$163 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 12, 2014 Check-out: Oct 13, 2014

The Fairmont Royal York

4 stars
100 Front Street West, Toronto, ON M5J 1E3
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
89 reviews
Wonderful Weekend Getaway

This hotel has great old world charm. Back in the day, it was the largest hotel in the British... See full review

  • Mike and Christine
  • Aug 20, 2014
Reunion in Toronto

We arrived by train at 10 am! We just had to walk across the street!The bellman claimed our luggage... See full review

  • LinLake
  • Jun 3, 2014
Updated landmark hotel boasts modern conveniences in downtown's center
The landmark Fairmont Royal York hotel defined luxury when the city of Toronto was still in its infancy, and it continues to meet guests' high standards for first-class accommodations. Updated with modern conveniences, this classic hotel in the heart of downtown is perfect for business or leisure travel. Get a fabulous meal at one of the hotel's five restaurants. Stay connected at the business center. Work out in the fitness center, swim in the heated indoor pool, relax in the steam bath or rejuvenate with a specialized spa treatment.
Highlights
  • Luxurious accommodations in a landmark hotel
  • Magnificent hand-painted ceiling
  • Historic hotel featured in numerous Hollywood movies
Rooms

Choose from a number of spacious, elegantly decorated guest rooms and suites at the Fairmont Royal York. Standard amenities include bathrobes, high-speed Internet access (fees apply) and operable windows. Some guest rooms feature gorgeous city views. Separate sleeping and sitting areas are included in all suites, but to enjoy enough space to entertain up to 16, reserve the Royal Suite. Experience truly royal treatment when reserving a Fairmont Gold guest room or suite. Private reception and check-in on the 12th floor, access to the exclusive Fairmont Gold Lounge and complimentary use of a private boardroom are included.

Features

Guests enjoy a sophisticated and elegant part of Toronto's history, updated to incorporate modern conveniences, at the Fairmont Royal York. In addition to the stately rooms, the hotel features a state-of-the-art fitness center, heated indoor swimming pool and steam bath. Elevators are home to images of England's royalty, and guests can expect the royal treatment throughout the hotel, from the concierge to the on-site Spa. Original hand-painted ceilings and ornate pillars recall the hotel's past, but the five on-site restaurants and four lounges offer contemporary fare and fashionable cocktails.

Transportation
  • Toronto Pearson International Airport (16.5 mi/26.6 km)
  • Union Station (across the street)
Attractions
  • CN Tower (0.3 mi/0.6 km)
  • Harbourfront (0.6 mi/1 km)
  • Bloor-Yorkville (2.6 mi/4.3 km)
  • Casa Loma (3.9 mi/6.3 km)
Business
  • Fully equipped business center
  • Meeting and conference facilities available
  • Wi-Fi and high-speed Internet access (fees apply)

Hotel Map

43.6455 -79.3813
Area served
Nearby airports Lester B. Pearson Intl Airport, (YYZ), 32 KM; Toronto Island Airport, (YTZ), 2KM
Nearby airports
In the heart of the financial and entertainment districts, we are connected by the underground PATH Walkway to approximately 1200 shops, services and attractions, including: Hockey Hall of Fame, the Air Canada Centre, Eaton Centre and Union Station.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Fairmont Royal York also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

The Fairmont Royal York Rooms

Fairmont Room
Located throughout the hotel, Fairmont rooms are our traditional guestrooms, with elegant, comfortable decor. Both smoking and non-smoking Fairmont rooms are available. Rooms are approximately 250 sq. feet and have one or two beds.
Fairmont Deluxe Room
Deluxe rooms are larger open-concept rooms, with a sitting area as well as a sleeping area. All are located on the 1st to 11th floors, and both smoking and non-smoking Deluxe rooms are available. With their larger size, Deluxe rooms are ideal for families, or any guest who will be staying for an extended period. Rooms are approximately 500 sq. feet and have one or two beds.
Fairmont Gold Room
Our elegant room selection on our Fairmont Gold floors at The Fairmont Royal York include: Fairmont Gold Guest Rooms Fairmont Gold Junior Suites Fairmont Gold One Bedroom Suites

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Airport shuttle
  • Indoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Indoor pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Childcare Service
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Internet
High-speed internet
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • The Air Canada Centre: 0.2 mi
  • Air Canada Centre: 0.2 mi
  • Hockey Hall of Fame: 0.2 mi
  • Massey Hall: 0.3 mi
  • Toronto Symphony Orchestra: 0.3 mi
  • CN Tower: 0.4 mi
  • Princess of Wales Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Harbourfront Centre: 0.4 mi
  • Four Seasons Centre for the Performing Arts: 0.4 mi
  • Rogers Centre: 0.5 mi
  • The Elgin and Winter Garden Theatre Centre: 0.5 mi
  • St Lawrence Market: 0.6 mi
  • National Ballet of Canada: 0.6 mi
  • Eaton Centre: 0.6 mi
  • Pantages Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • The Air Canada Centre: 0.2 mi
  • Air Canada Centre: 0.2 mi
  • Hockey Hall of Fame: 0.2 mi
  • Massey Hall: 0.3 mi
  • Toronto Symphony Orchestra: 0.3 mi
  • CN Tower: 0.4 mi
  • Princess of Wales Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Harbourfront Centre: 0.4 mi
  • Four Seasons Centre for the Performing Arts: 0.4 mi
  • Rogers Centre: 0.5 mi
  • The Elgin and Winter Garden Theatre Centre: 0.5 mi
  • St Lawrence Market: 0.6 mi
  • National Ballet of Canada: 0.6 mi
  • Eaton Centre: 0.6 mi
  • Pantages Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Mackenzie House: 0.7 mi
  • The AGO, Art gallery of Ontario: 0.8 mi
  • Toronto Music Garden: 0.9 mi
  • Distillery District: 1.1 mi
  • Allan Gardens Conservatory: 1.2 mi
  • Fort York: 1.2 mi
  • Centre Island: 1.3 mi
  • University of Toronto: 1.4 mi
  • Toronto Island Park: 1.6 mi
  • Royal Ontario Museum: 1.7 mi
  • Royal Conservatory of Music: 1.7 mi
  • Bata Shoe Museum: 1.8 mi
  • Toronto Public Library: 1.8 mi
  • Yorkville: 1.8 mi
  • Spandina Historic House: 2.7 mi
  • Casa Loma: 3 mi
  • Ashbridge's Bay Park: 3.8 mi
  • High Park: 4.2 mi
  • The Beaches: 4.5 mi
  • Ontario Science Centre: 5.4 mi
  • Edwards Gardens: 6.2 mi
  • Toronto Centre for the Arts: 8.5 mi
  • Scarborough Bluffs: 9.3 mi
  • Toronto Zoo: 15.4 mi

Dining

EPIC Restaurant
EPIC takes a reputation for innovation and quality and infuses it with premium quality regional elements.
Benihana Japanese Steakhouse
Benihana is a fabulous teppan steakhouse experience in the heart of Toronto.
The Library Bar
The ideal venue for pre-dinner or theatre beverages, business lunches or evening cocktails.
Piper's Gastropub
Join us on our coast-to-coast journey of casual favourites with a uniquely local twist.
York Station
The smallest bar in Toronto is the meeting spot before catching the commuter train.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The Fairmont Royal York brings cosmopolitan flair and dedicated expertise to conferences, meetings and banquets. Recently renovated, this elegant hotel's conference facilities meet the technological needs of modern business, while its knowledgeable staff contributes to seamlessly executed events.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (89)

Ratings and reviews for The Fairmont Royal York

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
89 out of 89
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.7

82% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Fairmont Royal York

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anton The Great
New York City
Aug 8, 2012

My Trip To Toronto

The Fairmont Royal York was exceptional! This hotel offers its guests only the best. I stayed there twice and the second time was better than the first - and my first stay there was perfect! The Fairmont Royal York is truly a class act! When you come to Toronto - stay here!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

When you come to Toronto - buy a TTC pass for transit. It will save you money if you plan to do a lot of traveling around the city! Great city to explore and a pass will help you with this.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Fairmont Royal York

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Steelerfan
Falls Church, VA, USA
Jul 30, 2012

Classy and convenient

Great hotel in a fabulous part of town. A throwback to a different era with all the modern conveniences. Rooms need a touch of TLC (bathroom was a little musty and wallpaper a bit damaged) but still with lots of style and definitely worth the price. Even my teenager was impressed!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Fairmont Royal York

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Tiger Joe 53
Michigan
Jul 30, 2012

Detroit Tiger getaway

The hotel was great. Only complaint was the const.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Close walk to the CN Tower, and the ball park.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Fairmont Royal York

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
CamPac
Montreal
Jul 23, 2012

Excellent hotel... but get a room as far as possible from...

I stayed two nights at the Royal York. If you arrive with Porter (Downtown aeroport), the shuttle drops you off at the door and picks you right up there too. No hassle, no taxi. Very central, walking distance form everything, subway access. However Breakfast very expensive and mini bar too. STAY AS FAR AS YOU CAN FROM A ROOM NEAR THE ELEVATOR and you feel the vibration.... super noisy if you are a light sleeper. But I recommend this hotel anyways, if like me you feel secure in a clean well know hotel (but I would not pay the regular price for it).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Fairmont Royal York

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
sam1947
rochester, ny
Jul 23, 2012

just average hotel

Everything is very ordinary, nothing much to say . Ordered for extra coffee, took 2 hours to arrive in the room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Fairmont Royal York

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
bacvic
New Jersey
Jul 23, 2012

Beautiful and Great Location, but...

This hotel was beautiful, impressive, and in a *perfect* location. But I felt like they spent a lot of money and detail on things like the lobby instead of in the rooms (which is what I happen to care about since that is where I am staying). The fridge was tiny and full of *really* expensive items... and you had to pay for wi-fi (also quite pricey). I can get those things at a cheap chain hotel but not at this fancy place? I was surprised to say the least. You can't beat the location and the staff though, they were excellent.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Fairmont Royal York

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
sbsb
New York, NY
Jul 18, 2012

Royal York Isn't What It Used to Be

First, getting to the hotel amidst all the construction around Union Station was terrible but that's not the Royal York's fault. The first issue was the extreme wait to check-in on Friday evening. You would think management would staff more than two people to check-in guests on a Friday night. Secondly, the hotel was packed with young Spring-Breaker-types in mid-July. The entire floor was a party. Third, the sink in the bathroom had serious drainage issue. I've stayed at Fairmont Hotels before and will likely do so again, however this was by far the worst experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Fairmont Royal York

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
AnnieLaurie
Business
Michigan
Jul 17, 2012

Great old - style hotel

For a business traveler, great amenities, comfortable, quiet. A wide variety of people stay there- families as well as those traveling for business. Easy access to Union Station and all areas of downtown. The staff are well-trained and pleasant.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Fairmont Royal York

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Indiansfan
Cleveland, Ohio
Jul 16, 2012

Careful of valet parking

Great location for baseball game. The only problem we had was our car was damaged by the valet. Still waiting to hear back from the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Fairmont Royal York

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
an0nym0us1
Kitchener, ON
Jul 15, 2012

Ok, but disappointing if you paid full price

I was looking forward to staying here. I got a really good deal for the room. However, I was very disappointed with the room itself. The lobby is gorgeous and everything is very close. But the room was worn out and outdated. The wallpaper was coming off, the carpets were old and dirty and worst of all they forgot to clean the corners of the room! You can tell the the dirt was accumulating in the corners for months. The room was extremely hot all night even though the temperature was set to 15C, the room temperature never went below 24C. I was expecting a lot more from this Hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Fairmont Royal York

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Hydatius
Philadelphia
Jul 10, 2012

Fairmount Gold Review, Not Necessarily Applicable Overall

With the summer holiday discount, it seemed worth paying about a third more per night to stay on a concierge floor -- we'd never done Fairmount Gold before, but other concierge floors have usually proved worth the investment. This was no exception -- in fact, this was by far the best service I've had in a Canadian hotel, matching the best Asian hotels I've stayed in. The hotel is old, but the rooms are clean and well-appointed. The Gold lounge is beautiful, with an honor bar and a superb breakfast buffet that includes both the American heart-attack on a plate staples and nice European cold meats and cheese.The spa and pool are clean, accessible and comfortable. And the staff is impeccable. I can't speak for the 11 regular floors -- the main lobby was definitely a bit of a zoo. But we found this magnificent.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search