$163 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 9, 2015 Check-out: Aug 10, 2015

The Fairmont Royal York

4 stars
View map of 100 Front Street West, Toronto, ON M5J 1E3

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Fairmont Royal York

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
92 out of 92
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.7

82% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Fairmont Royal York

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
sam1947
Business
rochester, ny
Jul 23, 2012

just average hotel

Everything is very ordinary, nothing much to say . Ordered for extra coffee, took 2 hours to arrive in the room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Fairmont Royal York

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
sbsb
Business
New York, NY
Jul 18, 2012

Royal York Isn't What It Used to Be

First, getting to the hotel amidst all the construction around Union Station was terrible but that's not the Royal York's fault. The first issue was the extreme wait to check-in on Friday evening. You would think management would staff more than two people to check-in guests on a Friday night. Secondly, the hotel was packed with young Spring-Breaker-types in mid-July. The entire floor was a party. Third, the sink in the bathroom had serious drainage issue. I've stayed at Fairmont Hotels before and will likely do so again, however this was by far the worst experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Fairmont Royal York

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
AnnieLaurie
Business
Michigan
Jul 17, 2012

Great old - style hotel

For a business traveler, great amenities, comfortable, quiet. A wide variety of people stay there- families as well as those traveling for business. Easy access to Union Station and all areas of downtown. The staff are well-trained and pleasant.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Fairmont Royal York

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Indiansfan
Business
Cleveland, Ohio
Jul 16, 2012

Careful of valet parking

Great location for baseball game. The only problem we had was our car was damaged by the valet. Still waiting to hear back from the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Fairmont Royal York

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
an0nym0us1
Business
Kitchener, ON
Jul 15, 2012

Ok, but disappointing if you paid full price

I was looking forward to staying here. I got a really good deal for the room. However, I was very disappointed with the room itself. The lobby is gorgeous and everything is very close. But the room was worn out and outdated. The wallpaper was coming off, the carpets were old and dirty and worst of all they forgot to clean the corners of the room! You can tell the the dirt was accumulating in the corners for months. The room was extremely hot all night even though the temperature was set to 15C, the room temperature never went below 24C. I was expecting a lot more from this Hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Fairmont Royal York

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Hydatius
Business
Philadelphia
Jul 10, 2012

Fairmount Gold Review, Not Necessarily Applicable Overall

With the summer holiday discount, it seemed worth paying about a third more per night to stay on a concierge floor -- we'd never done Fairmount Gold before, but other concierge floors have usually proved worth the investment. This was no exception -- in fact, this was by far the best service I've had in a Canadian hotel, matching the best Asian hotels I've stayed in. The hotel is old, but the rooms are clean and well-appointed. The Gold lounge is beautiful, with an honor bar and a superb breakfast buffet that includes both the American heart-attack on a plate staples and nice European cold meats and cheese.The spa and pool are clean, accessible and comfortable. And the staff is impeccable. I can't speak for the 11 regular floors -- the main lobby was definitely a bit of a zoo. But we found this magnificent.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Fairmont Royal York

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Steve and Marj
Business
Washington, DC
Jul 8, 2012

Totally Central Toronto

The Royal York itself is the perfect mix of old school majesty and modern refinements! And location! Easy walk to see War Horse in the Entertainment District, to have a delightful stroll along the edge of the Harbour and those galleries and attractions. Plenty of access to trolleys and the subway, and an quick taxi to the Odysseo show!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Fairmont Royal York

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
why do I need this
Business
Pittsburgh, PA
Jul 5, 2012

The Fairmont Royal York

Excellent. The location was perfect. We did not even need the car once it was parked.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Fairmont Royal York

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
dennyf
Business
Jackson Hts NY
Jun 23, 2012

Disappointed, would not stay again

Checking in at 8:30 p.m. a room with two beds not available for an hour. We needed to have have dinner and change clothes, so took a room with a queen size bed. On way to room, we passed two different maid stations still making up rooms! Could not locate tv remote upon returning from dinner. Called front desk, they sent up another. Next morning found tv remote on floor under bed. Internet costs $15. This room costs over $200 and they are asking for $15? Bed was so soft I was afraid I was going to fall off on the floor. Hotel beds are generally firm in my experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Fisherman's Wharf, excellent dinner. Service impeccable, oysters absolutely perfect.

Review of The Fairmont Royal York

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Laura aka Super PA
Business
Duncansville, PA
May 31, 2012

First solo travel experience...don't regret my hotel decision!

The hotel blew my mind. The location is fantastic and the hotel itself was beautiful. As to be expected with such a luxurious setting, any extras such as the mini bar in the room were extremely overpriced. Also, I found it rather odd and surprising that you have to pay $15 per day for wifi on top of your regular room rate. The hotel is definitely very nice, but for the nightly rate I think wifi should be included. They were also working on the outside of the hotel during my stay so one day my window was completely covered with paper and there was some construction associated noise during the day. However, this of course is temporary and necessary for upkeep of the hotel. Overall, the hotel and staff as a whole were great, and I thoroughly enjoyed my time in Toronto.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top