
Updated landmark hotel boasts modern conveniences in downtown's center
The landmark Fairmont Royal York hotel defined luxury when the city of Toronto was still in its infancy, and it continues to meet guests' high standards for first-class accommodations. Updated with modern conveniences, this classic hotel in the heart of downtown is perfect for business or leisure travel. Get a fabulous meal at one of the hotel's five restaurants. Stay connected at the business center. Work out in the fitness center, swim in the heated indoor pool, relax in the steam bath or rejuvenate with a specialized spa treatment.
Highlights
  • Luxurious accommodations in a landmark hotel
  • Magnificent hand-painted ceiling
  • Historic hotel featured in numerous Hollywood movies
Rooms

Choose from a number of spacious, elegantly decorated guest rooms and suites at the Fairmont Royal York. Standard amenities include bathrobes, high-speed Internet access (fees apply) and operable windows. Some guest rooms feature gorgeous city views. Separate sleeping and sitting areas are included in all suites, but to enjoy enough space to entertain up to 16, reserve the Royal Suite. Experience truly royal treatment when reserving a Fairmont Gold guest room or suite. Private reception and check-in on the 12th floor, access to the exclusive Fairmont Gold Lounge and complimentary use of a private boardroom are included.

Features

Guests enjoy a sophisticated and elegant part of Toronto's history, updated to incorporate modern conveniences, at the Fairmont Royal York. In addition to the stately rooms, the hotel features a state-of-the-art fitness center, heated indoor swimming pool and steam bath. Elevators are home to images of England's royalty, and guests can expect the royal treatment throughout the hotel, from the concierge to the on-site Spa. Original hand-painted ceilings and ornate pillars recall the hotel's past, but the five on-site restaurants and four lounges offer contemporary fare and fashionable cocktails.

Transportation
  • Toronto Pearson International Airport (16.5 mi/26.6 km)
  • Union Station (across the street)
Attractions
  • CN Tower (0.3 mi/0.6 km)
  • Harbourfront (0.6 mi/1 km)
  • Bloor-Yorkville (2.6 mi/4.3 km)
  • Casa Loma (3.9 mi/6.3 km)
Business
  • Fully equipped business center
  • Meeting and conference facilities available
  • Wi-Fi and high-speed Internet access (fees apply)

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Fairmont Royal York also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

The Fairmont Royal York Rooms

Fairmont Room
Located throughout the hotel, Fairmont rooms are our traditional guestrooms, with elegant, comfortable decor. Both smoking and non-smoking Fairmont rooms are available. Rooms are approximately 250 sq. feet and have one or two beds.
Fairmont Deluxe Room
Deluxe rooms are larger open-concept rooms, with a sitting area as well as a sleeping area. All are located on the 1st to 11th floors, and both smoking and non-smoking Deluxe rooms are available. With their larger size, Deluxe rooms are ideal for families, or any guest who will be staying for an extended period. Rooms are approximately 500 sq. feet and have one or two beds.
Fairmont Gold Room
Our elegant room selection on our Fairmont Gold floors at The Fairmont Royal York include: Fairmont Gold Guest Rooms Fairmont Gold Junior Suites Fairmont Gold One Bedroom Suites

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Airport shuttle
  • Indoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Indoor pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Childcare Service
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Internet
High-speed internet
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Air Canada Centre: 0.2 mi
  • Hockey Hall of Fame: 0.2 mi
  • Massey Hall: 0.3 mi
  • Toronto Symphony Orchestra: 0.3 mi
  • CN Tower: 0.4 mi
  • Princess of Wales Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Harbourfront Centre: 0.4 mi
  • Four Seasons Centre for the Performing Arts: 0.4 mi
  • Rogers Centre: 0.5 mi
  • The Elgin and Winter Garden Theatre Centre: 0.5 mi
  • St Lawrence Market: 0.6 mi
  • National Ballet of Canada: 0.6 mi
  • Eaton Centre: 0.6 mi
  • Pantages Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Mackenzie House: 0.7 mi
  • Air Canada Centre: 0.2 mi
  • Hockey Hall of Fame: 0.2 mi
  • Massey Hall: 0.3 mi
  • Toronto Symphony Orchestra: 0.3 mi
  • CN Tower: 0.4 mi
  • Princess of Wales Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Harbourfront Centre: 0.4 mi
  • Four Seasons Centre for the Performing Arts: 0.4 mi
  • Rogers Centre: 0.5 mi
  • The Elgin and Winter Garden Theatre Centre: 0.5 mi
  • St Lawrence Market: 0.6 mi
  • National Ballet of Canada: 0.6 mi
  • Eaton Centre: 0.6 mi
  • Pantages Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Mackenzie House: 0.7 mi
  • The AGO, Art gallery of Ontario: 0.8 mi
  • Toronto Music Garden: 0.9 mi
  • Distillery District: 1.1 mi
  • Allan Gardens Conservatory: 1.2 mi
  • Fort York: 1.2 mi
  • Centre Island: 1.3 mi
  • University of Toronto: 1.4 mi
  • Toronto Island Park: 1.6 mi
  • Royal Ontario Museum: 1.7 mi
  • Royal Conservatory of Music: 1.7 mi
  • Bata Shoe Museum: 1.8 mi
  • Toronto Public Library: 1.8 mi
  • Yorkville: 1.8 mi
  • Spandina Historic House: 2.7 mi
  • Casa Loma: 3 mi
  • Ashbridge's Bay Park: 3.8 mi
  • High Park: 4.2 mi
  • The Beaches: 4.5 mi
  • Ontario Science Centre: 5.4 mi
  • Edwards Gardens: 6.2 mi
  • Toronto Centre for the Arts: 8.5 mi
  • Scarborough Bluffs: 9.3 mi
  • Toronto Zoo: 15.4 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The Fairmont Royal York brings cosmopolitan flair and dedicated expertise to conferences, meetings and banquets. Recently renovated, this elegant hotel's conference facilities meet the technological needs of modern business, while its knowledgeable staff contributes to seamlessly executed events.

Dining

EPIC Restaurant
EPIC takes a reputation for innovation and quality and infuses it with premium quality regional elements.
Benihana Japanese Steakhouse
Benihana is a fabulous teppan steakhouse experience in the heart of Toronto.
The Library Bar
The ideal venue for pre-dinner or theatre beverages, business lunches or evening cocktails.
Piper's Gastropub
Join us on our coast-to-coast journey of casual favourites with a uniquely local twist.
York Station
The smallest bar in Toronto is the meeting spot before catching the commuter train.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (92)

Ratings and reviews for The Fairmont Royal York

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
92 out of 92
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.7

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Fairmont Royal York

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
GMcGreen
alexandria, Virginia
Aug 8, 2012

perfect for experiencing toronto!

the staff, location and amenities and room were perfect!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

check out the distillery district for cool brew pubs and shopping

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Fairmont Royal York

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Indiansfan
Business
Cleveland, Ohio
Jul 16, 2012

Careful of valet parking

Great location for baseball game. The only problem we had was our car was damaged by the valet. Still waiting to hear back from the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Fairmont Royal York

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
an0nym0us1
Business
Kitchener, ON
Jul 15, 2012

Ok, but disappointing if you paid full price

I was looking forward to staying here. I got a really good deal for the room. However, I was very disappointed with the room itself. The lobby is gorgeous and everything is very close. But the room was worn out and outdated. The wallpaper was coming off, the carpets were old and dirty and worst of all they forgot to clean the corners of the room! You can tell the the dirt was accumulating in the corners for months. The room was extremely hot all night even though the temperature was set to 15C, the room temperature never went below 24C. I was expecting a lot more from this Hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Fairmont Royal York

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Hydatius
Business
Philadelphia
Jul 10, 2012

Fairmount Gold Review, Not Necessarily Applicable Overall

With the summer holiday discount, it seemed worth paying about a third more per night to stay on a concierge floor -- we'd never done Fairmount Gold before, but other concierge floors have usually proved worth the investment. This was no exception -- in fact, this was by far the best service I've had in a Canadian hotel, matching the best Asian hotels I've stayed in. The hotel is old, but the rooms are clean and well-appointed. The Gold lounge is beautiful, with an honor bar and a superb breakfast buffet that includes both the American heart-attack on a plate staples and nice European cold meats and cheese.The spa and pool are clean, accessible and comfortable. And the staff is impeccable. I can't speak for the 11 regular floors -- the main lobby was definitely a bit of a zoo. But we found this magnificent.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Fairmont Royal York

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Steve and Marj
Business
Washington, DC
Jul 8, 2012

Totally Central Toronto

The Royal York itself is the perfect mix of old school majesty and modern refinements! And location! Easy walk to see War Horse in the Entertainment District, to have a delightful stroll along the edge of the Harbour and those galleries and attractions. Plenty of access to trolleys and the subway, and an quick taxi to the Odysseo show!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Fairmont Royal York

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
why do I need this
Business
Pittsburgh, PA
Jul 5, 2012

The Fairmont Royal York

Excellent. The location was perfect. We did not even need the car once it was parked.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Fairmont Royal York

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
dennyf
Business
Jackson Hts NY
Jun 23, 2012

Disappointed, would not stay again

Checking in at 8:30 p.m. a room with two beds not available for an hour. We needed to have have dinner and change clothes, so took a room with a queen size bed. On way to room, we passed two different maid stations still making up rooms! Could not locate tv remote upon returning from dinner. Called front desk, they sent up another. Next morning found tv remote on floor under bed. Internet costs $15. This room costs over $200 and they are asking for $15? Bed was so soft I was afraid I was going to fall off on the floor. Hotel beds are generally firm in my experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Fisherman's Wharf, excellent dinner. Service impeccable, oysters absolutely perfect.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Fairmont Royal York

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Laura aka Super PA
Business
Duncansville, PA
May 31, 2012

First solo travel experience...don't regret my hotel decision!

The hotel blew my mind. The location is fantastic and the hotel itself was beautiful. As to be expected with such a luxurious setting, any extras such as the mini bar in the room were extremely overpriced. Also, I found it rather odd and surprising that you have to pay $15 per day for wifi on top of your regular room rate. The hotel is definitely very nice, but for the nightly rate I think wifi should be included. They were also working on the outside of the hotel during my stay so one day my window was completely covered with paper and there was some construction associated noise during the day. However, this of course is temporary and necessary for upkeep of the hotel. Overall, the hotel and staff as a whole were great, and I thoroughly enjoyed my time in Toronto.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Fairmont Royal York

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Desai
Business
OH, USA
May 29, 2012

Fantastic week end getaway

This hotel had unique charm. Location was perfect and all places were in close vicinity. I would stay here again and would recommend to friend. The only negative was that there was lot of construction going on in surrounding area but that was not hotels fault.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Many good restaurants within walking distance

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Fairmont Royal York

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
A. Anderson
Business
Bradenton, FL
May 29, 2012

Nice Retreat

The Fairmont is a nice hotel. It could not have been more conveniently located for our purposes. The Fairmont Gold was also a nice addition, which I am glad that we upgraded to. The staff was friendly and helpful. The main expectation that I would make about the hotel is that it is an older establishment. If you are expecting spacious rooms with gigantic bathrooms and the ultra-modern upgrades then this might not be the place for you. It reminded me more of a European higher end hotel, smaller rooms but a lot of charm and old world style.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Fairmont Royal York

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Traveler Again
Business
South Florida
May 5, 2012

Needs updating

Stayed for four nights. Staff very slow to respond to requests -- took several hours and, in one case, over a day. Senior Staff kept promising to respond, but didn't. First room had a odd odor, shifted to another. Hall for second room had a dusty smell. No bathrobe as listed, took over 24 hours for one to appear at the door. Meals high priced but food good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top